SP 746 — Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz

Issue 1
October 2004

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Allocation Decisions
  4. Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety
  5. Further Consideration: Facilitating Advanced Communications in Remote Rural and Northern Communities
  6. Implementation

Gazette Notice DGTP-002-04  Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (SP-746 MHz)


Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-04 — Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (SP-746 MHz)

Intent

The purpose of this Notice is to announce the release of a spectrum policy document under the above-mentioned title. This document announces Industry Canada's decision to allocate the mobile service in the frequency band 746-806 MHz on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service, and designate some spectrum for public safety. This notice also seeks comment on the technical and licensing considerations for an efficient implementation of this spectrum for public safety.

On June 8, 2001, the Department released a consultation paper entitled, Proposal to Introduce the Mobile Service on a Co-primary Basis with the Broadcasting Service in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Significant public input was received on this consultation from the broadcasting, mobile wireless and public safety communities. Since that time, the Department has carried out studies of the Digital Television Transition Allotment Plan, has negotiated changes within the allotment plan with the United States to accommodate public safety and has commissioned technical sharing studies between the broadcasting and public safety applications. Also, the Department has introduced a moratorium on television channels 63 and 68 to prepare the spectrum to be used for public safety applications.

Submitting Comments

Interested parties should submit their comments on the issues raised in SP-746, no later than January 14, 2005. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following e-mail address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.s

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director of Spectrum and Radio Services, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and notice reference number (DGTP-002-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site. Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

September 23, 2004

_____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch
________________________
Robert W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

1. Introduction

The purpose of this paper, announced in DGTP-002-04, is to allocate the mobile service in the frequency band 746-806 MHz on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service, and to designate some spectrum for public safety. This paper also seeks comment on the technical and licensing considerations for an efficient implementation of this spectrum for public safety.

The decision to allocate the mobile service in the frequency band 746-806 MHz on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service, completes the public consultation process which began on June 8, 2001 in the consultation entitled, Proposal to Introduce the Mobile Service on a Co-primary Basis with the Broadcasting Service in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Since that time, the Department has carried out studies of the Digital Television Transition Allotment Plan, has negotiated changes within the allotment plan with the United States to accommodate public safety and has commissioned technical sharing studies between the broadcasting and public safety applications. The Department has also introduced a moratorium on television channels 63 and 68 to prepare the spectrum to be used for public safety applications. Based on these activities, the Department was successful in finding suitable spectrum for public safety in the television sub-bands 764-770 MHz and 794-800 MHz (television channels 63 and 68) while accommodating broadcasting services.

The Department is seeking comments on certain aspects of the implementation of designated spectrum for public safety. Comments can be submitted according to the instructions set out in the Gazette Notice.

2. Background

In June, 2001 the Department initiated public consultation to allocate the mobile service in the frequency band 746-806 MHz on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service. This new mobile allocation was proposed with the provision that further study and consultation would be needed before some spectrum for mobile applications could be released. The Department outlined the pressing requirement to open some spectrum for public safety in-line with the US band plan in order to accommodate cross-border, interoperable communications and the use of common radio equipment. The overall approach in the allocation and designation of spectrum for public safety, takes full account of the spectrum needs for the implementation of DTV, in accordance with the allotment plan.

The tragic events of September 11, 2001 have added further pressure to proceed with the allocation decision and the proposed spectrum designations for public safety contained herein.

By the close of public consultation on September 24, 2001, the Department had received 27 submissions. The comments received were submitted from the broadcasting and wireless communities, police, fire and other public safety organizations, industry and public safety associations and manufacturers and related government agencies in Canada and the United States.

2.1 Public Comments on Mobile Service Allocation

The Department proposed that the domestic allocation should be confined to the addition of the mobile service in band 746-806 MHz (TV channels 60-69) given the spectrum requirement for the DTV transition (see Section 3). As there is a shortage of mobile service in spectrum below 900 MHz, modifications to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations were proposed to address this requirement.

Most respondents supported or did not oppose a mobile allocation as co-primary within the broadcasting band 746-806 MHz. The wireless community indicated that the Department should allocate the mobile service in the bands listed in International Telecommunication Union (ITU) footnote 5.293, including the bands 470-512 MHz and 614-806 MHz. In addition, the wireless industry favoured introducing the fixed service on a co-primary basis. Broadcasting industry respondents favoured the incremental approach proposed by the Department that would see only the mobile service allocated in one band i.e. 746-806 MHz.

In general, the comments received in response to DGTP-004-01, supported adding a mobile service allocation in the band 746-806 MHz with the broadcasting service on a co-primary basis provided that spectrum is available for the full DTV transition. A pressing requirement was also expressed to make spectrum available for public safety.

The issue of harmonizing a frequency band plan for public safety similar to that developed by the US administration was supported by the majority of respondents.1 Respondents also supported a level of harmonization with the US that would promote cross-border interoperability. This is particularly pressing in a smart borders, Canada/US security environment.

3. Allocation Decisions

Based on the public consultation and the transition period required for digital TV broadcasting to be implemented, the Department has decided to limit the allocation of the mobile service with the broadcasting service, on a co-primary basis, to the frequency band 746-806 MHz. In addition, with this allocation change to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the adoption of an international footnote 5.293 supporting this allocation, Canadian footnotes are introduced that deal with the inter-relations between these two primary services. The Canadian footnotes reiterate the provision of necessary spectrum for a full digital television transition in accordance with the DTV Transition Allotment Plan.

In summary, the Department is making the following changes to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations to enter the:

  • mobile service as a co-primary service with the broadcasting service in the band 746-806 MHz;
  • international in-country footnote 5.293 in the bands 470-608 MHz, 614-746 MHz and 746-806 MHz; and
  • Canadian footnotes:

    • C-22 to indicate that the implementation of mobile service will be subject to spectrum policy taking into account the progress of DTV transition; and

    • C-24 to reflect the extent to which international in-country footnote 5.293 is being adopted.

Canadian Table of Frequency Allocation Change

Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations Change
MHz Primary and Secondary Services
primary service470-608 BROADCASTING
5.293 C24
primary service614-746 BROADCASTING
5.293 C24
primary service746-806 BROADCASTING
MOBILE
5.293 C22 C24


5.293
(WRC-2000) Different category of service: in Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the United States, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama and Peru, the allocation of the bands 470-512 MHz and 614-806 MHz to the fixed and mobile services is on a primary basis (see No. 5.33), subject to agreement obtained under No. 9.21. In Argentina, and Ecuador, the allocation of the band 470-512 MHz to the fixed and mobile services is on a primary basis (see No. 5.33), subject to agreement obtained under No. 9.21.
C22
(CAN-2004) In the band 746-806 MHz, the gradual use of spectrum for the mobile service will be subject to the development of a series of spectrum utilization policies as the transition of digital television progresses.
C24
(CAN-2004) In the bands 470-512 MHz and 614-806 MHz, international footnote 5.293 has raised the fixed and mobile services to a co-primary status with the broadcasting service for Canada. To support broadcasting requirements during the transition to digital television, the Department is only allocating the mobile service in the band 746-806 MHz at this time. The Department, will carry out public consultation in the future in order to adopt the other service allocation provisions of international footnote 5.293 in the frequency bands 470-512 MHz and 614-746 MHz.

Discussion

This allocation change will provide the flexibility to gradually implement the mobile services in parts of the frequency band 746-806 MHz, as the DTV transition progresses. The Department intends to carry out studies of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan and undertake further public consultations as DTV is implemented; additional spectrum could be released for mobile service according to Canadian footnote C22.

With regard to Canadian footnotes C22 and C24 a few issues were raised during the consultation. Some respondents asked why the Department had not adopted the full provisions of international footnote 5.293, as it applies to the bands 470-512 MHz and 614-806 MHz and the shared primary allocation of the fixed service and the mobile service with the broadcasting service. The Department is of the view that in order to balance the public interest to accommodate a full deployment of DTV broadcasting and release some critical spectrum for public safety, a phased-in approach is required. Such an approach is required for allocating new services in the Canadian Table and should, in the short term, be confined to the band 746-806 MHz (TV channels 60-69). The Department has decided to only co-allocate the mobile service with the broadcasting service at this time to deal with the pressing need for mobile spectrum.

These modifications will be incorporated in the next revision to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.


Footnotes

1 i.e. the same paired transmit and receive frequencies, the further division of spectrum for narrow band channels and wide band channels and the fostering of a common technical system standard.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS 746 — Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz

1re édition
Octobre 2004

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Décisions sur l'attribution
  4. Désignation de fréquences pour la sécurité publique
  5. Autres considérations : Faciliter les radiocommunications évoluées dans les communautés rurales et du Nord
  6. Mise en oeuvre

Avis de la gazette no DGTP-002-04 — Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz (PS-746 MHz)


Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-002-04 — Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz (PS-746 MHz)

But

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication de la politique d'utilisation du spectre sous le titre mentionné ci-dessus. Le document traite de l'annonce de la décision d'Industrie Canada sur une attribution au service mobile dans la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, et désigne des fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique. Le présent avis sollicite également des observations sur des considérations techniques et de délivrance de licence pour une mise en oeuvre efficace des fréquences pour la sécurité publique.

Le 8 juin 2001, le Ministère a publié le document de consultation intitulé Projet d'introduction du service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, dans la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Des personnes provenant des milieux de la radiodiffusion, des services mobiles sans fil et de la sécurité publique ont apporté d'importants commentaires lors de la consultation.

Depuis, le Ministère a mené des études dans le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique, a négocié des modifications dans le plan d'allotissement avec les États-Unis pour introduire les services de la sécurité publique et a lancé une étude technique sur le partage entre la radiodiffusion et les applications de la sécurité publique. Le Ministère a, de plus, instauré un moratoire sur les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 afin de préparer les fréquences pour les applications de la sécurité publique.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs observations sur les points soulevés dans la PS-746 au plus tard le 14 janvier 2005. Peu après la fin de la période de réception des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication

Le Ministère demande aux intéressés de présenter leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca; ils doivent prendre soin d'indiquer le logiciel utilisé, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au directeur des Services du spectre et de la radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence (de l'avis (DGTP-002-04).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication. La version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 23 septembre 2004

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications
___________________________
Larry Shaw
Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre
___________________
Robert W. McCaughern

1. Introduction

Le présent document, annoncé dans l'avis DGTP-002-04, a pour objet d'attribuer au service mobile des fréquences de la bande 746-806 MHz à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, pour désigner quelques fréquences aux fins de la sécurité publique. Le document sollicite également des observations sur des considérations techniques et de délivrance de licence pour une mise en oeuvre efficace des fréquences pour la sécurité publique.

La décision d'attribuer la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz au service mobile à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion vient compléter le processus de consultation publique qui a débuté le 8 juin 2001 avec la publication du document intitulé Projet d'introduction du service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, dans la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Depuis, le Ministère a mené des études sur le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique, a négocié des modifications au plan d'allotissement avec les États-Unis pour y introduire la sécurité publique et a lancé une étude technique sur le partage entre la radiodiffusion et les applications de la sécurité publique. Le Ministère a de plus instauré un moratoire sur les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 afin de préparer les fréquences pour les applications de la sécurité publique. Suite à ces actions, le Ministère a réussi à trouver les fréquences qui convenaient au service de sécurité publique dans les sous-bandes de la télévision 764-770 MHz et 794-800 MHz (canaux de télévision 63 et 68) tout en répondant aux besoins des services de radiodiffusion.

Le Ministère sollicite des observations sur certains aspects de la mise en oeuvre des fréquences désignées pour les services de sécurité publique, qui peuvent être présentées selon les instructions établies dans l'Avis publié dans la Gazette.

2. Contexte

En juin 2001, le Ministère a entrepris une consultation publique sur l'attribution au service mobile de fréquences de la bande 746-806 MHz à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion. Cette nouvelle attribution au service mobile a été proposée sous réserve qu'une étude et une consultation seraient menées avant de pouvoir libérer des fréquences pour les applications du service mobile. Le Ministère donnait alors les grandes lignes relatives au besoin urgent de libérer certaines fréquences pour la sécurité publique en accord avec le plan de fréquences des État-Unis afin de permettre les communications transfrontalières interopérables et l'utilisation de matériel radio commun. L'approche globale de l'attribution et de la désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique tient compte entièrement des besoins en fréquences pour la mise en oeuvre de la télévision numérique, conformément au plan d'allotissement.

Les événements tragiques du 11 septembre 2001 ont ajouté à l'urgence de rendre une décision sur l'attribution et les désignations de fréquences proposées pour les services de sécurité publique, et contenues dans le présent document.

À la fin de la période de consultation publique le 24 septembre 2001, le Ministère avait reçu 27 soumissions. Les commentaires reçus ont été soumis par des radiodiffuseurs et des fournisseurs de services sans fil, des services de police et d'incendie et d'autres organismes de sécurité publique, des associations et des fabricants de l'industrie et de la sécurité publique et des organismes gouvernementaux canadiens et américains.

2.1 Observations du public sur l'attribution au service mobile

Le Ministère propose que l'attribution canadienne soit restreinte à l'ajout du service mobile dans la bande 746-806 MHz (canaux de télévision 60-69) étant donné les besoins en fréquences pour la transition à la télévision numérique (voir section 3). Étant donné qu'il y a une pénurie de fréquences pour le service mobile dans les bandes inférieures à 900 MHz, des modifications au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences ont été proposées afin de répondre aux besoins.

La plupart des répondants soutiennent l'attribution au service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint dans la bande de radiodiffusion 746-806 MHz, ou ne s'y opposent pas. Les fournisseurs de service sans fil ont indiqué que le Ministère devrait attribuer au service mobile les bandes figurant dans la liste de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) au renvoi 5.293, dont les bandes 470-512 MHz et 614-806 MHz. De plus, l'industrie des services sans fil est en faveur de l'ajout du service fixe à titre primaire conjoint. Les répondants du milieu de la radiodiffusion favorisent l'approche graduelle proposée par le Ministère, qui consiste en l'attribution au service mobile seulement d'une seule bande, c'est-à-dire la bande 746-806 MHz.

De façon générale, les commentaires reçus en réponse à l'avis DGTP-004-01 étaient en faveur de l'ajout de l'attribution au service mobile dans la bande 746-806 MHz avec le service de radiodiffusion à titre primaire conjoint, sous réserve que les fréquences soient disponibles pour une transition complète à la télévision numérique. Les commentaires faisaient aussi état d'un besoin urgent de libérer des fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique.

La plupart des répondants soutiennent l'harmonisation d'un plan de bande de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique semblable à celui développé par l'administration américaine1. Les répondants sont d'accord aussi relativement à un certain niveau d'harmonisation avec les États-Unis qui permettrait l'interopérabilité transfrontalière. Cela est d'autant plus important dans le cas de frontières intelligentes, dans le contexte de sécurité entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

3. Décisions sur l'attribution

Suite à la consultation publique et compte tenu de la période de transition nécessaire pour la mise en application de la télévision numérique, le Ministère a décidé de limiter l'attribution au service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, à la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz. En plus du changement d'attribution apporté au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et de l'adoption du renvoi international 5.293 soutenant cette attribution, des renvois canadiens portant sur les interrelations entre ces deux services primaires sont ajoutés. Les renvois canadiens réitèrent l'exigence de fournir les fréquences nécessaires pour une transition complète à la télévision numérique conformément au Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour le télévision numérique (TVN).

En résumé, le Ministère apporte les changements ci-dessous au Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences :

  • Service mobile à titre de service primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion dans la bande 746-806 MHz;
  • Renvoi international 5.293 visant une exploitation nationale dans les bandes 470-608 MHz, 614-746 MHz et 746-806 MHz; et
  • Renvois canadiens :
    • C-22 indique que la mise en oeuvre du service mobile sera assujettie à la politique du spectre tout en tenant compte de la progression vers la transition de la télévision numérique; et
    • C-24 indique la portée de l'adoption du renvoi international 5.293 dans le contexte canadien.
Modifications au tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences
MHz Service primaires et secondaires
service primaires470-608 RADIODIFFUSION
5.293 C24
service primaires614-746 RADIODIFFUSION
5.293 C24
service primaires746-806 RADIODIFFUSION
MOBILE
5.293 C22 C24


5.293
(CMR-2000) Catégorie de service différente dans les pays suivants : Canada, Chili, Colombie, Cuba, États-Unis, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaïque, Mexique, Panama et Pérou, dans les bandes 470-512 MHz et 614-806 MHz, l'attribution aux services fixe et mobile est à titre primaire (voir le no 5.33), sous réserve de l'accord obtenu au titre du numéro 9.21. En Argentine et en Équateur, la bande 470-512 MHz est attribuée à titre primaire aux services fixe et mobile (voir le no 5.33), sous réserve de l'accord obtenu au titre du numéro 9.21.
C22
(CAN-2004) Dans la bande 746-806 MHz, l'exploitation graduelle des fréquences par le service mobile sera assujettie à l'élaboration d'une série de politiques d'utilisation du spectre pendant la transition à la télévision numérique.
C24
(CAN-2004) Dans les bandes 470-512 MHz et 614-806 MHz, le renvoi international 5.293 a élevé les services mobile et fixe au titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion au Canada. Pour répondre aux exigences de la radiodiffusion pendant la transition à la télévision numérique, le Ministère attribue seulement pour l'instant la bande 746-806 MHz au service mobile. Le Ministère mènera plus tard une consultation publique afin d'adopter les dispositions relatives aux autres attributions prévues par le renvoi international 5.293 dans les bandes de fréquences 470-512 MHz et 614-746 MHz.

Discussion

Cette modification d'attribution offrira la souplesse permettant de mettre graduellement en place le service mobile dans certaines parties de la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz, pendant la transition à la télévision numérique. Le Ministère a l'intention de mener des études du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique et d'entreprendre d'autres consultations publiques pendant la mise en service de la télévision numérique; des fréquences additionnelles pourraient être libérées pour le service mobile conformément au renvoi canadien C22.

Pour ce qui est des renvois canadiens C22 et C24, certaines questions ont été soulevées pendant la consultation. Certains répondants ont demandé au Ministère pourquoi il n'avait pas adopté toutes les dispositions du renvoi international 5.293, puisqu'il s'applique aux bandes 470-512 MHz et 614-806 MHz et aussi à l'attribution partagée à titre primaire aux services fixe et mobile avec le service de radiodiffusion. Le Ministère croit qu'afin d'établir un juste équilibre entre l'intérêt public de déployer entièrement la radiodiffusion TVN et la libération de certaines fréquences critiques pour la sécurité publique, il doit avoir recours à une approche progressive. Une telle approche est nécessaire pour l'attribution à de nouveaux services dans le Tableau canadien et l'attribution doit, à court terme, être restreinte à la bande 746-806 MHz (canaux de télévision 60-69). Le Ministère a décidé de ne donner, pour l'instant, qu'une attribution au service mobile avec le service de radiodiffusion afin de répondre au besoin urgent de fréquences du service mobile.

Ces modifications seront introduites dans la prochaine révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.


Renvois

1 C.-à-d. les mêmes fréquences appariées d'émission et de réception, la division complémentaire des fréquences pour les canaux à bande étroite et à large bande et l'adoption d'une norme commune des systèmes techniques.

Date de modification :