Archived—News Release — Minister of Industry Announces Provisional Winners of Spectrum Auction

OTTAWA, February 1, 2001 – Brian Tobin, Minister of Industry, today announced the provisional licence winners of the Personal Communications Services (PCS) spectrum auction. Five of the seven original bidders are eligible to receive licences in the two gigahertz (GHz) frequency band.

Three weeks after the start of the auction, 52 licences were sold, with bids totalling $1.48 billion. The confidentiality and authenticity of all bids conducted over the Internet were ensured through the use of Canadian public key infrastructure (PKI) encryption and digital signature technologies.

"The licensing of this spectrum is a crucial step in improving Canada's information infrastructure," said Minister Tobin. "This will facilitate the development of new wireless telecommunications services, bringing the Internet and other communications services, such as e-mail and mobile commerce, closer to all Canadians."

Canadians could follow the auction as it progressed. Users with Wireless Application Protocol (WAP) devices were able, at any time, to view the latest auction news on a wireless web portal. This information was also available at Industry Canada's auction web site which received 31,000 hits. Providing access to this information electronically is one way the Government of Canada is working to improve services to Canadians.

This auction demonstrates the Government of Canada's goal to improve the Canadian information infrastructure and encourages growth in the range of wireless telecommunications services available to Canadians. The additional spectrum will also foster the development of third-generation PCS services enabling more Canadians to connect to the information highway from anywhere, at anytime.

Details on the spectrum auction results, as well as the list of provisional winners, can be found on Spectrum Management and Telecommunication's web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

For more information, please contact: 

Heidi Bonnell
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Earl Hoeg
Manager, Wireless Networks
Industry Canada
613-990-7176

List of Provisional Winners
Provisional Licence Winner Sum of Total High Bids Number of Licences
Rogers Wireless Inc. $ 393,520,000 23
Bell Mobility Inc. $ 720,490,000 20
TELUS Communications Inc. $ 355,920,000 5
W2N Inc. $ 11,390,000 3
Thunder Bay Telephone $ 600,000 1
Date modified:

Archivé — Communiqué — Le ministre de l'industrie annonce la liste provisoire des gagnants des enchères du spectre

OTTAWA, le 1er février 2001 – M. Brian Tobin, ministre de l'Industrie, a publié aujourd'hui la liste provisoire des gagnants de licences d'exploitation de services de communications personnelles (SCP), à l'issue des enchères du spectre. Cinq des sept soumissionnaires originaux ont droit à des licences dans la bande de fréquences de 2 GHz.

Trois semaines après le début des enchères, 52 licences ont été vendues, les soumissions ayant atteint en tout 1,48 milliard de dollars. La confidentialité et l'authenticité de toutes les soumissions déposées au cours des enchères sur Internet ont été garanties grâce au chiffrement et aux signatures numériques, deux technologies intégrées à l'infrastructure canadienne à clés publiques (ICP).

« La délivrance de ces licences contribuera fondamentalement à améliorer l'infrastructure de l'information au Canada, a déclaré le ministre Tobin. Cela facilitera la mise au point de nouveaux services de télécommunications sans fil et mettra ainsi à la portée de toute la population canadienne Internet et d'autres services de communications tels que le courrier électronique et le commerce mobile. »

Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ont pu suivre les enchères en temps réel. Les utilisateurs munis d'appareils à protocole WAP ont été en mesure de suivre les toutes dernières nouvelles sur les enchères, en se rendant à un portail Web sans fil. L'information a aussi été diffusée sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada réservé à la vente aux enchères, qui a été visité 31 000 fois. En fournissant ainsi un accès électronique à ce genre de renseignements, le gouvernement du Canada contribue à améliorer les services qu'il offre à la population du pays.

Cette vente aux enchères montre la détermination du gouvernement du Canada à améliorer l'infrastructure de l'information au pays et à stimuler l'accroissement de la gamme de services de télécommunications sans fil dont la population dispose. Le spectre supplémentaire désormais accessible favorisera aussi la mise au point des services de communications personnelles (SCP) de la troisième génération, ce qui permettra à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de se brancher à l'inforoute n'importe quand et n'importe où.

Afin de lire les détails des résultats de la vente aux enchères du spectre et la liste provisoire des gagnants, prière de visiter le site Web d'Industrie Canada, à (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre).

Renseignements :

Heidi Bonnell
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Earl Hoeg
Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil,
Industrie Canada
613-990-7176

Liste des gagnants provisoires
Gagnant d'une licence à titre provisoire Total des soumissions les plus élevées Nombre de licences
Rogers Wireless Inc. $ 393,520,000 23
Bell Mobility Inc. $ 720,490,000 20
TELUS Communications Inc. $ 355,920,000 5
W2N Inc. $ 11,390,000 3
Thunder Bay Telephone $ 600,000 1
Date de modification :