Language selection

Search

Susan Brown: literacy champion for school and community

Year: 2019 – Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Susan Brown

Levelled literacy intervention, grades 1 to 3
Rossignol Elementary School, Ile-a-la-Crosse, Saskatchewan

"Prior to the sixth grade, I was limited academically and struggled significantly in many areas. But, with patience and understanding, Mrs. Brown changed my whole aspect of learning. … I believe I would have never developed into the teacher I hope to be if not for her … ."  — Former student, now teacher

Susan Brown is a very knowledgeable educator, who, her colleagues say, thinks she has the most to learn of anyone. She sets high expectations for herself and her students at her remote northern school, inviting children—many of whom live in poverty—into a literacy-rich classroom environment.

Teaching approach

Believing that early intervention is key to overcoming reading challenges, Susan works with fellow teachers to reinforce reading strategies and provides one-on-one individual help. She creates positive learning experiences for children, building relationships with her so they feel valued and comfortable.

In the classroom

  • Integrates technology to help students develop language skills: children with sensory issues type assignments and notes with assistive technology such as Neo; electronic dictionaries and Word Q let students hear words and sentences; speakers broadcast reading to build aural comprehension.
  • Analyzes students reading difficulties and adapts her instruction accordingly, offering a variety of activities in her individualized sessions, such as whisper reading, locating words in literature, playing vocabulary games or doing a matching activity on an interactive whiteboard.
  • Took action when reading levels slid because some students did not read at all during the summer: created, with another teacher, summer reading bags for 40 students, with books and writing journals; developed information package for parents and promoted the program on social media.

Outstanding achievements

  • With Susan as reading intervention instructor, students' reading levels improved from 55 percent at grade level at the end of the 2015 school year to 82.6 percent in 2018.
  • Always steps up to be first in the school to try new technology, such as interactive white boards, response remotes, tablets and document cameras, and shares her knowledge with colleagues; learns about and pilot tests new tools to help administrators decide whether to invest in them.
  • Completed professional development on a new classroom literacy program, although it is not her program, so she can plan instruction that bridges the classroom and her interventions, and allows her to support teachers and students effectively.
  • Set up an after-school reading club that meets three times a week so students who do not have the support for reading at home can get the practice they need.

Get in touch!
Rossignol Elementary School
Box 70
Ile-a-la-Crosse SK S0M 1C0
306-833-2010
https://rossignolschools.com/rossignol-elementary-school/
Facebook: @Rossignol Elementary School

Date modified:

Susan Brown: championne de l’alphabétisation pour l’école et la communauté

Année : 2019 – Province : Saskatachewan

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Susan Brown

Intervention nivelée en alphabétisation, de la 1re à la 3e année
Rossignol Elementary School, Île-à-la-Crosse (Saskatchewan)

« Avant la sixième année, j'avais des difficultés à l'école. J'avais des difficultés dans plusieurs matières. Mais, avec de la patience et de la compréhension, Mme Brown a changé tout mon apprentissage… Je crois que sans elle, je ne serais jamais devenu l'enseignant que je souhaite être… »  — Ancien élève, maintenant enseignant

Susan Brown est une enseignante très compétente qui, selon ses collègues, estime qu'elle a le plus à apprendre des autres. Elle exige beaucoup d'elle même et de ses élèves de son école éloignée dans le nord. Elle invite les enfants – dont bon nombre vivent dans la pauvreté – dans une classe riche sur le plan de l'alphabétisation.

Approche pédagogique

Susan croit que l'intervention précoce est essentielle pour surmonter les difficultés en lecture. Elle travaille donc avec ses collègues pour renforcer les stratégies de lecture et offrir une aide individuelle. Elle crée des expériences d'apprentissage positives pour les enfants et établit des liens avec eux afin qu'ils se sentent valorisés et à l'aise.

En classe

  • Elle intègre la technologie pour aider les élèves à acquérir des compétences linguistiques. En effet, les élèves présentant un handicap d'ordre sensoriel rédigent leurs devoirs et leurs notes à l'ordinateur au moyen d'une technologie d'assistance telle que Neo et de dictionnaires électroniques. Par ailleurs, avec le logiciel Word Q, les élèves peuvent entendre les mots et les phrases, et des haut-parleurs diffusent la lecture pour renforcer la compréhension orale.
  • Elle analyse les difficultés en lecture des élèves et adapte son enseignement en conséquence. Elle offre une variété d'activités dans ses séances personnalisées, dont la lecture à voix basse, le repérage de mots dans la littérature, des jeux de vocabulaire ou des activités de jumelage sur un tableau interactif.
  • Elle a pris des mesures lorsque les niveaux de compréhension écrite ont dérapé parce que les élèves n'avaient pas lu du tout pendant l'été. Elle a créé, avec un autre enseignant, des trousses de lecture estivale pour 40 élèves, qui contenaient des livres et des journaux; elle a élaboré une trousse d'information à l'intention des parents et a fait la promotion du programme sur les médias sociaux.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Avec Susan comme éducatrice en intervention en lecture, les niveaux de compréhension écrite des élèves sont passés de 55 % à la fin de l'année scolaire de 2015 à 82,6 % en 2018.
  • Elle se porte toujours volontaire pour être la première à essayer les nouvelles technologies, notamment les tableaux interactifs, les boîtiers de vote interactif, les tablettes et les caméras de documents. Par ailleurs, elle transmet ses connaissances à ses collègues, elle s'informe sur les nouveaux outils et les met à l'essai pour aider les administrateurs à décider s'ils doivent investir dans ces outils.
  • Elle a suivi une formation professionnelle sur un nouveau programme d'alphabétisation en classe, même s'il ne s'agit pas de son programme, afin d'être capable de planifier un enseignement qui fait le pont entre la classe et ses interventions et d'appuyer de manière efficace le personnel enseignant et les élèves.
  • Elle a mis sur pied un club de lecture parascolaire dont les membres se rencontrent trois fois par semaine afin que les élèves qui n'ont pas d'aide pour lire à la maison puissent s'exercer.

Communiquez avec nous!
Rossignol Elementary School
Box 70
Ile-a-la-Crosse (Saskatchewan) S0M 1C0
306-833-2010
https://rossignolschools.com/rossignol-elementary-school/
Facebook : @Rossignol Elementary School

Date de modification :