Archived — Notice No. DGRB-004-98

Radiocommunication Ac

Notice No. DGRB-004-98

Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development

The purpose of this Notice is to invite public comments on the document entitled Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence relating to R&D.

The R&D licensing commitments were established for cellular licensees in 1985 and have since been applied to Personal Communications Services (PCS), Local Multipoint Communications Services (LMCS), Mobile Satellite Services (MSS) and Direct Broadcast Satellite Services (DBS) licence holders. On May 21, 1998, Industry Canada announced changes, as approved by John Manley, Minister of Industry, to the administration procedures for R&D conditions of licence. The changes are being made to encourage a broader range of partnerships and alliances through which R&D investments can be made. This document clarifies the types of eligible R&D investments for the purposes of the licence conditions and outlines the reporting requirements.

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested and affected parties to provide their views and comments on the above referenced document.

This document is available electronically as follows: World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Interested parties should submit comments in writing and/or in electronic format to:

Organization :
R&D, Information and Communications Technology Branch (ICTM), Industry Canada
Address :
Room 1831B – Jean Edmonds Tower North, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8

or in electronic format via the Internet to mann.kiran@ic.gc.ca.

All representations must be received on or before September 14, 1998 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Written comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public, two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 235 Queen Street, West Tower, 3rd Floor, Ottawa, and at the offices of Industry Canada in Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

David Mulcaster
Director General
Information and Communications Technology Branch

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Avis no DGRB-004-98

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-004-98

Projet de lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition de licence d'autorisation concernant la recherche et développement

Le présent avis a pour objet d'inviter le public à faire connaître son opinion sur le document intitulé Projet de lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition de licence d'autorisation radio concernant la R.D.

C'est en 1985 que les détenteurs de licences de communications cellulaires ont dû prendre des engagements en faveur de la R.D.. Depuis, les mêmes exigences ont été appliquées aux titulaires de licences visant les services suivants : services de communications personnelles (SCP); systèmes de télécommunications multipoints locaux (STML); services mobiles par satellite (SMS); et services de radiodiffusion directe par satellite (SRD). Industrie Canada a annoncé le 21 mai 1998 des modifications à la procédure administrative régissant les conditions de licence concernant la R.D. dans le domaine des télécommunications sans fil. Les modifications ont été approuvées par le ministre de l'Industrie, M. John Manley. Industrie Canada modifie les règles pour encourager l'élargissement de la gamme des partenariats et alliances par l'intermédiaire desquels les investissements en question peuvent être faits. Le document a pour but de clarifier les investissements en matière de R.D. qui satisferont aux conditions des licences et de clarifier les exigences pour le compte rendu de R.D.

Invitation à présenter des opinions et observations

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées et les parties concernées à faire connaître leur opinion et leurs observations sur le document mentionné ci-dessus.

On peut se procurer la version électronique du document en question à l'adresse suivante : World Wide Web (WWW) http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les intéressés doivent présenter leur opinion et leurs observation par écrit ou sous forme électronique à l'adresse suivante :

Organisation : 
Consultation sur la R.D., Direction générale des Technologies de l'Information et des Communications (TICF), Industrie Canada
Addresse : 
Pièce 1831B — Tour Nord Jean Edmonds, Ottawa (Ont.) K1A 0C8

Ils peuvent également présenter leur opinion et leurs observations sous forme électronique par Internet à mann.kiran@ic.gc.ca.

Toutes les opinions et observations doivent parvenir au Ministère au plus tard le 14 septembre 1998 pour être prises en considération. Les intervenants doivent indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis.

Les opinions et observations écrites reçues en réponse au présent avis pourront être consultées par le public deux semaines après la date limite de réception de l'avis, pendant les heures normales de bureau, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, 3e étage, Tour Ouest, Ottawa (Ont.), ainsi que dans les bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, pendant une période d'un an après la date de clôture des commentaires.

Le

Le directeur général,
l'Information et des Communications radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
David Mulcaster

Le directeur général
Direction générale des Technologies de Direction générale de la Réglementation
Jan Skora

Date de modification :