Strategic Environmental Assessment Policy

1. Innovation, Science and Economic Development's (ISED) Strategic Environmental Assessment Policy

The policy will guide the department's implementation of the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (the Cabinet Directive) and supporting Guidelines which outline key government requirements for Strategic Environmental Assessments (SEA).

2. Definitions

Strategic Environmental Assessments (SEA):
A SEA is a comprehensive evaluation by departments of the important environmental effects (positive and negative) of their Proposals to Ministers. A SEA informs strategic decision-making by the Government through careful analysis of environmental risks and opportunities.
Proposal:
A Proposal is any program, plan or policy presented to the Minister or Cabinet for consideration. A Proposal can include a Deck presentation, Memorandum to Cabinet, Aide Memoire, or a Ministerial Recommendation; a Treasury Board Submission; a Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement; or other planning document for resource allocation, such as a Budget letter.
Proposal Lead:
The lead on developing the SEA is the director responsible for developing the Proposal.
Public Statement:
A public statement indicates the expected environmental effects of a Proposal. The statement may be part of the Government's general announcement on the Proposal or provided as a stand-alone communication by the Minister.
Environmental effect:
Any direct or indirect effect on the environment (i.e., air, water, land and all interacting natural systems) that can be attributed to the Proposal's implementation, including on health and socio-economic conditions, on physical and cultural heritage, on the current use of lands and resources for traditional purposes by Indigenous persons, or on any structure, site or thing that is of historical, archaeological, paleontological or architectural significance.
Direct effect:
An environmental effect that is: a change that a proposal may cause in the environment; or a change that the environment may cause to a proposal. It is a consequence of a cause-effect relationship between a proposal and a specific environmental component.
Indirect Effect:
A secondary environmental effect that occurs as a result of a change that a proposal may cause in the environment. An indirect effect is at least one step removed from a proposal activity in terms of cause-effect linkages. For instance, a river diversion for the construction of a hydro power plant could directly result in the destruction of fish habitat causing a decline in fish population. A decline in fish population could result in closure of an outfitting operation causing loss of jobs. Thus, the river diversion could indirectly cause the loss of jobs.
Important environmental effect:
Important environmental effects are environmental effects that need to be managed because they may affect the achievement of government commitments (e.g., the goals and targets in the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy); reflect public, stakeholder or Indigenous concerns; affect the number, location, type and characteristics of sponsored initiatives; or raise significant risks or uncertainties to the environment that may affect Canadians' health and well being (e.g., application of new technologies).

3. Framework

ISED's SEA policy is based on the following five framework texts:

  1. the Department of Industry Act;
  2. the Federal Sustainable Development Act;
  3. the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy;
  4. the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010); and
  5. the Guidelines for Implementing the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010).

3.1 Department of Industry Act

The Department of Industry Act (S.C. 1995) is the department's founding legislation. The Act mandates the Minister of ISED to "strengthen the national economy and promote sustainable development."

3.2 Federal Sustainable Development Act

The Federal Sustainable Development Act (S. C. 2008) requires that the government develop a Federal Sustainable Development Strategy and update it every three years. It also requires departments to develop annual departmental strategies.

3.3 Federal Sustainable Development Strategies

The 2016‐2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) is our primary vehicle for sustainable development planning and reporting. It sets out our sustainable development priorities, establishes goals and targets, and identifies actions to achieve them. The 2016–2019 FSDS—Canada's third—outlines what we will do to promote clean growth, ensure healthy ecosystems and build safe, secure and sustainable communities over the next three years. The strategy consists of 13 aspirational, long-term goals that reflect the Canada we want and are a Canadian reflection of the global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). ISED's departmental action plans primarily fall under the goals of Effective Action on Climate Change, and Clean Growth. A full list of the goals and targets is provided in Annex Five.

3.4 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals

The 2010 Cabinet Directive states that a preliminary SEA scan is to be completed for all Proposals presented to a Minister or to Cabinet for consideration.

A full SEA is only required when the following conditions are met:

  • a Proposal is submitted to a Minister or to the Cabinet for consideration; and
  • the Proposal's implementation may result in important environmental effects, (positive or negative; direct or indirect) in Canada or abroad.

A full SEA can also be completed in cases where strong stakeholder reaction to the Proposal is expected or the environmental effects are uncertain. The Cabinet Directive states, however, that the effort in preparing the analysis should be commensurate to the magnitude of the anticipated effects.

3.5 Guidelines for Implementing the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals

The 2010 Guidelines state that:

  • Ministers are responsible for ensuring their Proposals are consistent with the government's broad environmental objectives and sustainable development goals, as described in the 2016-2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.
  • Departments are responsible for taking economic, social and environmental considerations into account when making informed decisions in support of sustainable development.
  • Departments are also responsible for reporting on the extent and results of their SEA practices in annual Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Departmental Performance Reports (DPR). The DPR reporting must include a description of how plans, programs and policies subject to SEA have affected or are expected to affect progress towards the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy's goals and targets.

4. Policy purpose

The updated SEA policy outlines ISED's commitment to conducting high quality SEAs (preliminary scans and full reviews) that address the requirements of the 2010 Cabinet Directive, the supporting Guidelines and the goals and targets of the 2016-2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

The SEA policy also reflects ISED's interest in integrating sustainability considerations into its decision-making.

5. Policy implementation

The Department is fulfilling its responsibilities on SEA implementation by:

  • incorporating the 2016-2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy's goals and targets into ISED's SEA policy and questionnaire for conducting preliminary scans and full assessments;
  • clarifying the mandatory requirements for completing preliminary scans, full SEAs and public statements in the SEA Policy and Questionnaire, strengthening accountability consistent with the 2010 Cabinet Directive and Guidelines;
  • encouraging officials to also complete full SEAs in situations where strong stakeholder reaction to the Proposal is expected or the environmental effects are uncertain, supporting greater transparency;
  • identifying advisory and other resources in the Department to support high quality and timely completion of SEAs, allowing for early-stage identification and integration of environmental considerations into ISED decision-making.

6. Policy resources

ISED's SEA Advisor is available to provide advice and guidance to Proposal Leads at each step in the SEA process.

Additional support, if required, is also available from SEA experts at Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEAA).

7. Policy application

ISED's Strategic Environmental Assessment Policy applies to all ISED officials and portfolio members (as appropriate) involved in the development of Proposals for Ministerial or Cabinet consideration.

8. Policy accountability

The Deputy Head of ISED is responsible for the SEA Policy's implementation.

9. Policy review and evaluation

One year after it comes into effect, the Policy will be reviewed by Strategic Policy Branch in consultation with sectors. Thereafter, it will be evaluated on a three-year cycle consistent with the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy cycle, to ensure that it remains aligned with the government's broader environmental objectives, directives and guidelines.

10. Enquiries

If you have any questions about the SEA process, please contact ISED's SEA Advisor, Georgina Wainwright Kemdirim, Strategic Policy Branch, at 343-291-2665.

11. Effective date

ISED's updated SEA policy came into effect in July 2013.

12. Annexes

Updating of the annexes will not require an amendment to the policy.

Date modified:

Politique d'évaluation environnementale stratégique

1. Politique d'évaluation environnementale stratégique d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE)

Cette politique orientera la mise en œuvre par le Ministère de la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010 (la Directive du Cabinet) et des lignes directrices à l'appui qui esquissent les principales exigences gouvernementales relatives aux évaluations environnementales stratégiques (EES).

2. Définitions

Évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) :
Une EES consiste en une évaluation détaillée par les ministères des effets environnementaux importants (positifs et négatifs) de leurs projets aux ministres. Elle éclaire la prise de décisions stratégiques par le gouvernement grâce à l'analyse approfondie des risques et des opportunités qui se rapportent à l'environnement.
Projet :
Un projet consiste en tout programme, plan ou politique présenté au ministre ou au Cabinet pour approbation. Un projet peut comprendre une présentation média, un mémoire au Cabinet, un aide-mémoire ou une recommandation ministérielle ainsi qu'une présentation au Conseil du Trésor, un résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation ou un autre document de planification relatif à l'affectation de ressources telle une lettre budgétaire.
Chef de projet :
Le chef pour l'élaboration d'une EES est le directeur responsable de l'élaboration du projet.
Déclaration publique :
Une déclaration publique précise les effets environnementaux prévus d'un projet. La déclaration peut faire partie de l'annonce du gouvernement relative au projet ou consister en un énoncé distinct par le ministre.
Effet environnemental :
Tout effet direct ou indirect sur l'environnement (c.-à-d. l'air, l'eau, le sol et tous les systèmes naturels en interaction) pouvant résulter de la mise en œuvre du projet, y compris sur les conditions socioéconomiques et de santé, le patrimoine matériel et culturel, l'utilisation actuelle des terres et des ressources à des fins traditionnelles par les Autochtones ou toute structure et tout site ou objet qui présente un intérêt historique, archéologique, paléontologique ou architectural.
Effet direct :
Un effet environnemental direct est un changement qu'un projet peut entraîner dans l'environnement ou un changement que l'environnement peut causer à un projet. Un tel effet est la conséquence d'un rapport de cause à effet entre un projet et une composante précise de l'environnement.
Effet indirect :
Un effet environnemental secondaire qui survient en conséquence d'un changement qu'un projet peut entraîner dans l'environnement. Un effet indirect est décalé davantage d'une activité liée à un projet qu'un effet direct dans les rapports de causalité. La dérivation d'une rivière pour l'aménagement d'une centrale hydroélectrique pourrait par exemple entraîner directement la destruction d'un habitat du poisson, causant ainsi un déclin de sa population. Un tel déclin pourrait entraîner la fermeture d'une pourvoirie et par conséquent, la perte d'emplois. La dérivation de la rivière pourrait être ainsi une cause indirecte de la perte d'emplois.
Effet environnemental important :
Effet environnemental nécessitant une gestion particulière parce qu'il pourrait avoir des répercussions sur le respect des engagements gouvernementaux (p. ex. les objectifs et les cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable); qu'il correspond à des préoccupations du public, d'intervenants ou des Autochtones; qu'il a des répercussions relatives au nombre, au lieu, au type et aux caractéristiques des initiatives parrainées; ou qu'il pose des risques ou des incertitudes importants envers l'environnement susceptibles de nuire à la santé et au bien-être des Canadiens (p. ex. l'application de nouvelles technologies).

3. Cadre

La politique d'EES d'ISDE est fondée sur les cinq textes-cadres suivants :

  1. Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie,
  2. Loi fédérale sur le développement durable,
  3. Stratégie fédérale de développement durable,
  4. Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010,
  5. Lignes directrices sur la mise en œuvre de la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

3.1 Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie

La Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie (L.C. 1995) est celle qui encadre les activités du Ministère. Elle définit le mandat du ministre d'ISDE, qui consiste à « renforcer l'économie nationale et promouvoir le développement durable »

3.2 Loi fédérale sur le développement durable

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (L.C. 2008) stipule que le gouvernement doit élaborer une stratégie fédérale de développement durable et la mettre à jour à tous les trois ans. Elle stipule également que chaque ministère doit élaborer une stratégie annuelle à cet égard.

3.3 Stratégies fédérales de développement durable

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016-2019 (SFDD) est notre principal moyen d'assurer la planification et l'établissement de rapports sur le développement durable. Elle énonce nos priorités en matière de développement durable, de même que nos objectifs et cibles, et elle indique les mesures à prendre pour les atteindre. La SFDD 2016-2019, la troisième du Canada, décrit ce que nous ferons pour promouvoir une croissance propre, créer des écosystèmes sains et créer des collectivités sécuritaires et viables au cours des trois prochaines années. La stratégie vise 13 objectifs à long terme qui reflètent le Canada que nous souhaitons créer et tiennent compte sur le plan canadien des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) mondiaux. Les plans d'actions d'ISDE s'inscrivent dans les objectifs des mesures efficaces visant à lutter contre le changement climatique et à assurer une croissance propre. La liste complète des objectifs et cibles figure à l'annexe 5.

3.4 Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010

La Directive du Cabinet de 2010 précise qu'une analyse préliminaire liée à l'ESS doit être menée pour tous les projets présentés à un ministre ou au Cabinet en vue de son examen.

Une EES complète est uniquement exigée lorsque les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • un projet est soumis à un ministre ou au Cabinet pour approbation; et,
  • la mise en œuvre du projet pourrait entraîner des effets environnementaux importants (positifs ou négatifs, directs ou indirects) au Canada ou à l'étranger.

Une EES détaillée peut également être effectuée lorsqu'une réaction vigoureuse d'intervenants au projet est prévue ou si les effets environnementaux sont incertains. La Directive du Cabinet stipule cependant que l'effort requis pour effectuer l'analyse devrait être proportionnel à l'ampleur des effets soupçonnés.

3.5 Lignes directrices sur la mise en œuvre de la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes

Ces lignes directrices stipulent notamment que :

  • les ministres doivent s'assurer que leurs propositions sont conformes aux objectifs environnementaux généraux et aux cibles en matière de développement durable du gouvernement, tels qu'ils sont établis dans la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016-2019;
  • les ministères sont responsables de la prise en compte des considérations économiques, sociales et environnementales lors de la prise de décisions éclairées à l'appui du développement durable;
  • o les ministères sont également responsables de faire rapport sur l'étendue et les résultats de leurs pratiques en matière d'EES dans des rapports sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et des rapports ministériels sur le rendement (RMR) annuels. Les RMR doivent comprendre une description de la façon dont les plans, les programmes et les politiques faisant l'objet d'une EES ont eu ou devraient avoir des incidences sur la progression vers les objectifs et les cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

4. But de la politique

La politique d'EES actualisée esquisse l'engagement d'ISDE à procéder à des EES rigoureuses (qu'il s'agisse d'une analyse préliminaire ou d'une évaluation détaillée) qui répondent aux exigences de la Directive du Cabinet de 2010, à celles des lignes directrices à l'appui de la Directive, ainsi qu'aux objectifs et aux cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016-2019.

La politique d'EES témoigne également de l'intérêt d'ISDE à intégrer des considérations en matière de développement durable dans les décisions qu'il prend.

5. Mise en œuvre de la politique

Le Ministère s'acquitte de ses responsabilités relatives à la mise en œuvre des EES :

  • en intégrant les objectifs et les cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016-2019 à la politique d'EES et au questionnaire servant aux analyses préliminaires et aux évaluations détaillées d'ISDE;
  • en clarifiant les exigences pour entreprendre des analyses préliminaires, des EES détaillées et des déclarations publiques dans la politique et le questionnaire relatifs à l'EES, ce qui renforce l'imputabilité conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 2010 et aux lignes directrices;
  • en incitant les fonctionnaires à entreprendre également des EES détaillées lorsqu'une réaction vigoureuse des intervenants à un projet est prévue ou si les effets environnementaux sont incertains, ce qui appuie une transparence accrue;
  • en repérant les ressources au sein du Ministère, dont celles en matière de conseil, pouvant appuyer la réalisation rigoureuse et en temps opportun des EES, pour ainsi cerner tôt les considérations environnementales pertinentes et en tenir compte d'entrée de jeux quant aux décisions à prendre par ISDE.

6. Ressources concernant la politique

La conseillère en matière d'EES d'ISDE est disponible afin de fournir des conseils et une orientation aux chefs de projet à chaque étape du processus de l'EES. Des outils de formation seront également disponibles sur le wiki d'ISDE.

Un soutien supplémentaire est également disponible, au besoin, auprès d'experts en EES d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) et de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (ACEE).

7. Application de la politique

La Politique d'évaluation environnementale stratégique d'ISDE s'applique à tous les agents et à tous les membres du portefeuille d'ISDE (selon le cas) qui participent à l'élaboration de projets aux fins d'approbation ministérielle ou du Cabinet.

8. Imputabilité de la politique

L'administrateur général d'ISDE est responsable de la mise en œuvre de la politique d'EES.

9. Examen et évaluation de la politique

La politique sera examinée par la Direction générale de la politique stratégique en consultation avec les secteurs, un an après son entrée en vigueur. Elle sera ensuite évaluée selon un cycle de trois ans semblable à celui de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable afin de veiller à ce qu'elle demeure conforme aux objectifs, aux directives et aux lignes directrices plus générales du gouvernement en matière d'environnement.

10. Demandes de renseignements

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du processus d'EES, veuillez communiquer avec la conseillère en matière d'EES d'ISDE, Georgina Wainwright Kemdirim, Direction générale de la politique stratégique, au 613-948-7277.

11. Date d'entrée en vigueur

La politique d'EES actualisée d'ISDE est entrée en vigueur en juillet 2013.

12. Annexes

La mise à jour des annexes ne nécessitera pas de modification à la politique.

Date de modification :