Archived — Notice No. DGTP-002-02

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-02 — Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations Consequential to the 2000 World Radiocommunication Conference Decisions

This Notice invites comments on proposals for the revision of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations as outlined in the consultation paper under the above title.

Background

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) adopts an International Table of Frequency Allocations as part of the International Radio Regulations. This International Table allocates radio frequency spectrum to various combinations of radio services and is revised on a periodic basis along with other parts of the international regulations.

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is derived from the International Table of Frequency Allocations adopted by the ITU. The Canadian Table selects those radio services required to meet Canadian needs and also specifies, by Canadian footnote, any additional provisions for use of those services in Canada. Industry Canada revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis normally following an ITU World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC ). The WRC -2000 Conference, which met in May 2000, adopted a number of changes to the frequency allocations in the International Table. The Conference dealt with issues concerning the frequency bands for the implementation of advanced mobile services and sharing criteria between fixed satellite service networks and high density fixed service applications. The resulting changes to the International Table demand the consideration of several issues on a domestic basis. The referenced Consultation Paper presents most of these issues and makes proposals for revision to the Canadian Table. However the Department intends to carry out separate consultations with regards to mobile allocations in the 700 MHz, 1710/2110 MHz and 2500 MHz bands.

This document is available electronically on the Internet at the following address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Or can be obtained in hard copy, for a fee from:

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester
Ontario K1T 3T7
Email: sales1@tyrellpress.ca
Canada toll-free telephone: 1-800-267-4862
Canada toll-free telephone: 1-800-574-0137
United States toll-free telephone: 613-822-0740
Worldwide Facsimile: 613-822-1089

and

DLS, St. Joseph Print Group
45 Sacré-Cœur Boulevard
Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7
Canada toll-free telephone: 1-888-562-5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 1-800-565-7757
World-wide telephone: 1-819-779-4335
World-wide facsimile: 1-819-779-2833

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on the Consultation Paper issued through this Notice. To ensure that all comments are duly considered, submissions must be received no later than June 14, 2002. All comments will be posted on the Industry Canada spectrum Web site (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum). Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will also be available in hard copy, for a fee, from the addresses listed above.

Interested parties are encouraged to submit their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGTP-002-02" and be sent to DGTP -DSRS@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. They must cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, the title and the Notice reference number (DGTP-002-02).

April 5, 2002

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-002-02

Ministère de l'industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-002-02 — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences pour tenir compte des décisions prises à la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications de 2000

Le présent avis invite les intéressés à présenter des observations sur les révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, présentées dans le document de consultation publié sous le titre cité en rubrique.

Contexte

L'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) adopte un Tableau international d'attribution des bandes de fréquences dans le cadre de son Règlement des radiocommunications. Ce tableau international attribue les fréquences radioélectriques à diverses combinaisons de services radio et il est révisé périodiquement, en même temps que d'autres dispositions du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT.

Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences tire son origine du Tableau international d'attribution des bandes de fréquences de l'UIT. Le Tableau canadien présente les services radio nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins canadiens et précise, au moyen de renvois canadiens, les dispositions additionnelles applicables à ces services au Canada. Industrie Canada révise le Tableau canadien périodiquement, normalement après la tenue d'une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR) de l'UIT . La CMR-2000, tenue enmai 2000, a adopté plusieurs modifications touchant les attributions de fréquences du Tableau de l'UIT. La Conférence a traité de questions concernant les bandes de fréquences pour la mise en œuvre de services mobiles perfectionnés et les critères de partage entre les réseaux du service fixe par satellite et les applications haute densité du service fixe. Les modifications qui en ont découlé dans le Tableau de l'UIT exigent l'examen de plusieurs questions au pays. Le document de consultation susmentionné présente la plupart de ces questions, de même que les révisions proposées au Tableau canadien. Cependant, le Ministère a l'intention de tenir des consultations séparées en ce qui a trait à l'attribution de fréquences au service mobile dans la bande de 700 MHz, 1710/2110 MHz , et 2500 MHz.

Les intéressés peuvent consulter ce document par voie électronique, sur Internet, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Ils peuvent également en obtenir un exemplaire sur support papier, moyennant paiement, en s'adressant à :

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714, chemin Fenton
Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7
Courriel : sales1@tyrellpress.ca
Téléphone sans frais, Canada : 1-800-267-4862
Téléphone sans frais, États-Unis : 1 800 574-0137
Téléphone, autres pays : 613-822-0740
Télécopieur : 613-822-1089

ou à

DLS, Groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph
45, boulevard Sacré-Cœur
Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7

Invitation à présenter des observations

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à lui faire part de leur opinion et de leurs observations sur le document de consultation dont la publication est annoncée dans le présent avis. Les mémoires doivent être reçus au plus tard le 14 juin 2002. Toutes les observations reçues seront versées sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre). Peu après la période de présentation des observations, les intéressés pourront également obtenir les observations reçues sur support papier, moyennant paiement, aux adresses susmentionnées.

Les intéressés sont encouragés à faire parvenir leurs observations en format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT ) afin de faciliter leur affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les mémoires ainsi présentés doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, son numéro de version et le système d'exploitation. Toutes les observations doivent porter la mention « Observations - Avis dans la Gazette DGTP-002-02 » et être envoyées à l'adresse DGTP-DSRS@ic.gc.ca. Les mémoires présentés sur support papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8. Ils doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-002-02).

Le 5 avril 2002

Michael Helm
Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

Date de modification :