Interim Arrangement Concerning the Use of the Frequency Bands 2305‑2320 MHz and 2345‑2360 MHz by Stations in the Wireless Communications Service (WCS) Near the Canada/United States of America Border

Table of Contents

Confirmation of Acceptance


Publication Date: July 2003

Confirmation of Acceptance

The attached document is the interim sharing arrangement between the Federal Communications Commission and the Department of Industry (Industry Canada) concerning the use of the frequency bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz by stations in the Wireless Communications Service (WCS) near the Canada/United States of America border. The Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada intend to implement provisionally the attached arrangement, to the extent permissible under their respective domestic laws, until superseded by a replacement for the Agreement Concerning the Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies Above Thirty Megacycles per Second, with Annex, as amended Footnote 1, or other relevant agreements.

space to insert signature
Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies & Telecommunications
Industry Canada

Date: January 31, 2003

space to insert signature
Donald Abelson
Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Date: June 25, 2003


1.  Scope

1.1  This interim arrangement (Arrangement) between the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) of the United States of America (U.S.) and the Department of Industry (Industry Canada) of Canada (jointly, the Administrations) concerns the use of the frequency bands 2305 – 2320 MHz and 2345 – 2360 MHz by WCS systems within 120 km of the Canada/United States of America Border. This Arrangement applies to stations of WCSin the fixed and mobile (except aeronautical) services; it does not apply to the digital audio radio service (DARS) by satellite nor its terrestrial repeater applications.

1.2  This Arrangement will be applied provisionally until superceded by a replacement for the Agreement Concerning the Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies Above Thirty Megacycles per Second, with Annex, as amended Footnote 2 or other relevant agreements.

1.3  This Arrangement is subject to review at any time at the request of either Administration.

2.  General Principles

2.1  The bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz are to be shared on an equal basis along the border and, to the extent possible, both Administrations shall have full use of these frequencies or sub-bands for the provision of WCS within their respective countries.

2.2  Coordination shall be carried out by the WCS licensees for their respective service areas on both sides of the border.

2.3  Licensees are encouraged to enter into mutually acceptable sharing agreements that will facilitate reasonable and timely development of their systems. These agreements should allow for the provision of services by each licensee within its licensed service area to the maximum extent possible and provide for the basis of coordination in the border area.

2.4  Licensees are expected to take full advantage of interference mitigation techniques such as antenna directivity, polarization, frequency offset, shielding, site selection and/or power control to facilitate the coordination of systems.

2.5  All data and calculations used in determining compliance with this Arrangement and/or licensee sharing agreements shall be retained by the licensees and be made available to the Administrations upon request.

2.6  If a license is transferred, assigned or reissued, any existing agreement that formed the basis of coordination in the border area shall continue to apply with respect to the new licensee unless a new agreement is reached.

2.7  When licensees are unable to conclude mutually acceptable sharing arrangements, Section 3 of this Arrangement will apply.

3.  Cross-Border Coordination Between Licensed WCS Operators

3.1  The stations that are to be considered for coordination under this section of this Arrangement are the base stations (central transmitting stations) and their associated subscriber stations, and shall be referred to jointly as WCS systems. Additional coordination is required with respect to specified fixed microwave stations pursuant to Section 4 of this Arrangement.

3.2  Coordination of a WCS station is required if: 

  1. it is located at a distance less than 120 km from the U.S./Canada border; and
  2. it would produce at ground level in the other country's territory a power flux-density (pfd) level greater than -110 dB(W/m2) in any 1 MHz bandwidth.Footnote 3

3.3  When coordination is required, the following procedures shall apply : 

3.3.1  The licensee seeking coordination shall determine the maximum pfd value at and beyond the border that could be produced by any single transmitting station of the WCS system. In making this determination (calculation) the licensee shall use good engineering practice and generally accepted terrain-sensitive propagation models. The licensee shall disclose, upon request by the Administration, all data and calculations used in determining compliance with this Arrangement.

3.3.2  The recipient of the coordination proposal must respond by registered mail (or other mutually acceptable method) within 30 days of receipt to indicate any objection to deployment of the proposed facilities. If no objection is raised within that timeframe, then deployment of facilities may proceed.

3.3.3  If an objection is raised by the recipient of the coordination proposal, licensees must work in collaboration to develop a mutually acceptable solution to the potential interference problem. It is expected that the time from the date of the objection to develop and reach agreement on such a solution should not exceed 30 days.

3.3.4  In the event that a mutually acceptable agreement cannot be concluded between licensees, then the licensee seeking coordination may ask its Administration to facilitate resolution of the case with the other Administration. A station that requires coordination shall not be placed in operation until an agreement has been reached or until both Administrations concur and authorization by the appropriate Administration has been provided.

3.3.5  If there is no licensee on the opposite side of the border, any station of the proposed system shall not produce a pfd at or beyond the border that exceeds -110 dB(W/m2) in any 1 MHz bandwidth. Exceeding the pfd in this case would require the agreement of both Administrations.

3.4  Any WCS station will require further coordination if proposed modifications would : 

  1. result in the pfdat or beyond the border exceeding -110 dB(W/m2) in any 1 MHz bandwidth;
  2. involve operation on frequencies not previously coordinated; or
  3. change the polarization.

4. Coordination with Existing Fixed Microwave Stations

4.1  Licensees of WCS systems with stations located within 120 km of existing fixed microwave stations that have been authorized by the other Administration prior to the date of this Arrangement are required to coordinate with licensees of such fixed microwave stations if the WCS station would produce a pfd exceeding 110 dB(W/m2) in any 1 MHz bandwidth at or beyond the border (see Annex A).

4.2  Such coordination shall be based on : 

  • A technical analysis showing that interference is not caused to existing fixed microwave operations of the other Administration. The analysis shall be based on recognized industry procedures such as TIA/EIA Telecommunications Bulletin (TSB10-F), Interference Criteria for Microwave Systems;
    or
  • Alternatively, a mutually acceptable arrangement between the applicant/operator of the WCS facility and the affected fixed microwave operator(s).

4.3  In the event that a WCS station causes interference to an existing fixed microwave station located at a distance greater than 120 km from a WCS station, both Administrations agree to take immediate, appropriate steps to resolve such interference.

4.4  Administrations that have authorized fixed microwave stations will take steps to include a transition process through domestic policy that will facilitate the introduction of WCS in both countries.

5. Information Exchange

5.1  The Administrations will exchange licensee names, their licensed areas and points of contact to allow the licensees to contact the relevant licensee(s) on the other side of the border in order to facilitate licensee-to-licensee coordination in accordance with this Arrangement.

5.2  To facilitate cross-border coordination between licensees, the licensees are encouraged to exchange data as listed in Annex B to this Arrangement.


Annex A
List of Canadian Fixed Microwave Receive Stations Located Within 120 km of the Canada/US Border


Annex B
Parameters for Coordination

List of parameters that should be provided: 

  • Licensee information (Corporate name/Mailing address/Phone/Fax);
  • Location of transmitter (Community/State/Province);
  • Geographical coordinates of transmitting antenna;
  • EIRP(dBW);
  • Ground elevation and antenna height above ground (m);
  • Centre frequency (MHz);
  • Polarization;
  • Antenna pattern/tabulation of the pattern;
  • Azimuth of the maximum antenna gain;
  • Bandwidth and emission designation(s).

Notes :

1. These parameters are for the coordination of the base station and subscriber stations.

2. The licensee could provide more parameters, if needed, for the coordination process.


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, October 24, 1962. Entered into force October 24, 1962. See USA: Treaties and Other International Acts Series TIAS 5205; CAN: Canada Treaty Series (CTS) 1962 No. 15. Agreement revising the technical annex to the Agreement of October 24, 1962 (TIAS 5205 / CTS 1962 No. 15). Effected by exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, June 16 and 24, 1965. Entered into Force June 24, 1965. USA: TIAS 5833/CAN: CTS 1962 No. 15, as amended June 24, 1965.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, October 24, 1962. Entered into force October 24, 1962. See USA: Treaties and Other International Acts Series TIAS 5205; CAN: Canada Treaty Series (CTS) 1962 No. 15. Agreement revising the technical annex to the Agreement of October 24, 1962 (TIAS 5205 / CTS 1962 No. 15). Effected by exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, June 16 and 24, 1965. Entered into force June 24, 1965. USA: TIAS 5833/CAN: CTS 1962 No. 15, as amended June 24, 1965.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

In cases where both the US/Canada border and the neighboring service area lie within a body of water, the power flux-density value shall be calculated at the shoreline of the neighboring service area.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date modified:

Entente provisoire concernant l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 2305‑2320 MHz et 2345‑2360 MHz par les stations du service de communication sans fil (SCSF) situées à proximité de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique

Table des matières

Confirmation de l'acceptation


Publié en juillet 2003

Confirmation de l'acceptation

Le document ci-joint constitue l'entente de partage provisoire conclue entre la Federal Communications Commission et le ministère de l'Industrie (Industrie Canada) au sujet de l'utilisation des bandes de fréquence 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz par les stations du Service de communication sans fil (SCSF) à proximité de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique. La Federal Communications Commission et Industrie Canada ont l'intention de mettre en œuvre à titre provisoire l'entente ci-jointe, dans la mesure où le permettent les lois nationales, jusqu'au remplacement de l'Accord relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde, avec annexe, tel que modifié Note en bas de page 1, ou jusqu'à l'adoption d'autres ententes pertinentes.

space to insert signature

Le sous-ministre adjoint
Spectre, technologies de l'information et télécommunications
Industrie Canada

Michael Binder
Date : 31 janvier 2003

space to insert signature

Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Donald Abelson
Date : 25 juin 2003


1.  Portée

1.1  La présente entente (l'entente), conclue entre la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) des États-Unis d'Amérique (É.-U.) et le ministère de l'Industrie (Industrie Canada) du Canada (les administrations), concerne l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz par les systèmes du SCSF situés à moins de 120 km de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Cette entente s'applique aux stations du SCSF des services fixes et mobiles (à l'exception du service aéronautique); elle ne s'applique pas au service de radiodiffusion audionumérique américain (DARS) par satellite ni à ses applications de Terre faisant appel à des répéteurs.

1.2  La présente entente s'appliquera à titre provisoire jusqu'au remplacement de l'Accord relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde, avec annexe, tel que modifié Note en bas de page 2 ou jusqu'à l'adoption d'autres ententes pertinentes.

1.3  La présente entente pourra être révisée en tout temps, à la demande de l'une ou l'autre administration.

2.   Principes généraux

2.1  Les bandes 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz doivent être partagées également le long de la frontière et, dans la mesure du possible, les deux administrations pourront utiliser pleinement ces fréquences ou les sous-bandes pour la prestation du SCSF dans leur pays respectif.

2.2  Les titulaires de licence du SCSF assurent la coordination pour leurs secteurs de service respectifs, des deux côtés de la frontière.

2.3  Les titulaires de licence sont invités à conclure des ententes de partage mutuellement acceptables qui faciliteront le développement raisonnable et opportun de leurs systèmes. Ces ententes devraient permettre à tous les titulaires de licence de fournir des services, dans la plus grande mesure possible, à l'intérieur de la zone visée par leur licence, et servir de point de départ à la coordination, dans la région de la frontière.

2.4  On s'attend à ce que les titulaires de licence profitent au maximum des techniques d'atténuation du brouillage, notamment de la directivité des antennes, de la polarisation, du décalage de fréquence, du blindage, du choix des emplacements et/ou du réglage de la puissance pour faciliter la coordination des systèmes.

2.5  Toutes les données et les calculs employés pour déterminer la conformité à la présente entente ou aux ententes de partage des titulaires de licence sont conservées par les titulaires de licence pour être mises à la disposition des administrations, sur demande.

2.6  Si une licence est transférée, attribuée ou délivrée de nouveau, toute entente existante sur laquelle repose la coordination à la frontière continuera à s'appliquer à l'égard du nouveau titulaire à moins qu'une nouvelle entente ne soit conclue.

2.7  Dans le cas où les titulaires de licence ne parviennent pas à conclure des ententes mutuellement acceptables, la section 3 de la présente entente est applicable.

3.  Coordination transfrontière entre les exploitants de SCSF autorisés par licence

3.1  Les stations dont la coordination est à envisager aux termes de la présente section de l'entente sont les stations de base (stations émettrices centrales) et les stations d'abonné associées, et elles seront appelées conjointement systèmes du SCSF. La section 4 de l'entente exige une coordination plus poussée dans le cas des stations micro-ondes fixes spécifiées.

3.2  La coordination d'une station du SCSF est nécessaire : 

  1. si la station est située à moins de 120 km de la frontière entre les É.-U. et le Canada;et
  2. si elle produit au niveau du sol de l'autre pays une puissance surfacique (pfd) supérieure à -110 dB (W/m2) pour toute largeur de bande de 1 MHz  Note en bas de page 3.

3.3  Si une coordination est nécessaire, les procédures suivantes s'appliquent : 

3.3.1  Le titulaire de licence qui demande une coordination détermine la valeur maximale de la pfd à la frontière et au-delà, qui pourrait être produite par une station émettrice unique du système du SCSF. Pour déterminer cette valeur (calcul) le titulaire de la licence fait appel à de bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie et à des modèles de propagation sensibles au relief généralement acceptés. Le titulaire de licence divulguera, à la demande de l'administration, toutes les données et les calculs employés pour déterminer la conformité à la présente entente.

3.3.2  Le destinataire de la proposition de coordination doit répondre par courrier recommandé (ou par toute autre méthode mutuellement acceptable) dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de propositions relatives au déploiement d'installations, pour signaler toute objection. Si aucune objection n'est soulevée avant la fin de ce délai, le déploiement des installations peut commencer.

3.3.3  Si une objection est soulevée par le destinataire de la proposition de coordination, les titulaires de licence doivent collaborer pour trouver une solution mutuellement acceptable au problème de brouillage potentiel. On s'attend à ce qu'il ne s'écoule pas plus de 30 jours entre le moment où l'objection est formulée et la conclusion d'une entente à l'égard d'une telle solution.

3.3.4  Si une entente mutuellement acceptable ne peut être conclue entre les titulaires de licence, le titulaire de licence qui demande la coordination peut demander à son administration de faciliter la résolution du problème auprès de l'autre administration. Une station qui nécessite une coordination ne commencera pas à émettre tant qu'une entente n'aura pas été conclue, ou tant que les deux administrations ne seront pas d'accord et que l'autorisation nécessaire n'aura pas été fournie par l'administration compétente.

3.3.5  En l'absence de titulaire de licence de l'autre côté de la frontière, la pfd de toute station du système proposé, à la frontière ou au-delà, ne devra pas dépasser -110 dB (W/m2) pour toute largeur de bande de 1 MHz. Pour que la limite de pfd puisse être dépassée dans ce cas, il faut l'accord des deux administrations.

3.4  Toute station du SCSF exigera une coordination plus poussée si les modifications proposées : 

  1. font que la pfd à la frontière ou au-delà dépasse -110 dB (W/m2) pour toute largeur de bande de 1 MHz;
  2. font intervenir des fréquences qui n'ont pas déjà été coordonnées;
  3. changent la polarisation.

4.   Coordination avec les stations micro-ondes fixes existantes

4.1  Les titulaires de licence de systèmes du SCSF dont des stations situées à moins de 120 km de stations micro-ondes fixes existantes ont été autorisées par l'autre administration avant la date de la présente entente, sont tenus d'effectuer une coordination avec les titulaires de licence de ces stations micro-ondes fixes si la pfd de la station du SCSF est supérieure à -110 dB (W/m2) à la frontière ou au-delà pour toute largeur de bande de 1 MHz (voir l'annexe A).

4.2  Cette coordination doit se fonder : 

  • sur une analyse technique montrant que la station du SCSF ne cause pas de brouillage aux stations micro-ondes fixes de l'autre administration. Cette analyse doit se fonder sur des procédures reconnues par l'industrie telles que le TIA/EIA Telecommunications Systems Bulletin (TSB10-F), Interference Criteria for Microwave Systems;
    ou
  • sur une entente mutuellement acceptable entre le requérant/exploitant de l'installation du SCSF et le ou les exploitants des stations micro-ondes fixes touchées.

4.3  Pour le cas d'une station micro-ondes fixe existante située à plus de 120 km d'une station du SCSF qui lui cause du brouillage, les deux administrations ont convenu de prendre des mesures immédiates pour régler ce problème de brouillage.

4.4  Les administrations qui ont des stations micro-ondes fixes autorisées prendront les mesures voulues pour faciliter l'introduction du SCSF dans les deux pays selon un processus de transition relevant de la politique intérieure.

5.   Échange d'information

5.1  Les administrations échangeront les noms des titulaires de licence, leurs coordonnées ainsi que les coordonnées de leur zone de service autorisée de façon que les titulaires de licence puissent communiquer avec les titulaires de licence concernés, de l'autre côté de la frontière, ce qui facilitera la coordination entre titulaires conformément à la présente entente.

5.2  Pour que la coordination transfrontière entre les titulaires de licence soit facilitée, les titulaires de licence sont invités à échanger les données indiquées dans l'annexe B de la présente entente.


Annexe A
Liste des stations micro-ondes fixes de réception canadiennes situées à moins de 120 km de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis


Annexe B
Paramètres pour la coordination

Liste des paramètres à fournir : 

  • Information sur le titulaire de licence (raison sociale/adresse  postale/téléphone/télécopieur);
  • Emplacement de l'émetteur (communauté/État/province);
  • Coordonnées géographiques de l'antenne d'émission;
  • p.i.r.e. (dBW);
  • Hauteur du sol et hauteur de l'antenne au-dessus du sol (m);
  • Fréquence centrale (MHz);
  • Polarisation;
  • Diagramme de gain d'antenne/tabulation du diagramme;
  • Azimut du gain d'antenne maximal;
  • Largeur de bande et désignation des émissions.

Notes : 

1.  Ces paramètres sont destinés à la coordination de la station de base et des stations d'abonné.

2.  Le titulaire de licence pourrait fournir davantage de paramètres si la coordination l'exige.


Notes en bas de page

Note en bas de page 1

Échange de notes à Ottawa, Canada, 24 octobre 1962. Entrée en vigueur le 24 octobre 1962. Voir É.-U. : Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) 5205; CAN : Recueil des traités du Canada (RTC) 1962 no 15. Agreement revising the technical annex to the Agreement of October 24, 1962 (TIAS 5205/RTC 1962 no 15) pris par échange de notes à Ottawa, Canada, les 16 et 24 juin 1965. Entrée en vigueur le 24 juin 1965. É.-U. : TIAS 5833/CAN : RTC 1962 no 15, modifié le 24 juin 1965.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1

Note en bas de page 2

Échange de notes à Ottawa, Canada, 24 octobre 1962. Entrée en vigueur le 24 octobre 1962. Voir É.-U. : Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) 5205; CAN : Recueil des traités du Canada (RTC) 1962 no. 15. Agreement revising the technical annex to the Agreement of October 24, 1962 (TIAS 5205/RTC 1962 no 15) pris par échange de notes à Ottawa, Canada, les 16 et 24 juin 1965. Entrée en vigueur le 24 juin 1965. É.-U. : TIAS 5833/CAN : RTC 1962 no 15, modifié le 24 juin 1965.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 2

Note en bas de page 3

Dans les cas où la frontière entre les É.-U. et le Canada et la zone de service voisine se trouvent sur un plan d'eau, la puissance surfacique est calculée au rivage de la zone de service voisine.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 3

Date de modification :