Language selection


Extension of Implementation of Spectrum Usage Deadline for 3500 MHz Licences

Dear Licensee:

Industry Canada has received several requests from licensees of spectrum in the 3500 MHz band seeking an extension to the deadline for the Implementation of Spectrum Usage licence condition, as well as clarification of the level of deployment that will be required. After a careful review of the requests, the department has decided to extend the deadline to the end of each licence’s 10-year term given the significant technological uncertainty for this band and the benefit to rural deployment that would be afforded by an extension.

This decision is consistent with other long-term licences with general deployment requirements, which are typically assessed at the end of 10 years. This rationale is consistent with the department’s 2009 extension decision.

In order to increase business certainty for licensees, the department is also clarifying the level of deployment that will be required. Specific deployment level requirements for each Tier 4 licence area are attached, and will be used in the assessment of the deployment condition of licence at the end of the licence term. The revised licence condition will be applied to your existing 3500 MHz spectrum licences in the coming weeks. At that time, you will be able to print your licences with updated conditions of licence from the Spectrum Direct section of Industry Canada’s website (

In the coming months, a formal consultation will address the renewal process for licences in this band. The consultation will discuss issues surrounding international developments with respect to this frequency band and possible options for the end of the licence term.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please contact Justine Sider by telephone at 613-990-4694 or by e-mail at


Original signed on March 29, 2012

Fiona Gilfillan
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch



Robert Allen, ABC Allen Business Communications Ltd.

Dawn Hunt, Rogers Wireless Partnership

Michael Fiorini, ccROUTE Inc.

Wally Romansky, Chatham Internet Access

Denis Belanger, Cogeco Cable Inc.

Glenn Grubb, Comcentric Networking Inc.

Michel Laurent, Cooptel

Randy Priore, Cranbrook Internet Network Tech.

Anne McMillan, Distributel Spectrum Inc.

Dean Hardy, I-Netlink Incorporated

Don Falle, Inukshuk Wireless Partnership

Tracy Cant, O.N. Tel Inc.

Natalie MacDonald , Eastlink

Kevin Erickson, Navigata Communications Ltd.

Yves Duval, Sogetel Inc.

Ron Bosanac, Source Cable Limited

Dan Topatigh, TBayTel

Pierre Dufresne, Télédistribution Amos Inc.

Ed Prior, Telus Communications Company

C.J. Prudham, Xplornet Broadband Inc.

Eleanour Lou, YourLink Inc.

William Gasteiger, 768812 Ontario Inc.

Dean Proctor, SSI Micro Ltd.

Patrick Iriah, BroadPoint International Telecom Inc.

Date modified: