An Update of the Studies to Identify Spectrum for Public Safety in Television Channels 60-69

March 10, 2003

Ms. Andrée Wylie
Vice-Chairperson, Broadcasting
Canadian Radio-television
and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N2

Dear Ms. Wylie:

Subject: An Update of the Studies to Identify Spectrum for Public Safety in Television Channels 60-69

Further to our correspondence of July 10 and 29, 2002 (see attached), I wish to apprise the Commission of our activities and findings in identifying potential spectrum for public safety in the television channel pairs 63/68 or 64/69. The Department had asked that new digital television (DTV) allotments not be assigned in these channels to provide sufficient time for a re-assessment of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan with public safety requirements in mind. We appreciated the cooperation of the Commission and the broadcasting industry in carrying out this assessment.

We were able to determine early last summer that it was not practical to re-arrange the DTV Transition Allotment Plan in channel pairs 64/69. Industry stakeholders and the Commission's staff were accordingly informed that we would consider broadcasting certificates for this channel pair, if DTV applications were made to the Commission. However, with only a few DTV allotments in television channel pair 63/68, a re-arrangement of the DTV Transitional Allotment Plan was deemed feasible.

The Department has focussed its study on identifying new DTV channels to accommodate allotments that were assigned to channels 63 and 68. We were able to re-arrange the DTV Transitional Allotment Plan, in consultation with the US Federal Communications Commission, to accommodate all DTV assignment requirements and have informed the affected parties. Also, the Department has completed successfully the coordination of this re-arrangement with the US counterparts and this will be reflected in the current Canada/US Letter of Understanding. These activities have resulted in television channels pair 63/68 being cleared for future public safety spectrum. The Department is imposing a moratorium on the use of channels 63 and 68 for any future television stations.

A number of additional studies are being carried-out by the Department to assess potential interference of public safety systems into adjacent television channels. Once completed, the Department will release a paper to outline our decision on the revised frequency allocations and further consult on accommodating public safety in channels 63 and 68. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies
and Telecommunications

c.c. Executive Director, Broadcasting, CRTC
Michael Wernick, Associate Deputy Minister, Department of Canadian Heritage
Glenn O'Farrell, President and & CEO, Canadian Association of Broadcasters
David Farnes, President, Radio Advisory Board of Canada

Date modified:

Mise à jour des études visant à déterminer le spectre pour la sécurité publique sur les canaux de télévision 60-69

10 mars 2003

Madame Andrée Wylie
Vice-présidente, Radiodiffusion
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et
des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC)
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N2

Madame,

Objet : Mise à jour des études visant à déterminer le spectre pour la sécurité publique sur les canaux de télévision 60-69

Suite à notre correspondance des 10 et 29 juillet 2002 (voir ci-joint), j'aimerais informer le Conseil de nos activités et de nos résultats concernant la détermination d'un spectre pour la sécurité publique sur les paires de canaux de télévision 63/68 ou 64/69. Le ministère avait demandé que les nouveaux allotissements pour la télévision numérique (TVN) ne soient pas attribués à ces canaux afin d'avoir le temps de réévaluer le plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la TVN en fonction des exigences relatives à la sécurité publique. Nous avons apprécié l'aide que le Conseil et l'industrie de la radiodiffusion ont apportée au déroulement de cette évaluation.

Dès le début de l'été dernier, nous avons pu déterminer qu'il ne serait pas pratique de réaménager le plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la TVN dans les paires de canaux 64/69. Les intervenants de l'industrie et le personnel du Conseil ont donc été informés que nous envisagerions des certificats de radiodiffusion pour cette paire de canaux, si le Conseil recevait des demandes de TVN. Mais étant donné que seuls quelques allotissements de TVN ont été accordés dans la paire de canaux de télévision 63/68, un réaménagement du plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la TVN a été jugé possible.

L'étude du ministère a porté essentiellement sur la détermination de nouveaux canaux de TVN pour tenir compte des allotissements attribués aux canaux 63 et 68. Nous avons pu réaménager le plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la TVN, en consultation avec la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis, afin de tenir compte de tous les besoins d'attribution des services de TVN et en avons informé les parties en cause. Le ministère a également terminé avec succès la coordination de ce réaménagement avec ses homologues américains, ce dont rendra compte le protocole d'entente en vigueur entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Ces activités ont permis de libérer la paire de canaux de télévision 63/68 pour le futur spectre réservé à la sécurité publique. Le ministère impose un moratoire sur l'utilisation des canaux 63 et 68 par toute future station de télévision.

Le ministère a réalisé un certain nombre d'autres études pour évaluer l'interférence possible des systèmes de sécurité publique sur les canaux de télévision adjacents. Lorsque ces études seront terminées, le ministère publiera un document exposant notre décision sur les attributions de fréquences révisées et annonçant d'autres consultations sur l'utilisation des canaux 63 et 68 pour la sécurité publique.

Nous vous remercions de votre collaboration à ce sujet et vous prions d'agréer, Madame, l'expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Le sous-ministre adjoint,
Spectre, Technologies de
l'information et télécommunications,

Michael Binder

c.c. Directeur exécutif, Radiodiffusion, CRTC
Michael Wernick, sous-ministre associé, ministère du Patrimoine canadien
Glenn O'Farrell, président et directeur général, Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs
David Farnes, président, Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio

Date de modification :