Archived — Notice No. DGTP-008-00

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-008-00 — Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

This Notice invites comments on proposals for the revision of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations as outlined in the consultation paper under the above title.

Background

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) adopts a Table of Frequency Allocations as part of the International Radio Regulations. This International Table allocates radio frequency spectrum to various combinations of radio services and is revised on a periodic basis along with other parts of the international regulations.

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is derived from the International Table of Frequency Allocations adopted by the ITU. The Canadian Table selects those radio services required to meet Canadian needs and also specifies, by Canadian footnote, any additional provisions for use of those services in Canada. Industry Canada revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis normally following an ITU World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC). The WRC-97 Conference, which met in October/November 1997, adopted a number of changes to the frequency allocations in the International Table. The Conference dealt with a large number of issues including the consolidation of the various mobile satellite services and the allocation of spectrum to the Earth Sciences services. The resulting changes to the International Table demand the consideration of several issues on a domestic basis. The referenced Consultation Paper presents these issues and makes proposals for revision to the Canadian Table. This document is available electronically on the Internet at the following address:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home

or can be obtained in hard copy (for a fee), from:

Organization:
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Address:
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7 Canada
toll-free telephone: 
1-800-267-4862
United States toll-free telephone: 
1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone: 
613-822-0740
Facsimile: 
613-822-1089

and

Organization:
DLS, St-Joseph Print Group Inc.
Address:
45 Sacré-CoeurBoulevard Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7 Canada
toll-free telephone:
 1-888-562-5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 
1-800-565-7757
Worldwide telephone:
 819-779-4335
Worldwide facsimile:
 819-779-2833

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on the Consultation Paper issued through this Notice. To ensure that all comments are duly considered, submissions must be received no later than September 29, 2000. All comments will be posted on the Industry Canada spectrum Web site (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home). Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will also be available in hard copy, for a fee, from the addresses listed above.

Interested parties are encouraged to submit their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGTP-008-00" and be sent to DGTP-DSRS@ic.gc.ca. Written submissions must be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. They must cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, the title and the Notice reference number (DGTP-008-00).

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-008-00

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis nº DGTP-008-00 — Révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Le présent avis invite les intéressés à présenter des observations sur les révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, présentées dans le document de consultation publié sous le titre cité en rubrique.

Contexte

L'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) adopte un Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences dans le cadre de son Règlement des radiocommunications. Ce tableau, dont l'Union se sert pour attribuer les fréquences radioélectriques à diverses combinaisons de services radio, est révisé périodiquement, en même temps que d'autres dispositions du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT.

Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences tire son origine du Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences de l'UIT. Le Tableau canadien présente les services radio nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins canadiens et précise, au moyen de renvois canadiens, les dispositions additionnelles applicables à ces services au Canada. Industrie Canada révise le Tableau canadien périodiquement, normalement après la tenue d'une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR) de l'UIT. La CMR-97, tenue en octobre et novembre 1997, a adopté plusieurs changements touchant les attributions de fréquences dans le Tableau de l'UIT. La Conférence a traité de nombreuses questions, y compris le regroupement des divers services mobiles par satellite et l'attribution de fréquences aux services des sciences de la Terre. Les changements qui en ont découlé dans le Tableau de l'UIT exigent l'examen de plusieurs questions au pays. Le document de consultation susmentionné présente ces questions, de même que les révisions proposées au Tableau canadien. Les intéressés peuvent consulter ce document par voie électronique, sur Internet, à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

ou, sur support papier, moyennant paiement, auprès de :

Organisation : 
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Addresse : 
2714, chemin Fenton Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7
courriel : 
sales1@tyrellpress.ca
numéro de téléphone sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U.  : 
1-800-574-0137
numéro mondial : 
613-822-0740
numéro de télécopieur : 
613-822-1089

et

Organisation : 
DLS, Le groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph
Addresse : 
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7
numéro sans frais au Canada : 
1-888-562-5561
numéro de télécopieur sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-565-7757
numéro mondial : 
819-779-4335
numéro de télécopieur mondial : 
819-779-2833

Mémoires du public

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à lui faire part de leur opinion et de leurs observations sur le document de consultation dont la publication est annoncée dans le présent avis. Les mémoires doivent être reçus au plus tard le 29 septembre 2000. Toutes les observations reçues seront versées sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre). Peu après la période de présentation des observations, les intéressés pourront également consulter les observations reçues sur support papier, moyennant paiement, aux adresses susmentionnées.

Les intéressés sont encouragés de faire parvenir leurs observations sous format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) afin de faciliter leur affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les mémoires ainsi présentés doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, son numéro de version et le système d'exploitation. Toutes les observations doivent porter la mention « Observations - Avis dans la Gazette DGTP-008-00 » et être envoyées à DGTP-DSRS@ic.gc.ca. Les mémoires présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8. Ils doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-008-00).

Le

Le Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :