Archived — Letter to TELUS and QUEBECTEL Regarding Spectrum Aggregation Limit — November 8, 2000

November 8, 2000

Mr. Robert Simmonds
Executive Vice President, Regulatory
TELUS Mobility
200 Consillium Place
Suite 1600
Scarborough, Ontario
M1H 3J3
Monsieur Dominique Jalbert
Director General
QuebecTel Mobility
226, rue St-Germain Est
Department R0201
Rimouski (Québec)
G5L 7E4

Gentlemen:

I refer to Mr. Simmonds letter of November 1, 2000, proposing arrangements for the radio authorization amendment process by which TELUS Corporation, Quebec Telephone, and Clearnet Communications Inc. would come into compliance with the spectrum aggregation limit.

You have proposed that spectrum currently authorized under the PCS special authorizations, issued April 15, 1996, to Quebec Telephone and Clearnet PCS Inc. would be returned to the Department so as to comply with the spectrum aggregation limit. Specifically, you proposed returning the following spectrum:

  1. In the cellular operating area of TELUS Mobility in the province of British Columbia, the PCS spectrum blocks B2 (1875-1880 MHz / 1955-1960 MHz) and B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 19601965 MHz);
  2. In the cellular operating area of TELUS Mobility in the province of Alberta, the PCS spectrum blocks B2 (1875-1880 MHz / 1955-1960 MHz) and B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 1960-1965 MHz); and
  3. In the operating area of Quebec Telephone in the province of Quebec, the spectrum blocks B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 1960-1965 MHz) and D (1865-1870 MHz / 1945-1950 MHz).

After careful review, Industry Canada agrees to the measures you propose and the Department will provide you with a 12 month transition period to vacate the spectrum. This letter constitutes an amendment to the special authorizations issued to Clearnet PCS Inc. and Quebec Telephone, dated April 15, 1996.

With the return of the PCS D block in the Quebec Telephone operating area, this effectively removes all authorized spectrum from the special authorization issued to Quebec Telephone on April 15, 1996. Thus, the Department will simply not renew the special authorization issued to Quebec Telephone in April 2001, as might otherwise have been the case.

The Department hereby amends the Clearnet PCS Inc.'s special authorization to remove the PCS spectrum blocks B2 and B3 from the cellular operating area of TELUS Mobility in the provinces of British Columbia and Alberta, and PCS spectrum block B3 in the operating area of Quebec Telephone in the province of Quebec. Refer to the Attachment for geographical representations of these operating areas.

As to the existing site specific radio licences, the affected radio licences in Block D will remain in force during the transition period or until advised that they are no longer required. In any event these radio licences will not be valid beyond October 24, 2001 in the areas where Block D is being returned. The affected site specific radio licences in Block B will be amended on an ongoing basis during the transition period when advised. In any event all affected radio licences in Block B will be amended to reflect your final block determinations by October 24, 2001.

I thank you for your cooperation during our discussions on this matter and your willingness to undertake your best efforts to vacate the affected spectrum expeditiously.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

encl.


Letter to TELUS and QUEBECTEL Regarding Spectrum Aggregation Limit - November 8, 2000
(PDF Format, 7 KB, 2 pages)

To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version, you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

Date modified:

Archivé — Lettre à TELUS et QUEBECTEL concernant la limite de regroupement de fréquences du spectre — le 8 novembre 2000

Le 8 novembre 2000

Monsieur Robert Simmonds
Vice-président exécutif, Affaires réglementaires
TELUS Mobility
200 Consillium Place
Suite 1600
Scarborough, Ontario
M1H 3J3
Monsieur Dominique Jalbert
Directeur général
QuébecTel Mobilité
226, rue St-Germain Est
Département R0201
Rimouski (Québec)
G5L 7E4

Messieurs,

La présente fait suite à la lettre de Monsieur Simmonds, datée du 1er novembre 2000, dans laquelle des arrangements sont proposés pour modifier les autorisations de radiocommunications des sociétés TELUS Corporation, Québec Téléphone et Clearnet Communications inc., de façon à ce que celles-ci se conforment à la limite de regroupement de fréquences.

Vous proposez, pour respecter la limite de regroupement de fréquences, de remettre au Ministère les fréquences actuellement autorisées en vertu des autorisations SCP spéciales délivrées le 15 avril 1996 aux sociétés Québec Téléphone et SCP Clearnet inc. Les fréquences visées sont les suivantes :

  1. Dans la zone d'exploitation cellulaire de TELUS Mobility en Colombie-Britannique, les blocs de fréquences SCP B2 (1875-1880 MHz / 1955-1960 MHz) et B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 1960-1965 MHz);
  2. Dans la zone d'exploitation cellulaire de TELUS Mobility en Alberta, les blocs de fréquences SCP B2 (1875-1880 MHz / 1955-1960 MHz) et B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 1960-1965 MHz)
  3. Dans la zone d'exploitation cellulaire de Québec Téléphone au Québec, les blocs de fréquences B3 (1880-1885 MHz / 1960-1965 MHz) et D (1865-1870 MHz / 1945-1950 MHz).

Suite à un examen attentif de la proposition, Industrie Canada accepte les mesures avancées et donne aux sociétés visées un délai de transition de douze mois pour libérer ces fréquences. La présente lettre constitue une modification des autorisations spéciales délivrées aux sociétés Québec Téléphone et SCP Clearnet inc. le 15 avril 1996.

La remise du bloc SCP D de la zone d'exploitation de Québec Téléphone élimine toutes les fréquences visées par l'autorisation spéciale délivrée à Québec Téléphone le 15 avril 1996. En conséquence, contrairement à ce qui aurait pu se produire, le Ministère ne renouvellera pas cette autorisation spéciale à son échéance en avril 2001. Également, par la présente, le Ministère modifie l'autorisation spéciale de SCP Clearnet inc. pour lui retirer les blocs de fréquences SCP B2 et B3 dans les zones d'exploitation de TELUS Mobilité en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta et le bloc de fréquences SCP B3 dans la zone d'exploitation de Québec Téléphone au Québec. Le document ci-joint donne la couverture géographique de ces zones d'exploitation.

En ce qui a trait aux licences radio des emplacements eux-mêmes, les licences visées du bloc D demeureront en vigueur pendant la période de transition ou jusqu'à la réception d'une notification à l'effet qu'elles ne sont plus requises. Ces licences radio ne seront plus valides après le 24 octobre 2001. Les licences radio visées du bloc B seront modifiées périodiquement pendant la période de transition, sous réserve de notification. Au plus tard le 24 octobre 2001, toutes les licences radio visées du bloc B seront modifiées conformément aux arrangements de blocs définitifs proposés.

Je vous remercie de votre collaboration pendant la discussion de la présente question et de votre empressement à libérer les fréquences visées le plus rapidement possible. Je vous prie d'agréer, Messieurs, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Original signé par

Jan Skora

p.j.


Lettre à TELUS et QUEBECTEL concernant la limite de regroupement de fréquences du spectre - le 8 novembre 2000
(Format PDF, 7 Ko, 2 pages)

Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :

Date de modification :