Archived — New Releases: Minister Manley Announces the Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range

OTTAWA, June 28, 2000 – John Manley, Minister of Industry, today addressed the Net 2000 Conference in Ottawa, focussing on the progress made thus far in fostering a competitive and innovative telecommunications marketplace in Canada. The Minister also delivered a 'report card' outlining milestones reached through initiatives under the government's Connecting Canadians strategy, aimed at making Canada the world's most connected nation.

"Today's report card shows significant progress in meeting the goals of the government's Connecting Canadians agenda," said Minister Manley. "Through partnerships with the provinces and industry, we are increasing Canadians' access to the Internet which is driving demand, investment and innovation in the delivery of advanced services."

Noting that competition and regulation are key elements of the Department's framework for telecommunications in Canada, Minister Manley made two additional announcements.

First, the Minister announced the framework for the auction of additional spectrum for Personal Communications Services (PCS). Access to this spectrum will allow companies to meet existing demands and set the stage for the introduction of advanced wireless services such as third-generation (3G) PCS. Four 10 megahertz blocks of spectrum will be allocated through an auction to be held in early November 2000 with applications to participate due by August 28, 2000.

Consistent with the Government of Canada's policy to foster competitive telecommunications markets, all companies are eligible to apply for participation. "This will open up new opportunities for existing companies and new entrants to provide the services to Canadians offering untethered Internet access anywhere, anyplace, anytime," said Minister Manley.

The Minister also announced the Governor In Council's (GIC) response to appeals of three Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) telecommunications decisions.

The GIC is upholding Telecom Decisions CRTC 99-15 (appealed by Call-Net), 99-16 (appealed by the Governments of Manitoba and Saskatchewan and other parties) and 99-20 (appealed by AT&T Canada and other parties). As part of its response, the GIC is directing the CRTC to report annually over five years on the status of telecommunications competition and deployment of advanced services across Canada.

"In upholding the CRTC's decisions, the government is confident that further regulatory steps, if necessary, can be taken to better foster competition and encourage innovation and investment in the telecommunications industry," said Minister Manley. "An annual report outlining the status of competition and the roll-out of advanced services will help determine if and where further measures may be appropriate."

Canada has achieved among the lowest residential and business telephone rates in the G-7 and some of the world's highest telephone service and Internet penetration rates. Also, Canada's competitive telecommunications market generated capital investments worth $6.3 billion in 1999 –up from $4.4 billion in 1995.

In addressing NET 2000, the Minister expressed confidence that both policy and regulatory measures will help continue Canada's momentum – in terms of both competition and access.

Net 2000 is Canada's 14th annual Internet conference. This year it is hosted by CANARIE, Canada's Internet development organization.

Detailed backgrounders on the PCS Auction Framework and the response to appeals of the CRTC's decisions, the Connecting Canadians report card and the Minister's speech can be accessed on-line at http://www.ic.gc.ca

For more information on the PCS auction, please visit h_sf02076.html

For more information, please contact:

Jennifer Sloan
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Date modified:

Archivé — Communiqué : Le ministre Manley annonce la politique et procédures pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz

OTTAWA, le 28 juin 2000 – M. John Manley, ministre de l'Industrie du Canada, a pris la parole aujourd'hui à la Conférence Net 2000, à Ottawa. Il a mis l'accent sur la mesure dans laquelle le gouvernement a réussi jusqu'ici à encourager au Canada l'existence d'un marché des télécommunications compétitif et novateur. Le Ministre a en outre fait état d'une « fiche de rendement » détaillant les grandes étapes franchies dans le cadre de l'initiative fédérale Un Canada branché, qui vise à faire du Canada le pays le plus branché du monde.

« La fiche de rendement présentée aujourd'hui montre que le gouvernement s'est sensiblement rapproché de ses objectifs fixés dans la stratégie Un Canada branché, a déclaré le ministre Manley. Grâce à des partenariats avec les provinces et l'industrie, il améliore l'accès de la population canadienne à Internet, ce qui stimule la demande de services de pointe ainsi que l'investissement et l'innovation dans le domaine. »

Soulignant que la concurrence et la réglementation sont des éléments clés de la politique-cadre du Ministère en matière de télécommunications au Canada, le ministre Manley a fait deux autres annonces.

D'abord, M. Manley a annoncé le processus de mise aux enchères d'une autre partie du spectre des services de communications personnelles (SCP). L'accès à cette tranche du spectre permettra aux télécommunicateurs de répondre à la demande existante et préparera l'arrivée de services sans fil de pointe, tels que les SCP de la troisième génération (SCP 3G). Quatre blocs de 10 MHz seront vendus aux enchères au début de novembre 2000. Les entreprises de communications souhaitant participer aux enchères ont jusqu'au 28 août 2000 pour soumettre leur demande.

Comme le gouvernement du Canada a pour politique de stimuler la concurrence sur les marchés des télécommunications, tous les fournisseurs pourront demander à participer aux enchères. « Cela ouvrira de nouveaux débouchés pour les sociétés existantes et les nouveaux venus, qui pourront dès lors offrir aux Canadiens des services d'accès à Internet en tout temps et en tout lieu », a déclaré le ministre Manley.

Le Ministre a aussi annoncé la réponse que la gouverneure en conseil a donnée aux appels interjetés au sujet de trois décisions du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

La gouverneure en conseil maintient les Décisions Télécom 99-15 (appel de Call-Net), 99-16 (appel des gouvernements du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan et d'autres parties) et 99-20 (appel d'AT&T Canada et d'autres parties). Dans sa réponse, la gouverneure en conseil instruit le CRTC de faire un rapport à tous les ans au cours d'une période de cinq ans sur l'état de la concurrence dans le secteur des télécommunications et sur le déploiement des services de pointe au Canada.

« En sanctionnant les décisions du CRTC, le gouvernement a bon espoir que d'autres mesures réglementaires pourraient être prises, au besoin, pour stimuler davantage la concurrence ainsi que l'investissement et l'innovation dans le secteur des télécommunications, a ajouté le ministre Manley. Un rapport annuel décrivant l'état de la concurrence et les services de pointe offerts sur le marché aidera à établir si d'autres mesures s'imposent. »

Le Canada bénéficie de taux de service téléphonique figurant parmi les plus bas du G-7, tant pour les particuliers que pour les entreprises; les taux de pénétration du téléphone et d'Internet chez nous comptent parmi les plus élevés du monde. En outre, le marché concurrentiel canadien des télécommunications a généré des investissements évalués à 6,3 milliards de dollars en 1999, comparativement à 4,4 milliards en 1995.

Devant la Conférence NET 2000, le Ministre s'est dit convaincu que les politiques et la réglementation aideront le Canada à demeurer parmi les chefs de file aux chapitres de l'accès et de la concurrence.

Net 2000 est la 14e conférence annuelle canadienne du secteur Internet. Elle est organisée cette année par CANARIE, organisme qui s'occupe de développer le segment canadien d'Internet.

Pour lire des fiches documentaires détaillées sur le processus de mise aux enchères du spectre SCP, la réponse du gouvernement aux appels interjetés au sujet des décisions du CRTC, la fiche de rendement de l'initiative Un Canada branché et le discours du Ministre, prière d'aller au site http://www.ic.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les enchères du spectre SCP, prière de visiter le site h_sf02076.html

Renseignements

Jennifer Sloan
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Date de modification :