RSS-310 — Licence-Exempt Radio Apparatus: Category II Equipment

Issue 5
January 2020

 

Preface

Radio Standards Specification RSS-310, issue 5, Licence-Exempt Radio Apparatus: Category II Equipment, replaces RSS-310, issue 4 dated July 2015.

Listed below are the changes.

  1. Remove requirements for devices operating in the band 24-24.25 GHz, which are now required to be certified under RSS-210, Licence-Exempt Radio Apparatus: Category I Equipment.
  2. Add provision for transition period.
  3. Refer to RSS-Gen, General Requirements for Compliance of Radio Apparatus for required text to be inserted into user manuals.
  4. Remove provision for electronic labelling of equipment as this provision is now provided in RSS-Gen.
  5. Remove requirements for Category II receivers as these receivers are now covered in RSS-Gen.
  6. Remove exemption from any requirement for infrared wireless devices.
  7. Update requirements for alternating current (AC) wire carrier current devices.
  8. Update general information.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

________________
MARTIN PROULX
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

1. Scope

This Radio Standards Specification sets out standard requirements for licence-exempt radio apparatus used for radiocommunication (other than broadcasting) that are exempt from certification.

2. Transition period

This document will be in force upon publication on Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)’s website. However, a transition period of six (6) months following its publication will be provided, within which compliance with RSS-310, issue 5, or RSS-310, issue 4, will be accepted. After this period, equipment manufactured, imported, distributed, leased, offered for sale, or sold in Canada, shall comply with this issue.

A copy of RSS-310, issue 4, may be requested by email.

3. Certification requirements

Equipment covered by this standard is classified as Category II equipment. Pursuant to subsection 21(5) of the Radiocommunication Regulations, Category II equipment is certification-exempt and thus no technical acceptance certificate (TAC) issued by the Certification and Engineering Bureau (CEB) of ISED or a certificate issued by a recognized certification body (CB) is required.

Pursuant to subsection 4(3) of the Radiocommunication Act, the manufacturer, importer and/or distributor shall ensure that Category II equipment is in compliance with all applicable procedures and standards.

4. Licensing requirements

Equipment covered by this standard is exempt from licensing requirements, pursuant to section 15 of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

5. RSS-Gen compliance

RSS-310 shall be used in conjunction with RSS-Gen, General Requirements for Compliance of Radio Apparatus, for general specifications and information relevant to the equipment covered by this standard.

6. Test report

A test report showing equipment compliance with all applicable technical requirements shall be compiled. The test report shall be prepared in accordance with the provisions of RSS-Gen, where applicable.

7. Labelling requirements

Each radio apparatus unit shall bear a label (see figure 1), which represents the manufacturer’s or importer’s self declaration of compliance (SDoC) with RSS-310, prior to being marketed in Canada or imported into Canada.

All compliance labelling shall meet the requirements set out in this section. If electronic labelling (e-labelling) is used, the compliance label shall meet the requirements set out in RSS-Gen for e-labelling.

The label must be clearly legible and shall be permanently affixed to the apparatus or displayed electronically. If the dimensions of the device are extremely small or it is not practical to place the label on the apparatus and if e-labelling cannot been implemented, the label shall be placed in a prominent location in the user manual supplied with the apparatus (as agreed upon with ISED prior to the importation or marketing of the apparatus). The user manual may be in an electronic format; if it is not supplied to the user, the user manual must be readily available.

The RSS-310 compliance label is not required for devices consisting of Category II radio apparatus subject to RSS-310, which are housed together with Category I radio apparatus (e.g. a transceiver whose receiver is Category II radio apparatus and whose transmitter is Category I radio apparatus). These devices are, however, subject to the labelling requirements applicable to Category I radio apparatus, as set out in RSS-Gen.

Figure 1: RSS-310 compliance label

Manufacturer’s Name or Brand Name
Model: (model number)
Canada 310

8. User manual

Radio apparatus covered under this standard shall comply with the user manual notice requirements of RSS-Gen for licence-exempt radio apparatus. In addition, the channel frequency and the output power (or field strength and measurement distance) shall be stated in the user manual.

9. Emissions falling within restricted frequency bands

Radio apparatus covered by this standard are required to comply with the provisions in RSS-Gen regarding emissions falling within restricted frequency bands. These restricted frequency bands are listed in RSS-Gen.

10. Technical requirements

This section outlines technical requirements for specific equipment.

10.1 Underground radios

Underground radio apparatus subject to this standard consists of base stations and/or repeaters, portable or mobile units located and operated completely below the surface of the earth, which is not freely accessible to the public, such as mines.

10.1.1 Labelling and user manual

In addition to the labelling requirements in section 7, the equipment shall bear a label stating:

For underground installations only.

In addition to the user manual requirements in section 8, the user manual shall include a notice cautioning the user not to install the transmitter near any opening to above ground, and shall provide instructions to comply with the requirements set out in this section.

Underground locations are defined as locations completely below the surface of the earth that are not freely accessible to the public. As such, radio apparatus operating in underground locations, for example, subway stations, underground parking, underground retail and businesses, do not qualify for licence exemption and require certification.

Above ground base stations whose sole means of communication is via cable, are licence-exempt and do not require certification.

Radio stations that operate exclusively in underground locations, not accessible to the public, are subject to this standard and are licence-exempt. These exempt stations operate on a secondary, no-interference, no-protection basis. Should interference be caused to any above ground radio apparatus, the operator of the underground system must take immediate remedial action to eliminate the interference.

Although these radio systems are licence-exempt, users may consult the local district office of ISED regarding their proposed frequency selections. This would prevent the radio systems from operating on channels which may create interference with safety services and would help in the identification of systems inadvertently radiating signals above ground. Contact your local office for additional information.

10.1.2 Underground radios

Licence-exempt underground radio systems are not restricted in the number of frequencies that they may use. However, the fundamental components of modulation shall not fall within the restricted frequency bands listed in the “Restricted Frequency Bands” section of RSS-Gen.

The transmitter output power should not be greater than necessary for its intended function and shall not exceed 110 W under any circumstances.

10.1.3 Installation requirements

At any location not defined as an underground location, the radio frequency (RF) field leakage from an underground radio system at the fundamental frequency shall not exceed the general field strength limits specified in RSS-Gen.

10.2 Cable-locating equipment (Band 9-490 kHz)

Cable-locating equipment is used to locate a buried cable or pipe by coupling an RF signal onto the cable or pipe and using a receiver to detect its location. The equipment may operate on any frequency within the band 9-490 kHz and the power, in terms of peak value, shall not exceed 10 W for the band 9-45 kHz and 1 W for the band 45-490 kHz, respectively.

In addition to the user manual requirements in section 8, the user manual shall contain the following or equivalent notice:

Equipment is for use by trained operators only and not for general household use. Usage duration shall be as short as possible to prevent possible radio interference to authorized services, especially the 100 kHz eLoran frequency.

10.3 Alternating current (AC) wire carrier current devices operating in the band 0-30 MHz

AC wire carrier current devices operating in the band 0-30 MHz are intended for use inside buildings, using the building’s AC wiring for RF signal propagation. The signals are generated by a transmitter/exciter unit that is electrically connected to the building wiring. These systems fall under the following categories:

  1. Interference-causing equipment where both the exciter (transmitter) and the receiver are connected to the building wiring and any radiated emissions of RF energy are unintentional. This includes in-house broadband power line devices. These devices are subject to ISED’s Interference-Causing Equipment Standard ICES-006, AC Wire Carrier Current Devices (Unintentional Radiators).
  2. AC wire carrier current devices operating in the amplitude modulation (AM) broadcasting band of 535-1705 kHz that is intended for AM broadcast receivers. These devices are broadcasting equipment and are subject to BETS-1, Technical Standards and Requirements for Low Power Announce Transmitters in the Frequency Bands 525-1,705 kHz and 88-107.5 MHz.
  3. AC wire carrier current devices of the intentional radiator type where the exciter is connected to the AC wire line but the receiver is not (e.g. a magnetic loop is used to pick up the received signal). These intentional radiator devices are covered by this standard (RSS-310) and shall comply with the limits and method of measurements prescribed in ICES-006.

10.4 Transmitters with input power of 6 nW or less

Any transmitter that has a power consumption (total input power into the device) not exceeding 6 nW is excluded from any ISED requirements and may operate on any radio frequency, including in the restricted frequency bands listed in RSS-Gen.

10.5 Band below 9 kHz

Radio apparatus operating at frequencies less than 9 kHz are excluded from any ISED requirements.

10.6 Band 9-490 kHz

Devices operating in the frequency band 9-490 kHz shall have all emissions, including the fundamental emission, at 40 dB below the general field strength limits listed in RSS-Gen.

10.7 Bands 26.96-27.28 MHz and 49.82-49.90 MHz

Devices operating in the bands 26.96-27.28 MHz and/or 49.82-49.90 MHz shall have their field strength not exceed 10 mV/m measured at 3 metres with an average detector or a CISPR quasi-peak detector.

Outside these bands, the general field strength limits listed in RSS-Gen shall apply.

Cordless telephones are not permitted to operate under this provision for the band 49.82-49.90 MHz.

10.8 Data modems

Data modems shall have unwanted emissions outside their intended bandwidth adequately suppressed. Modems may be classified as one of two classes described below.

10.8.1 Data modems for connection to the public switched telephone network (PSTN)

Data modems for connection to a PSTN shall comply with applicable requirements in CS-03, Compliance Specification for Terminal Equipment, Terminal Systems, Network Protection Devices, Connection Arrangements and Hearing Aids Compatibility and in DC-01, Procedure for Declaration of Conformity and Registration of Terminal Equipment.

10.8.2 Data modems for connection to radio transmitter

Stand-alone data modem (or part of a radio transmitter) to be used for connection to a radio transmitter’s data port shall comply with ICES-003, Information Technology Equipment (Including Digital Apparatus) — Limits and Methods of Measurement, as well as with the test described below.

The data modem must also contain suitable audio filters or employ pulse shaping to limit the frequency spectrum, and have a level adjustment capability so that the user can set the frequency deviation of the radio transmitter. It should also have impedance that matches the radio transmitter data port. A suitable test method is given below. The objectives of the test are for the modem manufacturer to ascertain whether the pulse shaping/audio filtering, together with the appropriate frequency deviation, will limit the wanted signal bandwidth, and for the said modem manufacturer to issue proper instructions to the user to adjust the frequency deviation.

Method of measurement

Step 1: Connect a data generator to the modem.

Step 2: Connect the modem to the data port of any type of radio transmitter that has been certified by ISED. Connect a spectrum analyzer to the RF output point of the transmitter.

Step 3: Set the data generator rate to the maximum for which the modem is rated, with a pseudo-random pattern of at least 2047 bits.

Step 4: The following information shall be marked on the spectrum plots and included in the test report: data bit and symbol rates; input voltage to the radio transmitter data port; the manufacturer’s name; as well as the model number of the data modem.

Unwanted emissions

The spectral density of unwanted emissions outside the intended passband of the radio channel shall be at least 20 dB below the in-band (or passband) spectral density as measured by a spectrum analyzer with a resolution bandwidth of approximately 1.0% of the radio transmitter's occupied bandwidth.

Labelling and user manual

Labelling shall comply with DC-01 procedure, as appropriate. In addition, the data modem user manual shall contain instructions on how to adjust the frequency deviation, and shall notify the user regarding the maximum bit and symbol rates that the modem is capable of handling.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

CNR-310 — Appareils radio exempts de licence : matériel de catégorie II

5e édition
Janvier 2020

 

Préface

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-310, 5e, Appareils radio exempts de licence : matériel de catégorie II, remplace la 4e édition du CNR-310, daté de juillet 2015.

Modifications principales :

  1. Retrait des exigences pour les dispositifs exploités dans la bande de 24 à 24,25 GHz, lesquels doivent maintenant être certifiés conformément au CNR-210, Appareils radio exempts de licence : matériel de catégorie I.
  2. Ajout d’une disposition relative à la période de transition.
  3. Référence au CNR-Gen, Exigences générales relatives à la conformité des appareils de radiocommunication pour le texte à insérer dans les manuels de l’utilisateur.
  4. Suppression de la disposition relative à l’étiquetage électronique du matériel; cette disposition fait maintenant partie du CNR-Gen.
  5. Suppression des exigences pour les récepteurs de la catégorie II; ces derniers sont désormais traités dans le CNR-Gen.
  6. Retrait de l’exemption de toute exigence pour les dispositifs sans fil infrarouges.
  7. Mise à jour des exigences relatives aux dispositifs à courant porteur alternatif (AC).
  8. Mise à jour des renseignements généraux.

Publication autorisée par le
ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et de l’Industrie

________________
Martin Proulx
Directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

1. Portée

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques établit les exigences applicables aux appareils radio utilisés à d’autres fins que la radiodiffusion et qui sont exempts de licence et de certification.

2. Période de transition

Le présent document entrera en vigueur à la date de sa publication sur le site Web d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE). Cependant, après sa publication, une période de transition de six mois sera accordée, période pendant laquelle la conformité au CNR-310, 5e ou 4e édition, sera acceptée. Passé ce délai, le matériel fabriqué, importé, distribué, loué, mis en vente ou vendu au Canada doit être conforme à la 5e édition.

On peut demander un exemplaire du CNR-310, 4e édition, par courriel.

3. Exigences de certification

Les appareils régis par la présente norme sont classés matériel de catégorie II. Conformément au paragraphe 21(5) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, le matériel de catégorie II est exempt de certification; par conséquent, un certificat d’acceptation technique (CAT) délivré par le Bureau d’homologation et de services techniques d’ISDE ou un certificat délivré par un organisme de certification (OC) n’est pas requis.

Conformément au paragraphe 4(3) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le fabricant, l’importateur et/ou le distributeur doit s’assurer que le matériel de catégorie II est conforme à toutes les procédures et normes applicables.

4. Exigences de délivrance de licences

Le matériel visé par la présente norme est exempté des exigences de délivrance de licences, conformément à l’article 15 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

5. Conformité au CNR-Gen

Le CNR-310 doit être utilisé conjointement avec le CNR-Gen, Exigences générales relatives à la conformité des appareils de radiocommunication, pour connaître les spécifications générales et l’information relative au matériel visé par la présente norme.

6. Rapport d’essai

Un rapport d’essai démontrant la conformité du matériel à toutes les exigences techniques applicables doit être produit. Ce rapport doit être préparé conformément aux dispositions du CNR-Gen, s’il y a lieu.

7. Exigences d’étiquetage

Chaque unité d’appareil radio doit porter une étiquette (voir la figure 1), qui reprsente l’autodéclaration de conformité du fabricant ou de l’importateur à la norme CNR-310 avant sa commercialisation ou son importation au Canada.

L’étiquette doit satisfaire aux exigences énoncées dans la présente section. Si une étiquette électronique est utilisée, elle doit respecter les exigences relatives à l’étiquetage électronique énoncées dans le CNR-Gen.

L’étiquette doit être apposée en permanence sur l’appareil ou affichée électroniquement et son libellé doit être clairement lisible. Si les dimensions de l’appareil sont extrêmement petites ou s’il n’est pas pratique d’apposer l’étiquette sur l’appareil et que l’étiquetage électronique ne peut être mis en œuvre, l’étiquette devra, après entente avec ISDE et avant l’importation ou la commercialisation de l’appareil, être placée à un endroit bien en vue dans le manuel de l’utilisateur fourni avec l’appareil. Le manuel de l’utilisateur peut être sous forme électronique. S’il n’est pas fourni à l’utilisateur, il doit être facilement accessible.

L’étiquette de conformité au CNR-310 n’est pas nécessaire pour les appareils radio de la catégorie II assujettis au CNR-310 qui font aussi partie des appareils radio de catégorie I (par exemple, un émetteur-récepteur dont le récepteur fait partie des appareils radio de catégorie II et dont l’émetteur fait partie de la catégorie I). Ces appareils sont toutefois soumis aux obligations d’étiquetage applicables aux appareils radio de catégorie I, telles que décrites dans le CNR-Gen.

Figure 1 : Étiquette de conformité au CNR-310

Nom du fabricant ou de la marque de commerce
Modèle : (numéro de modèle)
Canada 310

8. Manuel de l’utilisateur

Les appareils de radiocommunication visés par la présente norme doivent être conformes aux exigences du CNR-Gen relatives aux avis insérés dans le manuel de l’utilisateur accompagnant les appareils de radiocommunication exempts de licence. De plus, la fréquence porteuse et la puissance de sortie (ou l’intensité de champ et la distance de mesure) doivent être mentionnées dans le manuel de l’utilisateur.

9. Émissions dans les bandes de fréquences restreintes

Les appareils régis par la présente norme doivent être conformes aux dispositions du CNR-Gen relatives aux émissions produites dans les bandes de fréquences à usage restreint. Ces bandes sont répertoriées dans le CNR-Gen.

10. Exigences techniques

La présente section décrit les exigences techniques relatives à certains équipements.

10.1 Systèmes de radiocommunication souterrains

Les appareils radio souterrains soumis à cette norme sont composés de stations de base et/ou de répéteurs, d’appareils portatifs ou mobiles situés et exploités complètement en dessous de la surface de la terre, endroit qui n’est pas librement accessible au public telles que les mines.

10.1.1 Étiquetage et manuel de l’utilisateur

En plus des exigences d’étiquetage précisées à la section 7, le matériel doit porter une étiquette avec la mention

Pour installations souterraines seulement.

En plus des exigences relatives au manuel de l’utilisateur précisées à la section 8, ce dernier doit comporter une notice prévenant l’utilisateur de ne pas installer l’émetteur à proximité de toute ouverture débouchant à la surface du sol, et contenir des instructions afin de satisfaire aux exigences énoncées dans la présente section.

Les emplacements souterrains sont définis comme étant des emplacements situés complètement sous la surface du sol et n’étant pas librement accessibles au public. En conséquence, les appareils radio opérant dans les emplacements souterrains, comme les stations de métro, les stationnements souterrains ou les magasins de détail et les bureaux souterrains ne remplissent pas les conditions d’exemption de licence et requièrent la certification.

Les stations de base de surface, dont le seul moyen de communication est par câble, sont exemptes de licence et ne requiert pas la certification.

Les stations radio exploitées exclusivement sous la surface du sol non accessible au public sont soumis à cette norme et sont exemptes de licence. Ces stations sont exploitées à titre secondaire, sur une base de non-brouillage et de non-protection. Si des appareils radio de surface devaient subir du brouillage, l’exploitant du système souterrain doit prendre des mesures correctives immédiates pour éliminer le brouillage.

Bien que ces systèmes radio soient exempts de licence, les utilisateurs peuvent consulter le bureau de district local d’ISDE au sujet de leurs sélections de fréquences proposées. Ceci devrait ainsi prévenir l’exploitation de systèmes radio utilisant des canaux qui peuvent causer du brouillage aux services de sécurité et aider à repérer les systèmes qui émettent par inadvertance des signaux au-dessus du sol. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau de district.

10.1.2 Exigences techniques

Les systèmes radio souterrains exempts de licence ne sont pas limités quant au nombre de fréquences qu’ils peuvent utiliser. Par contre, les composantes fondamentales de modulation ne doivent pas être à l’intérieur des bandes de fréquences restreintes indiquées à la section « Bandes de fréquences restreintes » du CNR-Gen.

La puissance de sortie de l’émetteur ne devrait pas être supérieure à la puissance requise pour le bon fonctionnement du système et ne doit en aucun cas dépasser 110 W.

10.1.3 Exigences relatives à l’installation

À tout emplacement non défini comme un emplacement souterrain, les fuites de champs de RF provenant d’un système radio souterrain à la fréquence fondamentale ne doivent pas dépasser les limites générales d’intensité de champ spécifiées dans le CNR-Gen.

10.2 Matériel de localisation des câbles (bande de 9 à 490 kHz)

Ce matériel permet de localiser des câbles ou des conduites enterrées grâce, d’une part, à un signal de RF couplé en un point du câble ou de la conduite et, d’autre part, à l’utilisation d’un récepteur qui permet de détecter leur position. Ce type de matériel peut fonctionner sur toutes les fréquences dans la bande de 9 à 490 kHz, et la puissance de sortie (en termes de puissance de valeur crête) ne doit pas dépasser 10 W pour la bande de 9 à 45 kHz et 1,0 W pour la bande de 45 à 490 kHz, respectivement.

Le manuel de l’utilisateur doit être conforme aux exigences énoncées à la section 8 et contenir la notice suivante ou son équivalent :

L’utilisation de ce matériel est réservée exclusivement aux exploitants ayant reçu une formation spéciale. Le matériel n’est pas destiné à un usage résidentiel général. La durée d’utilisation doit être aussi brève que possible pour empêcher le brouillage éventuel à des services autorisés, en particulier sur la fréquence de 100 kHz réservée au eLoran.

10.3 Dispositifs à courant porteur exploités par ligne de transport de courant alternatif (c.a.) fonctionnant dans la bande de 0 à 30 MHz

Les dispositifs à courant porteur fonctionnant dans la bande de 0 à 30 MHz sont conçus pour être utilisés à l’intérieur d’un immeuble, en utilisant le courant alternatif (c.a.) de l’immeuble pour la propagation des signaux de RF. Les signaux sont générés par un émetteur/excitateur connecté au réseau électrique du bâtiment. Ces dispositifs font partie des catégories suivantes :

  1. Matériel brouilleur lorsque l’excitateur (émetteur) et le récepteur sont tous deux raccordés au réseau électrique c.a. et que tout rayonnement radioélectrique qu’ils produisent est non intentionnel. Cela comprend les dispositifs à courant porteur en ligne de large bande sur ligne électrique interne. Ces dispositifs sont régis par la NMB-006, Dispositifs à courants porteurs (rayonnement non intentionnel).
  2. Dispositifs à courant porteur fonctionnant dans la bande de radiodiffusion AM de 535 à 1 705 kHz, dont les émissions sont destinées aux récepteurs de radiodiffusion AM. Ces dispositifs sont à rayonnement intentionnel et régis par la NTMR-1, Normes et exigences techniques à l'égard des émetteurs d'annonces de faible puissance exploités dans les bandes de fréquences de 525 à 1 705 kHz et de 88 à 107,5 MHz.
  3. Dispositifs à courant porteur à rayonnement intentionnel lorsque l’excitateur est raccordé au réseau électrique c.a., alors que le récepteur ne l’est pas (p. ex., dans le cas d’une boucle magnétique utilisée pour capter le signal à la réception). Ces dispositifs à rayonnement intentionnel sont visés par la présente norme (CNR-310) et doivent satisfaire aux limites et méthode de mesure prescrites dans la NMB-006.

10.4 Émetteurs ayant une puissance d’entrée de 6 nW ou moins

Tout émetteur dont la puissance consommée (puissance d’entrée totale dans le dispositif) ne dépasse pas 6 nW n’est assujetti à aucune exigence d’ISDE et peut être exploité sur toutes radiofréquences, y compris les bandes de fréquences restreintes répertoriées dans le CNR-Gen.

10.5 Bande inférieure à 9 kHz

Les appareils radio utilisant des fréquences inférieures à 9 kHz ne sont assujettis à aucune exigence d’ISDE.

10.6 Bande de 9 à 490 kHz

Les dispositifs fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences de 9 à 490 kHz doivent émettre toutes les émissions, y compris l’émission fondamentale, à 40 dB en dessous des limites générales d’intensité de champ énumérées dans le CNR-Gen.

10.7 Bandes de 26,96 à 27,28 MHz et de 49,82 à 49,90 MHz

L’intensité de champ des dispositifs fonctionnant dans les bandes de 26,96 à 27,28 MHz et/ou de 49,82 à 49,90 MHz ne doit pas dépasser 10 mV/m, mesurée à 3 m à l’aide d’un détecteur de valeur moyenne ou d’un détecteur de quasi-crête CISPR.

À l’extérieur de ces bandes, les limites générales d’intensité de champ énumérées dans le CNR-Gen s’appliquent.

Les téléphones sans fil ne sont pas autorisés à fonctionner selon les conditions ci-dessus pour la bande de 49,82 à 49,90 MHz.

10.8 Modems de données

Les rayonnements non désirés des modems de données en dehors de la largeur de bande prévue doivent être dûment supprimés. Les modems font partie de l’une des deux catégories ci-dessous.

10.8.1 Modems de données connectés au réseau téléphonique commuté public (RTCP)

Les modems de données connectés à un RTPC doivent être conformes aux exigences applicables de la SC-03, Spécification de conformité relative aux équipements terminaux, aux systèmes terminaux, aux dispositifs de protection de réseau, aux dispositifs de connexion et aux appareils téléphoniques à combiné qui permettent le couplage avec des prothèses auditives et de la DC-01, Procédure de déclaration de conformité et d'enregistrement du matériel terminal.

10.8.2 Modems de données connectés à un émetteur radio

Si le modem de données est une unité autonome (ou fait partie d’un émetteur radio) et qu’il est destiné à être connecté au port de données d’un émetteur radio, il doit faire l’objet d’essais pour vérifier sa conformité à la Norme sur le matériel brouilleur NMB-003, Équipement de technologie de l’information, incluant les appareils numériques — Limites et méthodes de mesure; il doit également subir les essais décrits ci-dessous.

Le modem de données doit comporter des filtres audio appropriés ou utiliser la mise en forme des impulsions pour limiter le spectre de fréquences. Il doit également comporter des réglages permettant à l’utilisateur de régler l’excursion de fréquence de l’émetteur radio, ainsi que, préférablement, un circuit d’adaptation d’impédance avec le port de données de l’émetteur. Une méthode d’essai appropriée est présentée ci-dessous. Les essais permettent au fabricant du modem, d’une part, de vérifier que la mise en forme des impulsions et le filtrage audio, associés à une excursion de fréquence appropriée, limitent la largeur de bande du signal désiré et, d’autre part, ils permettent de donner à l’utilisateur les instructions pour le bon réglage de l’excursion de fréquence.

Méthode de mesure

1re étape : Connecter un générateur de données au modem.

2e étape : Connecter le modem au port de données de tout type d’émetteur radio certifié par ISDE. Connecter un analyseur de spectre à la sortie des RF de l’émetteur.

3e étape : Régler le débit de données du générateur à la valeur nominale maximale du modem; la configuration binaire doit être pseudo-aléatoire et comporter au moins 2 047 bits.

4e étape : Le fabricant doit indiquer les données ci-dessous sur les tracés spectraux et les conserver avec le rapport d’essai : débits de bits de données et de symboles; tension d’entrée au port de données de l’émetteur radio; nom du fabricant et numéro de modèle du modem de données.

Rayonnements non désirés

La densité spectrale des rayonnements non désirés à l’extérieur de la bande passante utile du canal radio doit être d’au moins 20 dB sous la densité spectrale de la bande passante, telle que mesurée avec un analyseur de spectre ayant une largeur de bande de résolution égale à environ 1,0 % de la largeur de bande occupée de l’émetteur radio.

Étiquetage et manuel de l’utilisateur

L’étiquetage doit être conforme aux dispositions de la procédure DC-01, selon le cas. En outre, le manuel de l’utilisateur du modem de données doit donner les instructions de réglage de l’excursion de fréquence et indiquer à l’utilisateur la capacité du modem quant aux débits de bits et de symboles maximaux.

Date de modification :