Archived — Notice No. SMBR-001-96

Industry Canada

Government Notices

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR - 001 - 96

Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB), Issue 1

Industry Canada announces the publication of the Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB), Issue 1, for stations operating within the 1452 to 1492 MHz frequency band (L-band) using the EUREKA 147 (DAB) system. This is a wide-band digital transmission system adopted in Canada as an eventual replacement for AM and FM analog sound broadcasting and was the subject of Canada Gazette SMBR-005-95, "System Standard for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) in Canada", published on November 25, 1995.

The Allotment Plan is based on principles recommended by the Task Force on the Introduction of Digital radio. It reflects data available to January 1, 1996, and corrects all known omissions or errors that were reported from the Draft Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB), Draft 2, published in September 1995. It is expected that the Plan will evolve with time and will be updated as practical experience is gained during implementation.

The Plan, as published, provides for a digital allotment for each AM and FM broadcasting station, vacant allotment and application existing as of January 1, 1996. However, the continued availability of a digital allotment for any AM or FM station will depend on the applications received for the digital service and any modifications made to the Plan during the licensing process. It should be noted that in many locations in Canada, the Plan contains vacant allotments that can accommodate AM or FM stations applied for after January 1, 1996 and to allow a measure of future growth.

Comments on the Draft Allotment Plan

Industry Canada received seven responses to Notice No. SMBR - 004 - 95, Draft Allotment Plan for Terrestrial Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB), which was published in the Canada Gazette on September 16, 1995. Most commenters were in general agreement with the allotment strategy adopted for the Plan. The following provides a brief summary of recurring themes in the comments and our response to them.

  • The Department should maintain regulatory flexibility for DRB implementation to facilitate introduction of service, provide optimized coverage and encourage necessary experimentation.
  • Several submissions underlined the particular importance of maintaining flexibility in seeking alternative groupings of partners assigned to any given DRB channel within any given area.
  • Some respondents proposed modifications to particular DRB allotments.
  • Some respondents requested that the Plan should provide them with additional allotments to accommodate their future plans.
  • Some respondents urged that additional spectrum be sought for DRB to facilitate longer-term satellite implementation.

Discussion

In developing the Plan, possible DRB coverages using specific transmitter locations and operating parameters were developed in order to obtain the frequency re-use contour (FRC) for each digital service area (DSA). However, to allow flexibility in implementing DRB, the Plan does not identify specific operating parameters or transmitter locations but allows these parameters to vary so long as the implementation remains within the FRC envelope. It is the intention of the Department to retain this flexibility in the implementation of allotments. Consequently, the DRB application procedure, BPR Part V, which is under preparation, will reflect this concept.

Concerning the station groupings (up to five) on each channel, these were based only upon similarities in existing coverage areas of FM and AM broadcasting undertakings. Since the Plan's objective was to provide DRB channels to replace the existing AM and FM services, stations of closely similar coverage were, as far as possible, grouped together on the same channel in order to obtain maximum spectrum efficiency. However, it is recognized that for various other reasons rearrangement in the groupings may be desirable. Industry Canada has no objections to regrouping provided that the integrity of the Plan, i.e. spectrum efficiency, digital service area and frequency re-use contours, is not compromised. Accordingly, any changes in groupings may be addressed at the time of the licensing process.

As for the requests by some commenters for additional allotments or for reservation of channels to meet their future needs, this is an issue that is outside the scope of this plan which was to provide for a digital replacement for AM and FM stations. It should be noted, however, that in addition to digital replacements for assignments, the Plan provides replacements for unused AM and FM allotments and these could be used for future expansion. Also, in some communities there are DRB channels with fewer than five targeted program services. This unassigned capacity could be considered by applicants for additional programming services at the time of implementation. Further, even where there is no unassigned capacity on a DRB channel in a particular location, the Department will be prepared, at the time of application, to examine the technical feasibility of adding a channel based on the criteria relevant to the specific application.

Concerning the request for additional spectrum to facilitate longer-term satellite implementation, this is not a subject that is judged as urgent, and thus will not be addressed at this time.

Some commenters addressed issues in their response which were specific to their situation. The Department will be replying directly to those commenters on these issues.

It should be noted that, as mentioned in SMBR-004-95 concerning the Draft Allotment Plan, allotments near the Canada/US border require coordination with the United States. Discussions in this regard are proceeding. Nevertheless, in the meantime, applications will be considered by the Department on a case by case basis.

In order to comply with system specifications, the centre frequencies appearing in the preamble to this allotment plan have been changed from those of the previous version.

Further Information

Copies of the Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB), Issue 1 may be obtained from the:

Publishing Services Centre, DOSP-P
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

or from the Department's regional offices in Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal and Moncton. The Plan is also available electronically on the Internet at the following WWW address:

http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/telecom/dgse/index.html

Inquiries regarding the Plan may be sent to the:

Director, Broadcast Planning and Technical Policy Division (DBCP)
Spectrum Engineering Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8
telephone 613-998-2916

or at the Internet address broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca in the case of E-mail.

Dated at Ottawa this 7th day of June 1996.

R. W. McCaughern
A/Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Avis no SMBR-001-96

Industrie Canada

Avis gouvernementaux

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMBR-001-96

Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 1ère édition

Industrie Canada annonce la publication du Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 1ère édition, applicable aux stations qui sont exploitées dans la bande de fréquences de 1452 à 1492 Mhz (bande L) au moyen du système EUREKA-147 (DAB). Le système EUREKA-147 (DAB) est un système de transmission numérique à large bande, qui a été adopté au Canada pour remplacer ultérieurement la radiodiffusion sonore analogique AM et FM existante. Ce système a fait l'objet de l'avis SMBR-005-95, intitulé "Norme pour le système de radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) au Canada", qui a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 25 novembre 1995.

Le Plan d'allotissement est fondé sur les principes proposés par le Groupe de travail sur la mise en oeuvre de la radiodiffusion audionumérique. Ce plan repose sur les données disponibles au 1er janvier 1996 et corrige toutes les omissions et erreurs relevées dans le Projet de plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 2ème édition, publié en septembre 1995. On prévoit que le Plan sera modifié ultérieurement, en fonction de l'expérience pratique acquise lors de sa mise en oeuvre.

Le plan, tel qu'il a été publié, prévoit un allotissement audionumérique pour chaque station de radiodiffusion AM et FM et pour tous les allotissements libres et toutes les demandes existantes AM et FM à compter du 1er janvier 1996. Toutefois, la disponibilité continue d'un allotissement numérique pour toute station AM ou FM sera fonction des demandes reçues pour des services de radiodiffusion numérique et de toute modification apportée au Plan qui aura été approuvée au cours du processus de délivrance de licences. Il faut remarquer que dans la plupart des régions du Canada, le Plan comprend des allotissements libres pouvant accommoder les stations AM et FM dont une demande a été déposée après le 1er janvier 1996. Aussi, ces allotissements favoriseront la mise en oeuvre de nouveaux services audionumeriques.

Observations concernant le projet de Plan d'allotissement

Industrie Canada a reçu sept réponses à l'Avis no SMBR - 004 - 95, intitulé Projet de plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) terrestre, publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 16 septembre 1995. La plupart des répondants appuyaient de façon générale la stratégie d'allotissement adoptée dans le Plan. Un bref résumé des observations les plus souvent présentées et des réponses du Ministère est fourni ci-dessous.

  • Le Ministère devrait conserver une certaine marge de manoeuvre réglementaire en vue de la mise en oeuvre de la radiodiffusion audionumérique pour faciliter l'introduction de service, assurer une couverture optimale et favoriser l'expérimentation.
  • Plusieurs présentations soulignaient la grande importance de laisser une marge de manoeuvre dans l'établissement des groupes de partenaires auxquels un canal DRB est assigné dans une région donnée.
  • Certains répondants ont proposé de modifier des allotissements DRB précis.
  • Certains répondants ont demandé que le Plan prévoie des allotissements supplémentaires pour s'adapter à leurs plans futurs.
  • Certains répondants ont demandé avec instance l'attribution de fréquences supplémentaires au service DRB pour faciliter la mise en oeuvre à long terme de services par satellite.

Discussion

Lors de l'élaboration du Plan, des couvertures DRB éventuelles fondées sur des emplacements d'émetteur et des paramètres d'exploitation précis ont été définies afin d'établir le contour de réutilisation de fréquence (CRF) pour chaque aire de desserte numérique (ADN). Cependant, pour laisser une marge de manoeuvre dans la mise en place de la DRB, le Plan ne précise pas de paramètres d'exploitation ni d'emplacements d'émetteur précis; il permet plutôt une certaine variation dans la mesure où la mise en oeuvre respecte l'enveloppe CRF. Le Ministère compte conserver cette marge de manoeuvre dans la mise en oeuvre des allotissements. En conséquence, la procédure de demande relative à la DRB, définie dans le document RPR, partie 5, qui est en cours de rédaction, tiendra compte de ce concept.

En ce qui a trait aux groupements des stations (jusqu'à cinq) pour le partage d'un canal, les groupes ont été établis uniquement en fonction des similarités des zones de desserte des entreprises de radiodiffusion FM et AM existantes. Étant donné que l'objectif du Plan était de fournir des canaux DRB pour remplacer les services AM et FM existants, les stations dont la couverture était très similaire ont été, dans la mesure du possible, regroupées dans le même canal de façon à obtenir un rendement spectral optimal. Cependant, il est admis que, pour diverses autres raisons, il peut être souhaitable de modifier les groupes. Industrie Canada ne s'opposera pas aux regroupements dans la mesure où l'intégrité du Plan n'est pas compromise (c.-à-d. le rendement spectral, les aires de desserte numérique et les contours de réutilisation de fréquence). En conséquence, toute modification des groupes pourra être abordée lors du processus de délivrance de licences.

En ce qui a trait aux demandes de certains répondants d'allotissements supplémentaires ou de canaux réservés pour répondre à leurs besoins futurs, il s'agit d'une question qui dépasse l'objectif du Plan qui vise le remplacement numérique des stations AM et FM. Toutefois, il faut souligner que, outre le remplacement numérique des assignations existantes, le Plan prévoit le remplacement numérique des allotissements AM et FM non utilisés, qui pourraient servir aux fins d'expansion future. En outre, dans certaines régions, il y aura des canaux DRB qui offriront moins que les cinq services de programmation visés. Cette capacité non attribuée pourra être prise en considération au moment de la mise en oeuvre par les requérants qui souhaitent offrir des services de programmation supplémentaires. En outre, même s'il n'y a pas de capacité non attribuée dans un canal DRB dans une région donnée, le Ministère sera prêt à examiner la possibilité technique de l'addition d'un canal, lors du dépôt de la demande, compte tenu des critères pertinents.

En ce qui concerne la demande de fréquences supplémentaires pour faciliter la mise en oeuvre à long terme de services par satellite, il s'agit d'une question qui n'est pas jugée urgente ou immédiate et elle ne sera pas abordée pour le moment.

Certains répondants ont abordé des questions qui les touchent personnellement. Le Ministère leur répondra directement.

Il faut rappeler que, conformément à ce qui est expliqué dans l'Avis SMBR-004-95 concernant le Projet de plan d'allotissement, les allotissements près de la frontière Canada/États-Unis devront faire l'objet d'une coordination avec les États-Unis. Les discussions concernant cette question se poursuivent. En attendant, le Ministère traitera les demandes cas par cas.

Les fréquences centrales dans le préambule au Plan d'allotissement ont été modifiées par rapport à la version précédente afin d'assurer la conformité avec les spécifications du système.

Renseignements

On peut obtenir des exemplaires du Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 1ère édition, en s'adressant au:

Centre de services de publication, DOSP-P
300 rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

ou aux bureaux régionaux du Ministère situés à Vancouver, à Winnipeg, à Toronto, à Montréal et à Moncton. On peut également se procurer le Plan sur le réseau Internet à l'adresse WWW suivante :

http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/telecom/dgse/index.html

Les demandes de renseignements concernant le Plan peuvent être adressées au:

Directeur, Planification de la radiodiffusion et politique technique (DBCP)
Direction générale du génie du spectre
Industrie Canada
300 rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8
téléphone 613-998-2916

ou à l'adresse Internet broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca pour les demandes présentées par courrier électronique.

Daté à Ottawa, ce 7 jour de juin 1996.

R.W. McCaughern
Le Directeur général par intérim,
Génie du spectre

Date de modification :