Notice No. DGRB-009-99

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Notice No. DGRB-009-99 — Radio Authorization Fees for Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Above 1 GHz

Introduction

An emerging class of global mobile satellite service (MSS) radiocommunication networks provide Canadians with a variety of voice, data, fax and messaging services throughout Canada that complement terrestrial-based cellular and personal communication services. These mobile satellite networks use radio frequency bands above 1 GHz and normally use 2 to 30 MHz of radio frequency spectrum for communications between subscriber earth stations and the space stations. MSS networks must operate in a manner that permits the mutual operation of competing services when MSS networks share the use of assigned spectrum.

On June 13,1998, Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGRB-001-98 Spectrum Licence Fees for Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Above 1 GHz. The notice announced that the Minister will grant spectrum licences to authorize the use of radio spectrum for this class of mobile satellite service provided by earth and space stations. The spectrum licence also permits the service provider to operate an unlimited number of subscriber earth stations.

This approach eliminates the administrative burden of issuing individual licences to each subscriber. It also seeks to treat equitably service providers who now use domestic satellites and pay radio licence fees for the space station, user terminal and gateway stations with service providers who use foreign satellites and pay only radio licence fees for user terminals and gateway stations.

Industry Canada invited comments on a proposed annual authorization fee of $18,000 per 500 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of MSS radio frequency bands above 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada. The proposed authorization fee and regime took into consideration the need to fix fees for foreign mobile satellite systems that operate in Canada, reduce fees when assigned spectrum is shared, prorate the annual fees and recover a fair return for the use of the assigned spectrum.

In response to the Notice, nine submissions were received from interested parties such as Canadian service providers, telecommunications associations, international satellite operators and consultants. All of the respondents support Industry Canada's broad policy objectives of fostering sustainable competition and innovative services by facilitating the timely and orderly implementation of MSS networks in Canada. Most respondents also favoured charging fees in accordance with the economic value of the assigned spectrum.

A few respondents favoured maintaining the current fee of $41 per terminal. However, many of the respondents agreed with the proposed fee structure, provided the fees could be reduced so they do not impact negatively on MSS customers, and would be comparable or lower than those charged by other administrations such as the United States or Australia. Others suggested ways of treating more equitably existing MSS operators and those who use spectrum assigned to the fixed satellite service (FSS), or those with plans to enter the Canadian market. Some respondents also suggested clarification of certain terminology and a mechanism to have fees adjusted during the transition from a radio licence to a spectrum licence regime.

Industry Canada notes that Canadian service providers find themselves in an environment that is characterized by a small, fully liberalized Canadian MSS market with a growing number of MSS players. Furthermore, these MSS services are complementary to, rather than competitive with, well developed cellular and personal communication services. Finally, the MSS subscriber base has been very slow to develop despite optimistic marketing projections. Given such an environment, the originally proposed fee, which may be more suited for a mature industry, is not appropriate at the moment.

In view of the comments received and the general support for this initiative, and given the environment that MSS service providers now face, the department will establish a fee framework for the mobile satellite service above 1 GHz by: 

  1. kHz of assigned spectrum;
  2. fixing prorated fees for new licences at 1/12 the annual fee for each month remaining until April 1;
  3. reducing the applicable fee where spectrum is shared by mobile satellite network operators or mobile satellite service providers;
  4. implementing the spectrum licence fee regime over two fiscal years; and
  5. including MSS service providers that use fixed satellite service (FSS) spectrum under this regime on an interim basis while the Department considers a spectrum licensing regime for the fixed satellite service.

Complete details of the fees fixed for the mobile satellite services using radio spectrum above 1 GHz are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective the date of publication of this notice in the Canada Gazette. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish mobile satellite services using radio spectrum above 1 GHz in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"assigned spectrum"
means the specific portion of a radio frequency band or bands above 1 GHz that a mobile satellite service provider or a mobile
"mobile satellite service" (MSS)
means a radiocommunication service that uses the radio frequency bands above 1 GHz for communications between mobile earth stations
"mobile satellite network operator"
means the person responsible for the operation of the space and ground segments of a mobile satellite network that provides a mobile satellite service in Canada;
"mobile satellite service provider"
means any person authorized by a mobile satellite network operator to provide mobile satellite services in Canada in accordance with a radio authorization issued by the Minister;
"new fee"
means the applicable annual, prorated or renewal fee fixed under sections 2 to 5 or section 6;
"old fee"
means, pursuant to the Radiocommunication Regulations, the applicable radio licence fees, paid by the holder of radio licences as of April 1, 1999, for the operation of mobile earth stations and for those frequencies at a space station that are authorized for communications with mobile earth stations.
"renewal fee"
means the annual fee payable for the renewal of a radio authorization before the radio authorization expires on March 31 of each year.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

Annual Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee is $540 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, for assigned spectrum to provide mobile satellite services in Canada. Prorated Fees.

Prorated Fees

3. The month that the Minister issues the annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

4. The prorated fee is $45 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, for assigned spectrum that provides mobile satellite services in Canada for each month until the licence expires on March 31.

Renewal Fee

5. The renewal fee is the applicable annual radio authorization fee.

Fee Reduction for Sharing Assigned Spectrum

6. The reduced annual, prorated or renewal fee is

  1. 1/3 of the applicable fee set out in sections 2 to 5, where a mobile satellite network operator is required to share assigned spectrum in Canada with another mobile satellite network operator;
  2. 1/3 of the applicable fee set out in sections 2 to 5, where a mobile satellite service provider is required to share assigned spectrum in Canada with another mobile satellite service provider of the same mobile satellite network operator; or
  3. 1/9 of the applicable fee set out in sections 2 to 5, where both of the conditions set out in paragraphs (a) and (b) apply.

Fee Adjustments for Phased Implementation

7. The applicable annual, prorated or renewal fee set out in sections  2 to 5 or the reduced annual, prorated or renewal fee set out section  6 is adjusted so that the aggregate of the fee is

  1. A + 0.2(B-A) during the fiscal year 1999/2000; and
  2. A + 0.5(B-A) during the fiscal year 2000/2001;

where A is the old fee, if any, and B is the new fee.

General Notes

  1. Under the Radiocommunication Regulations, as of April 1, 1999, the annual fee for a mobile station that communicates with a space station is $41 and the annual fee for a space station that communicates with a mobile station is $473 for each assigned transmit or receive frequency.
  2. The aggregate fee is rounded to the nearest dollar.
  3. This fee order applies to radio authorizations for the use of radio spectrum above 1 GHz that is allocated in Canada to the mobile satellite service for the purpose of providing mobile satellite services in Canada. Notwithstanding this, on an interim basis until such time as a separate fee order is established that is applicable to the fixed satellite service (FSS), this fee order also applies to radio authorizations for the use of spectrum above 1 GHz that is allocated to the fixed satellite service for the provision of mobile satellite services in Canada.
  4. The fees fixed in this order do not apply in respect of frequencies assigned for telemetry, telecommand, control and feeder link operations.
  5. This is an interim fee regime for mobile satellite services using radio spectrum above 1 GHz that may be adjusted as circumstances so warrant.

John Manley
Minister of Industry

Date modified:

Avis no DGRB-009-99

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, L.C. 1995, ch.1

Avis no DGRB-009-99 — Droits d'autorisation de radiocommunication concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz

Introduction

Une nouvelle classe de réseaux de radiocommunication mondiaux assurant un service mobile par satellite (SMS) permet d'offrir aux Canadiens une gamme de services téléphoniques, de données, de télécopie et de messagerie partout au Canada, en complément des services de communications personnelles et cellulaires de terrestres. Ces réseaux du service mobile par satellite utilisent des bandes de fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz et emploient généralement des largeurs de bande de 2 à 30 MHz pour les communications entre les stations terriennes d'abonné et les stations spatiales. Les réseaux SMS doivent fonctionner de façon à permettre l'exploitation mutuelle de services concurrentiels lorsque les réseaux SMS se partagent la bande de fréquences assignée.

Le 13 juin 1998, Industrie Canada a publié l'Avis de la Gazette DGRB-001-98 - Droits de licence de spectre concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz. Dans cet avis, le ministre annonçait qu'il accorderait des licences de spectre en vue d'autoriser l'utilisation du spectre pour cette classe de service mobile par satellite qui est fournie par des stations terriennes et spatiales. Cette licence permettrait également aux fournisseurs de service d'exploiter un nombre illimité de stations terriennes d'abonné.

Cette démarche élimine le fardeau administratif que constitue la délivrance de licences individuelles pour chaque abonné. Elle vise également à traiter sur le même pied les fournisseurs de service qui utilisent actuellement les satellites canadiens et qui paient les droits de licence radio pour la station spatiale, les terminaux d'utilisateur et les stations de liaison de connexion, et les fournisseurs de service qui utilisent des satellites étrangers et qui ne paient que les droits de licence radio pour les terminaux d'utilisateur et les stations de liaison de connexion.

Industrie Canada a invité les intéressés à faire connaître leur opinion sur un projet de droit d'autorisation annuel de 18 000 $ par 500 kHz ou partie de 500 kHz assignés dans des bandes de fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada. Le droit d'autorisation et le barème ont été proposés en tenant compte du besoin de fixer les droits pour les systèmes étrangers du service mobile par satellite exploités au Canada, de réduire les droits en cas de partage des fréquences assignées, de calculer les droits annuels au prorata et d'obtenir un rendement équitable de l'utilisation de la bande de fréquences assignée.

Suite à l'Avis, neuf répondants, dont des fournisseurs de services canadiens, des associations de télécommunications, des exploitants de satellites internationaux et des experts-conseils, ont présenté leurs observations. Tous les répondants appuyaient les grandes orientations prises par Industrie Canada, qui désire favoriser une concurrence durable et des services innovateurs en facilitant la mise en place opportune et ordonnée de réseaux SMS au Canada. La majorité des répondants étaient aussi d'accord avec l'imposition de droits en fonction de la valeur économique de la bande de fréquences assignée.

Quelques répondants étaient en faveur de maintenir le droit de 41 $ par station d'utilisateur. Cependant, bon nombre de répondants appuyaient le barème de droits proposé, à condition que les droits exigés soient réduits de façon à éviter les répercussions négatives sur les clients des SMS et qu'ils soient comparables ou inférieurs à ceux qu'exigent les administrations d'autres pays comme les États-Unis ou l'Australie. D'autres ont suggéré des façons de traiter plus équitablement les exploitants actuels de SMS et les exploitants qui utilisent les fréquences assignées pour le service fixe par satellite (SFS) ou ceux qui prévoient faire une percée dans le marché canadien. Certains répondants ont suggéré d'éclaircir certains termes et de rajuster les droits durant le passage du système de licences radio au système de licences de spectre.

Industrie Canada constate que les fournisseurs de services canadiens évoluent dans un environnement caractérisé par un marché SMS à faible densité pleinement libéralisé dont le nombre de participants SMS augmente. De plus, les services SMS constituent un complément aux services de communications personnelles et cellulaires bien développés plut_t que de les concurrencer. Enfin, le nombre d'abonnés au service SMS a augmenté très lentement en dépit des prévisions optimistes de commercialisation. Compte tenu de cet environnement, le droit proposé à l'origine, qui conviendrait probablement mieux dans un marché établi, n'est pas approprié à l'heure actuelle.

Compte tenu des observations reçues, de l'appui général de cette initiative et de l'environnement avec lequel les fournisseurs de service doivent maintenant composer, le Ministère mettra en place un cadre général de droits de licence pour les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent les fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz. À cette fin, il

  1. établira le droit annuel à 540 $ par 100 kHz pour les fréquences radio assignées;
  2. établira au prorata les droits pour les nouvelles licences à 1/12 du droit annuel pour chaque mois avant le 1er avril;
  3. réduira le droit applicable lorsque des exploitants de réseaux du service mobile par satellite ou des fournisseurs de services mobiles par satellite se partagent les fréquences;
  4. mettra en place un barème de droits de licence de spectre au cours des deux prochains exercices;
  5. assujettira provisoirement au présent barème les fournisseurs de services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent les bandes de fréquences du service fixe par satellite (SFS) pendant que le Ministère étudie la délivrance de licences de spectre pour le service fixe par satellite (SFS).

Les détails complets des droits établis pour les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz sont présentés dans le barème de droits qui suit.

Barème de droits

Conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie établit ci-dessous les droits qui suivent, dont la date d'entrée en vigueur correspond à la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Ces droits sont applicables aux autorisations de radiocommunication délivrées par le ministre conformément à l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, pour établir des services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz, conformément aux conditions de l'autorisation.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« fréquences radio assignées »
désigne la partie spécifique d'une bande ou de bandes de fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz qu'un fournisseur de services mobiles par satellite ou un exploitant de réseau du service mobile par satellite est autorisé à utiliser au Canada;
« service mobile par satellite » (SMS)
désigne un service de radiocommunication qui utilise des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz pour assurer des communications entre des stations terriennes mobiles et au moins une station spatiale;
« exploitant de ré seau du service mobile par satellite  »
désigne la personne responsable de l'exploitation du segment spatial et du segment terrien d'un réseau qui offre un service mobile par satellite au Canada;
« fournisseur de services mobiles par satellite »
désigne toute personne autorisée par un exploitant de réseau du service mobile par satellite à fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada, conformément à l'autorisation de radiocommunication délivrée par le ministre;
« nouveau droit »
désigne le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement établi en vertu des articles 2 à 5, ou de l'article 6;
« ancien droit »
désigne, en vertu du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, les droits de licence radio applicables que le titulaire de licence a payés au 1er avril 1999 pour exploiter des stations terriennes mobiles et les fréquences d'une station spatiale qui sont autorisées pour les communications avec les stations terriennes mobiles.
« droit de renouvellement »
désigne le droit annuel à payer pour obtenir le renouvellement d'une autorisation de radiocommunication avant son expiration, soit le 31 mars de chaque année.

Droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel

Droit annuel

2. Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel est de 540 $ par 100 kHz, ou partie de 100 kHz, assignés dans des bandes de fréquences radio utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada.

Droits proportionnels

3. Le mois au cours duquel le ministre délivre l'autorisation de radiocommunication annuelle détermine le droit de licence proportionnel applicable.

4. Le droit de licence proportionnel est de 45 $ par mois par 100 kHz, ou partie de 100 kHz, assignés dans des bandes de fréquences utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada, jusqu'à l'expiration de la licence, le 31 mars.

Droit de renouvellement

5. Le droit de renouvellement est égal au droit annuel d'autorisation de radiocommunication.

Réduction du droit en cas de partage des fréquences radio assignées

6. Le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement réduit est de

  1. 1/3 du droit applicable prévu aux articles 2 à 5, lorsqu'un exploitant de réseau du service mobile par satellite est tenu de partager des fréquences radio assignées au Canada avec un autre exploitant de réseau du service mobile par satellite;
  2. 1/3 du droit applicable prévu aux articles 2 à 5, lorsqu'un fournisseur de services mobiles par satellite est tenu de partager des fréquences radio assignées au Canada avec un autre fournisseur de services mobiles par satellite du même exploitant de service mobile par satellite;
  3. 1/9 du droit applicable prévu aux articles 2 à 5, lorsque les conditions énoncées aux paragraphes a) et b) s'appliquent toutes deux.

Rajustement des droits pour la mise en oeuvre par étapes

7. Le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement applicable prévu aux articles 2 à 5, ou le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement réduit prévu à l'article 6, est rajusté de façon à ce que le droit cumulatif corresponde à

  1. A + 0,2(B-A) au cours de l'exercice 1999-2000;
  2. A + 0,5(B-A) au cours de l'exercice 2000-2001;

où A représente l'ancien droit, s'il y a lieu, et B, le nouveau droit.

Notes générales

  1. En vertu du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, le droit annuel exigé au 1er avril 1999 est de 41 $ par station mobile qui communique avec une station spatiale, et de 473 $ pour chaque fréquence d'émission ou de réception assignée à une station spatiale qui communique avec une station mobile.
  2. Le droit cumulatif est arrondi au dollar le plus près.
  3. Ce barème de droits s'applique aux autorisations de radiocommunication pour l'utilisation des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz qui sont attribuées au Canada au service mobile par satellite en vue de fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada. Par dérogation à ce qui précède, le présent barème de droits s'applique aussi provisoirement aux autorisations de radiocommunication pour l'utilisation des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz attribuées au service fixe par satellite aux fins de la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'un barème de droits applicable au service fixe par satellite SFS) ait été établi.
  4. Les droits établis dans le présent barème ne s'appliquent pas aux fréquences assignées pour l'exploitation de systèmes de télémesure, de télécommande et de contr_le et pour les liaisons de connexion.
  5. Le présent barème de droits provisoire s'applique aux services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz. Il pourrait être modifié si les circonstances le justifient.

Le

Le Ministre de l'Industrie

John Manley

Date de modification :