Francys Gauthier: STEM Superhero!

Year: 2019 — Province: Quebec
Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Francys-Gauthier

Secondary 2, 3, 4 and 5 (ESL, Robotics)
Séminaire de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec

"Mr. Gauthier is a true STEM catalyst [...]. His contagious passion has drawn tens of mentors to him and led hundreds of students here and abroad to take an interest in STEM."
— A colleague

To the students and mentors that he has taught for the past 13 years, Francys Gauthier is a superhero who shines as much through his teaching skills as his contagious passion for STEM.

Teaching Approach

Francys's innovative teaching practices are based on technological integration, mentor networks, authentic tasks that allow students to develop and use their skills, etc.

STEM in the Classroom

  • Francys uses technology in a sustained and varied manner as part of his teaching practices in order to familiarize his students with digital culture and help them master these tools.
  • He established a complete robotics workshop with 3D printers, computers, and hundreds of other tools where his students, like other science teachers at the school, can express their creativity and apply their knowledge.
  • Instead of using a traditional theory-oriented educational approach, Francys pushes the boundaries by presenting a high-level STEM curriculum that is essentially based on the practice while also incorporating theoretical concepts and allowing his students to experiment with their own theories.

Outstanding Achievements

  • As part of the FIRST Robotics Competition, Francys led the school's Evolution 2626 team and recruited mentors to act as a safety net for young people while allowing them to make their own decisions and learning through trial and error.
  • At the initiative of a student with a foot deformity, his team created a 3D prosthesis and won the judging panel award at the 2015 world finals of the FIRST Robotics Competition; the team is currently working on the E-nable project to manufacture other prostheses for children in need in various countries.
  • He and students on the Evolution 2626 team helped four African teams prepare for the FIRST Robotics Competition, which earned them a gold medal in the Dr. Mae Jemison Awards for International Unity, in recognition for their professionalism and cooperative ties with the other teams in the competition.

Get in touch!

Séminaire de Sherbrooke
195 Marquette
Sherbrooke, QC J1H 1L6

819-563-2050
directiongenerale@seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca
www.seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca

Date modified:

Francys Gauthier : Super héros des STIM!

Année : 2019 — Province : Québec
Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Francys-Gauthier

2e, 3e, 4e et 5e secondaires (anglais langue seconde, robotique)
Séminaire de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke (Québec)

« M. Gauthier est véritablement un catalyseur des STIM […]. Sa passion contagieuse rassemble des dizaines de mentors autour de lui et a amené des centaines d'élèves d'ici et même d'autres pays à s'intéresser aux domaines des STIM. »
— Un collègue

Aux yeux de ses élèves et des mentors qu'il a rassemblés autour de lui au cours des 13 dernières années, Francys Gauthier est un super héros qui brille tout autant par ses qualités d'enseignants que par sa passion contagieuse pour les STIM.

Approche pédagogique

Le caractère novateur des pratiques enseignantes de Francys repose, entre autres, sur l'intégration des technologies, sur la création d'un réseau de mentors et sur l'authenticité des tâches dans lesquels les élèves développent et déploient leurs compétences.

Les STIM en salle de classe

  • Francys utilise les technologies dans ses pratiques d'enseignement de façon soutenue et variée afin de familiariser les élèves avec la culture numérique et de développer leur maîtrise de ces outils.
  • Il a mis sur pied un atelier de robotique complet avec imprimantes 3D ordinateurs et des centaines d'autres outils où ses élèves comme les autres enseignants de sciences de l'école peuvent exprimer leur créativité et mettre en pratique leurs apprentissages.
  • Contrairement à l'approche traditionnelle qui met la théorie au centre de l'enseignement, Francys repousse les limites en présentant un curriculum en STIM de haut niveau qui est essentiellement basé sur la pratique, tout en intégrant les concepts théoriques permettant même à ses élèves d'expérimenter à partir de leurs propres théories.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Dans le cadre de la compétition de robotique FIRST, Francys dirige l'équipe Évolution 2626 du Séminaire et recrute des mentors qui agissent comme filet de sécurité pour les jeunes qui eux prennent les décisions et progressent par essais-erreurs.
  • À l'initiative d'un élève ayant une malformation à un pied, son équipe a créé une prothèse 3D et a remporté le prix des juges aux finales mondiales 2015 de la compétition FIRST; l'équipe travaille actuellement au projet E-nable pour fabriquer d'autres prothèses pour les enfants dans le besoin dans divers pays.
  • Lui et les élèves de l'équipe Évolution 2626, ont soutenu quatre équipes africaines dans leur préparation à la compétition mondiale FIRST, ce qui leur a valu la médaille d'or Dr Mae Jemison Asard for International Unity soulignant le professionnalisme coopératif et les liens tissés avec les autres équipes de la compétition.

Communiquez avec nous!

Séminaire de Sherbrooke
195, rue Marquette
Sherbrooke (Québec) J1H 1L6

819-563-2050
directiongenerale@seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca
www.seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca

Date de modification :