Language selection

Search

Heather Faris: forming independent learners for life

Year: 2019 — Province: Saskatchewan
Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Heather Faris

Science 9, Health Science 20, Biology 30
Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School, Regina, Saskatchewan

"[Heather] is the reason I [became] a science educator. She has been a mentor to me in more ways than I can count …. I model my teaching after her, striving to incorporate her sense for inquiry, creativity, fun and a pure love of learning in my classroom. "
— Former student and new teacher

Heather Faris mixes everyday life lessons and skills with curriculum content to ensure students have what they need for success in school and life. Her pet snake, Ruby June, sometimes comes along to class to help out, and Heather has been known to show her love learning by holding a tarantula.

Teaching approach

Heather uses personal stories, hands-on exemplars, engaging demonstrations, relevant videos and interesting questions to make learning meaningful, while giving each student the chance to reach learning goals independently, using their own knowledge base and problem-solving skills.

In the classroom

  • Constructs "out of the box" lessons featuring hands-on, learning opportunities: students are challenged to create a pendulum that swings once a second, determining the necessary mass, string length and drop height, and recording their observations of the impact of these variables.
  • Involves her students in real-life research: a group did data collection and analysis related to pesticide use on a university campus to assess the bio-diversity of areas treated with and without pesticides through insect counts, soil and turf analysis; the university ended up banning pesticides.
  • Supports students' independent research: Grade 12 biology students choose their own topic for a major study project; one approached Heather about setting up a partnership with the provincial museum so he could reconstruct a coyote skeleton to show the evolution of the species.

Outstanding achievements

  • Transformed an area of gravel and concrete into the school's garden, complete with a productive vegetable patch, perennials, including those native to Saskatchewan, and an area for raspberry bushes and strawberry plants; student garden club secured large grant for further improvements.
  • Founding member of the Centre for Research in Youth, Science Teaching and Learning, whose goal was to create and share innovative and reliable teaching strategies as well as activity-centred and inquiry-based lessons with other teachers.
  • Recruited by the Ministry of Education to be a member of the team helping implement the new provincial Grade 11 Health Science and Grade 12 Biology curricula.
  • Recognized by the Canadian Association for Teacher Education for the contribution of her master's thesis on inquiry-based learning to research on student exploration and learning.

Get in touch!

Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School
1027 College Avenue
Regina SK S4P 1A7

306-791-7230
mill-office@rcsdtech.onmicrosoft.com
www.rcsd.ca/school/miller
Twitter: @millerCHS

Date modified:

Heather Faris : former des apprenants autonomes pour la vie

Année : 2019 — Province : Saskatchewan
Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Heather Faris

Science 9, sciences de la santé 20, biologie 30
Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School, Regina (Saskatchewan)

"[Heather] est la raison pour laquelle je suis [devenu] enseignant en sciences. Elle a été une mentore pour moi sous d'innombrables formes… Je modélise mon enseignement sur elle, et je m'efforce d'intégrer dans ma classe son esprit de recherche, sa créativité, sa joie de vivre et son amour pur de l'enseignement. »
— Ancien élève et nouvel enseignant

Heather Faris combine les leçons et les compétences de la vie quotidienne au contenu du programme d'enseignement pour garantir que les élèves ont ce que dont ils ont besoin pour réussir à l'école et dans la vie. Son animal de compagnie, son serpent Ruby June, l'accompagne parfois en classe pour aider, et Heather est reconnue pour montrer son apprentissage de l'amour en prenant une tarentule dans ses mains.

Approche pédagogique

Heather utilise des récits personnels, des exemples pratiques, des démonstrations, des vidéos pertinentes et des questions intéressantes pour rendre l'apprentissage utile tout en donnant à chaque élève la possibilité d'atteindre les objectifs d'apprentissage de manière autonome en s'appuyant sur leurs propres connaissances et leurs compétences en résolution de problèmes.

En classe

  • Elle élabore des leçons « novatrices » présentant des possibilités d'apprentissage pratiques. En effet, les élèves sont mis au défi de créer un pendule qui se balance une fois par seconde. Ils doivent déterminer la masse nécessaire, la longueur de la ficelle et la hauteur de largage, puis consigner leurs observations sur les répercussions de ces variables.
  • Elle fait participer les élèves à la recherche concrète. En effet, un groupe a effectué une collecte et une analyse de données sur l'utilisation de pesticides sur un campus universitaire afin d'évaluer la biodiversité des secteurs traités avec des pesticides et sans pesticides au moyen d'un décompte des insectes ainsi que d'une analyse du sol et du gazon. En fin de compte, l'université a interdit les pesticides.
  • Elle appuie la recherche autonome des élèves. En effet, les élèves de biologie de la 12e année ont choisi leur propre sujet pour un grand projet d'étude. Un élève a rencontré Heather au sujet de la création d'un partenariat avec un musée de la province afin qu'il puisse reconstruire le squelette d'un coyote pour montrer l'évolution de l'espèce.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a transformé une superficie de gravier et de béton en jardin pour l'école, lequel compte un carré potager, des vivaces, dont celles originaires de la Saskatchewan, et une superficie pour des plants de framboisiers et de fraisiers. Le club de jardinage des élèves a obtenu une subvention importante pour des améliorations futures.
  • Elle est membre fondatrice du Centre for Research in Youth, Science Teaching and Learning (Centre de recherche sur les jeunes, l'enseignement et l'apprentissage des sciences), qui vise à élaborer et à échanger des stratégies d'enseignement novatrices et fiables ainsi que des leçons axées sur l'activité et fondées sur la recherche avec d'autres membres du personnel enseignant.
  • Elle a été recrutée par le ministère de l'Éducation à titre de membre d'équipe pour aider à mettre en œuvre les nouveaux programmes d'enseignement des sciences de la santé de la 11e année et de biologie de la 12e année de la province.
  • Elle a été reconnue par l'Association canadienne pour la formation des enseignements pour la contribution de son mémoire de maîtrise sur l'apprentissage fondé sur la recherche à l'exploration et à l'apprentissage des élèves.

Communiquez avec nous!

Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School
1027 College Avenue
Regina (Saskatchewan) S4P 1A7

306-791-7230
mill-office@rcsdtech.onmicrosoft.com
www.rcsd.ca/school/miller
Twitter: @millerCHS

Date de modification :