How to create a report using Financial Performance Data

This document will guide you through the report creation process, going step by step through the pages that are used to customize your report content and enter your company's data.

Create a report

Once you select the Create a report button you are taken to the "Create a report" page. Here you can specify criteria that will customize the content of your report.

Revenue range:

You can select the Revenue range values of either the $30 thousand to $5 million or the $5 million to $20 million range. The selection of the $5 million to $20 million range is limited to the Canada level and incorporated businesses only.

Provinces/Territory/Canada:

From the drop-down menu, you can select the province or territory of your business to refine the focus of your report. Note that by selecting particular provinces and territories the sample size will be smaller and can impact the availability of data for your industry. By default "Canada" is selected. For Revenue range selections of “$5 Million-$20 million”, “Canada” will be the only available geographic area selection criteria.

Incorporation status:

From the drop-down menu, you can select to view data for "Incorporated businesses", "Unincorporated businesses" or "All businesses". This option can help you to find more accurate comparison groups for your business. You will find all your selected variables on your report. If no data is available, the variable will be populated with N/A. By default "All businesses" is selected. For Revenue range selections of “$5 Million-$20 million”, “Incorporated businesses” will be the only available Incorporation status selection criteria.

top of page

Distribution by:

For the "Distribution by" criteria, you can select to have data presented by Total revenue or Profit marge in your report. By default "Profit margin" is selected.

Value in:

You can select the values to be displayed as a percentage or in thousands of dollars. By default "Percentage" is selected.

Industry options:

In the Industry options, you can select "Search for an industry" or "Browse for an industry". By default "Search for an industry" is selected.

Search for an industry

If you select "Search for an industry", you must type in your industry NAICS code or keywords for the industry you are interested in. Then click the "Search" button and scroll through the list of industry sectors. Select the industry which reflects the main activity of your business then click on "Create report" button.

Browse for an industry

If you select "Browse for an industry", you must select an industry category from the drop-down list and press the "Search" button. Select the industry that you think matches closest to the main activity of your business and click "Create report".

top of page

Report

A customized report is generated based on your selections of the criteria options. To make changes to your report, you can either click on the "Change criteria" button or use the back arrow. If you selected "Change criteria", your selections will be kept.

All reports feature information for the whole industry. You'll have bottom quartiles, lower middle, upper middle and top quartile on your report, which can allow you to compare your business to a segment of the industry that features businesses that are more similar to yours.

Quartile information

The quartiles divide all of the small and medium sized businesses that operate within the selected industry into four groups (quartiles) of the same size based on levels of revenue or profit margin generated.

All of the businesses in the selected industry are ranked according to annual revenue or profit marge generated.

The Bottom quartile consists of the 25% of businesses with the lowest reported operating revenue or profit margin.

The Lower middle consists of the 25% of businesses with reported operating revenue above the cut-off for the Bottom quartile and below the median revenue or profit margin level.

The Upper middle consists of the 25% of businesses with reported operating revenue or profit margin above the median revenue or profit margin level and below the cut-off for the Top quartile.

The Top quartile consists of the 25% of businesses with the highest reported operating revenue or profit margin.


Add your data to the report

Clicking the "Add your data to the report" link will take you to the "Revenue and expense Item" page, allowing you to enter your company's revenue and expenses in the report. Click on "Continue" and you will get the "Balance sheet items" page to add your company's data. Note: Please enter all values in thousands of dollars, rounded to the nearest tenth. Click the "Add my data to the report" button to generate the report with your company financial details included. Your company data will appear in the first column of the report under the "Your data" column heading.

Once your data has been added to the industry data, your options are as follows: click the "Export report to Excel" link, or click on "Change criteria" button, or click on "Return to Financial Performance Data" link or click on the "Help" link.

If you choose not to add your company's data your options are as follows: click the "Export your report to Excel" link, click on "Change criteria" button, click on "Return to Financial Performance Data" link or click on the "Help" link.

Detailed information on the financial sections

Revenue and expenses section

This section of the report contains revenue and expense items that can be found in an income statement. This section appears in all reports regardless of the "Incorporated status" selected. You will find all your selected variables on your report. If no data is available, the variable will be populated with N/A. Values are presented in thousands of dollars, or as a percentage depending on your value selection. Definitions for revenue and expense items appearing in the report can be obtained by clicking on their link.

Balance sheet section

This section of the report contains asset, liability and equity items that can be found in a balance sheet. This section also appears on the report regardless of the "Incorporated status" selected. You will find all your selected variables on your report. If no data is available, the variable will be populated with N/A. Values are presented in thousands of dollars, or as a percentage depending on your value selection. Definitions for balance sheet and income statement items appearing in the report can be obtained by clicking on their link.

Financial ratios section

This section of the report contains a variety of ratios that are calculated using variables from other report sections. This section also appears on the report regardless of the "Incorporated status" selected. You will find all your selected variables on your report. If no data is available, the variable will be populated with N/A. Definitions for Financial ratios appearing in the report can be obtained by clicking on their link.

Profitable vs Non-profitable businesses section

This section of the report contains total revenues, expenses and net profit/loss broken down between profitable and non-profitable businesses. You will find all your selected variables on your report. If no data is available, the variable will be populated with N/A. This section also provides the percentage of profitable small businesses in the selected industry.

top of page

Date modified:

Comment créer un rapport à l'aide des données sur la performance financière

Ce document vous indiquera les étapes à suivre pour créer un rapport. Vous y trouverez des instructions pour chacune des pages à remplir pour personnaliser le contenu de votre rapport et pour saisir les données de votre entreprise.

Créer un rapport

Lorsque vous sélectionnez Créer un rapport la page "Créer un rapport" apparaît. Vous pouvez y préciser différents critères qui vous permettront de personnaliser le contenu de votre rapport.

Intervalle de revenu :

Vous pouvez sélectionner l'une ou l'autre des valeurs d'Intervalle de revenu soit 30 000 $ à 5 milliers de dollars $ ou 5 milliers de dollars $ à 20 milliers de dollars $. Lorsque vous sélectionnez l'option 5 000 000 $ à 20 000 000 $, les seuls choix de disponibles sont Canada et Entreprise constituée en société.

Provinces/Territoire/Canada :

Vous pouvez sélectionner la province ou le territoire où votre entreprise exerce ses activités pour que votre rapport soit plus précis. Veuillez noter que si vous sélectionnez une province ou un territoire, la taille de l’échantillon sera plus faible, ce qui pourrait avoir une incidence sur l’accessibilité des données de votre industrie. La valeur par défaut est Canada. Pour l’option Intervalle de revenu 5 millions à 20 millions, « Canada » sera le seul choix disponible sous Provinces/Territoire/Canada.

Statut d'incorporation :

Dans le menu déroulant, vous pouvez choisir d'afficher les données pour "Les entreprises constituées", "les entreprises non constituées en société" ou "Toutes les entreprises". Cette option peut vous aider à trouver des groupes de comparaison plus précis pour votre entreprise. Vous trouverez toutes les variables sélectionnées sur votre rapport. Si aucune donnée n'est disponible, la variable sera peuplé avec N.D. Par défaut "Toutes les entreprises" est sélectionné. Pour l’option Intervalle de revenu 5 millions à 20 millions, « Entreprises constituées en société » sera le seul choix disponible sous Statut d’incorporation.

haut de la page

Distribution par :

Pour la "distribution par" critères, vous pouvez choisir d'avoir des données présentées par le revenu total ou de la marge bénéficiaire dans votre rapport. Par défaut «la marge bénéficiaire» est sélectionné.

Valeur en :

Vous pouvez choisir d’afficher les données de la section du rapport en pourcentage ou en milliers de dollars. La valeur par défaut est Pourcentage.

Options d'industrie :

Cette options vous permet de sélectionner une recherde par industrie ou parcourir la list d'industrie pour les données de votre rapport.

Recherche par industrie

Si vous sélectionnez Rechercher par d'industrie, tapez votre code SCIAN ou mots-clés pour l'industrie que vous êtes intéressé. Cliquez sur le bouton "Rechercher" et faire défiler la liste des secteurs de l'industrie. Une fois que vous avez sélectionner votre secteur, cliquez sur le code ou mot-clé que vous pensez est le plus proche de votre secteur d'activité et cliquez sur le bouton "Créer rapport ".

Parcourir la liste d'industries

Si vous sélectionnez Parcourir la liste d'industrie, sélectionner une catégorie d'industrie dans la liste et appuyez sur le bouton de recherche. Sélectionnez l'industrie que vous pensez correspond le plus proche de votre industrie et cliquez sur le bouton "Créer un rapport". Par défaut "Recherche pour une industrie" est sélectionné.

haut de la page

Rapport

Un rapport personnalisé est généré en fonction des sélections des options de critères. Pour apporter des modifications à votre rapport, vous pouvez soit cliquer sur le bouton «Changement de critères" ou utiliser la flèche de retour. Si vous avez sélectionné "Changement de critères", seront conservées.

Tous les rapports présentent des informations pour l'ensemble du secteur. Vous aurez quart inférieur, 2e quart, 3e quart et quart supérieure sur votre rapport, qui peuvent vous permettre de comparer votre entreprise à un segment de l'industrie qui offre aux entreprises qui sont plus semblables à la vôtre.

Information sur les Quarts

Les quarts correspondent à la division de toutes les petites et moyennes entreprises en exploitation dans une industrie donnée en quatre groupes égaux (quarts) en fonction des recettes générées ou par la marge bénéficiaire.

Toutes les entreprises d’une industrie donnée sont classées selon les recettes annuelles ou marge bénéficiaire qu’elles génèrent.

Le quart inférieur est composé du 25 % des entreprises de l’échantillon total qui ont les revenus d’exploitation ou marge bénéficiaire les plus faibles.

Le deuxième quart est composé du 25 % des entreprises dont les revenus d’exploitation ou marge bénéficiaire se situent entre la limite supérieure du quart inférieur et la médiane.

Le troisième quart est composé du 25 % des entreprises dont les revenus d’exploitation ou marge bénéficiaire se situent entre la médiane et la limite inférieure du quart supérieur.

Le quart supérieur est composé du 25 % des entreprises de l’échantillon total qui ont les revenus d’exploitation ou marge bénéficiaire les plus élevés.

haut de la page


Ajouter vos données au rapport

En cliquant sur le lien " Ajoutez vos données au rapport " vous amène à la page "Revenu et dépense" , vous permettant de saisir les recettes et les dépenses de votre entreprise dans le rapport . Cliquez sur "Continuer" et vous obtiendrez les « bilan» page pour ajouter les données de votre entreprise . Note: S'il vous plaît entrer toutes les valeurs en milliers de dollars , arrondis au dixième près. Cliquez sur le bouton " Ajouter mes données pour le rapport " pour générer le rapport avec votre entreprise détails financiers inclus. Vos données d'entreprise apparaissent dans la première colonne du rapport en vertu de la "Vos données" tête de colonne. Une fois vos données a été ajoutée aux données de l'industrie , vos options sont les suivantes : cliquez sur le lien "exporter le rapport vers Excel ", cliquez sur le bouton "Changement de critères ", cliquez sur " Retour à la performance financière de données " lien ou cliquez sur le lien "Aide". Si vous choisissez de ne pas ajouter les données de votre entreprise vos options sont les suivantes : cliquez sur le lien "exporter votre rapport vers Excel ", cliquez sur le bouton "Changement de critères", cliquez sur " Retour à la performance financière de données" lien ou cliquez sur le menu "Aide".

Section données des recettes et dépenses

Cette section du rapport présente les recettes et les charges qui peuvent être trouvés dans un compte de résultat. Cette section apparaît dans tous les rapports quel que soit le "statut Incorporated" sélectionné. Vous trouverez toutes les variables sélectionnées sur votre rapport. Si aucune donnée n'est disponible, la variable sera peuplé de N.D. Les valeurs sont présentées en milliers de dollars, ou comme un pourcentage en fonction de votre choix de valeur. Définitions des recettes et les dépenses figurant dans le rapport peuvent être obtenus en cliquant sur leur lien.

Section du bilan

Cette section du rapport contient actif , passif et capitaux propres articles qui peuvent être trouvés dans un bilan. Cette section apparaît également sur le rapport indépendamment du "statut Incorporated" sélectionné. Vous trouverez toutes les variables sélectionnées sur votre rapport. Si aucune donnée n'est disponible, la variable sera peuplé de N.D. Les valeurs sont présentées en milliers de dollars, ou comme un pourcentage en fonction de votre choix de valeur. Définitions pour le bilan et les éléments du compte de résultat figurant dans le rapport peuvent être obtenus en cliquant sur leur lien.

Section Ratios financiers

Cette section du rapport contient une série de rapports qui sont calculés en utilisant des variables d'autres sections du rapport . Cette section apparaît également sur le rapport indépendamment du "statut Incorporated" sélectionné. Vous trouverez toutes les variables sélectionnées sur votre rapport. Si aucune donnée n'est disponible, la variable sera peuplé de N.D. Définitions des ratios financiers figurant dans le rapport peuvent être obtenus en cliquant sur leur lien.

Section Entreprises rentables c. non rentables

Cette section du rapport contient les recettes totales , les dépenses et le bénéfice net/perte ventilées entre les entreprises rentables et non rentables . Vous trouverez toutes les variables sélectionnées sur votre rapport. Si aucune donnée n'est disponible, la variable sera peuplé de N.D. Cette section fournit également le pourcentage de petites entreprises rentables dans le secteur choisi.

haut de la page

Date de modification :