Language selection

Search

Anju Bajaj: From Top Level Research to the Classroom

Year: 2021 — Province: Manitoba
Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Holy Cross School
Grades 1, 2, 7 and 8 – health education, physical education, science, social studies
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Quote

“Anju is a STEM leader in every sense of the term. Through numerous engaging, hands-on learning opportunities in and outside the classroom, she fosters students’ intellectual, social, emotional, and physical development and cultivates their leadership abilities.”

Colleague

Teaching Approach

Anju is more than a teacher. She is a consultant, public speaker, and lifelong learner. Dr. Bajaj is a practicing research scientist in cell pathophysiology at the St. Boniface Research Center. For Anju, education should be participatory. She often uses a flipped classroom model to pre-teach materials where students discover new content from online videos or electronic resources before the lesson. She encourages students to ask questions, seek answers, set goals, and perform self and peer assessments.

In the Classroom

Among her teaching techniques, Anju uses the 10:2 method. For every 10 minutes of instruction she allows students 2 minutes to process and respond to the instruction. At the end of a lesson, she has students use the 3-2-1 method of summarizing. Students record three things they learned - two interesting things and one question they have about the subject matter. This method allows students time to share their findings with a classmate and make learning a more communal and interactive activity.

Anju is really an original thinker. She believes that infusing arts into STEM is important. This is the way to make STEM cool and attractive for kids. Her work with the art teacher to demonstrate the theory of light and optical illusions is not only visually spectacular, but scientifically fascinating and filled with open-ended curiosity.

Outstanding Achievements

Anju’s initiatives and involvement have been recognised with various awards including the Science Teacher of the Year award – Science Teachers Association of Manitoba, the Global Educator Award – Manitoba Council for International Cooperation, the Outstanding Science Educator award – Bioscience Association of Manitoba, the Teacher Appreciation Award – Manitoba Schools Science Symposium, the K12 Ed Tech Educator of the Year Award -  Mind Share Learning, and Excellence in Education Award - Manitoba Education and Training.

Anju is very much about innovative and exemplary teaching practices. One of her many activities is with the Kids’ New Horizons Program. This is a collaborative science program with the scientists and caregivers from St. Boniface Hospital, Cancer Care Manitoba, Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre, and the University of Manitoba. It is designed to support health and science literacy for students. It focuses on connecting STEM learning in the classroom to current research and daily work done at the science research facilities. Students participate in lab-based activities, seminars, science expos and research presentations.

In her recent collaboration with the Horizon Project she supported students in remote First Nations communities to access quality learning materials. STEM Activity kits provide them the opportunities to do STEM at home with limited adult supervision and limited technology. She also worked with the Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council on a project toolkit - Inspiring First Nation Communities Towards STEM Opportunities – a project funded by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Get in touch!

Holy Cross School
300 Dubuc Street
Winnipeg, MB  R2H 1E4
204-237-4936
Email: hcsoffice@holycrossschool.mb.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Anju Bajaj : De la recherche de haut niveau à la salle de classe

Année : 2021 – Province : Manitoba
Lauréate d’un certificat d’excellence

École Holy Cross
1re, 2e, 7e et 8e années – éducation à la santé, éducation physique, sciences naturelles et études sociales
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Citation

« Anju est une leader STIM dans tous les sens du terme. Par les nombreuses possibilités d’apprentissage pratiques et attrayantes qu’elle propose en classe et en dehors, elle favorise le développement intellectuel, social, émotionnel et physique des élèves et cultive leurs capacités de leadership. »

collègue

Approche pédagogique

Anju est plus qu’une enseignante. Elle est consultante, conférencière et éternelle étudiante! Mme Bajaj est chercheuse praticienne en physiopathologie cellulaire au Centre de recherche de Saint-Boniface. Pour Anju, l’éducation doit être participative. Elle utilise souvent un modèle de classe inversée pour préenseigner des matières, les élèves découvrant un nouveau contenu à partir de vidéos en ligne ou de ressources électroniques avant le cours. Elle encourage les élèves à poser des questions, à chercher des réponses, à se fixer des objectifs et à effectuer des auto-évaluations et des évaluations par les pairs.

Dans la salle de classe

Parmi ses techniques d’enseignement, Anju utilise la méthode 10 pour 2. Pour chaque 10 minutes d’enseignement, elle accorde aux élèves 2 minutes pour traiter l’information reçue. À la fin d’une leçon, elle demande aux élèves d’utiliser la méthode 3-2-1 pour résumer. Les élèves notent trois choses qu’ils ont apprises, deux choses intéressantes et une question qu’ils se posent sur le sujet. Cette méthode donne aux élèves le temps de partager leurs découvertes avec un camarade de classe et fait de l’apprentissage une activité plus collective et interactive.

Anju a vraiment des idées originales. Elle estime qu’il est important d’intégrer les arts dans les STIM. C’est le moyen de rendre les STIM attrayantes pour les enfants. Son travail avec l’enseignant d’art pour expliquer la théorie de la lumière et les illusions d’optique n’est pas seulement visuellement spectaculaire, mais aussi scientifiquement fascinant, et représente une source intarissable de curiosités.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

Les initiatives et la participation d’Anju ont été reconnues par divers prix, notamment le prix de l’enseignant de sciences de l’année de la Science Teachers Association of Manitoba, le prix Global Educator du Manitoba Council for International Cooperation, le prix Outstanding Science Educator de la Bioscience Association of Manitoba, le prix Teacher Appreciation du Manitoba Schools Science Symposium, le prix K12 Ed Tech Educator of the Year de MindShare Learning et le prix d’excellence en éducation du ministère manitobain de l’Éducation et de la Formation.

Anju est très attachée aux pratiques pédagogiques innovantes et exemplaires. L’une de ses nombreuses activités est le programme New Horizons pour les enfants. Il s’agit d’un programme de collaboration avec les scientifiques et les soignants de l’Hôpital Saint-Boniface, d’Action Cancer Manitoba, du Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre et de l’Université du Manitoba. Il est conçu pour enrichir les connaissances en santé et en sciences des élèves. Il vise à relier l’apprentissage des STIM en classe à la recherche actuelle et au travail quotidien effectué dans les centres de recherche scientifique. Les élèves participent à des activités de laboratoire, des séminaires, des expositions scientifiques et des présentations de recherche.

Dans le cadre de sa récente collaboration avec le projet Horizon, elle a aidé les élèves de collectivités reculées de Premières Nations à accéder à du matériel pédagogique de qualité. Les trousses d’activités STIM leur donnent la possibilité de faire des STIM à la maison avec une supervision limitée de la part des adultes et sans trop de technologie. Elle a également travaillé avec le Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council sur une boîte à outils pour un projet intitulé Inspiring First Nation Communities Towards STEM Opportunities, un projet financé par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Communiquez avec nous!

École Holy Cross
300 Dubuc Street
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R2H 1E4
204-237-4936
Courriel : hcsoffice@holycrossschool.mb.ca

Date de modification :