Industry profile

Definition

The professional, scientific and technical (PST) services industry consists of establishments primarily engaged in activities in which human capital is the major input. These establishments make available the knowledge and skills of their employees, often on an assignment basis.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are:

Statistical summary

Professional, Scientific and Technical Services - NAICS 54
(millions of CDN $, employment in thousands)
Economic Indicators 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 % Change
2010-11
CAGR
2007-11
Source: Statistics Canada
Definitions: Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR)
Gross Domestic Product 59,246 60,209 59,623 59,948 61,565 2.7% 1.0%
Sales 105,790 111,541 108,750 118,961 122,348 2.8% 3.7%
Capital Investment 3,070 3,062 2,944 3,104 2,933 -5.5% -1.1%
Business enterprise R&D 3,154 3,419 3,273 3,490 3,466 -0.7% 2.4%
Employment 1,130 1,189 1,192 1,267 1,309 3.3% 3.7%

Economic overview

In general, the sector is growing. Sales have increased by 13.5% over the period 2007-2011, reaching $122.3 billion in 2011. Employment grew by 13.7% during the same period. The sector was only slightly affected by the recession as GDP decreased slightly by 1% from 2008 to 2009. This sector reflects the wide range of activities; some sub-sectors experienced growth in sales while others declined. In 2011, legal services and accounting, tax preparation, bookkeeping and payroll services experienced a decline while architectural, engineering and related services grew; GDP for the sector grew by 2.7%.

In 2011, the PST services sector consisted of 319,594 establishments. The majority of PST establishments are small businesses. Only 0.3 percent had more than 100 employees. The majority were located in Ontario (42%), Quebec (18%), Alberta (17%), and BC (15%).

In 2011, the largest sub-sectors by share of employment were Computer systems design and related services, Architectural, engineering and related services, and Accounting tax preparation, bookkeeping and payroll services.

Major issues and trends facing the industry

The PST services sector relies on "professional knowledge." Thus, employment is heavily weighted towards high skilled professionals, scientists, engineers, and experts of all types. While some are technology-oriented, others are more involved with administrative, legal and regulatory knowledge.

Professional service firms, led by client demand, are increasingly offering a wider range of services to offer "one stop shopping" and increase profitability. Investments in Information and Communications Technologies have enabled some sub-sectors, such as engineering and information technology (IT) services, to successfully develop export markets.

Companies are increasingly outsourcing corporate functions (such as IT, legal, and accounting services), generating more work for professional services firms.

The basic source of revenue for these professional firms remains hourly billing, but some also bill according to the value of the services they provide. More value billing can be expected as professional service firms become "advisers" rather than just hourly workers.

Associations

Date modified:

Profil de l'industrie

Définition

L'industrie des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (PST) comprend les établissements dont l'activité principale repose sur le capital humain, qui constitue de ce fait le principal facteur de production. Ces établissements offrent les connaissances et les compétences de leurs employés, souvent dans le cadre d'affectations.

Les codes du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) sont :

Résumé statistique

Services professionnels scientifiques et techniques - SCIAN 54
(en millions de $ CAN  en milliers d'emplois)
Indicateurs économiques 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 Variation
en  %
2010-11
TCAC
2007-11
Source : Statistique Canada
Définitions : Taux de croissance annuel composé (TCAC)
Produit intérieur brut 59 246 60 209 59 623 59 948 61 565 2,7 % 1,0 %
Ventes 105 790 111 541 108 750 118 961 122 348 2,8 % 3,7 %
Dépenses d'investissement 3 070 3 062 2 944 3 104 2 933 -5,5 % -1,1 %
R-D commerciale 3 154 3 419 3 273 3 490 3 466 -0,7 % 2,4 %
Emplois 1 130 1 189 1 192 1 267 1 309 3,3 % 3,7 %

Aperçu économique

En général, ce secteur est en plein essor. Les ventes ont progressé de 13,5 % entre 2007 et 2011, pour s'établir à 122,3 milliards de dollars en 2011. L'emploi a affiché une croissance de 13,7 % pendant la même période. Ce secteur n'a été que légèrement touché par la récession, puisque le PIB n'a diminué que de 1 % entre 2008 et 2009, et ce, en raison du large éventail d'activités exercées dans ce secteur; certains sous-secteurs ont enregistré une hausse de leurs ventes contrairement à d'autres. Les services juridiques et les services de comptabilité, de préparation de déclarations de revenus, de tenue de livres et de paye ont affiché un recul en 2011 tandis que l'architecture, le génie et les services connexes ont progressé. Au cours des 12 derniers mois, le PIB s'est accru de 2,7 %.

En 2011, le secteur des services PST comptait 319 594 établissements, dont la majorité sont de petites entreprises. Seulement 0,3 p. 100 comptaient plus de 100 employés. La plupart se trouvaient en Ontario (42 %), au Québec (18 %), en Alberta (17 %) et en Colombie-Britannique (15 %).

En 2011, en ce qui concerne la part de l'emploi, les plus grands sous-secteurs étaient ceux de la conception de systèmes informatiques et des services connexes, de l'architecture, du génie et des services connexes et des services de comptabilité, de préparation de déclarations de revenus, de tenue de livres et de paye.

Principales tendances et grands enjeux

Le secteur des services PST repose sur les « connaissances professionnelles ». L'emploi dans ce secteur est donc offert principalement à des professionnels hautement qualifiés, à des scientifiques, à des ingénieurs et à des spécialistes en tous genres. Même si certains emplois sont axés sur la technologie, d'autres sont de nature plus administrative ou nécessitent des connaissances juridiques ou réglementaires.

Les entreprises de services professionnels, axées sur la demande des clients, offrent un éventail de services de plus en plus large afin de proposer une formule multiservices et d'accroître la rentabilité. Les investissements dans les technologies de l'information et des communications ont permis à certains sous-secteurs, comme le génie et les services de la technologie de l'information (TI), de développer avec succès des marchés d'exportation.

Les entreprises externalisent de plus en plus les fonctions internes (comme la TI, les services juridiques et les services de comptabilité), ce qui procure plus de travail aux entreprises de services professionnels.

La source de revenu de base pour les entreprises professionnelles demeure la facturation horaire, mais certaines facturent également en fonction de la valeur des services qu'elles fournissent. On peut s'attendre à une plus grande facturation en fonction de la valeur étant donné les entreprises de services professionnels deviennent des « conseillères » plutôt que simplement des travailleurs rémunérés à l'heure.

Associations

Date de modification :