Archived—Industry Canada Opens Bidding For Mobile Wireless Spectrum — News Release

OTTAWA, January 15, 2001 - Brian Tobin, Minister of Industry, today announced the start of the bidding for mobile wireless spectrum.

"Providing additional spectrum offers the mobile wireless industry an opportunity to meet the demands of Canada's rapidly expanding wireless market," said Minister Tobin. "These new ways of delivering communications services will encourage the evolution of third-generation PCS services, unleashing the power of the Internet and making it accessible to Canadians wherever and whenever they choose."

Seven companies qualified to participate in the auction of additional Personal Communications Services (PCS) spectrum in the two gigahertz (GHz) frequency range. There are a total of 62 licences of 10 MHz each available in 16 market areas across Canada.

The bids will be conducted securely over the Internet using Canadian public key infrastructure (PKI) encryption and digital signature technologies to ensure their confidentiality and authenticity.

During the auction, interested parties with web-enabled mobile devices may, at any time, view the latest auction news on a wireless web portal. Users with Wireless Application Protocol (WAP) devices may access the portal at http://sd.ic.gc.ca/a.wml.

This initiative demonstrates the Government of Canada's goal of improving the Canadian information infrastructure and encourages growth in the range of wireless telecommunications services available to Canadians. It will also enable more Canadians to connect to the information highway from anywhere, at anytime.

Additional details on the auction, the bidders and the round results can be found on Industry Canada's web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

For further information, please contact: 

Heidi Bonnell
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Industry
(613) 995-9001

Earl Hoeg
Manager, Wireless Networks
Industry Canada
(613) 990-7176

Date modified:

Archivé — Industrie Canada amorce la vente aux enchères des fréquences du spectre des services mobiles sans fil — communiqué

OTTAWA, le 15 janvier 2001 - M. Brian Tobin, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'ouverture de la vente aux enchères des fréquences du spectre des services mobiles sans fil.

« En offrant des fréquences supplémentaires du spectre, le Ministère permet au secteur des services mobiles sans fil de répondre aux besoins du marché canadien du sans-fil, qui connaît une expansion rapide, a déclaré le ministre Tobin. Ces nouvelles façons de fournir les services de communications encourageront l'évolution des services SCP (Systèmes de communications personnelles) de la troisième génération, ce qui maximisera la puissance d'Internet en le rendant accessible aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes n'importe où et n'importe quand. »

Sept entreprises se sont qualifiées pour participer à la vente aux enchères de fréquences du spectre SCP dans la bande de deux gigahertz (GHz). Il y a en tout 62 licences de 10 MHz chacune à délivrer à l'égard de 16 marchés canadiens.

La vente se fera par l'intermédiaire d'Internet; les responsables utiliseront l'infrastructure canadienne à clés publiques (ICP) et la technologie des signatures numériques pour garantir la confidentialité et l'authenticité des transactions.

Pendant la vente aux enchères, les parties intéressées munies d'appareils mobiles donnant accès au Web pourront se tenir constamment au courant grâce à un portail Web sans fil. Les utilisateurs ayant des appareils avec protocole WAP pourront accéder au portail, à (http://sd.ic.gc.ca/a.wml).

Cette initiative montre que le gouvernement du Canada tient à améliorer l'infrastructure de l'information du pays et elle encourage la croissance des services de télécommunications sans fil offerts aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes. Elle permettra aussi à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens de se brancher à l'inforoute depuis n'importe où et à n'importe quel moment.

Pour obtenir d'autres détails sur les enchères, sur les soumissionnaires et sur les résultats des rondes, prière de visiter le site Web d'Industrie Canada, à ( http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre).

Renseignements : 

Heidi Bonnell
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
(613) 995-9001

Earl Hoeg
Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil
Industrie Canada
(613) 990-7176

Date de modification :