GL-04 — Channel Loading Guidelines

Issue 1
February 2003

Table of Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Background
  3. Channel Loading Guidelines
  4. Annexe 1 - Parameter Definitions
  5. Footnotes

1. Intent

This document is published as a guide to assist in the determination of the number of radio channels to be assigned to a land mobile radiocommunication system, based on telephone traffic theory. This document is not intended as an Industry Standard for defining minimum Grade of Service Performance levels for private or commercial radio communications systems, but as a methodology to help equitably distribute any available radio spectrum. This document does not apply to cellular and PCS systems.

2. Background

2.1 In 1983, the Department published Radio Policy 003, Policy Guidelines for Mobile Radio Trunked Systems (RP-003), establishing guidelines for the assignment of channels to trunked radio systems. The guidelines were based on the loading of the traffic capacity of the channel. Initially established for conventional systems, they were extended to trunked systems. Assignment of channels was based on the evaluation of the loading of the system, by the number of mobiles per channel, and on the nature of the service provided by the systems.

In addition to evaluating the minimum number of mobiles per channel, system loading was also assessed using data gathered concerning channel occupancy. It was recognized that larger systems with more channels could accommodate a larger number of mobiles per channel. It was also recognized that for different types of users, the traffic offered per user varied widely. Assessing the number of channels to be assigned based solely on the number of users per channel treated unfairly users of smaller systems.

2.2 In 1993, the Ontario Regional Office developed, Grade of Service Determination for Land Mobile Systems in the Golden Horseshoe Area Footnote 1, to assist departmental staff in making frequency assignments. This approach fairly assigns spectrum with similar system performance in terms of spectrum access, based on the traffic theory. It determines the number of radio channels that will be assigned to a radiocommunication system based on the access delay to that system. This method continues to be used and has been adopted Department wide and by other Regional Offices. The Channel Loading Guideline will use the same approach.

2.3 In RP-003 and subsequent documents, Industry Canada has separated land mobile radiocommunication systems into two main categories: Safety Services and Other Services. Industry Canada will retain these two categories and will apply a different Grade of Service (GOS) for each category. The parameter GOS expresses the probability of a call being blocked or delayed by the system.

2.4 The access delay initially adopted for single channel conventional systems is extended to trunked systems. For safety services conventional systems, 50% occupancy translates to 1 message length delay; for non-safety services conventional systems, 75% occupancy translates to a delay of 3 message lengths.

The default GOS values that were determined in terms of those access delays will continue to be used in the preliminary analysis to establish the initial number of voice channels and radio frequencies needed by the radiocommunication systems under study.

3. Channel Loading Guidelines

3.1 Prescribed 'GOS' for Systems Without Queuing Capability

The channel loading analysis of a system that does not queue service requests will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis.

3.2 Prescribed 'GOS' for Systems With Queuing Capability

The channel loading analysis of a system that places blocked calls in queue will be based on a traffic theory model that uses a probability of delay and will be normally calculated using the Erlang C formula. The Department may apply other known formulas if deemed necessary. As, the parameter GOS expresses the probability of a call being delayed, it is always associated with a multiple of Holding Time (HT).

The following is established as default values for basic queued systems GOS:

GOS = 0.03 @ 1 HT Safety services category

GOS = 0.03 @ 3 HT Other services category

This means that for an average busy period, 97% of calls will not be delayed by more than one holding time for services of the Safety Services category and 97 % of the calls will not be delayed by more than 3 Holding Times for services of the Other Services category. The average busy period and Holding Times for both categories are defined in Annex 1 - Parameters Definitions.

3.3 Application of the Guidelines

3.3.1 Industry Canada recognizes that the spectrum requirements of a land mobile radiocommunication system are reflective of its operational characteristics, the technology deployed and the services and features offered. Therefore, other considerations may, at times, need to be taken into account when determining the number of radio channels to be assigned to a system. Consequently, further detailed analysis may be carried out in conjunction with Industry Canada staff. Industry Canada hence encourages applicants to provide as much traffic related data as possible.

3.3.2 These guidelines are provided as a guide concerning the Grade of Service standards to be used in engineering traffic models during the determination of the number of new and/or additional channels for land mobile radiocommunication systems. They are not necessarily reflective of the GOS that users experience. System licensees may for example offer GOS levels higher or lower than recommended in this document in the management of traffic on their network.

3.3.3 Additional information about the radio system provided by the applicant will be taken into consideration to arrive at the number of channels to be assigned. For example, consideration will be given to the operational requirements of the Safety Services for the impact of peak or special event traffic periods and for the traffic of roaming users over wide-area systems. Adjustments to the number of channels initially assigned may be made after initiation of service, and based on measurements carried out over a representative busy period.

3.3.4 These guidelines are also used for maintaining minimum levels for the efficient use of spectrum. As other factors play important roles in this context, the application of the guidelines will be flexible enough to take them into account in the overall assignment process of channel allocations. Such factors include the types of systems, i.e. trunking versus conventional, simulcast Footnote 2 versus multicast Footnote 3 or micro-cells, quasi-transmission trunking versus message trunking. Each of these configurations are filling particular needs but may have different value from a spectrum efficiency point of view. For example, special considerations and/or methodologies are required to evaluate highly complex and spectrally efficient ESMR networks. The evaluation of such networks requires that proper account be taken of the traffic mixes resulting from the variety of integrated services and features being offered (i.e. data, interconnect, private and group dispatch, SMS), as well as the overall network and spectral efficiencies that result from a high degree of frequency reuse and other techniques.

Annex 1 - Parameter Definitions

  1. Access Delay is the amount of time it takes to get access to the first available server. This time delay is expressed as multiples of the average Holding Time (HT).
  2. Average Busy period is a continuous period of time during which the highest usage occurs.
  3. Blocking is the inability of the incoming call to get access to a server. Blocking occurs only in radio systems that either do not queue users requesting a radio channel or when the number of users requesting a radio channel exceed the size of the queue, whereby user requests for system access are rejected.
  4. Erlang: Unit commonly used to measure call intensity or telephone traffic volumes, over a time period, normally 1 hour. It is generally accepted that when referring to traffic usage, one Erlang represents a single server occupied for 1 hour. One E of traffic (1E) then represents 36 UC (Unit Call) or CCS (hundred-call-seconds).
  5. Grade of Service (GOS) for non-queued systems represents the probability of lost calls.
  6. Grade of Service (GOS) for systems with queues is the probability of a call being delayed by busy servers and is associated to an access delay. It is expressed as a decimal or percentage.
  7. Holding Time (HT) is the period of time a server is busy on a call. The holding time includes the channel request and seize time, the message length, and the hang and the squelch time.
  8. Message Length (ML) is the time taken by the server to send the information portion of a transmission associated with a call. This time varies widely depending on the business type or radio service category.
  9. Safety and Other Services are the two types of service or categories defined for land mobile radiocommunication systems. A radio system is recognized to be in the Safety category of service if it is used by an organization that provides safety of life services such as police, ambulance, and, fire-fighting Footnote 4.
  10. Server describes the resources required, or resources available, to carry traffic. For analogue traffic, a server is usually equal to one radio channel. For digital traffic, a server may be a dedicated radio channel or one slot within multiple time slots or one code within a list of codes.
  11. Total Traffic Volume or Traffic Intensity is the volume of traffic the radio system is expected to carry during peak periods. This traffic is usually expressed in Erlangs.
  12. Traffic Offered Per User is the volume of traffic each user is expected to be offered by the system during peak periods, i.e. traffic per mobile. This traffic is usually expressed in Erlangs.
  13. Message Trunking is a traffic management method that allows a single server to be seized for the entire duration required to send all successive transmissions associated with a call.
  14. Transmission Trunking is a traffic management method that allows different servers to be seized only for the duration required to send one of the successive transmissions associated with a call.
  15. User Population is the total number of users supported by the radiocommunication system.

Footnotes

1. Grade of Service Determination for Land Mobile Systems in the Golden Horseshoe Area, P. Vanderveen, Industry Canada, 1993. (back to footnote reference 1)

2. Simulcast refers to a technique that utilizes multiple transmitter sites with overlapping coverage, broadcasting simultaneously and using the same frequency pairs at every site. This technique is used to conserve frequencies and increase RF density over a geographical area. (back to footnote reference 2)

3. Multicast refers to a technique that utilizes multiple transmitter sites with overlapping coverage, broadcasting simultaneously and using different frequency pairs at each site. Frequency pairs may be re-used in the system as long as no same channel coverage areas overlap. This technique is used where frequency availability is not a problem. (back to footnote reference 3)

4. The Safety Services Category is also discussed in Standard Radio System Policy-502, Technical Requirements for Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Services Operating in the Bands 806-821/851-866 MHz and 821-824/866-869 MHz (SRSP-502) under Section 5.1.1 concerning the eligibility criteria for public safety spectrum in the 821-824/866-869 MHz bands. (back to footnote reference 4)

Date modified:

LD-04 — Lignes directrices concernant la charge des canaux

1re édition
Février 2003

Table des matières

  1. But
  2. Contexte
  3. Lignes directrices concernant la charge des canaux
  4. Annexe 1 - Définitions des paramètres
  5. Renvois

1. But

Le présent document sert de guide pour faciliter la détermination du nombre de canaux radio devant être assignés aux systèmes de radiocommunications mobiles terrestres, d'après la théorie du trafic téléphonique. Il a été conçu pour servir, non pas de norme de l'industrie régissant la définition de niveaux minimaux de rendement de qualité de service applicables aux systèmes de radiocommunications privés ou commerciaux, mais plutôt de méthodologie destinée à contribuer à la répartition équitable des fréquences radioélectriques disponibles. Il ne s'applique ni aux systèmes cellulaires ni aux systèmes du service de communications personnelles (SCP).

2. Contexte

2.1 En 1983, le Ministère a publié la Politique des systèmes radio-003, intitulée Politique concernant la délivrance des licences des systèmes mobiles à partage de plusieurs canaux (PR-003), dans laquelle il établissait des lignes directrices régissant l'assignation des canaux aux systèmes à partage de canaux. Ces lignes directrices se fondaient sur la charge de la capacité d'écoulement du trafic du canal. Adoptées au départ pour les systèmes ordinaires, elles ont été par la suite étendues aux systèmes à partage de canaux. Les canaux étaient assignés en fonction de l'évaluation de la charge de chaque système en nombre de stations mobiles par canal et de la nature du service assuré.

En plus d'estimer le nombre minimal de stations mobiles par canal, on a aussi évalué la charge des systèmes au moyen de données recueillies au sujet du taux d'occupation des canaux. On a reconnu que les grands systèmes qui comptent plus de canaux peuvent prendre en charge un plus grand nombre de stations mobiles par canal. On a aussi reconnu que, pour divers types d'utilisateurs, le trafic offert par utilisateur variait beaucoup. Si le nombre de canaux devant être assignés était estimé uniquement d'après le nombre d'utilisateurs par canal, il s'ensuivrait un traitement injuste pour les utilisateurs de petits systèmes.

2.2 En 1993, le bureau régional de l'Ontario a préparé le document intitulé Grade of Service Determination for Land Mobile Systems in the Golden Horseshoe Area Note 1 pour aider le personnel du Ministère à assigner les fréquences. L'approche préconisée dans ce document permet d'assigner les fréquences de façon juste lorsque les systèmes offrent un rendement semblable en termes d'accès aux fréquences, d'après la théorie du trafic. Elle permet de déterminer le nombre de canaux radio à assigner à un système de radiocommunications d'après le délai d'accès au système. Cette approche, encore employée, a été adoptée par tous les autres bureaux régionaux du Ministère. Les Lignes directrices concernant la charge des canaux reposent sur cette approche.

2.3 Dans la PR-003 et d'autres documents publiés par la suite, Industrie Canada a réparti les systèmes de radiocommunications mobiles terrestres en deux catégories : les services de sécurité, et les autres services. Industrie Canada conservera ces deux catégories, mais leur appliquera une qualité de service (QDS) différente. Le paramètre QDS exprime la probabilité qu'un appel sera bloqué ou retardé par un système donné.

2.4 Le délai d'accès initialement adopté pour les systèmes ordinaires à un seul canal est étendu aux systèmes à partage de plusieurs canaux. Dans le cas des systèmes ordinaires de sécurité, un taux d'occupation de 50 % se traduit par un délai équivalent à la longueur d'un message; dans le cas des autres services ordinaires, un taux d'occupation de 75 % se traduit par un délai équivalent à la longueur de trois messages.

Les valeurs par défaut de la qualité de service adoptées pour ces délais d'accès continueront à être utilisées dans l'analyse préliminaire visant à établir le nombre initial de voies téléphoniques et de fréquences radio dont auront besoin les systèmes de radiocommunications à l'étude.

3. Lignes directrices concernant la charge des canaux

3.1 Qualité de service prescrite pour les systèmes sans capacité de mise en file d'attente

L'analyse de la charge des canaux sera traitée au cas par cas pour les systèmes qui ne mettent pas les demandes de service en file d'attente.

3.2 Qualité de service prescrite pour les systèmes avec capacité de mise en file d'attente

Dans le cas des systèmes qui mettent les appels bloqués en file d'attente, la charge des canaux sera analysée en fonction d'un modèle qui applique la théorie du trafic en tenant compte d'une probabilité de délai, et elle sera normalement calculée au moyen de la formule d'Erlang C. Le Ministère se réserve le droit d'appliquer d'autres formules connues s'il le juge nécessaire. Comme le paramètre QDS exprime la probabilité qu'un appel sera retardé, on l'associe toujours à un multiple de la durée d'occupation.

Les valeurs qui suivent sont établies comme valeurs par défaut de la qualité de service des systèmes de base qui mettent les appels en file d'attente : 

Qualité de service = 0,03 à une fois la durée d'occupation pour la catégorie des services de sécurité

Qualité de service = 0,03 à trois fois la durée d'occupation pour la catégorie des autres services

Cela veut dire que, pour une période occupée moyenne, 97 % des appels ne seront pas retardés plus qu'une fois la durée d'occupation dans le cas des services de la catégorie des services de sécurité, ou plus que trois fois la durée d'occupation dans le cas des services de la catégorie des autres services. La période occupée moyenne et la durée d'occupation sont définies pour les deux catégories à l'annexe 1 – Définitions des paramètres.

3.3 Application des lignes directrices

3.3.1 Industrie Canada reconnaît que les besoins en fréquences d'un système mobile terrestre reflètent ses caractéristiques opérationnelles, la technologie déployée ainsi que les services et les fonctions qu'il offre. Il faut donc parfois tenir compte d'autres facteurs au moment de déterminer le nombre de canaux radio devant être assignés à un système. C'est pourquoi il arrive que d'autres analyses détaillées soient effectuées en collaboration avec le personnel d'Industrie Canada. Industrie Canada encourage donc les requérants à lui fournir le plus de données possibles au sujet du trafic.

3.3.2 Les présentes lignes directrices servent de guide en ce qui concerne les normes de qualité de service dont on se sert dans les modèles techniques du trafic au moment de déterminer le nombre de nouveaux canaux ou de canaux additionnels dont ont besoin les systèmes mobiles terrestres. Elles ne reflètent pas nécessairement la qualité de service que les utilisateurs connaissent. Les titulaires de licence de système peuvent, par exemple, offrir une qualité de service supérieure ou inférieure à celle qui est recommandée dans le présent document pour la gestion du trafic à l'intérieur de leurs réseaux.

3.3.3 Le Ministère tiendra compte des renseignements additionnels que les requérants lui fourniront au sujet de leurs systèmes radio pour déterminer le nombre de canaux devant être assignés. Par exemple, il tiendra compte des besoins opérationnels des services de sécurité pour établir l'incidence des périodes de trafic de pointe ou d'événements spéciaux et pour déterminer le trafic des utilisateurs itinérants sur des réseaux étendus. Il se peut que des rajustements soient apportés au nombre de canaux assignés au départ une fois le service activé, compte tenu des mesures qui seront effectuées pendant une période de pointe représentative.

3.3.4 Les présentes lignes directrices servent aussi au maintien de niveaux minimaux pour favoriser une utilisation efficace des fréquences. Comme d'autres facteurs jouent un rôle important dans ce contexte, les présentes lignes directrices seront appliquées avec assez de souplesse pour que ces facteurs entrent en ligne de compte dans l'assignation des canaux. Parmi ces facteurs, notons le type de systèmes (ordinaire ou à partage de plusieurs canaux), la diffusion simultanée Note 2 par rapport à la multidiffusion Note 3 ou les microcellules, ainsi que le groupement de quasi-émissions par rapport au groupement de messages. Chaque configuration répond à des besoins particuliers, mais peut avoir des valeurs différentes du point de vue de l'utilisation efficiente du spectre. Par exemple, il faut prévoir des méthodes et/ou des considérations particulières pour évaluer des réseaux hautement complexes du service radio mobile spécialisé amélioré (ESMR) qui assurent une utilisation efficiente du spectre. Pour évaluer ces réseaux, il faut tenir compte de façon appropriée des combinaisons de trafic qui découlent de toute la gamme des fonctions et des services intégrés offerts (comme la transmission de données, l'interconnexion, la répartition personnelle ou collective et le SMS), ainsi que du réseau complet et de l'utilisation efficiente du spectre qui découle d'une forte réutilisation des fréquences et d'autres techniques.

Annexe 1 - Définitions des paramètres

  1. Blocage désigne l'incapacité de tout appel d'arrivée à se rendre à un serveur. Ne se produit que lorsque les systèmes radio ne mettent pas en file d'attente les utilisateurs qui demandent un canal radio, ou que lorsqu'il y a plus d'utilisateurs qui demandent un canal radio que d'utilisateurs qui peuvent être mis en file d'attente, d'où rejet de demandes d'accès d'utilisateurs à un système.
  2. Délai d'accès désigne le temps qu'il faut pour accéder au premier serveur disponible. Il est exprimé en multiples de la durée d'occupation moyenne.
  3. Durée d'occupation désigne la période pendant laquelle un serveur est occupé par un appel. Comprend la demande de canal et le temps pris à prendre la ligne, la longueur du message, la durée de raccrochage et la durée de réglage silencieux.
  4. Erlang: unité (symbole : E) utilisée couramment pour mesurer le nombre d'appels ou le volume du trafic téléphonique, habituellement sur une période de temps (normalement une heure). Lorsqu'on parle de trafic, il est généralement reconnu qu'un erlang représente un seul serveur occupé pendant une heure. Un E de trafic (IE) représente alors 36 UC (unités d'appel) ou 36 CCS (centaine de secondes d'appel par heure).
  5. Groupement de messages désigne une méthode de gestion du trafic qui permet à un seul serveur d'être accaparé pour toute la durée requise pour l'envoi de toutes les émissions successives associées à un appel.
  6. Groupement d'émissions désigne une méthode de gestion du trafic qui permet à différents serveurs d'être accaparés seulement pour la durée requise pour l'envoi de l'une des émissions successives associées à un appel.
  7. Longueur de message désigne le temps qu'un serveur prend à envoyer l'information d'une émission associée à un appel. Ce temps varie beaucoup, selon le type d'affaires ou la catégorie de service radio.
  8. Période occupée moyenne désigne toute période de temps continue pendant laquelle on constate l'utilisation la plus élevée.
  9. Population d'utilisateurs désigne le nombre total d'utilisateurs pris en charge par un système de radiocommunications.
  10. Qualité de service (QDS) des systèmes avec mise en file d'attente désigne la probabilité qu'un appel sera retardé par des serveurs occupés et est associée à un délai d'accès. Elle est exprimée en décimale ou en pourcentage.
  11. Qualité de service (QDS) des systèmes sans mise en file d'attente désigne la probabilité que des appels seront perdus.
  12. Services de sécurité et autres services désignent les deux catégories ou types de services définis pour les systèmes radio mobiles terrestres. Un système radio est réputé faire partie de la catégorie des services de sécurité s'il est utilisé par un organisme qui offre des services de sécurité ou de protection de la vie, comme des services de police, d'ambulance et de lutte contre les incendies Note 4.
  13. Serveur décrit les ressources requises ou disponibles pour acheminer le trafic. Dans le cas du trafic analogique, un serveur équivaut habituellement à un canal radio; dans le cas du trafic numérique, il peut s'agir d'un canal radio dédié, d'un intervalle de temps d'une série d'intervalles de temps ou d'un code d'une série de codes.
  14. Trafic offert par utilisateur désigne le volume de trafic offert à chaque utilisateur par le système durant les périodes de pointe, p. ex. le trafic par station mobile. Il est exprimé habituellement en erlangs.
  15. Volume total de trafic (ou intensité du trafic) désigne le volume de trafic qu'un système radio devrait acheminer durant les périodes de pointe. Il est exprimé habituellement en erlangs.

Renvois

1. Grade of Service Determination for Land Mobile Systems in the Golden Horseshoe Area, P. Vanderveen, Industrie Canada, 1993. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1)

2. Diffusion simultanée : Technique qui prévoit l'utilisation de plusieurs emplacements d'émission dont les zones de couverture se chevauchent et qui diffusent simultanément au moyen des mêmes paires de fréquences à chaque emplacement. Cette technique permet de conserver les fréquences et d'augmenter la densité radioélectrique dans une zone géographique. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 2)

3. Multidiffusion : Technique qui prévoit l'utilisation de plusieurs emplacements d'émission dont les zones de couverture se chevauchent et qui diffusent simultanément au moyen de différentes paires de fréquences à chaque emplacement. Les paires de fréquences peuvent être utilisées de nouveau dans le système tant qu'il n'y a pas chevauchement des zones de couverture dans le même canal. Cette technique est utilisée lorsque la disponibilité des fréquences ne pose pas problème. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 3)

4. La catégorie des services de sécurité est également abordée dans le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens-502, Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services radio terrestres fixes et mobiles fonctionnant dans les bandes 806-821/851-866 MHz et 821-824/866-869 MHz(PNRH-502) à la section 5.1.1 des critères d'admissibilité applicables aux fréquences réservées à la sécurité publique dans les bandes 821-824/866-869 MHz. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 4)

Date de modification :