RP Gen — General Spectrum Policy Principles and Other Information Related to Spectrum Utilization and Radio Systems Policies

Issue 1
September 1987

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Spectrum and Radio Systems Policy Mandate of the Department
  3. General Spectrum Policy Principles
  4. Summary

1. Introduction

The purpose of this document is to incorporate in one paper general principles and other information which are common to this series of documents and form the basis for the specific policies on spectrum utilization, orbit protection and radio systems matters for various bands and for all radio services, broadcasting and non-broadcasting included.

From time to time, through a public consultation process, specific policies have been established relating to the particular use to be made of a given frequency band (spectrum utilization policies) or what generic types and developments of radio equipment (radio systems policies) will be furthered in Canada. While the SP series as a whole will form the permanent record of these specific policies in a convenient fashion, this document contains the general or overall guiding principles which the Department considers form the basis for policy, and where applicable, associated regulatory and operational initiatives. As these policies are updated and new policies created, users are encouraged to ensure they are using the latest version of these documents. The consistent application of these spectrum policy principles in the policy development process may be considered as departmental spectrum-related policy decisions, but also an indication of future thrusts and directions in the spectrum policy field.

These principles may be adopted to meet specific requirements in various locations across Canada and are intended as guidelines for spectrum management practices.

2. Spectrum and Radio Systems Policy - Mandate of the Department

The Department of Communications seeks to fulfill its mandate to foster the orderly development and operation of communications for Canada in the domestic and international spheres, in part through the management of the radio frequency spectrum. Through its Telecommunications Policy Branch, it develops policies for achieving optimum utilization of the radio frequency spectrum and the orbit resource to meet the varying and conflicting needs of users.

These policies are intended to reflect, in part, the following major responsibilities of the Minister of Communications:

  1. To optimize the utilization of the radio frequency spectrum, and the geostationary satellite orbit;
  2. To provide for the planning of the efficient and orderly growth of the Canadian radio telecommunications network as an entire system;
  3. To ensure that the public interest is served through the consideration of all relevant factors in the granting of licences for new radio transmission facilities;
  4. To anticipate, analyze and resolve interference problems in the early stages of system development;
  5. To consider future system expansion plans and provide for these to the extent possible; and
  6. To ensure that Canadian radiocommunication systems conform to the extent practicable to the International Radio Regulations established by the International Telecommunications Union.

3. General Spectrum Policy Principles

This section describes the following general spectrum policy principles, application of the principles and information on public consultation:

  1. Spectrum Conservation
    • 1.1 Maximization of Public Good
    • 1.2 Spectrum Allocation
    • 1.3 Designation of Spectrum by Type of Use
    • 1.4 Frequent Priority
    • 1.5 Encouragement of Non-Radio Alternatives
    • 1.6 Maintenance of a Single National Standard
    • 1.7 Encouragement of New Technologies
  2. Application of Spectrum Policy Principles
    • 2.1 Non-Reservation of Spectrum
    • 2.2 Use of Station Parameters which Promote Spectrum Conservation
    • 2.3 Non-Standard Systems
    • 2.4 Right of Refusal
    • 2.5 First Come, First Served Radio Licensing
    • 2.6 Radio Station Licences
    • 2.7 Interference Protection
    • 2.8 Geo-Stationary Orbit Protection
    • 2.9 "Last In" Protects Existing Users
    • 2.10 Principle of Channel Sharing
    • 2.11 Phased Implementation
  3. Public Consultation
    • 3.1 Use of the Canada Gazette in Public Consultation
    • 3.2 Call for Applications and its Selective Use in Radio Licensing and General Spectrum Management Activities
    • 3.3 Public Disclosure

It should be noted that their order of appearance does not indicate any relative weighting or priority among them as to their importance. In addition, the Minister may, by virtue of the statutory powers described in the Radiocommunication Act and the Department of Communications Act, which allow broad latitude in decision-making power, prescribe conditions of licence which supersede any of the principles specified. Moreover, the list of principles described in this document is not exhaustive and refers to matters of a spectrum/orbit-related nature only.

3.1 Spectrum Conservation

The radio frequency spectrum is a natural resource which is not contained by regional or national boundaries and whose exploitation is therefore contingent on an efficient and effective body of policies, rules, procedures and practices designed to accommodate as many users as possible, and to facilitate equitable sharing among the users in an environment from harmful interference. Key elements related to spectrum conservation are:

3.1.1 Maximization of Public Good

Since the radio frequency spectrum in general and each spectrum allocation in particular are limited national resources whose use must be managed in the public interest and for the public good, generally those operations which provide and extend similar services to the greatest number of users or subscribers, or which use greater technical sophistication to increase the efficiency of spectrum use and hence the number of subscribers which can be served, are to be given preference particularly in the areas of moderate or intensive spectrum use.

In rendering a decision, an assessment of the public interest to be met by the application is of great importance, particularly in areas where there is intensive spectrum usage and/or two or more applicants are competing for the same spectrum. For example, radio systems recognized as providing a "safety service" (e.g. police, ambulance, fire) assume primary importance in comparison to other uses of radio in competitive situations.

3.1.2 Spectrum Allocation

Spectrum should be allocated to services whose specific needs are best tailored to the use of that spectrum. Generally, the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations specifies the full range of specific radio services. While its primary purpose is to accommodate domestic needs, it is consistent, with very few exceptions, to the International Table of the International Telecommunications Union.

Each frequency range possesses propagation and other characteristics peculiar to it which more or less determine its optimal usage. Sub-allocations of spectrum to support a particular service operation are made by factoring into the process such considerations. Thus, when choosing a band allocation in which to authorize a system, the Department gives preference in its licensing process to local mobile radio over fixed point-to-point operations in the VHF and UHF bands, and preference to fixed operations in higher UHF and SHF bands. Similarly operations requiring longer range communications, (i.e., international broadcasting, mobile and fixed services) are satisfied preferentially in the HF bands.

As another example, at higher microwave frequencies, radio path links tend to decrease in distance because of attenuation by rainfall and absorption in the atmosphere. As the lower portions of the SHF microwave frequency range are more attractive for multi-hop or long-haul systems, application of this principle could also lead to a requirement for each applicant to demonstrate that use of a higher available frequency band is not technically or economically feasible.

3.1.3 Designation of Spectrum by Type of Use

The Department designates spectrum by type of use rather than type of user; a principle which has proved to be effective in satisfying the varying public demand for radio services in various areas of Canada. Under this arrangement, spectrum which is not required by one type of user at any location is available for others, who have a use for it. In addition, radio systems designed for a common type of use are more easily co-ordinated with the operation of other similar systems, permitting a greater number to be licensed in a given area. Therefore, the principle of designating spectrum by type of use will be continued, and spectrum will usually not be designated exclusively for any one group of users.

3.1.4 Frequency Priority

The Department recognizes a priority in the use of frequencies for various radio services. Services involving safety of life and property - "safety services", take precedence over others to be established for industrial or business communications purposes - "preferred services". Included in the "preferred service" category are federal and provincial civil defense systems, provincial and municipal hydro electric power, highways and transportation systems, systems essential to the distribution and maintenance of electrical, oil and gas services and so on. Generally, non-shared, exclusive use assignments are made to operations in the "safety service" category. Those applicants, for land mobile service as an example, whose systems are not encompassed by the safety channels are available for assignment in the area involved and that assigned frequencies are time-shared as necessary with other like systems in the same local area.

3.1.5 Encouragement of Non-Radio Alternatives

As a principle, the Department will encourage applicants for radio systems to pursue, to the extent possible, the use of non-radio alternatives where these could be more economical and could realistically be employed from a technological point of view. Consequently, applicants may expect the Department to encourage the use of non-radio alternatives such as fibre optics and cable, especially in areas where spectrum is congested, where system paths are relatively short and where these alternatives can reasonably be employed.

3.1.6 Maintenance of a Single National Standard

As a general rule, any application must conform to the most recent issue of departmental standards (for example, Radio Standards Procedures, Standard Radio System Plans, and Broadcast Procedures) including those for the extension or replacement of existing systems. It has been argued, however, that strict adherence to standards for systems operating in remote areas is unnecessary since any additional spectrum required is usually freely available and economic and operating advantages could result for the user. On the question of spectrum availability, it may be noted that while the remote areas of Canada are extensive, installations in those areas are often confined to the few routes accessible by road or water, and these routes tend of have intense frequency usage because of the existence of multiple systems. Even sites serviced by air, principally located in mountainous terrain, are often found on established routes which are subject to intense usage. In this situation it is difficult to predict spectrum availability with confidence, making a blanket exception to national radio system standards in remote areas unwise. The Department remains committed, therefore, to the principle of establishing a single set of national standards for radio systems applicable to all areas of Canada.

3.1.7 Encouragement of New Technologies

With the necessity to achieve more sharing coupled with the demand for access to the same spectrum by an increasing number of users, new and more efficient means will be required to achieve the increased band occupancy. One of the means at the Department's disposal to achieve spectrum efficiency is to encourage the use of newly available technologies which would result in increased traffic-carrying capabilities without requiring increased spectrum.

Consequently, the Department will measure systems proposals in terms of optimum and economically feasible usage of innovative and state-of-the-art practices.


Date modified:

PR Gen — Principes généraux et autres renseignements complémentaires sur l'utilisation du spectre et sur l'exploitation de systèmes de radiocommunications

1re édition
septembre 1987

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Le mandat du Ministère sur la politique du spectre et des systèmes radio
  3. Principes généraux applicables à l'utilisation du spectre
  4. Sommaire

1. Introduction

Le présent document vise à regrouper les principes généraux et renseignements qui touchent tous les documents de cette série et forment la base des politiques concernant l'utilisation du spectre, la protection des orbites et les systèmes radio, applicables à diverses bandes et à tous les services radio, y compris les services de radiodiffusion et autres.

De temps à autre, par l'entremise d'une consultation publique, des politiques particulières ont été établies en fonction de l'emploi particulier d'une bande de fréquences donnée (politiques d'utilisation du spectre) ou de types génériques d'équipement de radio pouvant être utilisés au Canada. L'ensemble de la série PS vise à constituer un régistre de ces politiques particulières. Quant au présent document, il contient les principes directeurs généraux que le Ministère considère comme fondamentaux pour les initiatives touchant la politique et, dans certains cas, la réglementation et l'exploitation. étant donné que ces politiques sont mises à jour et que de nouvelles sont établies, on veillera à toujours consulter la dernière version de chacun de ces documents. On peut considérer qu'il est fondamental de respecter ces principes dans l'élaboration des politiques, non seulement afin de donner au public une idée courante des décisions concernant le spectre, mais aussi afin d'indiquer les buts et les orientations futures du Ministère dans ce domaine.

Ces politiques pourraient adopter pour rencontrer les besoins spécifiques aux locations variées au Canada et ont pour but comme les lignes directrices du technique du gestion de spectre.

2. Le mandat du Ministère sur la politique du spectre et des systèmes radio

Le ministère des Communications s'efforce de remplir son mandat qui est de promouvoir le développement de l'exploitation ordonnée des services de communications pour le Canada, au pays et à l'étranger, fonction qu'il exerce en partie par la gestion du spectre des fréquences radioélectroniques.

Il élabore des politiques, par l'entremise de la Direction générale, Politique des télécommunications, visant à permettre l'utilisation optimale du spectre des fréquences radioélectrique et l'orbite afin de répondre aux besoins différents et opposés des utilisateurs. Ces politiques reflètent, en partie, les principales responsabilités du ministre des Communications, qui sont notamment :

  1. d'optimiser l'utilisation du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques et de l'orbite du satellite géostationnaire;
  2. d'assurer la planification de la croissance ordonnée et efficace du réseau canadien de radiocommunication;
  3. de veiller au respect de l'intérêt public, en tenant compte de tous les facteurs pertinents pour la délivrance de licences de stations radio;
  4. de prévoir, d'analyser et de résoudre les problèmes de brouillage dès les premières étapes du développement d'un réseau;
  5. d'étudier les projets d'expansion du réseau dans la mesure du possible; et
  6. de veiller à la conformité des réseaux canadiens de radiocommunication dans la mesure du praticable avec le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'Union internationale des télécommunications.

3. Principes généraux applicables à l'utilisation du spectre

Dans la présente section, on décrit les principes généraux suivants des politiques d'utilisation du spectre, l'application des principes et les renseignements sur la consultation du public :

  1. Conservation des fréquences
    • 1.1 Maximisation du bien du public
    • 1.2 Attribution des fréquences
    • 1.3 Désignation des fréquences par genre d'utilisation
    • 1.4 Priorité des fréquences
    • 1.5 Utilisation d'autres moyens que la radio
    • 1.6 Application d'une norme nationale uniforme
    • 1.7 Utilisation des nouvelles techniques
  2. Application des politiques d'utilisation du spectre
    • 2.1 Non-réservation des fréquences
    • 2.2 Utilisation de paramètres applicables aux stations qui avancent l'économie du spectre
    • 2.3 Systèmes non normalisés
    • 2.4 Droit de refuser
    • 2.5 « Premier arrivé, premier servi » pour la délivrance des licences
    • 2.6 Les licences de station radio
    • 2.7 Protection contre le brouillage
    • 2.8 Protection de l'orbite du satellite géostationnaire
    • 2.9 Protection des utilisateurs existants
    • 2.10 Principe du partage maximal des voies
    • 2.11 Mise en oeuvre graduelle
  3. Consultation du Public
    • 3.1 Consultation du public par le biais de la Gazette du Canada
    • 3.2 Appel de demandes pour la délivrance des licences et les activités générales de gestion du spectre
    • 3.3 Publication des demandes

On notera que l'ordre dans lequel ceux-ci sont présentés n'indique pas leur importance respective ni les priorités qui s'y rapportent. De plus, la Loi sur la radiocommunication et la Loi sur le ministère des Communications donnent au Ministre des pouvoirs légaux qui laissent beaucoup de latitude dans ses décisions et permettent de prescrire des conditions de licence qui ont priorité sur tous les principes définis ci-après. Ce sont plutôt des lignes directrices générales qui doivent être appliquées avec souplesse selon les circonstances.

3.1 Conservation des fréquences

Le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques est une ressource naturelle qui ne connaît pas de frontières régionales ou nationales et dont l'exploitation dépend par conséquent d'un ensemble de principes, règles, procédures et pratiques conçues pour servir autant d'utilisateurs que possible et faciliter le partage équitable des fréquences dans un environnement libre de brouillage nuisible. Les éléments clés de la conservation du spectre sont :

3.1.1 Maximisation du bien du public

Le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques en générale et chaque attribution du spectre en particulier sont ressources nationales limitées dont l'exploitation doit être gérée dans l'intérêt du public et pour le plus grand bien du public; aussi, en règle générale, on favorise les entreprises qui fournissent et offrent des services semblables au plus grand nombre d'usagers ou d'abonnés, ou qui ont recours à des techniques plus perfectionnées afin d'utiliser les fréquences du spectre de façon plus efficace et d'accroître le nombre d'usagers qu'ils peuvent servir, en particulier en ce qui concerne les fréquences à utilisation moyenne ou forte.

Pour prendre une décision, il est très important d'évaluer dans quelle mesure la demande satisfait l'intérêt du public, en particulier lorsque les fréquences visées font l'objet d'une forte utilisation ou lorsque deux ou plusieurs requérants désirent obtenir les mêmes fréquences. Par exemple, les systèmes radio établis pour assurer un « service de sécurité » (par ex. police, transport, ambulancier ou service d'incendie) auront la priorité sur les autres systèmes radio dans les cas de concurrence.

3.1.2 Principe de l'attribution des fréquences

Le spectre doit être attribué aux services dont les besoins spécifiques sont les plus appropriés pour l'utilisation de ce spectre. En règle générale, le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences indique toute la gamme des attributions de fréquences visant à répondre aux besoins actuels et prévus de services radio particuliers. Bien qu'il vise d'abord à répondre aux besoins canadiens, il est conforme, à quelques exceptions près, au Tableau international de l'U.I.T. (Union internationale des télécommunications).

Chaque gamme de fréquences possède des caractéristiques de propagation et d'autres caractéristiques propres qui déterminent plus ou moins son utilisation optimale. Les sous-attributions de fréquences visant à répondre aux besoins d'un service particulier sont effectuées en tenant compte de ces facteurs. Quand on choisit l'attribution de la bande pour l'autorisation du système, le Ministère favorisera l'exploitation des services mobiles locaux plutôt que des services entre points fixes dans les bandes VHF et UHF, et l'exploitation des services fixes dans les bandes supérieures UHF et SHF. De même, on attribuera des préférences des fréquences HF aux services de télécommunications à grande distance (par ex. la radiodiffusion internationale, le service mobile et le service fixe exploités à l'échelle internationale).

Autre exemple, aux fréquences micro-ondes supérieures, les trajets radioélectriques tendent à devenir plus courts en raison de l'affaiblissement par les précipitations et par absorption atmosphérique. étant donné que les parties inférieures de la gamme des hyper-fréquences SHF sont plus intéressantes pour les systèmes à plusieurs bonds ou à longue portée, l'application de ce principe pourrait en outre obliger chaque requérant à prouver qu'il ne peut pas utiliser la bande supérieure disponible, pour des raisons techniques ou économiques.

3.1.3 Désignation des fréquences par genre d'utilisation

Le Ministère désigne les fréquences d'après le genre d'utilisation plutôt que d'après le genre d'utilisateur, ce principe s'étant avéré efficace pour répondre aux besoins variés de services radio dans les diverses régions du Canada. Conformément à cet arrangement, les fréquences qui ne sont pas nécessaires pour un genre d'utilisateur donné dans une localité, sont libres pour les autres utilisateurs qui en ont besoin. En outre, il est ainsi plus facile de coordonner les systèmes radio à utilisation partagée avec d'autres systèmes semblables, ce qui permet d'en autoriser un plus grand nombre dans une région donnée. Par conséquent, on maintiendra le principe de la désignation des fréquences par genre d'utilisation et, en général, on ne désignera pas de fréquences à l'usage exclusif d'un groupe d'utilisateurs.

3.1.4 Priorité des fréquences

Le Ministère reconnaît une priorité dans l'utilisation des fréquences pour les services du radio. Les services concernant la sécurité de la vie humaine et de la propriété - « les services de sécurité », ont priorité sur les services établis à des fins de communications industrielles ou d'affaires - « les services préférentiels ». Font partie des « services préférentiels » sont les systèmes de la protection civile fédéraux et provinciaux, les systèmes provinciaux et municipaux utilisés dans les domaines de l'énergie hydro-électrique, des transports et des autoroutes, les systèmes essentiels à la distribution de l'électricité, du mazout et du gaz et au maintien de ces services etc. En règle générale, des fréquences non partagées, exclusives, sont assignées aux services de sécurité. Les systèmes qui ne font pas partie de cette catégorie, le service mobile terrestre par exemple, pourront être autorisés si les fréquences nécessaires sont libres dans la gamme visée et si les fréquences assignées sont partagées, au besoin, avec d'autres systèmes semblables de la même région.

3.1.5 Utilisation d'autres moyens que la radio

Le Ministère a pour principe d'encourager les requérants de licences radio à recourir à d'autres moyens que la radio dans la mesure du possible, si cette solution est plus économique et semble réaliste du point de vue technique. Les requérants peuvent donc s'attendre que le Ministère favorisera l'utilisation de ces autres moyens, par exemple, les fibres optiques et le câble, en particulier dans les cas d'encombrement du spectre, lorsque les trajets des systèmes sont relativement courts et lorsque ces moyens peuvent raisonnablement être employés.

3.1.6 Application d'une norme nationale uniforme

En règle générale, toute demande doit être conforme à l'édition la plus récente des normes du Ministère (par exemple, les procédures sur les normes radioélectriques, les plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens et les procédures sur la radiodiffusion), y compris celles qui concernent le développement ou le remplacement des systèmes existants. Toutefois, certaines personnes ont fait valoir qu'il n'était pas nécessaire d'appliquer strictement les normes dans le cas des systèmes exploités dans les régions isolées, car dans ces régions on peut obtenir facilement et de façon économique les fréquences additionnelles dont on a besoin, et les utilisateurs peuvent en retirer des avantages sur le plan de l'exploitation. Or, en ce qui concerne la disponibilité des fréquences, on remarquera que si les régions isolées du Canada sont vastes, les installations y sont souvent confinées aux quelques routes accessibles par les voies terrestres ou les voies d'eau, et le long de ces routes les fréquences tendent à être fortement utilisées par les stations, qui y sont très nombreuses. Même les emplacements accessibles par voie aérienne, surtout en montagne, se trouvent souvent sur les routes établies où l'utilisation des fréquences est très forte. Dans ces conditions, il est difficile d'être certain que les fréquences nécessaires demeureront libres et, par conséquent, il ne serait pas judicieux d'établir une exception générale aux normes nationales applicables aux systèmes radio, dans le cas des régions isolées. Le Ministère demeurera donc fidèle au principe d'établir un ensemble de normes applicables de façon uniforme aux systèmes radio de toutes les régions du Canada.

3.1.7 Utilisation des nouvelles techniques

étant donné la nécessité d'accroître le partage des fréquences et compte tenu de la demande d'un nombre croissant d'utilisateurs du service en vue d'avoir accès aux mêmes fréquences, des moyens nouveaux et plus efficaces seront manifestement nécessaires pour permettre l'occupation accrue des bandes que cela implique. Un des moyens les plus évidents dont le Ministère dispose pour atteindre cet objectif d'optimisation du spectre est de promouvoir énergiquement le recours aux nouvelles techniques courantes qui se traduirait par une plus grande capacité de trafic sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'hypothéquer d'autres fréquences.

Par conséquent, le Ministère va étudier de telles propositions des systèmes du point de vue des possibilités d'utilisation optimale et économique de méthodes innovatrices conformes à l'état de la technique.


Date de modification :