Archived — Gazette Notice DGTP-001-05

Industry Canada Announces Public Consultation on its Spectrum Policy Framework Overseeing Spectrum Management In Canada

News Release, May 13, 2005

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-001-05Consultation on a Renewed Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada and Continued Advancements in Spectrum Management

Intent

This Notice announces the publication of a consultation paper, under the above title, which invites comment on the development of a renewed Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada ("Framework") as well as related topics in spectrum management. This action responds to the Minister's initiative to modernize Canada's telecommunication and radiocommunication policy and regulatory regimes.

Discussion

The Framework contains a set of core objectives and policy guidelines that provides the fundamental policy basis for Industry Canada's Spectrum Management Program. Industry Canada recognizes that a comprehensive review and revision is necessary to ensure that the Framework serves as the best possible base for the continued modernization of this program.

The Canadian program operates in the context of global markets and is influenced by decisions made in other countries and world bodies regarding spectrum use and spectrum management programs. As well there are a number of advances in technologies which offer the prospect of increased flexibility in spectrum use and in spectrum management.

Part A of the consultation paper discusses and presents proposals for the revision of the Framework and asks for public comment.

Part B of the consultation paper raises a number of related issues pertinent to spectrum management and asks for public comment. The decisions made subsequent to this consultation will assist in the revision of the Framework as well as provide a more detailed examination of specific spectrum management issues.

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on the issues raised in the consultation paper announced through this Notice. Interested parties should submit their comments on Part  A, "Revision to the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada" and Part B, "Consultation on Advancing the Canadian Spectrum Management Program" no later than September 7, 2005 to ensure consideration.

Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following e-mail address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director, Spectrum and Radio Policy, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 1604A, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and Notice reference number DGTP-001-05.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of the consultation paper are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained at the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

May 2, 2005



____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGTP-001-05

Industrie Canada annonce une consultation publique sur le cadre de la politique du spectre qui régit la gestion du spectre au Canada

Communiqué, le 13 mai 2005

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-001-05Consultation sur le renouvellement du Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre et sur les progrès constants de la gestion du spectre

Objet

Le présent avis annonce la publication, sous le titre mentionné en rubrique, d'un document de consultation qui invite le public à formuler ses commentaires sur le renouvellement du Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre (Cadre). Ces mesures donnent suite à la décision du Ministre de moderniser la politique et le régime de réglementation des télécommunications et des radiocommunications du Canada.

Le Cadre se compose d'un ensemble d'objectifs principaux et principes directeurs sur lesquels repose la politique fondamentale du programme de gestion du spectre d'Industrie Canada. Industrie Canada reconnaît qu'un examen exhaustif et une révision sont nécessaires pour garantir que le Cadre constitue la meilleure base possible pour la modernisation constante du programme canadien de gestion du spectre.

Ce programme canadien fonctionne dans le contexte des marchés mondiaux et est influencé par les décisions prises par d'autres pays et organismes internationaux concernant l'usage du spectre et les programmes de gestion du spectre. De plus, un certain nombre de progrès technologiques laissent prévoir une plus grande souplesse dans l'exploitation et la gestion du spectre.

La Partie A du document de consultation expose les révisions proposées du Cadre dans le but d'obtenir l'opinion du public à ce sujet.

La Partie B du document de consultation invite le public à se prononcer sur un certain nombre de questions connexes qui se rapportent à la gestion du spectre. Les décisions prises à l'issue de cette consultation faciliteront la révision du Cadre et permettront un examen plus approfondi des questions reliées au spectre.

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à soumettre leurs vues et commentaires sur les questions soulevées dans le document de consultation qu'annonce le présent avis. Les parties intéressées devraient soumettre leurs commentaires sur la Partie A, Révision du Cadre et sur la Partie B, Consultation sur le perfectionnement du programme de gestion du spectre canadien, au plus tard le 7 septembre 2005.

Peu après la période de clôture de la présentation des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Envoi des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca, avec une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur, Politique du spectre et de la radiocommunication, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 1604A, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis DGTP-001-05.

Pour obtenir des copies

Il est possible d'obtenir électroniquement des copies du document de consultation sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles des avis de la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en appelant le comptoir des ventes des éditions du gouvernement du Canada au, 613-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 2 mai 2005

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications



____________
Larry Shaw

Date de modification :