Automotive Innovation Fund (AIF)

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals (2010), a detailed Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) was completed for the Automotive Innovation Fund (AIF)'s investment in the Ford Motor Company of Canada (FMCC).

The AIF supports automotive companies in strategic, large-scale research and development (R&D) projects in the automotive sector to build innovative, greener, and more fuel-efficient vehicles. The AIF's $102 million investment in Ford will support projects in clean technologies, the manufacturing of more fuel-efficient vehicles, and the energy efficiency of Canadian manufacturing facilities. Increased R&D investment will focus on advanced powertrain technologies and vehicle connectivity, as well as incremental research in vehicle light-weighting and additive manufacturing. Ford envisions a new fuel-efficient engine that aligns with North American regulatory emission requirements and reduced industrial emissions related to assembly process and manufacturing operations.  In addition to creating good, well-paying jobs and attracting investment, the AIF reinforces Canada's role as an innovative clean-tech leader and contributes to Canada's environmental sustainability goals.

An analysis of the program determined that AIF is likely to indirectly contribute to the advancement of the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) goals and targets by supporting:

  • new product development, such as advanced emissions technologies, energy efficient engines and transmissions, advanced materials including engineered plastics and lightweight components and materials
  • product testing with a view to ensuring cleaner, more efficient automotive performance and reduced greenhouse gases
  • the development of new production methods and process technologies to allow for increased productivity and efficiency, such as flexible manufacturing techniques, robotics and IT systems
  • new/expanded facilities to produced leading-edge, energy-efficient vehicles and powertrains
  • leading edge engineering and design, prototype development

Thus, the AIF is likely to positively advance the following goals and targets of the FSDS:

Goal: Effective action on climate change

Target: By 2030, reduce Canada's total GHG emissions by 30%, relative to 2005 emission levels.

Goal: Clean Growth

Target: Implement our Mission Innovation commitment to double federal government investments in clean energy research, development and demonstration, by 2020, from 2015 levels.

In 2016, the Terms & Conditions for the AIF were modified to include as an eligible cost land and buildings which could have environmental effects.  Project level environmental assessments, therefore, will be undertaken on a case-by-case basis if it is determined that an important environmental effect is likely to occur.

Date modified:

Fonds d'innovation pour le secteur de l'automobile (FISA)

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été effectuée pour l'investissement du Fonds d'innovation pour le secteur de l'automobile (FISA) dans la Ford Motor Company of Canada (FMCC).

Le FISA offre un soutien aux constructeurs automobiles qui effectuent des travaux de recherche et de développement stratégiques de grande envergure axés sur le développement de véhicules innovateurs, plus écologiques et à plus faible consommation de carburant. L'investissement de 102 millions de dollars du FISA dans la Ford Motor Company of Canada appuiera des projets sur les technologies propres, la fabrication de véhicules à plus faible consommation de carburant et l'efficacité énergétique des usines canadiennes. Des investissements accrus en R et D seront axés sur les technologies de pointe en matière de groupe motopropulseur et sur la connectivité des véhicules ainsi que sur la recherche incrémentielle sur l'allégement des véhicules et la production d'additifs. Ford veut produire un nouveau moteur à faible consommation qui respectera les exigences réglementaires nord-américaines en matière d'émissions et réduira les émissions industrielles associées aux processus d'assemblage et de fabrication. En plus de créer des emplois intéressants et payants et d'attirer les investissements, le FISA renforce la position de leader en technologies propres et novatrices du Canada et contribue à l'atteinte des objectifs de durabilité environnementale du pays.

Une analyse du programme révèle que le FISA devrait contribuer indirectement à l'avancement des objectifs et des cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2016-2019 (SFDD) en favorisant :

  • le développement de nouveaux produits, p. ex., des technologies avancées de réduction des émissions, des moteurs et des transmissions éco-énergétiques, des matériaux nouveaux, notamment des plastiques techniques ainsi que des composants et des matériaux légers
  • les essais avancés de produits pour qu'ils soient plus propres et plus éco-énergétiques, pour réduire les gaz à effet de serre;
  • la mise au point de nouvelles méthodes de production et technologies pour accroître l'efficience et la productivité, notamment des techniques avancées de fabrication flexible, la robotique et les systèmes de technologie de l'information
  • la construction ou l'agrandissement d'installations en vue de fabriquer des véhicules et des groupes motopropulseurs de pointe et plus éco-énergétiques;
  • l'ingénierie et la conception de pointe, ainsi que l'élaboration de prototypes;

Le FISA devrait contribuer à l'atteinte des cibles et des objectifs suivants de la SFDD :

Objectif : Mesure relative aux changements climatiques

Cible : D'ici à 2030, réduire de 30 % les émissions de GES totales du Canada par rapport aux niveaux d'émissions de 2005.

Objectif : Croissance propre

Cible : Mettre en œuvre notre engagement Mission Innovation de doubler les investissements du gouvernement fédéral dans la recherche, le développement et la démonstration de l'énergie propre, d'ici à 2020, par rapport aux niveaux de 2015.

En 2016, les conditions du FISA ont été modifiées pour inclure parmi les coûts admissibles les coûts relatifs aux terrains et immeubles qui pourraient avoir un impact sur l'environnement. Lorsque les projets risquent d'avoir un impact important sur l'environnement, les évaluations environnementales seront donc effectuées au cas par cas.

Date de modification :