Industry profile


Introduction

The rubber products industry comprises three sub-industries: tire and tube, hose and belting, and other rubber products. Industrial rubber products includes hose and belting, and other rubber products, but excludes tires and tubes.

While industrial rubber products are used by virtually all industries, the dominant market is automotive (for example, hoses, belts, gaskets, weatherstripping, glass encapsulation, air dams and deflectors, and door, window and closure seals). Other important markets include conveyor belts for mining and forestry operations, roll flooring, and consumer products.

All natural rubber used in Canada is imported; it can be extracted from a variety of vegetation, but the most significant source is the rubber tree (Hevea brasiliensis). Synthetic rubbers are produced chemically from petrochemical feedstocks. Lanxess is the sole Canadian-based manufacturer of synthetic rubber. The principal synthetic rubbers include styrene-butadiene, butyl, nitrile, isoprene, chloroprene, urethane, polysulfide, silicone and ethylene propylene diene terpolymer (EPDM).

The first step in the production of a rubber product is to blend one or more types of rubber with additives such as carbon black, oil, anti-oxidant, catalyst, plasticizer, pigment, accelerator and filler. The compounded rubber is processed into the desired shape by extrusion, compression moulding, or calendering (which coats a substrate like glass fibre or textile with rubber). Up to this stage, the rubber can be permanently deformed by an applied force. The rubber is then transformed into an elastomer, or material that recovers its original shape once the deforming stress is relieved, through a process known as vulcanization. Vulcanization results in the formation of new chemical bonds that crosslink individual polymer chains and impart the elasticity commonly associated with rubber. In some cases, the moulding and vulcanizing operations are combined in a single step.

Structure and performance of the industry

The industrial rubber products industry in Canada is composed of 298 establishments, which employed 9 260 people and produced shipments worth $2.3 billion in 2010 (see detailed industry statistics). Following a decline in output caused by the recession, the industry showed good growth in 2010.

Based on 2009 Statistics Canada data, 50 percent of establishments were in Ontario, 31 percent in Quebec, 9 percent in British Columbia, 9 percent in the Prairies, and 1 percent in Atlantic Canada.

Figure 1 compares average salaries, and Figure 2 compares shipments per employee, for industrial rubber products and total manufacturing. Shipments per employee remain well below the all manufacturing average, reflecting that the industrial rubber products industry remains labour intensive.

Figure 1: Average salaries

Figure 1: Average salaries (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada

Figure 2: Shipments per employee

Figure 2: Shipments per employee (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada

Trade

Trends in trade orientation are shown in Figure 3. In 2010, exports totalled $1.0 billion and imports were valued at $1.8 billion. Canadian exports grew from 23 percent of shipments in 1990 to 45 percent of shipments in 2010. Imports have also increased significantly during this period and by 2010 accounted for 58 percent of total domestic consumption. Trade with the United States predominates with 93 percent of exports going there and 55 percent of imports originating there in 2010.

Figure 3: Trade orientation

Figure 3: Trade (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada

This industry is now essentially fully rationalized on a North American basis. Companies with plants in both Canada and the United States have shifted manufacturing mandates so that individual plants produce a narrower range of products, but in higher volumes so as to satisfy demand within a larger geographic market.

As of January 1, 1998, the tariffs on all rubber products imported into Canada from the United States had been eliminated. Under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), tariffs on rubber products shipped between Canada and Mexico all dropped to zero by January 1, 2003.

Technology

The industry has ready access to new raw materials and generally uses modern equipment. Limited research and development (R&D) is performed in Canada, partly because some of the larger Canadian companies supplying the automotive industry have located their R&D centres in Detroit where the Big Three and the Japanese transplants have their platform design centres. Despite the low level of domestic R&D, new technology is available to Canadian subsidiaries through the corporate network. Many of the smaller rubber products manufacturers rely heavily on raw material suppliers, intermediate compounders, or machinery suppliers for technical assistance related to new product development. Manufacturers of specialty products must spend more than the industry average on R&D in order to retain the performance advantage that differentiates their products in the market.

Developments in thermoplastic elastomer technology offer the potential for significant improvements in productivity and product quality. Thermoplastic elastomers exhibit the elasticity associated with rubber, but under appropriate conditions, can be processed like plastics. This characteristic permits the use of plastics processing technology to produce elastomeric products, offering significant cost and efficiency advantages over traditional rubber processing methods. These materials are based either on block copolymers that possess distinct elastomeric and thermoplastic regions (domains), or on blends of separate elastomeric and thermoplastic polymers. The use of thermoplastic elastomers is expected to grow much faster than the market for industrial rubber products overall. Applications for which thermoplastic elastomers are replacing thermoset rubbers include seals, gaskets, hoses, flexible tubing, coated fabrics, boots on steering columns, sheeting, weatherstripping, conveyor belting, and air ducts in automobiles.

Environmental issues

Management of post-consumer rubber waste continues to be an important issue for the rubber industry. While most of the attention has focussed on scrap tires, all large-volume rubber products will ultimately face the problem of dealing with waste and discarded material. Rubber products are more difficult to recycle than plastics because they cannot be reprocessed by the simple application of heat and pressure. Recycling processes are based on mechanical disaggregation of the article, separation and recovery of the rubber component, and incorporation of the resultant "crumb" rubber into another manufacturing process. Some of these processes are designed to operate at ambient temperature, and others are designed to function at very low (cryogenic) temperatures at which the rubber becomes brittle and fractures. Some of the uses of recycled rubber include:

  • a modifier in asphalt for road paving and roofing applications
  • other rubber products like mats, carpet underlay, sport surfaces, soil conditioners, leachate liners.

Another large consumer of scrap tires, more so in the United States, is tire-derived fuel (TDF). Tires have a calorific value similar to coal, and thus can partially replace coal in high energy consuming applications such as cement kilns and power plant boilers. The use of TDF in incineration applications has not been as common in Canada, largely due to environmental policies that have tended to limit its use as a fuel substitute.

Pyrolysis is another form of high temperature conversion. In pyrolysis, the rubber is decomposed at high temperatures in the absence of oxygen. This leads to the formation of a broad range of chemical components which can then be refined and used a chemical feedstocks for other processes. Pyrolysis processes are still experimental for the most part, and have not yet proven themselves to be commercially viable.

Canada–U.S. comparison

The value of shipments per employee (adjusted to constant Canadian dollars) has traditionally been higher in the U.S. industry than in the Canadian industry (Figure 4), although this gap has reversed recently.

Figure 4: Shipments per employee

Figure 4: Shipments per employee (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce

Average salaries in the United States (converted to constant Canadian dollars) have generally been higher than those in Canada (Figure 5). That trend has also reversed recently.

Figure 5: Average salaries

Figure 5: Average salaries (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce

Gross margins defined as (value added - production wages)/shipments are used as a crude measure of profitability for the industry in the two countries in Figure 6. The U.S. industry has performed better than the Canadian industry in recent years.

Figure 6: Gross margins

Figure 6: Gross margins (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce

Prospects for the future

The Canadian industry consists of a mixture of subsidiaries of multinational companies and Canadian owned and operated firms.

The challenges for subsidiaries are to continue to secure product mandates that will allow Canadian plants to utilize their capacity to supply North American or world markets from a Canadian base, and to convince parent companies to continue to make the investments in Canada that are necessary in order to keep pace with evolving technology.

For Canadian-owned firms, which often tend to be in the small and medium-sized category, the challenge is to continue to manufacture products which derive their competitiveness from a performance advantage, or which target niche markets. These companies must continue to invest in R&D related to product and process technology in order to sustain their competitive advantage, and also must continue to expand into export markets in order to grow.

Trade associations

Tire and Rubber Association of Canada

Major Firms
Company Head Office Location Location of Plants
AirBoss Rubber Compounding Canada Kitchener, Ontario
Acton Vale, Quebec
American Biltrite (Canada) Ltd. United States Sherbrooke, Quebec
Cooper Standard Automotive United States Georgetown, Ontario
Mitchell, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
Garlock of Canada Ltd. United States Oakville, Ontario
GDX Automotive Germany Welland, Ontario
Hamilton Kent Canada Weston, Ontario
National Rubber United States Toronto, Ontario
Parker Hannefin United States Orillia, Ontario
PPD Rubtech Canada Waterville, Quebec
Soucy International Canada Drummondville, Quebec
Royal Mat Canada Beauceville, Quebec
Veyance Technologies Inc. United States Bowmanville, Ontario
Owen Sound, Ontario
Quebec City, Quebec
Waterville TG Inc. Japan Coaticook, Quebec
Waterville, Quebec
Petrolia, Ontario
Date modified:

Profil industriel


Introduction

L'industrie des produits en caoutchouc regroupe trois industries secondaires qui sont les suivantes : pneus et tubes, tuyaux et courroies et autres produits en caoutchouc. Les produits industriels en caoutchouc regroupent les tuyaux et les courroies et autres produits en caoutchouc, mais excluent les pneus et les tubes.

Bien que les produits industriels en caoutchouc soient employés presque par toutes les industries, le marché dominant est celui de l'industrie de l'automobile (exemple : durites, courroies, joints et bourrelets). Les autres marchés importants incluent l'industrie des tapis roulants pour les secteurs des mines et de la sylviculture, des rouleaux de tapis et des produits de consommation.

Tout le caoutchouc naturel utilisé au Canada est importé; il peut être extrait à partir d'une variété de plantes, mais la source la plus importante est l'arbre à gomme. Les caoutchoucs synthétiques sont produits chimiquement à partir de produits de base pétrochimiques. Lanxess est l'unique fabricant de caoutchoucs synthétiques au Canada. Les principaux caoutchoucs synthétiques sont le styrène-butadiène, le butyle, le nitrile, l'isoprène, le chloroprène, le polysulfide et le terpolymère de silicone et d'éthylène-propylène-diène (EPDM).

La première étape dans la fabrication d'un produit en caoutchouc consiste à mélanger un ou plusieurs types de caoutchoucs à des additifs comme du noir de carbone, du pétrole, des antioxydants, des catalyseurs, des plastifiants, des pigments, des accélérateurs et des matières de charge. On traite le composé de caoutchouc pour lui donner la forme voulue par des procédés tels que l'extrusion, le moulage par compression, ou le calandrage (qui revêt un substrat comme la fibre de verre ou un textile de caoutchouc). À cette étape, le caoutchouc est encore plastique et sa forme peut être modifiée de façon permanente si on applique une pression déterminée or par une pression déterminée. Le caoutchouc est alors transformé en élastomère, ou matière qui recouvre sa forme originelle une fois relâchée la pression qui lui imprimait une forme particulière, par un procédé connu sous le nom de vulcanisation. Celle-ci entraîne la formation de nouveaux liens chimiques entre les différentes chaînes de polymères, ce qui donne au produit l'élasticité qu'on associe habituellement au caoutchouc. Dans certains cas, le moulage et la vulcanisation sont combinés en une seule étape.

Structure et rendement de l'industrie

Au Canada, l'industrie des produits industriels en caoutchouc comprend environ 298 établissements. En 2010, ce secteur employait 9 260 personnes et les expéditions s'élevaient à 2,3 milliards de dollars (voir les statistiques détaillées). Suite à une baisse de la production causée par la récession, l'industrie a montré une bonne croissance en 2010.

Selon les données de 2009 de Statistique Canada, la répartition des établissements était la suivante: 50 p. 100 en Ontario, 31 p. 100 au Québec, 9 p. 100 en Colombie-Britannique, 9 p. 100 dans les Prairies, et 1 p. 100 dans l'Atlantique.

La Figure 1 compare la moyenne des salaires et la Figure 2 compare les expéditions par employés, pour les produits industriels en caoutchouc et pour le total de la fabrication. Les expéditions par employé demeurent en-dessous de la moyenne de l'industrie de la fabrication, ce qui indique que l'industrie des produits industriels en caoutchouc nécessite une forte intensité de main-d'œuvre.

Figure 1: Salaires et traitements moyennes

Figure 1: Salaires et traitements moyennes

Source: Statistics Canada

Figure 2 : Expeditions par employe

Figure 2 : Expeditions par employe (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source: Statistics Canada

Commerce

La Figure 3 montre les tendances commerciales. En 2010, les exportations se sont élevées à 1,0 milliard de dollars et des importations ont été évaluées à 1,8 milliards de dollars. Les échanges commerciaux se font principalement avec les États-Unis. En 2010, 55 p. 100 des importations provenaient des États-Unis, alors que 93 p. 100 des exportations leurs étaient destinées. Les exportations canadiennes ont augmenté d'une façon impressionnante pendant les années 1990, pour passer de 23p. 100 du montant des expéditions totales en 1990 à 45 p. 100 en 2010. Les importations canadiennes ont également considérablement augmenté pendant cette période et en 2010 elles représentaient 58 p. 100 du total de la consommation canadienne.

Figure 3 : Commerce

Figure 3 : Commerce (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source: Statistics Canada

Cette industrie est maintenant essentiellement entièrement rationalisée en Amérique du Nord. Les sociétés ayant des usines au Canada et aux États-Unis ont changé leurs mandats de fabrication de sorte que leurs usines produisent une gamme plus restreinte de produits, mais en plus grande quantité pour satisfaire la demande dans un marché géographique plus étendu. Cette tendance de rationalisation a débuté au milieu des années 1970 et s'est accélérée après la récession de 1981–1982, pour devenir encore plus prononcée après la signature de l'ALE en 1988.

À partir du 1er janvier 1998, les tarifs ont été éliminés sur tous les produits en caoutchouc importés au Canada des États-Unis. Selon les termes de l'Accord du libre échange nord-américain (éricain">ALÉNA), les tarifs sur les produits en caoutchouc expédiés entre le Canada et le Mexique sont déjà éliminés pour pour tous les produits à partir du 1er janvier 2003.

Technologie

L'industrie a facilement accès aux matières premières nouvelles et utilise généralement de l'équipement moderne. Bien que la recherche et le développement (R-D) soient assez limités au Canada, les filiales peuvent obtenir la technologie nécessaire par l'entremise de leur réseau. Un grand nombre de plus petits fabricants de produits en caoutchouc dépendent entièrement des fournisseurs de matières premières, des formulateurs de produits intermédiaires, ou des fournisseurs de machineries pour obtenir l'aide technique nécessaire à la mise au point de nouveaux produits. Les fabricants de produits spécialisés doivent dépenser en R-Dplus que la moyenne des industries de ce secteur si elles veulent que leurs produits conservent une certaine supériorité au sein du marché.

L'évolution intervenue dans la technologie des élastomères thermoplastiques ouvre la porte à une amélioration marquée de la productivité et de la qualité des produits. Les élastomères thermoplastiques possèdent l'élasticité qu'on associe au caoutchouc, mais dans des conditions appropriées, ils peuvent être moulés comme les plastiques. Cette caractéristique permet l'utilisation de technologies de transformation des matières plastiques pour produire des produits élastomères, ce qui est moins coûteux et plus efficace que les méthodes traditionnelles de traitement du caoutchouc. Ces matières sont tirées soit de copolymères blocs, qui possèdent des zones élastomères et thermoplastiques distinctes (domaines), soit de mélanges de polymères élastomèriques et de thermoplastiques distincts. On s'attend à ce que l'utilisation des élastomères thermoplastiques augmente beaucoup plus rapidement que le marché de l'ensemble des produits industriels en caoutchouc. Les applications dans lesquelles les élastomères thermoplastiques remplacent les caoutchoucs de thermodurcis comprennent les joints, les joints d'étanchéité, les boyaux, les tuyaux flexibles, les tissus enduits, les gaines recouvrant les colonnes de direction, les toiles imperméables, les bourrelets, les courroies de tapis roulants et les conduits d'air des automobiles.

Questions liées à l'environnement

La gestion des déchets de caoutchouc post-consommation continue d'être une question importante pour l'industrie du caoutchouc. Bien que le secteur des pneus usagés ait retenu la majeure partie de l'attention du public, tous les gros fabricants de produits en caoutchouc devront finalement faire face au problème de l'élimination des déchets de fabrication. Il est plus difficile de recycler les produits en caoutchouc que le plastique, parce qu'on ne peut pas les retraiter en recourant simplement à la chaleur et à la pression. Le processus de recyclage se fonde sur la désagrégation mécanique de l'objet, la séparation et de la récupération de la composante en caoutchouc, et de l'incorporation des fragments du caoutchouc dans un autre procédé de fabrication. Quelques-uns de ces procédés ont été développés pour fonctionner dans une température ambiante et d'autres ont été conçus pour fonctionner à très basses températures (cryogénique), qui rendent le caoutchouc fragile et cassant. Certaines utilisations du caoutchouc recyclé comprennent :

  • un modificateur pour les chaussées en asphalte-caoutchouc et pour le revêtement des toitures
  • d'autres produits en caoutchouc tels que les paillassons de caoutchouc, les thibaudes, les revêtements de sol pour l'athlétisme, les conditionneurs de sol, les membranes des eaux de lessivage.

Un autre grand consommateur de pneus usagés, beaucoup plus utilisé aux États-Unis, est le carburant dérivé des pneus (CDP). Les pneus ont une puissance calorifique semblable à celle du charbon et ils peuvent en partie remplacer le charbon dans des applications nécessitant une énergie élevée telles que dans les fours à ciment et les chaudières des centrales électriques. L'utilisation de CDPpour l'incinération n'est pas très commune au Canada, en raison principalement de la politique de l'environnement qui a tendance à vouloir limiter son utilisation comme carburant de substitution.

La pyrolyse est une autre forme de conversion à hautes températures. Dans la pyrolyse, le caoutchouc est décomposé à températures élevées en l'absence d'oxygène. Ce procédé aboutit à la formation d'une large gamme de composants chimiques qui peuvent alors être raffinés et utilisés comme matières de base chimiques pour d'autres procédés. Les procédés de pyrolyse sont encore expérimentaux pour la plupart et ne sont pas encore tout à fait prêts pour être commercialisés.

Comparaison entre le Canada et les États-Unis

La valeur des expéditions par employé (ajustée en dollars canadiens constants) a été régulièrement plus élevée dans l'industrie aux États-Unis que celle du Canada, mais la différence a renversé récennement (figure 4).

Figure 4 : Livraisons par employe

Figure 4 : Livraisons par employe (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source: Statistique Canada et département américain du commerce

Normalement, les salaires moyens aux États-Unis (convertis en dollars canadiens constants) ont été plus élevés que ceux du Canada (Figure 5). Cette différence a renversé récennement aussi.

Figure 5 : Salaires moyens

Figure 5 : Salaires moyens (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source: Statistique Canada et département américain du commerce

Les marges bénéficiaires brutes est définie comme étant (la valeur ajoutée - le total des salaires et traitements)/les expéditions ont été utilisées comme mesure de base de rentabilité pour l'industrie dans les deux pays (Figure 6).

Figure 6 : Marges brutes

Figure 6 : Marges brutes (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Source: Statistique Canada et département américain du commerce

Perspectives d'avenir

L'industrie canadienne est composée de filiales de sociétés multinationales et d'entreprises de propriété canadienne.

Le défi des filiales est de continuer d'assurer la sécurité de leur mandat de production afin de permettre aux usines canadiennes d'utiliser leur capacité pour fournir les marchés nord-américains ou mondiaux à partir du Canada, et de convaincre leur maison mère de continuer d'investir au Canada, ce qui est nécessaire pour suivre le rythme de l'évolution technologique.

Pour les sociétés canadiennes, qui souvent ont tendance à se situer dans la catégorie des petites et moyennes entreprises, le défi sera de continuer à fabriquer des produits qui dérivent de leurs compétiteurs, mais de meilleure qualité ou qui visent les marchés à créneaux. Ces entreprises doivent continuer d'investir dans la R-Dliée au produit et à la technologie de la fabrication afin de conserver leur avantage concurrentiel, et elles doivent également continuer leur percée dans les marchés d'exportation afin de se développer.

Associations

Association canadienne du pneu et du caoutchouc

Principales sociétés
Entreprise Pays d'appartenance Location des usines
AirBoss Rubber Compounding Canada Kitchener (Ontario)
Acton Vale (Québec)
American Biltrite Ltd. États-Unis Sherbrooke (Québec)
Cooper Standard Automotive États-Unis Georgetown (Ontario)
Mitchell (Ontario)
Stratford (Ontario)
Garlock of Canada Ltd. États-Unis Oakville (Ontario)
GDX Automotive Allemagne Welland (Ontario)
Hamilton Kent Canada Weston (Ontario)
National Rubber États-Unis Toronto (Ontario)
Parker Hannefin États-Unis Orillia (Ontario)
PPD Rubtech Canada Waterville (Québec)
Soucy International Canada Drummondville (Québec)
Royal Mat Canada Beauceville (Québec)
Veyance Technologies Inc. États-Unis Bowmanville (Ontario)
Owen Sound (Ontario)
Québec (Québec)
Waterville TG Inc. Japon Coaticook (Québec)
Waterville (Québec)
Petrolia (Ontario)
Date de modification :