2019 Recipients — Teaching Excellence in STEM

Province Community Name of school Name of recipient Grades and subjects taught Highlights
Alberta
Certificate of Excellence Fort McMurray Father Patrick Mercredi High School Tamarra Price Chambrinho Communication Technologies and Media, and Communication Technologies, grades 7–12 The "heart and soul" of her school's technology program, this long-time teacher brings technology opportunities to her remote community, while instilling leadership and mentoring skills, and fostering collaborative learning and digital literacy.
Certificate of Achievement Calgary Crossing Park School Andrea Catherine Bailey Math, Science, Computing Science, Grade 8 Science students take on projects such as designing, building and working with experts to refine exhibits for local science museum; students of all abilities benefit from this teacher's individualized approach to math and problem solving.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement Courtenay Comox Valley Schools Kara Dawson Technology education, district-wide, Kindergarten to Grade 7 District leader brings cutting-edge technology to elementary schools in her area, introducing tools to support students who struggle in the traditional classroom and supporting educators so they can integrate STEM into their teaching.
Certificate of Achievement Pitt Meadows Pitt Meadows Secondary School Kelvin Dueck Physics, science, math, grades 9–12 If it takes jumping out of a plane to engage his students in science and math, this teacher will do it; on the ground, he makes physics fun and relevant: they rip a phone book in half, pilot a toy hovercraft and try out a bed of nails.
Manitoba
Certificate of Achievement Winnipeg Balmoral Hall School Arda Thomson Kindergarten (science, math, social studies, language arts, art) Bringing up the next generation of scientists and engineers, this educator introduces the scientific method and design process, focusing class work around tinkering and building; very young girls build structures and learn to use tools.
New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence Hillsborough Caledonia Regional High School Benjamin Kelly Technology, Computer Science, Math, Cybersecurity, Digital Productions, Entrepreneurship,
Co-op Education, Environmental Science and Media Studies, grades 6–12
Every student at this teacher's small rural school enrols in his STEM program, surveying with drones, building the first iOS apps in Atlantic Canada and connecting with the world through Skype, all while developing empathy and a sense of belonging.
Certificate of Achievement Riverview Riverview East School Andrew Harris All subjects, Grade 1 Believing that creativity and collaboration are just as important as literacy and numeracy, this young educator blends Maker Ed with art, math, reading and writing; children learn to code, build robots and work with circuits—skills they'd typically learn only in later grades.
Newfoundland and Labrador
Certificate of Achievement St. John's St. Matthew's School Nancy Alexandra Ryan All subjects, grade 3 This environmental steward engages children with stories of her hobby farm, woodland, animals and new technologies; children look after an extensive school garden, and learn about the local flora, fauna and geology on after-school hikes.
Ontario
Certificate of Achievement Brampton Jean Augustine Secondary School Scott D. Currie Technological design, grades 9 to 12 Dedicated to pushing the boundaries of design, this teacher has students design and create products with a purpose and impact—including a new kitchen for the local food bank.
Certificate of Achievement Thornhill Thornlea Secondary School Jacqueline Ross Science, grades 9–12 This former research assistant grounds her teaching in her passion for research; via hands-on projects students test their digital literacy skills, figure out how to survive outdoors with no food, and collaborate to build models of an outdoor classroom.
Certificate of Achievement Toronto Georges Vanier Secondary School Victor Samou Wong Visual Art and Science, grades 9–12 Committed educator turned school into technology powerhouse, giving students from across the board the chance to use high-tech gear; he combines technology and art so they can express themselves and explore their cultural identity.
Certificate of Achievement Waterloo Waterloo Collegiate Institute Aleda Klassen Mathematics, grades 10–11 In a classroom that looks like a collaborative space at a tech start-up, this dedicated teacher harnesses technology to foster student success and facilitate assessment; hands-on approaches, and chocolate, engage reluctant math students.
Quebec
Certificate of Achievement Lavaltrie École secondaire de la Rive Stéphane Arbour 3e secondaire (science) Managing a small television studio to broadcast school events; learning to repair electronic equipment to counter planned obsolescence; fund-raising to finance a competition: these are all projects this teacher has involved his students in to teach them to take on a challenge, see further ahead and make the most of their individual strengths.
Certificate of Achievement Montréal Trafalgar School for Girls Christianne Loupelle Science and Technology, grades 7, 9 and 10, Physics, Grade 11 With her DIY approach to teaching STEM, this hands-on educator gets girls learning by doing; they are designing a playground, and put on an exhibition of paper dresses they designed and created to honour missing and murdered Indigenous girls and women.
Certificate of Achievement Saint-Agapit École Beaurivage Steve Julien 2e, 4e et 5e secondaires (science et chimie) A born educator, motivator and mentor, this teacher is passionate in his belief that caring, discipline and intellectual curiosity go hand in hand with experimentation and humour to create an engaging, stimulating learning space that encourages and supports his students' development and their ongoing desire to excel.
Certificate of Achievement Sherbrooke Séminaire de Sherbrooke Francys Gauthier 2e, 3e, 4e et 5e secondaires (anglais langue seconde, robotique) Moved by a contagious passion for STEM subjects, this teacher uses projects to push the boundaries of theoretical concepts by building on student-centred experimentation and learning. He also gathers mentors around him who contribute to the authenticity of the teaching projects he proposes.
Saskatchewan
Certificate of Achievement Regina Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School Heather Faris Science 9, Health Science 20, Biology 30 Using personal stories, engaging demonstrations and even her pet snake to make learning meaningful, this teacher involves her students in real-life research and shares her strategies with other teachers so they can do the same.
Date modified:

Lauréats de 2019 — Excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

Province Communauté Nom Nom du lauréat ou de la lauréate Années et matières Faits saillants
Alberta
Certificat d'excellence Fort McMurray Father Patrick Mercredi High School Tamarra Price Chambrinho De la 7e à la 12e année (technologies des communications et médias) « Le cœur et l'âme » du programme de technologie de son école, cette enseignante de longue date offre à sa collectivité éloignée des possibilités technologiques, tout en inculquant des compétences en leadership et en favorisant l'apprentissage collaboratif et la littératie numérique.
Certificat d'honneur Calgary Crossing Park School Andrea Catherine Bailey 8e année (mathématiques, science, informatique) Les élèves en science réalisent des projets de conception, de construction et de collaboration avec des experts en vue de peaufiner des expositions du musée local consacré à la science; les élèves, quelles que soient leurs capacités, bénéficient de l'approche individualisée de cette enseignante à l'égard des mathématiques et de la résolution de problèmes.
Colombie-Britannique
Certificat d'honneur Courtenay Comox Valley Schools Kara Dawson De la maternelle à la 7e année, dans l'ensemble du conseil scolaire (enseignement de la technologie) Cette chef de district introduit la technologie de pointe dans les écoles primaires de sa région, en proposant des outils pour aider les élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés dans une salle de classe traditionnelle et en aidant les éducateurs à intégrer les STIM dans leur enseignement.
Certificat d'honneur Pitt Meadows Pitt Meadows Secondary School Kelvin Dueck De la 9e à la 12e année (physique, science et mathématiques) S'il doit sauter en parachute pour susciter l'intérêt de ses élèves pour la science et les mathématiques, cet enseignant le fera; sur la terre ferme, il rend la physique amusante et pertinente : les élèves déchirent en deux un annuaire téléphonique, pilotent un aéroglisseur miniature et essaient un lit de clous.
Manitoba
Certificat d'honneur Winnipeg Balmoral Hall School Arda Thomson Maternelle (science, mathématiques, études sociales, arts du langage et arts) Cette éducatrice initie la prochaine génération de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs à la méthode scientifique et au processus de conception en axant le travail classe sur le bricolage et la construction; des fillettes érigent des structures et apprennent à utiliser des outils.
Nouveau-Brunswick
Certificat d'excellence Hillsborough Caledonia Regional High School Benjamin Kelly De la 6e à la 12e année (technologie, informatique, mathématiques, cybersécurité, productions numériques, entrepreneuriat,
alternance travail-études, sciences de l'environnement et études des médias)
Tous les élèves de la petite école rurale de cet enseignant s'inscrivent à son programme de STIM, ils pilotent des drones, construisent les premières applications iOS du Canada atlantique et se connectent au monde au moyen de Skipe, tout cela en développant un sentiment d'empathie et d'appartenance.
Certificat d'honneur Riverview Riverview East School Andrew Harris 1re année (toutes les matières) Convaincu qu'il est tout aussi important d'apprendre à créer et à collaborer que d'apprendre à lire et à compter, ce jeune enseignant adapte la pédagogie de création à l'art, aux mathématiques, à la lecture et à l'écriture : les élèves apprennent à coder, à construire des robots et à travailler avec des circuits ‒ des compétences généralement enseignées plus tard.
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Certificat d'honneur St. John's St. Matthew's School Nancy Alexandra Ryan 3e année (toutes les matières) Cette intendante de l'environnement mobilise les enfants en leur parlant de sa ferme d'agrément de son boisé et de ses animaux, et des nouvelles technologies; les enfants s'occupent de l'immense jardin de l'école et étudient la flore, la faune et la géologie locales dans le cadre d'excursions parascolaires.
Ontario
Certificat d'honneur Brampton Jean Augustine Secondary School Scott D. Currie De la 9e à la 12e année (conception technologique) Déterminé à repousser les limites de la conception, cet enseignant amène les élèves à concevoir et à créer des produits qui ont un but et une incidence, y compris une nouvelle cuisine pour la banque alimentaire locale.
Certificat d'honneur Thornhill Thornlea Secondary School Jacqueline Ross De la 9e à la 12e année (science) Cette ancienne adjointe à la recherche fonde son enseignement sur sa passion pour la recherche; dans le cadre de projets pratiques, les élèves testent leurs compétences en littératie numérique, découvrent comment survivre à l'extérieur sans nourriture et collaborent à la création de modèles de classe en plein air.
Certificat d'honneur Toronto Georges Vanier Secondary School Victor Samou Wong De la 9e à la 12e année (arts visuels et science) Cet enseignant engagé a transformé l'école en centre d'innovation technologique en permettant aux élèves du conseil scolaire d'utiliser des appareils hautement sophistiqués; il allie la technologie et l'art pour permettre aux élèves de s'exprimer et d'explorer leur identité culturelle.
Certificat d'honneur Waterloo Waterloo Collegiate Institute Aleda Klassen 10e et 11e années (mathématiques) Dans une classe aux allures de l'espace de collaboration d'une jeune entreprise technologique, cette enseignante dévouée utilise la technologie pour favoriser la réussite des élèves et faciliter l'évaluation; des approches pratiques, et du chocolat, suscitent l'intérêt des élèves pour les mathématiques.
Québec
Certificat d'honneur Lavaltrie École secondaire de la Rive Stéphane Arbour 3e secondaire (science) Gérer un petit studio de télévision pour diffuser les activités scolaires; apprendre à réparer du matériel électronique pour contrer l'obsolescence programmée; collecter des fonds pour financer une compétition : ce sont tous là des projets dans lesquels cet enseignant engage ses élèves afin qu'ils apprennent à se mettre au défi, à voir plus loin et à exploiter leurs forces respectives.
Certificat d'honneur Montréal Trafalgar School for Girls Christianne Loupelle 7e, 9e et 10e années (science et technologie) et 11e année (physique) Grâce à son approche « faire soi-même » pour l'enseignement des STIM, cette enseignante pratique aide les filles à apprendre par l'action; elles conçoivent un terrain de jeux et réalisent une exposition de robes de papier qu'elles ont conçues et fabriquées en hommage aux femmes et aux jeunes filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.
Certificat d'honneur Saint-Agapit École Beaurivage Steve Julien 2e, 4e et 5e secondaires (science et chimie) Vulgarisateur né, motivateur et mentor, cet enseignant est un passionné qui croit en une approche où bienveillance, discipline et curiosité intellectuelle se marient à l'expérimentation et à l'humour pour créer un espace d'apprentissage engageant, stimulant qui encourage et soutient l'épanouissement de ses élèves et à leur désir de constant dépassement.
Certificat d'honneur Sherbrooke Séminaire de Sherbrooke Francys Gauthier 2e, 3e, 4e et 5e secondaires (anglais langue seconde, robotique) Mu par une passion contagieuse pour les STIM, cet enseignant multiplie les projets afin de repousser les limites des concepts théoriques en misant sur l'expérimentation qui met les élèves au cœur de leur apprentissage. Il rassemble aussi autour de lui des mentors qui contribuent à l'aspect authentique des projets pédagogiques qu'il met de l'avant.
Saskatchewan
Certificat d'honneur Regina Miller Comprehensive Catholic High School Heather Faris Science 9, sciences de la santé 20, biologie 30 En recourant à des récits personnels, à des démonstrations animées et même à son serpent de compagnie pour donner un sens à l'apprentissage, cette enseignante fait vivre à ses élèves des expériences de recherche réelles et partage ses stratégies avec d'autres enseignants pour qu'ils fassent de même.
Date de modification :