Facts about towers

Towers header
Towers header

Towers in your community

Antenna towers come in many shapes and sizes, from small units on lampposts, to the familiar tall towers.

With more Canadians than ever using wireless devices such as smartphones and tablet PCs demanding more services and faster data, we need increasingly more towers to meet demand.

But demand for service has to be balanced with the needs of Canadians and their communities. So, it's the law for companies that want to build a tower to first look at sharing existing structures or infrastructure, such as rooftops or water towers.

Since antenna systems can handle a limited number of calls or data traffic at once, there are more towers and other antenna structures in high population areas. In suburban areas, towers are often farther apart, but in dense urban areas, they will be closer together. There are approximately 13,000 wireless antenna towers across Canada and this number is increasing to meet demand.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada has taken steps to balance the increasing demand for wireless services with the needs of neighbourhoods and communities across Canada. We have revised our Antenna Tower Siting Procedures to ensure municipalities are involved early in the process when a new tower is proposed.

If there are no existing structures that can be shared or used, a company can begin the process of building a tower. Companies are required to:

  • clearly notify and consult residents when a commercial tower of any height is planned and address their concerns;
  • meet the reasonable and relevant requirements of the local land-use authority (usually the municipality);
  • adhere to the Government of Canada's technical and safety requirements for towers; and
  • build any new tower within three years of consulting with residents.
WIRELESS PROVIDERS AND YOUR LOCAL MUNICIPALITY DETERMINE TOWER LOCATIONS.

The Government of Canada is not involved in the specifics of tower installations, but we do set the law; it's called the Radiocommunication Act. Providing technical requirements are met, we only get involved when there is an impasse between the municipality and the company. In these rare cases, we look at the facts and provide a decision.

Expressing your views on towers in your community

For new towers

If there's a plan to build a new cell phone tower in your neighbourhood, you should be consulted if you are within a certain distance of the tower.

  • Understand the process that the company must follow in building the tower
  • Know that the company must deal with all reasonable and relevant concerns of stakeholders and make all practical efforts to resolve them
  • Remember that Innovation, Science and Economic Development typically only gets involved if your local authorities and the company can't agree.
5 steps - decorative image

Understand the process in 5 Steps

For existing towers

If you want to express your views about an existing tower in your neighbourhood, speak to your local land use authorities (usually your municipality).

Towers are safe - decorative image

Towers are safe

All antenna towers have to satisfy Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's general and technical requirements and comply with Health Canada's Safety Code 6, which imposes strict limits on the radio frequency energy sent out by any antenna tower. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada routinely audits the radio frequency energy at tower sites. Find out more on Safety Code 6.

Towers are necessary - decorative image

Towers are necessary

Canadians want faster and more accessible service so they can reliably use their wireless devices to keep in touch with loved ones and stay informed. Businesses, emergency services and air navigation systems also depend on radiocommunications and wireless services 24-hours-a-day. This requires towers, located in the right places.

There are rules - decorative image

There are rules on building towers

Companies cannot build towers on a whim. Companies must first study the possibility of sharing existing towers in an area. If none are suitable, they must then follow specific steps to build new towers. They must also consider the municipality's requirements—such as consulting the public and adhering specific requirements for tower siting. Find out more.

we hear your concerns - decorative image

We hear your concerns

This is an important issue for many Canadians. Recently, the government modernized its tower siting policy. Now, wireless providers are required to consult the public on all tower locations, regardless of height. Companies must also build the tower within three years of the consultation.

Tower safety

The radiofrequency waves that travel among antenna towers are a form of energy in the electromagnetic spectrum between FM radio waves and microwaves. They are produced by a variety of sources, including natural ones like the sun and the earth.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada requires all antenna systems to meet strict limits on the amount of energy that can be present in areas where the general public has access. To ensure the protection of the general public, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada uses the RF exposure limits that are part of Health Canada's guidelines commonly referred to as Safety Code 6.

Health Canada has updated Safety Code 6 to reflect the most recent scientific evidence and measurement techniques. Canadians continue to be safe as all antenna installations, wireless devices and equipment on the market comply with the new limits under Safety Code 6 and with the related technical requirements. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada conducts regular audits to ensure that antenna installations, wireless devices and equipment on the market are compliant.

IN FACT, THE CONSENSUS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMUNITY IS THAT RF ENERGY FROM CELL PHONE TOWERS IS TOO LOW TO CAUSE ADVERSE HEALTH EFFECTS IN HUMANS.
Source: Health Canada, Safety Code 6

RF waves are limited in how far they can travel. The range depends on a number of factors, including:

  • The height of the antenna
  • The signal's frequency
  • The transmitter's power
  • The effect of buildings or vegetation on the signal
  • Other geographical or weather conditions
RF Energy
Health Canada's Safety Code 6 has large safety margins built in to provide a significant level of protection for the general public and people working near RF sources.

See for yourself
WHAT THE MOST CURRENT
research says

How the
GOVERNMENT OF CANADA
protects you

Everything you need to know about
SAFETY CODE 6
and your health

Towers header

Improvements to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's antenna tower siting procedures

5 steps - decorative image

Understand the process in 5 Steps

Demand for wireless services is growing, and is expected to continue as more and more Canadians use smartphones and other mobile devices. To accommodate this demand, more towers will be needed.

Wireless companies have always been required to work with communities when they want to build a new tower, but changes to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s Antenna Tower Siting procedures will now require companies to work even closer with local communities.

The rules are designed to make sure companies are looking at ways to reduce the number of new towers they are building, while also ensuring that, if a new tower is needed, local citizens are involved throughout the process.

In brief, when considering new towers, a company must:

  • Investigate sharing or using existing infrastructure before proposing new antenna-supporting structures;
  • Contact the land-use authority to determine local requirements for antenna systems;
  • Clearly notify and consult with the public and address relevant concerns, whether by following local land-use requirements or Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's default process on tower siting;
  • Build any tower within three years of consulting with residents; and
  • Satisfy Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's general and technical requirements, and comply with Health Canada's Safety Code 6 to ensure the safety of Canadians.

The rules are also clear that Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada officials will only normally become involved if there is an impasse at the local level. Communities are the ones directly affected by tower locations. They are best positioned to work with wireless providers to ensure effective delivery of services, while also ensuring respect for local land-use considerations. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada staff are available to assist municipalities in understanding their role and to provide advice.


Developing your own tower siting protocol

In February 2013, the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities launched a joint Antenna System Siting Protocol Template, which provides a ready-made tool that municipalities can use to develop their own customized protocols or improve existing ones.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada also offers advice in creating your own process in our Guide to Assist Land-use Authorities in Developing Antenna Siting Protocols.

If you need help, contact us.

Towers header

The new Antenna Tower Siting Procedures

5 steps - decorative image

Understand the process in 5 Steps

The demand for wireless service continues to grow exponentially. Canadians want the latest technologies, more data, faster speed and better coverage; these all create increased burden on wireless resources. New towers are often required to satisfy this demand. To ensure that the voices of Canadian municipalities and the communities they represent are heard more clearly, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada has amended its Antenna Tower Siting Procedures.

Under these procedures companies are now required to work even more closely with the local land-use authority, usually the municipality and communities they represent, and engage them earlier in the process. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada has strengthened the requirements for the wireless industry to consult with local residents, increase transparency for municipalities, and improve communications throughout the tower siting process.

The changes to the Antenna Tower Siting Procedures will benefit everyone involved, minimizing surprises and creating a more cooperative process so that Canadians can have the wireless services they demand.

The changes require companies to:

  • consult communities on all commercial tower installations, regardless of height;
  • build the tower within three years of consulting with communities; and
  • ensure that residents are well-informed of upcoming consultations, with clearly marked notifications.

What's required?

All installations must comply with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Antenna Tower Siting Procedures, including the amount of radio frequency (RF) energy they emit. Health Canada's Safety Code 6 establishes safety guidelines for the exposure to RF fields. To ensure the protection of the general public Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada adopted these guidelines and requires all installations to comply with Safety Code 6 at all times.

Under the Antenna Tower Siting Procedures wireless service providers have greater obligations relating to land-use authority and public consultation. They are also required to complete construction of the antenna system within three years of the conclusion of the consultation. After three years, consultations will no longer be deemed valid except in cases where the person proposing the tower and the land-use authority agree, in writing, on an extension for a specified time period.

Date modified:

Les faits au sujet des pylônes

Towers header
Towers header

Des pylônes dans votre collectivité

Les pylônes d'antennes n'ont pas tous la même forme et la même taille. Certains sont de petite dimension et sont aménagés sur des lampadaires, alors que d'autres ressemblent davantage aux immenses structures bien connues.

Le nombre de Canadiens qui utilisent des dispositifs sans fil, comme des téléphones cellulaires et des tablettes, ne cesse de croître. Ils veulent aussi avoir accès à des services accrus ultrarapides de transmission de données, d'où la nécessité d'ériger d'autres pylônes d'antennes.

Certes, il faut répondre à cette demande accrue de services, mais il faut également tenir compte des besoins des Canadiens et de leurs collectivités. La loi stipule que si une entreprise souhaite aménager un pylône d'antennes, elle doit d'abord envisager la possibilité de partager une structure existante (par exemple un château d'eau ou un pylône déjà aménagé sur un toit d'immeuble).

Comme les dispositifs d'antennes ne peuvent traiter en même temps qu'un nombre limité d'appels ou de données, on doit installer un plus grand nombre de pylônes et d'autres bâtis d'antennes dans les régions fortement peuplées. En banlieue, les pylônes sont souvent plus éloignés les uns des autres, alors que dans les secteurs urbains très denses, c'est le contraire. Il existe environ 13 000 emplacements d'antennes pour services sans fil dans l'ensemble du Canada, et ce nombre ne cesse de croître pour satisfaire à la demande.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a pris des mesures qui tiennent compte à la fois de la demande croissante pour des services sans fil et des besoins des collectivités canadiennes. Nous avons apporté des modifications à nos procédures sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes afin de nous assurer que les municipalités seront mises à contribution dès le début du processus lorsqu'un nouveau projet de bâti d'antenne est proposé.

Si une entreprise ne parvient pas à conclure une entente sur le partage ou l'utilisation d'une structure existante, elle peut amorcer le processus de construction d'un pylône. Elle doit alors :

  • informer clairement les résidants que des consultations auront lieu sur le projet de construction d'une tour commerciale, peu importe sa hauteur, et répondre à leurs préoccupations;
  • satisfaire aux exigences raisonnables et pertinentes de l'autorité locale chargée de l'utilisation du territoire (en règle générale la municipalité);
  • respecter les exigences techniques et relatives à la sécurité s'appliquant aux pylônes qui sont prescrites par le gouvernement du Canada;
  • procéder à la construction du nouveau pylône dans les trois ans suivant la consultation des résidants.
LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES SANS FIL ET VOTRE MUNICIPALITÉ CHOISISSENT L'EMPLACEMENT DES PYLÔNES.

Le gouvernement du Canada n'intervient pas dans l'installation même des pylônes, mais il légifère en la matière, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication. Pourvu que les exigences techniques soient respectées, le gouvernement n'interviendra que si la collectivité et l'entreprise ne parviennent pas à s'entendre. Dans ces rares cas, il examinera les faits et rendra une décision.

Exprimez votre opinion sur les pylônes dans votre collectivité

Nouveaux pylônes

Si l'on envisage de construire un nouveau pylône de téléphonie cellulaire dans votre voisinage, vous devriez être consulté si vous vivez à une certaine distance de l'endroit désigné.

  • Comprenez le processus que l'entreprise doit suivre pour ériger le pylône.
  • Sachez que l'entreprise doit prendre en compte toutes les préoccupations raisonnables et pertinentes des intervenants et déployer tous les efforts possibles pour les dissiper.
  • Rappelez-vous qu'en général, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada n'intervient que si les autorités de votre localité et l'entreprise ne peuvent parvenir à une entente.
5 étapes - decorative

Comprenez le processus en 5 étapes

Pylônes existants

Si vous voulez exprimer votre opinion sur un pylône déjà aménagé dans votre quartier, parlez à l'autorité responsable de l'utilisation du territoire de votre localité (en règle générale la municipalité).

Trouvez l'autorité locale chargée de l'utilisation du territoire
Les pylônes son sécuritaires - decorative

Les pylônes sont sécuritaires

Tous les pylônes d'antenne doivent être conformes aux exigences générales et techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, ainsi qu'au Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada qui établit des limites strictes sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences (RF) émises par les pylônes d'antenne. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada effectue des vérifications de routine des émissions de RF aux pylônes d'antenne. En savoir plus sur le Code de sécurité 6.

Les pylônes son nécessaires - decorative

Les pylônes sont nécessaires

Les Canadiens veulent des services plus rapides, plus accessibles et fiables qui leur permettront d'utiliser leurs appareils sans fil, de rester en contact avec leurs proches et de se tenir informés en tout temps. Les entreprises, les services d'urgence et les systèmes de navigation aérienne dépendent eux aussi des services de radiocommunications sans fil 24 heures sur 24. Or, pour cela, il faut des pylônes qui sont installés aux bons endroits.

Des règles sur les pylônes d'antenne existent - decorative

Des règles sur les pylônes d'antenne existent

Les entreprises ne peuvent pas aménager des pylônes où bon leur semble. Elles doivent d'abord étudier les possibilités de partage de structures dans la zone. Si le partage est impossible, elles doivent suivre un processus bien précis relativement à l'édification de nouveaux pylônes. En outre, elles doivent considérer les exigences des municipalités, comme l'obligation de consulter le public et de respecter des exigences précises en ce qui a trait à l'emplacement des pylônes. Plus de détails.

Nous tenons compte de vos préoccupations - decorative

Nous tenons compte de vos préoccupations

Il s'agit d'un enjeu d'importance pour les Canadiens. Récemment, le gouvernement a modernisé sa politique sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antenne. Désormais, les fournisseurs de services devront consulter le public au sujet de l'emplacement de tous les pylônes, peu importe leur hauteur. Ils devront aussi terminer la construction des pylônes moins de trois ans après la fin des consultations.

Sécurité des pylônes

Les ondes de fréquence radio qui circulent entre les pylônes d'antennes sont une forme d'énergie dans la partie du spectre électromagnétique située entre les ondes MF et les ondes ultra-courtes. Elles émanent de diverses sources, y compris les sources naturelles telles que le soleil et la Terre.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada impose des limites strictes quant à l'énergie pouvant être libérée par les pylônes d'antennes dans les zones publiques. Pour assurer la protection du public, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada se réfère aux Lignes directrices de Santé Canada sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences, communément appelées Code de sécurité 6.

Santé Canada a mis à jour le Code de sécurité 6 afin de refléter les plus récentes études scientifiques et techniques de mesure. Les Canadiens sont toujours en sécurité parce que toutes les installations d'antennes, tous les appareils sans fil et tout le matériel sur le marché sont conformes aux nouvelles limites du Code de sécurité 6 et aux exigences techniques connexes. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada procède à des vérifications périodiques pour s'assurer que les installations d'antennes, les appareils sans fil et le matériel sur le marché sont conformes aux normes en vigueur.

EN FAIT, LES SCIENTIFIQUES S'ENTENDENT POUR DIRE QUE L'ÉNERGIE RADIOFRÉQUENCE ÉMISE PAR LES PYLÔNES DE TÉLÉPHONE CELLULAIRE EST TROP FAIBLE POUR AVOIR DES EFFETS NUISIBLES SUR LES HUMAINS.
Source : Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada

Les ondes de fréquence radio ne peuvent franchir qu'une distance donnée qui est déterminée par un certain nombre de facteurs, dont les suivants :

  • la hauteur de l'antenne;
  • la fréquence du signal;
  • la puissance de l'émetteur;
  • l'effet exercé par les bâtiments ou la végétation sur le signal;
  • d'autres aspects géographiques ou météorologiques.
RF Energy
Le Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada établit des limites strictes d'exposition aux radiofréquences pour que le public ou les personnes qui travaillent à proximité d'une source de radiofréquences soient bien protégés, et ces limites sont largement supérieures aux normes de sécurité.

Constatez-le vous-même
Les constats des recherches
les plus récentes

Comment le
Gouvernement du Canada
vous protège

Tout ce qu'il faut savoir sur
Le code de sécurite 6

municipalities

Améliorations des procédures d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada touchant l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes

5 étapes - decorative

Comprenez le processus en 5 Étapes

La demande de services sans fil ne cesse d'augmenter, tout comme le nombre d'utilisateurs de téléphones intelligents et d'autres appareils mobiles au Canada. Pour répondre à la demande, de nouveaux pylônes devront être érigés.

Les entreprises du sans-fil ont toujours été tenues de collaborer avec les collectivités si elles voulaient construire un nouveau pylône. Avec l'adoption des nouvelles procédures d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes, elles devront collaborer encore plus étroitement avec les collectivités.

Les règles visent à réduire le nombre de nouveaux bâtis d'antennes. De plus, si un nouveau pylône doit être construit, l'entreprise doit maintenant consulter les citoyens de la localité relativement à l'emplacement du pylône.

Bref, quand une entreprise envisage de construire un nouveau pylône, elle doit :

  • examiner la possibilité de partager ou d'utiliser une structure existante avant de proposer la construction d'une nouvelle structure;
  • communiquer avec l'autorité chargée de l'utilisation du territoire pour prendre connaissance des exigences locales visant les bâtis d'antennes;
  • informer et consulter la population, et prendre en compte les préoccupations pertinentes soulevées, tout en respectant les exigences locales sur l'utilisation du territoire et en suivant le processus d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada relatif au choix de l'emplacement des pylônes;
  • construire le nouveau pylône dans les trois ans suivant les consultations;
  • satisfaire aux exigences générales et techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et se conformer au Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada pour garantir la sécurité des Canadiens.

En outre, les règles précisent clairement que les fonctionnaires d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada n'interviennent normalement dans le processus que si les parties sont incapables de s'entendre au niveau local. Les collectivités sont directement touchées par le choix des emplacements des pylônes. Elles sont bien placées pour collaborer avec les fournisseurs de services sans fil afin de garantir la prestation efficace de ces derniers, tout en respectant les règlements locaux sur l'utilisation du territoire. Le personnel d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est prêt à conseiller les municipalités et à les aider à comprendre leur rôle.


Élaboration de votre protocole relatif à l'emplacement des pylônes

En février 2013, l'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil et la Fédération canadienne des municipalités ont annoncé ensemble un modèle de protocole d'implantation de systèmes d'antennes, qui constitue un outil complet dont les municipalités peuvent se servir pour élaborer leur propre protocole ou améliorer les protocoles existants.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada offre aussi des conseils pour vous aider à rédiger votre propre protocole. Consultez le Guide destiné aux autorités responsables du sol pour la rédaction des protocoles visant les emplacements d'antennes.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide, communiquez avec nous.

Towers header

Nouvelles procédures sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes

5 étapes - decorative

Comprenez le processus en 5 Étapes

La demande de services sans fil continue de croître de façon exponentielle. Les Canadiens veulent les dernières technologies et une meilleure couverture de services sans fil. Ils veulent aussi des services plus rapides capables de supporter un volume accru de données. Les ressources sans fil actuelles ne sont plus capables de répondre à la demande, d'où la nécessité de construire de nouveaux pylônes. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a modifié ses procédures sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes afin de veiller à ce que les municipalités et les collectivités canadiennes puissent faire entendre leurs voix plus clairement.

Conformément à ces procédures, les entreprises doivent maintenant établir une collaboration plus étroite avec les autorités locales responsables de l'utilisation du territoire (généralement la municipalité) et les collectivités qu'elle représente, et ce, dès le début du processus. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a resserré ses exigences pour faire en sorte que les fournisseurs de services sans fil consultent davantage les résidants locaux, pour accroître la transparence pour les municipalités, et pour améliorer les communications tout au long du processus d'établissement des pylônes d'antennes.

Les modifications aux procédures sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes seront avantageuses pour toutes les parties concernées. Elles minimiseront les surprises et créeront un climat axé sur la collaboration pour que les Canadiens puissent avoir accès aux services sans fil dont ils ont besoin.

Désormais, les entreprises devront :

  • consulter les collectivités au sujet de toute installation de pylône commercial, peu importe sa hauteur;
  • construire le pylône d'antennes dans les trois ans suivant la consultation auprès de la collectivité;
  • s'assurer que les résidants sont suffisamment informés des consultations à venir en leur envoyant des avis clairement libellés à cet effet.

Quelles sont les exigences?

Toutes les installations doivent être conformes aux procédures d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes. Elles doivent aussi satisfaire aux limites prescrites par les Lignes directrices de Santé Canada sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences, communément appelées Code de sécurité 6. Le Code établit des limites strictes quant au niveau d'énergie libérée par les pylônes d'antennes. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a adopté ces lignes directrices afin d'assurer la protection du public et exige que toutes les installations se conforment au Code de sécurité 6 en tout temps.

En vertu des procédures sur l'emplacement des pylônes d'antennes, les fournisseurs de services sans fil ont des obligations accrues en ce qui a trait à la consultation des autorités responsables du territoire et du public. Ils doivent aussi avoir achevé la construction du système d'antennes dans les trois ans suivant la conclusion des consultations. Après ce délai de trois ans, les consultations ne seront plus jugées valides, sauf si l'entreprise proposant la construction d'un pylône et l'autorité chargée de l'utilisation du territoire concluent une entente écrite afin de prolonger la période de temps prescrite.

Date de modification :