Learn about programs and initiatives

Featured Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada Initiatives

NSS Value Proposition

The National shipbuilding strategy (NSS) is an unprecedented long-term, multi-billion dollar commitment to renewing Canada's federal fleet. In recognition of the on-going relationship established under the NSS, the selected large vessel shipyards committed to provide "value proposition" investments that would benefit the greater Canadian marine industry.

Defence Procurement Strategy

The Defence Procurement Strategy (DPS) has three key objectives: delivering the right equipment to the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) and the Canadian Coast Guard in a timely manner; leveraging our purchases of defence equipment to create jobs and economic growth in Canada; and streamlining defence procurement processes.

Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy

The ITB Policy is a new, powerful investment attraction tool for Canada. It will encourage companies to establish or grow their presence in Canada, strengthen Canada's supply chains, and develop Canadian industrial capabilities.

Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative provides repayable contributions to support research and development (R&D) projects in the aerospace, space, defence and security (A&D) sectors.

Other Federal Support and Initiatives

Build in Canada Innovation Program

The Build in Canada Innovation Program was created to bolster innovation in Canada's business sector, the Build in Canada Innovation Program (BCIP) helps companies bridge the pre-commercialization gap by procuring and testing late stage innovative goods and services within the federal government before taking them to market.

Business Development Bank of Canada

Whether you're looking to expand production, purchase new equipment or access financing for a special project, the Business Development Bank of Canada can help you move forward with the right business loan.

Canada Business Network

The Canada Business Network finds financing programs for your business, and learn about the different types of financing that are available.

Canada Small Business Financing Program

The Canada Small Business Financing Program helps small businesses obtain term loans of up to $1 million for the purchase or improvement of tangible assets, of which no more than $350,000 can be used to finance the purchase or improvement of equipment and the purchase of leasehold improvements.

CanExport

CanExport provides financial support to help SMEs develop new export opportunities and markets.

Export Development Canada

Export Development Canada is Canada's export credit agency; it supports and develops Canada's Export trade by providing insurance and financial services to Canadian Exporters and their international buyers.

National Research Council Programs
  • The Ocean Technology Enterprise Centre is located in the new NRC Industry Partnership Facility in St. John's, Newfoundland, is a place for ocean technology companies to develop their technology and business opportunities in a supportive and cooperative environment.
  • The Marine Vehicles (MV) program works to deliver technologies that improve the operability of marine vehicles while lowering the risks and costs associated with their operation.
  • Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) enables small and medium-sized enterprises to access technology and business advice, contacts, and national and international networks. It also engages in cost-shared research and development (R&D) projects with its clients.
  • Ocean, Coastal and River Engineering assists industry and other government departments to develop solutions to engineering challenges within ocean, coastal and river environments with a particular focus on harsh and extreme conditions.
  • Are you creating a new innovative product, process or service to grow your business or start a new one? Concierge Service is a single access point to funding, expertise, facilities, and global opportunities for small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) seeking to grow through innovation.
  • Networks of Centres of Excellence offers a suite of programs that mobilize Canada's best research, development and entrepreneurial expertise and focus it on specific issues and strategic areas.
Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED)

Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) is a Federal tax incentive program, administered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), which encourages Canadian businesses to conduct research and development (R&D) in Canada.

Structured Financing Facility (Archived 2013)

The Structured Financing Facility provided financing support in the form of a buy-down of financing costs. You can review the projects funded under the program

Regional Development Agencies

Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency

The Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency offers programs such as the Atlantic Innovation Fund and intiatives like the Atlantic Shipbuilding Action Plan designed to help Atlantic Canadian businesses ready themselves to take advantage of opportunities related to the Government of Canada's renewal of the country's naval and coast guard fleets.

Canadian Economic Development Agency for the regions of Quebec

The Canadian Economic Development Agency for the regions of Quebec provides information, support and advice to small businesses and not for profit organizations to access funds refundable and non-refundable and to meet their specific need to facilitate the achievement of their projects.

Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency

The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency: Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) supports the growth and expansion of northern businesses, including small and medium-sized enterprises, through training, advisory services, and through dynamic and flexible contribution programs for businesses and communities that build capacity.

Federal Development Agency for Southern Ontario

The programs of the Federal Development Agency for Southern Ontario support Ontario's economic and community development, innovation, and economic diversification, with contributions to communities and businesses. FedDev supports workers, communities and businesses in Southern Ontario to position themselves to compete globally.

FedNor

FedNor supports projects that strengthen community economic development, enhance business growth and facilitate innovation throughout the region.

Western Economic Diversification Canada

Western Economic Diversification Canada offers grants and contributions that support a wide range of programs responding to Western Canada's economic development needs and priorities.

Other Support and Initiatives

Research & Development Corporation of Newfoundland and Labrador (RDC)

RDC is a provincial Crown corporation responsible for improving Newfoundland and Labrador’s research and development performance. RDC works with research and development stakeholders including business, academia and government agencies and departments to make strategic investments in highly qualified people, R&D infrastructure and innovative research.

Nova Scotia Business Inc

Nova Scotia Business Inc. is the private-sector led business development agency of Nova Scotia, Canada.

Innovacorp

Innovacorp is a Nova Scotia crown corporation managing an early-stage venture capital fund.

BC Innovation Council

BCIC encourages the development and application of advanced or innovative technologies to meet the needs of industry in BC. We accelerate technology commercialization by supporting start-ups and developing entrepreneurs.

Date modified:

Apprenez-en davantage sur les programmes et les activités

Initiatives d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada mises en vedette

Proposition de valeur de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale

La stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN) est un engagement à long terme sans précédent, de plusieurs milliards de dollars, visant le renouvellement de la flotte de navires du Canada.

Stratégie d’approvisionnement en matière de défense

Le stratégie d’approvisionnement en matière de défense compte trois objectifs principaux : fournir le bon équipement aux Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et à la Garde côtière canadienne en temps opportun; mettre à profit les achats de matériel de défense pour créer des emplois et favoriser la croissance économique au Canada; et simplifier les processus d’approvisionnement en matière de défense.

Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques

La Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques est un nouvel outil puissant d’attraction des investissements pour le Canada. Elle encouragera les entreprises à établir ou à accroître leur présence au Canada, à renforcer leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement au Canada, ainsi qu’à développer des capacités industrielles canadiennes.

Initiative stratégique pour l’aérospatiale et la défense

L'initiative stratégique pour l’aérospatiale et la défense fournit des contributions financières remboursables à des projets de recherche et de développement (R-D) menés dans les secteurs de l’aérospatiale, de l’espace, de la défense et de la sécurité (A-D).

Autres soutiens et initiatives du gouvernement fédéral

Programme d’innovation Construire au Canada

Le programme d’innovation Construire au Canada mis sur pied pour favoriser l’innovation des entreprises canadiennes, le Programme d’innovation Construire au Canada (PICC) aide les entreprises à combler les lacunes à l’étape de la précommercialisation en achetant leurs produits et services novateurs qui en sont aux dernières étapes du développement afin que le gouvernement fédéral les mette à l’essai avant leur mise en marché.

Banque de développement du Canada

Que vous cherchiez à accroître votre production, à acheter du nouvel équipement ou à obtenir les fonds de roulement nécessaires pour un projet spécial, la banque de développement du Canada pouvons vous aider à aller de l’avant avec le prêt approprié.

Réseau Entreprises Canada

Trouve des programmes de financement pour votre entreprise et prend connaissance des divers types de financement qui sont à votre disposition.

Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada

Le programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada aide les petites entreprises à obtenir des prêts à terme jusqu’à 1 million de dollars pour l’achat ou l’amélioration de biens corporels, dont 350 000 $ au maximum peuvent être utilisés pour financer l’achat ou l’amélioration d’équipement et l’achat d’améliorations locatives.

CanExport

CanExport offre un soutien financier pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à développer de nouveaux marchés et occasions d’exportation.

Exportation et développement Canada

Exportation et développement Canada est l’organisme de crédit à l’exportation du Canada; il soutient et développe le commerce extérieur du Canada en offrant des solutions d’assurances et de financement aux exportateurs canadiens et à leurs acheteurs étrangers.

Programmes du Conseil national de recherches
  • Conseil national de recherches Canada – Centre des entreprises de technologies océaniques - Logé dans la nouvelle installation de partenariat industriel du CNRC à St. John’s (Terre-Neuve), le Centre des entreprises de technologies océaniques est un endroit où les entreprises de technologies océaniques peuvent mettre au point leurs technologies et exploiter des occasions commerciales dans un contexte propice à la collaboration.
  • Conseil national de recherches Canada – Programme Véhicules marins vise à fournir des technologies qui rendront les véhicules marins plus faciles à manœuvrer et qui réduiront les risques de même que les coûts résultant de leur utilisation.
  • Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle (IRAP) permet aux petites et moyennes entreprises d’accéder à des conseils techniques et commerciaux, à des personnes-ressources, et à des réseaux nationaux et internationaux. Il participe aussi à des projets de recherche et développement (R-D) à coûts partagés avec ses clients.
  • Génie océanique, côtier et fluvial aide l’industrie et les ministères à élaborer des solutions aux défis techniques que posent les environnements océanique, côtier et fluvial en portant une attention particulière aux conditions difficiles ou extrêmes.
  • Mettez-vous au point un produit, un procédé ou un service novateur en vue d’élargir les activités de votre entreprise ou de démarrer une nouvelle entreprise? Créé à l’intention des petites et moyennes entreprises cherchant à croître par l’entremise de l’innovation, le service Concierge est la passerelle donnant accès à du financement, à des compétences, à des installations et à des débouchés à l’échelle mondiale.
  • Réseaux de centres d’excellence offrent une série de programmes qui font appel aux plus grands experts du Canada dans les domaines de la recherche, du développement et de l’entrepreneuriat et qui concentrent leur expertise sur des questions spécifiques et des domaines stratégiques.
Recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE)

Le programme de la recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE) administré par l’Agence du revenu du Canada, est un programme fédéral d’incitatif fiscal qui encourage les entreprises canadiennes à effectuer de la recherche et du développement (R et D) au Canada.

Mécanisme de financement structuré (maintenant éliminé progressivement 2013)

La Mécanisme de financement structuré A fourni un soutien financier sous la forme d’une réduction des coûts de financement. Vous pouvez consulter les projets financés dans le cadre du programme.

Organismes de développement régional

L’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique

L' L’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique offre des programmes tels que le Fonds d’innovation de l’Atlantique et des initiatives telles que le Plan d’action pour la construction navale en Atlantique conçu pour aider les entreprises du Canada atlantique à se positionner en vue de profiter des débouchés liés au renouvellement des flottes de la Marine et de la Garde côtière du Canada.

Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec

L'Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec fournit des renseignements, un soutien et des conseils aux petites entreprises et à des organismes à but non lucratif pour qu’ils accèdent à des fonds remboursables et non remboursables, et répondre à leurs besoins précis afin de faciliter la réalisation de leurs projets.

Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord

L' agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord appuie la croissance et l’expansion des entreprises du Nord, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), en leur offrant, de même qu’aux collectivités, des cours de formation, des services consultatifs et des programmes de contribution dynamiques et souples qui les aident à renforcer leurs capacités.

Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le sud de l’Ontario (FedDev)

Les programmes d'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le sud de l’Ontario soutiennent le développement communautaire et économique, l’innovation et la diversification économique, grâce à des contributions aux collectivités et aux entreprises. FedDev soutient les travailleurs, les collectivités et les entreprises du sud de l’Ontario pour devenir compétitifs à l’échelle mondiale.

FedNor

FedNor appuie des projets qui renforcent le développement économique des collectivités, favorisent l’expansion et la croissance des entreprises et facilitent l’innovation dans l’ensemble de la région.

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada offre des subventions et des contributions soutenant un large éventail de programmes dont le but est de répondre aux besoins et aux priorités de développement économique de l’Ouest canadien.

Autres mesures de soutien et initiatives

Research & Development Corporation of Newfoundland and Labrador (RDC)

RDC est une société d’État provinciale chargée d’améliorer la performance de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en matière de recherche-développement. RDC collabore avec des intervenants du domaine de la R-D, notamment des entreprises, des universitaires ainsi que des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux, pour réaliser des investissements stratégiques dans les personnes hautement qualifiées, les infrastructures de R-D et la recherche novatrice (anglais seulement)

Nova Scotia Business Inc

Entreprises Nouvelle-Écosse inc. est l’organisme de développement des entreprises dirigé par le secteur privé de la Nouvelle-Écosse au Canada. (anglais seulement)

Innovacorp

Innovacorp est une société d’État de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui gère un fonds de capital de risque pour le démarrage.(anglais seulement)

Le conseil d’innovation de la Colombie-Britannique

BCIC encourage le développement et l’application de technologies avancées ou novatrices afin de répondre aux besoins de l’industrie en C.-B. (anglais seulement)

Date de modification :