Sarah Newton: steering students down the path to success

Year: 2019 – Province: Quebec

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Sarah Newton

English, Math and Ethics, grades 5 and 6
Margaret Manson Elementary School, Kirkland, Quebec

"I truly hope that all students and teachers alike get the chance to have a cheerleader in their life like [Sarah Newton], as it certainly makes a positive difference, and the rippling effects of this kind of greatness are endless."  — Colleague

A typical day with Sarah Newton sees children learning, laughing and having fun. At the same time, her extensive experience and knowledge allow her to marry creativity and the basics to ensure each child is prepared for future academic challenges and real-life situations.

Teaching approach

Sarah goes out of her way to build solid relationships with the children in her classes, investing countless hours to make sure each one has the chance to be their true self and surpass their potential. She doesn't hesitate to have honest discussions with them to help keep them on the path to success.

In the classroom

  • Uses technology to extend learning: students create slideshows, online magazines and commercials to display their knowledge; they view videos and other materials posted on Google Classroom, and then develop critical thinking skills while preparing responses to them at home.
  • Engages students through elaborate projects: 11-station bilingual unit introduces various types of poetry, with children then sharing their poems with their parents in a poetry café; in "Shark Tank" students collaborate to invent, build, advertise and sell something that serves a purpose.
  • Provides numerous opportunities for students to become caring and giving citizens: works with school's group of peer mediators; pairs Grade 6s with Kindergarten students for learning and mentoring; recruits and trains students to be tour guides for school open house.

Outstanding achievements

  • As staff mentor, plans monthly teacher-led workshops at which teachers demonstrate their skills; coordinates team-building activities and meals; brings in motivational speakers; supports new teachers in a safe environment.
  • As staff assistant, builds the school's supervision schedule, deals with bus issues, helps with last-minute staffing, supports student discipline, helps with staff issues and represents the administration when members are absent; plays a key role in Kindergarten orientation.
  • Participated in the development of the province-wide Grade 6 language arts exam for five years, sharing her vision for making it more accessible to all students, and more engaging and student-centred.

Get in touch!
Margaret Manson Elementary School
18750, boul. Elkas
Kirkland QC H9J 4C1
514-694-7808
sherault@lbpsb.qc.ca
http://margaretmanson.lbpsb.qc.ca/
Facebook: @Margaret-Manson-Elementary

Date modified:

Sarah Newton: aiguiller les élèves sur le chemin de la réussite

Année : 2019 – Province : Québec

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Sarah Newton

Anglais, mathématiques et éthique, en 5e et 6e années
Margaret Manson Elementary School, Kirkland (Québec)

« J'espère sincèrement que tous les élèves et que tous les enseignants auront la chance d'avoir dans leur vie une meneuse de claque comme [Sarah Newton], car de telles personnes changent positivement les choses et les répercussions sont infinies. »  — Une collègue

Chaque jour, les élèves de Sarah Newton apprennent, rient et ont du plaisir. Parallèlement, sa vaste expérience et ses connaissances approfondies lui permettent d'allier créativité et notions élémentaires pour faire en sorte que chaque enfant soit prêt à affronter tout défi scolaire et toute situation réelle à venir.

Méthode d'enseignement

Sarah s'évertue à établir de solides relations avec les enfants de ses classes, investissant d'innombrables heures pour faire en sorte que chacun ait la possibilité d'être soi-même et de se dépasser. Elle n'hésite pas à avoir de franches discussions avec eux pour les aider à rester sur le chemin de la réussite.

En classe

  • Elle utilise la technologie pour approfondir l'apprentissage : les élèves créent des diaporamas, des magazines en ligne et des publicités pour démontrer leur savoir, ils visionnent des vidéos et d'autres types de documents publiés sur Google Classroom et ils développent leur pensée critique en préparant des réactions à ceux-ci à la maison.
  • Elle mobilise les élèves dans le cadre de projets élaborés : un module bilingue en 11 volets les initie à différents types de poésie, puis les enfants partagent leurs poèmes avec leurs parents lors d'une rencontre de poésie et des élèves « Shark Tank » collaborent pour inventer, construire, faire de la publicité et vendre quelque chose qui sert à quelque chose.
  • Elle offre aux élèves de nombreuses occasions de devenir des citoyens bienveillants et généreux : elle travaille avec un groupe de médiateurs parmi les pairs, jumelle des élèves de 6e année avec des élèves de maternelle aux fins d'apprentissage et de mentorat, recrute et forme des élèves pour qu'ils deviennent des guides lors des portes ouvertes de l'école.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • En tant que mentore, elle organise des ateliers mensuels animés par des enseignants au cours desquels les enseignants partagent leurs compétences, coordonne des activités de renforcement d'équipe et des repas, invite des conférenciers spécialistes de la motivation et appuie les nouveaux enseignants dans un environnement sûr.
  • En tant qu'adjointe administrative, elle dresse l'horaire de supervision de l'école, règle les problèmes d'autobus, aide à l'embauche de dernière minute, appuie les mesures disciplinaires des élèves, aide au règlement des problèmes de personnel et représente l'administration en l'absence de ses membres. Elle joue un rôle prépondérant dans l'orientation de la maternelle.
  • Elle a participé pendant cinq ans à l'élaboration de l'examen provincial de langue de 6e année, en partageant sa vision pour le rendre plus accessible à tous les élèves, plus attrayant et plus axé sur l'élève.

Prenez contact!
École primaire Margaret Manson
18750, boul. Elkas
Kirkland (Québec) H9J 4C1
514-694-7808
sherault@lbpsb.qc.ca
http://margaretmanson.lbpsb.qc.ca/
Facebook: @Margaret-Manson-Elementary

Date de modification :