SP-746 — Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz

4. Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety

The June 2001 consultation paper proposed that a modest amount of spectrum in the frequency band 746-806 MHz should be identified for public safety and possibly commercial mobile service taking into account the DTV transition. Since the issuance of the consultation paper in June 2001, much has happened to heighten the needs of all nations to protect the safety and security of their citizens at home and abroad. There has been a significant increase in the urgency and critical need for common spectrum for public safety and national security for many applications and across several frequency bands. Hence, there is a pressing need for the Department to designate some spectrum for public safety use.2

In March 2002, the Department convened a two-day conference under the auspices of the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC). The purpose of this conference was to discuss ways to improve Canada's public safety radiocommunication systems. Among the issues debated were the required spectrum, technical standards and operational practices to facilitate the interoperability of public safety systems at domestic and international levels.

On June 12, 2002 the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) released a licensing policy framework to oversee the transition from analog to digital over-the-air television broadcasting in Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC 2002-31. The Commission issued a regulatory framework for the implementation of high-definition television in Canada with the anticipation that digital television would be a full replacement for analogue television.3 The implementation and the speed of transition to DTV will be influenced very much by the market place.

Since the issuance of gazette notice DGTP-004-01, the Department carried out a study of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan and in particular in the frequency sub-bands 764-770 MHz, 770-776 MHz, 794-800 MHz and 800-806 MHz 4 to identify spectrum that could be re-arranged for public safety operations. Negotiations were also carried out with the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in the United States to assess possible changes to the allotments listed in the Canada/US Letter of Understanding on DTV and to the DTV Transition Allotment Plan. These discussions were necessary to release spectrum for public safety and the future coordination and sharing of mobile service spectrum along the border area.

In the longer term, as the transition of digital television progresses, the Department will consult on opening up more mobile spectrum for public safety and commercial mobile applications in the band 746-806 MHz.5 In specific regard to public safety applications, this consultation would be concerned with the sub-bands 770-776 MHz and 800-806 MHz (TV channels 64 and 69).

4.1 DTV Transition Allotment Plan Study for Potential Public Safety Spectrum

On July 10, 2002, the Department sent a letter to the CRTC to indicate that the Department needed additional time to carry out studies of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan for TV channel pairs 63/68 and 64/69 in order to find potential spectrum for public safety.6 A temporary moratorium on issuing broadcasting certificates was imposed for these studies.

Industry Canada addressed the viability of designating television channel pairs 63/68 and 64/69 for public safety in the near term as the transition was beginning to digital television. As a result, it was determined that designating spectrum from one pair of TV channels would meet the pressing need of public safety and at the same time would not restrict the DTV transition. The Department concluded that the potential for meeting the these pressing needs could be better realized in TV channel pair 63/68. The allotments of TV channel pair 63/68 could be re-assigned to release spectrum for public safety. TV channel pair 64/69, however, was too heavily assigned with analogue/DTV allotments to be practically re-assigned.

The Department concluded that enabling the designation of television channels 63/68 for public safety would require some adjustments to existing allotments in the allotment plan. The allotment plan would need to provide new channel allotments for one NTSC7 station operating in channel 68 and for 14 planned DTV assignments allotted in television channels 63 and 68. The Department proceeded to accommodate these allotment adjustments to the DTV Transition Allotment Plan in consultation with the FCC. Annex 1 provides the list of allotment adjustments within the Canada/US coordination zone that were affected and consequently provided a replacement channel allotment.

Based on the conclusion that a re-arrangement of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan is feasible, the Department informed the CRTC and the broadcasting industry of its decision on March 10, 2003 to designate spectrum sub bands 764-770 MHz and 794-800 MHz for public safety (television channels 63 and 68 respectively).8 The Department imposed a permanent moratorium on the certification of broadcasting facilities in these two channels. In addition, the Department indicated that the implementation of the public safety use in this spectrum would be based on suitable service coordination with broadcasting facilities operating in adjacent TV channels.

The Department has discussed these changes to the DTV Transition Allotment Plan with affected broadcasters. The Department also contracted technical inter-service studies.9 These contracted studies will assist in the establishment of technical criteria so that broadcasters and public safety users can co-existence in adjacent spectrum.

Notification Process

Based on emerging public safety applications and commitments to implement services and prior to the Department undertaking a formal process to authorize the use of spectrum in channels 63 and 68 for public safety applications, the Department will provide a notification period of two years for the re-arrangement of one NTSC station in operation.

It is noted that broadcasting undertakings and corresponding channel allotments affected by the future use of spectrum in channels 63 and 68 for public safety applications, have been re-allotted replacement channels in accordance with Annex 1, for both NTSC and DTV channels.

In summary, the Department has designated the sub-bands 764-770 MHz and 794-800 MHz i.e. television channels 63 and 68, for public safety operations. Although the DTV Transition Allotment Plan has been re-arranged in cooperation with the U.S. to accommodate existing NTSC stations and DTV allotments in other channels, the list in Annex 1 is yet to be officially ratified by the U.S. Federal Communications Commission. Technical requirements will be developed to permit co-existence of broadcasting and public safety uses in adjacent spectrum.

4.2 Interference Mitigation Between Public Safety and the Broadcasting Service

The Department contracted two engineering studies to assess the potential for interference between the broadcasting and mobile services for applications such as those for public safety. The results of these studies may assist the Department in the development of suitable interference protection criteria and technical standards.

4.2.1 Protection of NTSC and DTV Broadcasting Operations from Public Safety Operations in TV Channels 63 and 68

The Communications Research Centre (CRC) study10 assessed the impact of public safety communications on broadcasting stations. To assist the Department in developing suitable interference protection criteria (wide band and narrow band mobile channels), this study had to evaluate interference from mobile base stations and mobile terminals of public safety services to analogue and digital broadcasting stations.

The objective of the contract was to help establish and propose interference protection criteria that would accommodate NTSC and DTV broadcasting facilities and permit the operation of public safety services on the designated frequency bands. In addition, a proposal on how to reuse the spectrum (co-channel and adjacent channels, wide band and narrow band) was required.

4.2.2 Protection of Public Safety Operations in Televisions Channels 63 and 68 from NTSC and DTV Broadcasting Operations in Adjacent Channels

The Lapp-Hancock and Associates study 11 assessed the impact of broadcasting stations on public safety communications. To assist the Department in developing suitable interference protection criteria (wide band and narrow band mobile channels), this study had to evaluate interference from analogue and digital broadcasting to land mobile base stations and mobile terminals used to provide public safety services.

The objective of the contract was to help establish and propose interference protection criteria that would permit public safety operations on the designated frequency bands. Also, this could identify the amount of spectrum that could be used in paired television channels 63 and 68 for public safety purposes. In addition, the established criteria would consider any guard band spectrum that may be needed to allow such use.

The Department will permit the use of spectrum in channels 63 and 68 for public safety operations under suitable technical and operational parameters including interference mitigation criteria.

4.3 A Case for Interoperability — Fostering Equipment Standards For a Multiplicity of Equipment Manufacturers

On March 27 and 28, 2002, a National Public Safety Radiocommunications Conference brought together public safety users of spectrum, service providers and manufacturers and government policy makers to discuss how to improve the ability of the public safety community to communicate more effectively and efficiently. Among the benefits that this dialogue stimulated over the two days was the summary report commissioned by the Department and prepared by Pricewaterhousecoopers (PWC). Of the key issues raised by all participants, the PWC summary pointed out that functionality in public safety radiocommunication systems was a major issue. In addition, PWC suggested that Industry Canada could encourage the community of public safety users to plan, share and coordinate their common spectrum needs. This could require the sharing of common blocks of spectrum based on co-ordination criteria among user groups. These approaches would lead to the effective implementation of the spectrum and contribute to its efficient use.

The Department understands interoperability to mean the ability of public safety officials from different organizations to exchange information by radio according to a planned and set method. The Department also understands that the authority for Canadian public safety services occurs at several levels (municipal/regional, provincial/territorial, and national). As such, the Department recognizes that interoperable communications links are either multi-jurisdictional (involving public safety agencies having different geographical areas of responsibility) or multi-disciplinary (involving two or more different public safety agencies) in nature. An example of multi-jurisdiction communication includes a fire department from one city communicating with a fire department from another city. An example of multi-disciplinary communication includes a fire department communicating with a police department. In addition, the Department acknowledges that interoperable communications are required for day-to-day operations, large emergencies/events and in times of crises.

To achieve an appropriate level of interoperability and to meet the spectrum requirements, any new spectrum will need to be designated and authorized with specific conditions. Such conditions will include the need to support a multiplicity of radio equipment manufacturers and following a common standard to ensure interoperability and a successful uptake of any new spectrum. Consequently a number of technical and licensing conditions will need to be explored. The Department will need to explore the development of technical and licensing criteria that meet the needs of public safety users and encourage the adoption of a common equipment standard for public safety use. This approach will make interoperable public safety system communications more feasible in a harmonized North American equipment market.

4.4 The U.S. Band Plan

The U.S. band plan for public safety is based on 24 MHz of spectrum at the 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz bands. Within each of the four 6 MHz blocks of spectrum (formerly TV channels), the spectrum is separated into narrow band (6.25 kHz channels) and wide band (50 kHz channels) segments. Furthermore, the U.S. designated the public safety spectrum for use as follows: 12.5 MHz for General Use, 2.6 MHz for Interoperability, 2.4 MHz for State Licences, 0.3 MHz for Low Power, 0.2 MHz for secondary trunking and 6.0 MHz for Reserve.12 All transmitters in this band must use digital modulation.


Footnotes

2 Spectrum Utilization Policy 30-896 MHz, Part 1 (May 1990) defines safety services. Standard Radio System Policy 502, Issue 4 further defines a hierarchy of safety service users such as:

  1. Category 1 - police, fire and emergency medical services;
  2. Category 2 - forestry, public works, public transit, dangerous chemical clean-up, customs and other agencies contributing to public safety; and
  3. Category 3 - Other government agencies and certain non-government agencies.

3 "...the Commission's preliminary view expressed in Public Notice 2001-62 was that DTV should be introduced in Canada as a replacement technology, rather than as a new technology that would simply take its place alongside the existing analog system. Although there was some discussion about the particulars, there was overall support for this approach. Accordingly, it is the Commission's determination that: Digital technology will be treated as a replacement for analog technology." (Section 7 of Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC 2002-31).

4 TV channel pairs 63/68 and 64/69 respectively.

5 TV channels 60-69.

6 See the following Web address for a related letter to the CRTC regarding Implementing Digital Television Broadcasting (DTV) within the DTV Transition Allotment Plan.

7 NTSC stands for National Television System Committee, which developed the NTSC television broadcast system standard in 1953.

8 See the following Web address for a related letter to the CRTC regarding an update of the studies to identify spectrum for public safety in television channels 60-69.

9 See the following Web address for the contracted studies regarding broadcasting and public safety spectrum.

10 A summary of the Communications Research Centre (CRC) study, The Effects of Narrow band and Wide band Public Safety Mobile Systems Operation (in television channels 63/68) on DTV and NTSC Broadcasting in TV Channels 60-69 (746 MHz - 806 MHz) may be viewed may be viewed at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf09068.html.

11 A summary of the Lapp-Hancock and Associates study, Interference Assessment and Development of Interference Protection Criteria to Protect Public Safety Operations and Enable Spectrum Sharing with NTSC and DTV Broadcasting in TV Channels 60-69 (746-806 MHz) may be viewed at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf07035.html.

12 See the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 47-Telecommunication, Part 90-Private Land Mobile Radio Services, Paragraph 90.531 (Band Plan).

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS-746 — Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz

4. Désignation de fréquences pour la sécurité publique

Le document de consultation de juin 2001 proposait que quelques fréquences de la bande 746-806 MHz soient désignées pour la sécurité publique et peut-être pour le service mobile commercial tout en tenant compte de la transition à la télévision numérique. Suite aux événements qui ont eu lieu depuis la publication du document de consultation en juin 2001, les pays ont senti le besoin d'améliorer la protection et la sécurité publique de leurs citoyens, à la maison comme à l'étranger. Le besoin de fréquences communes pour la sécurité publique et la sécurité nationale est devenu de plus en plus urgent et critique aux fins de nombreuses applications dans plusieurs bandes de fréquences. De ce fait, le Ministère doit rapidement désigner des fréquences à l'intention de la sécurité publique2.

En mars 2002, le Ministère a convoqué une conférence de deux jours sous l'égide du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR). Cette conférence avait pour but de discuter des différentes façons d'améliorer les systèmes canadiens de radiocommunications de sécurité publique. Les sujet abordés étaient entre autres les fréquences nécessaires, les normes techniques et les pratiques opérationnelles qui pourraient faciliter l'interopérabilité des systèmes de sécurité publique aux niveaux national et international.

Le 12 juin 2002, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a publié, dans l'Avis d'audience publique de radiodiffusion CRTC 2002-31, un cadre de politique d'attribution de licence visant à assurer la transition du mode analogique au mode numérique de la télédiffusion en direct. Le Conseil a établi un cadre de réglementation pour la mise en oeuvre de la télévision à haute définition au Canada avec l'intention que la télévision numérique remplace entièrement la télévision analogique3. La mise en oeuvre et la rapidité de la transition à la télévision numérique seront grandement influencées par le marché.

Depuis la publication de l'avis de la Gazette DGTP-004-01, le Ministère a mené une étude du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour le télévision numérique (TVN) et particulièrement des sous-bandes de fréquences 764-770 MHz, 770-776 MHz, 794-800 MHz et 800-806 MHz4 afin de trouver des fréquences qui pourraient être ré-organisées pour les opérations de sécurité publique. Des négociations ont aussi été menées avec la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) des États-Unis afin d'évaluer les modifications possibles à apporter aux attributions faisant partie de la lettre d'entente entre le Canada et les États-Unis portant sur la télévision numérique et au Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour le télévision numérique (TVN). Ces discussions étaient nécessaires pour pouvoir libérer des fréquences pour la sécurité publique et pour la coordination et le partage à venir des fréquences du service mobile dans les zones le long des frontières.

À plus long terme, pendant la transition à la télévision numérique, le Ministère ira en consultation afin de voir s'il est possible de libérer plus de fréquences du service mobile pour la sécurité publique et pour les applications du service mobile commercial dans la bande 746-806 MHz5. Pour ce qui est spécifiquement des applications de la sécurité publique, la consultation portera sur les sous-bandes 770-776 MHz et 800-806 MHz (canaux de télévision 64 et 69).

4.1 Étude du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) dans le but de trouver des fréquences potentielles pour la sécurité publique

Le 10 juillet 2002, le Ministère a envoyé une lettre au CRTC afin de lui indiquer qu'il avait besoin de plus de temps pour mener les études du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour le télévision numérique (TVN) sur les paires canaux de télévision 63/68 et 64/69 dans le but de trouver des fréquences potentielles pour la sécurité publique6. Un moratoire temporaire sur l'émission de certificats de radiodiffusion a été imposé pour permettre ces études.

Industrie Canada a examiné la viabilité de la désignation à court terme des paires des canaux de télévision 63/68 et 64/69 pour la sécurité publique alors que débute la transition à la télévision numérique. Il a alors été déterminé que la désignation des fréquences d'une paire de canaux de télévision répondrait au besoin urgent de la sécurité publique sans que cela ne restreigne la transition à la télévision numérique. Le Ministère a conclu que les fréquences pouvant répondre à ces besoins urgents étaient celles de la paire de canaux de télévision 63/68. Les allotissements de la paire de canaux de télévision 63/68 peuvent être réassignés pour libérer des fréquences pour la sécurité publique. La paire de canaux de télévision 64/69, toutefois, était trop assignée pour des allotissements de la télévision analogique/numérique pour pouvoir être réassignée.

Le Ministère a conclu que pour permettre la désignation des canaux de télévision 63/68 pour les services de sécurité publique, il serait nécessaire d'apporter des modifications aux allotissements actuels du Plan d'allotissement. Le Plan d'allotissement devait offrir de nouveaux allotissements de canaux pour une station NTSC7 exploitant le canal 68 et pour 14 assignations prévues de télévision numérique dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68. En consultation avec la FCC, le Ministère a effectué des changements à ces allotissements dans le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique. L'annexe 1 du présent document offre la liste des modifications des allotissements qui ont été touchés et des allotissement de canal de remplacement dans la zone de coordination Canada-États-Unis.

Suite à la conclusion qu'un réaménagement du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique était possible, le Ministère a informé le CRTC et l'industrie de la radiodiffusion de sa décision, le 10 mars 2003, de désigner les sous-bandes de fréquences 764-770 MHz et 794-800 MHz pour la sécurité publique (canaux de télévision 63 et 68 respectivement)8. Le Ministère a imposé un moratoire permanent sur la certification d'installations de radiodiffusion pour ces deux canaux. De plus, le Ministère a indiqué que la mise en oeuvre de l'exploitation de ces fréquences par la sécurité publique sera basée sur une coordination de service convenable avec les installations de radiodiffusion exploitant les canaux de télévision adjacents.

Le Ministère a discuté des modifications au Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique avec les radiodiffuseurs touchés. Le Ministère a également passé des marchés pour des études techniques entre services.9 Ces études à contrat aideront à établir les critères techniques qui permettront aux radiodiffuseurs et aux services de sécurité publique de coexister dans des fréquences adjacentes.

Procédure de notification

Étant donné les nouvelles applications de la sécurité publique et l'engagement envers la mise en oeuvre des services, et avant qu'il ne mette en marche le processus d'autorisation de l'exploitation des fréquences dans les canaux 63 et 68 pour les applications de la sécurité publique, le Ministère donnera un préavis de deux ans pour la réorganisation de la station NTSC en exploitation.

Il est à noter que les entreprises de radiodiffusion dont les allotissements de canaux sont touchés par la prochaine utilisation des fréquences des canaux 63 et 68 pour des applications de sécurité publique ont reçu de nouveaux canaux conformément à l'annexe 1, et ce, pour les canaux TVN et NTSC.

Bref, le Ministère a désigné les sous-bandes 764-770 MHz et 794-800 MHz, c'est-à-dire les canaux de télévision 63 et 68, pour les activités aux opérations de la sécurité publique. Bien que le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique ait été réorganisé en coopération avec les États-Unis pour accueillir les stations NTSC et les allotissements de TVN actuels dans d'autres canaux, la liste de l'annexe 1 doit être officiellement ratifiée par la FCC (Federal Communications Commission) américaine. Des exigences techniques seront établies afin de permettre la coexistence des services de radiodiffusion et de sécurité publique dans des fréquences adjacentes.

4.2 Atténuation du brouillage entre les services de sécurité publique et de radiodiffusion

Le Ministère a commandé deux études techniques pour évaluer le brouillage potentiel entre le service de radiodiffusion et le service mobile dans le cas d'applications comme celles de la sécurité publique. Les résultats de ces études pourront aider le Ministère à établir les critères de protection contre le brouillage et les normes techniques convenables.

4.2.1 Protection des activités de radiodiffusion NTSC et TVN contre les activités de sécurité publique dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68

L'étude du Centre de recherche sur les communications (CRC)10 a évalué l'impact des communications de sécurité publique sur les stations de radiodiffusion. Afin d'aider le Ministère à établir les critères convenables de protection contre le brouillage (canaux à large bande et à bande étroite du service mobile), l'étude devait évaluer le brouillage par les stations de base du service mobile et les terminaux mobiles des services de sécurité publique des stations de radiodiffusion analogique et numérique.

L'objectif du contrat était de proposer et d'aider à établir des critères de protection contre le brouillage permettant l'exploitation des installations de radiodiffusion NTSC et TVN tout en permettant l'exploitation des services de sécurité publique dans les bandes de fréquences désignées. De plus, une proposition sur la réutilisation des fréquences (même canal et canaux adjacent, large bande et bande étroite) a été demandée.

4.2.2 Protection des activités de sécurité publique dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 contre les activités de radiodiffusion NTSC et TVN dans les canaux adjacents

L'étude de Lapp-Hancock and Associates11 portait sur l'évaluation de l'impact des stations de radiodiffusion sur les radiocommunications de sécurité publique. Afin d'aider le Ministère à établir des critères convenables de protection contre le brouillage (canaux à large bande et à bande étroite des services mobiles), cette étude devait évaluer le brouillage par les stations de radiodiffusion analogique et numérique des stations de base du service mobile et des terminaux mobiles servant aux services de sécurité publique.

L'objectif du contrat était de proposer et d'aider à établir des critères de protection contre le brouillage qui permettraient l'exploitation de services de sécurité publique dans les bandes de fréquences désignées. L'objectif était également d'identifier la quantité de spectre pouvant être utilisée dans les paires de canaux de télévision 63 et 68 aux fins de la sécurité publique. De plus, les critères établis devaient tenir compte de toute bande de garde pouvant être nécessaire pour permettre une telle utilisation.

Le Ministère permettra l'exploitation des fréquences des canaux 63 et 68 aux fins des activités de sécurité publique selon des paramètres techniques et opérationnels convenables, y compris des critères d'atténuation de brouillage.

4.3 Argument en faveur de l'interopérabilité - Promotion de normes relatives au matériel pour une multiplicité de fabricants de matériel

Le 27 et 28 mars 2002 a eu lieu une conférence nationale sur les radiocommunications des services de sécurité publique, où étaient réunis des utilisateurs du spectre des services de sécurité publique, des fournisseurs de services, des fabricants et des décideurs gouvernementaux pour discuter de la façon d'améliorer les communications des services de sécurité publique afin qu'elles soient plus efficaces. Un des aspects positifs qui est ressorti de ces deux jours de discussions est le rapport sommaire réalisé à la demande du Ministère et préparé par PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC). Parmi les points apportés par les participants, le rapport de PwC souligne que la fonctionalité des systèmes de radiocommunications de la sécurité publique est un élément majeur. De plus, PwC suggère qu'Industrie Canada encourage les utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique à planifier, à partager et à coordonner leur besoins communs de fréquences. Cela pourrait demander le partage de blocs de fréquences basé sur des critères de coordination entre les groupes d'utilisateurs. Ces méthodes mèneront à la mise en oeuvre efficace des fréquences et contribueront à une utilisation efficiente.

Le Ministère comprend également que les autorités responsables des services de sécurité publique se trouvent à plusieurs niveaux au Canada (villes, municipalités, provinces et territoires, régions et ensemble du pays). C'est pourquoi il reconnaît que les liaisons de radiocommunications interopérables sont soit multi-juridictionnelles (c'est-à-dire des organismes de sécurité publique responsables de différentes zones géographiques), soit pluridisciplinaires (c'est-à-dire deux ou plusieurs différents organismes de sécurité publique). Le service d'incendie d'une ville communiquant avec le service d'incendie d'une autre ville est un exemple de radiocommunications multi-juridictionnelles. Le service d'incendie communiquant avec le service de police est un exemple de radiocommunications pluridisciplinaires. De plus, le Ministère reconnaît que des radiocommunications interopérables sont nécessaires pour les opérations quotidiennes, lors des urgences ou d'événements importants ainsi qu'en temps de crise.

Afin d'atteindre un niveau d'interopérabilité adéquat et pour répondre aux exigences d'utilisation des fréquences, toute nouvelle fréquence devra être assignée et autorisée sous des conditions spécifiques. Ces conditions sont, entre autres, la compatibilité avec une multiplicité de fabricants d'équipement radio et le respect des normes communes qui assureront l'interopérabilité et la possibilité d'exploitation des nouvelles fréquences. C'est pourquoi certaines conditions techniques et d'autorisation devront être examinées. Le Ministère devra envisager le développement de critères techniques et d'autorisation qui répondent aux besoins des utilisateurs de la sécurité publique et qui encouragent l'adoption de normes communes pour l'équipement utilisé par la sécurité publique. Ainsi, l'interopérabilité des systèmes de radiocommunications des systèmes de sécurité publique sera davantage possible dans un marché d'équipement nord-américain harmonisé.

4.4 Plan de bande des É.-U.

Le plan de bande américain pour la sécurité publique attribue 24 MHz de spectre dans les bandes 764-776 MHz et 794-806 MHz. Dans les quatre blocs de fréquences de 6 MHz (anciennement des canaux de télévision), les fréquences sont divisées en bande étroite (canaux de 6,25 kHz) et en bande large (canaux de 50 kHz). De surcroît, les États-Unis ont désigné les fréquences de sécurité publique pour fins d'utilisation comme suit : 12,5 MHz pour l'utilisation générale, 2,6 MHz pour l'interopérabilité, 2,4 MHz pour les licences d'États, 0,3 MHz pour les applications de faible puissance, 0,2 MHz pour le partage secondaire et 6,0 MHz en réserve.12 Tous les émetteurs dans cette bande doivent avoir recours la modulation numérique.


Renvois

2 La Partie 1 de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 30-896 MHz (mai 1990) définit les services de sécurité. Le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens 502, 4e édition définit de façon détaillée la hiérarchie des utilisateurs des services de sécurité selon les catégories suivantes :

  1. catégorie 1 - services de police, d'incendie et d'urgence médicale;
  2. catégorie 2 - foresterie, travaux publics, transports publics, nettoyage de produits chimiques dangereux, douanes et autres organismes contribuant à assurer la sécurité du public.
  3. catégorie 3 -autres organismes publics et certains organismes privés.

3 « ...le Conseil a, dans l'avis public 2001-62, fait la proposition préliminaire selon laquelle la TVN devrait être implantée au Canada comme une technologie de remplacement et non simplement comme une technologie qui coexisterait avec le système analogique. Bien qu'il y ait eu des discussions sur certains aspects, cette approche a reçu l'appui général. En conséquence, le Conseil formule l'énoncé suivant : La technologie numérique sera traitée comme une technologie de remplacement du système analogique. » (section 7, Avis publique de radiodiffusion CRTC 2002-31).

4 Paires de canaux de télévision 63/68 et 64/69, respectivement.

5 Canaux de télévision 60-69.

6 La lettre addressée au CRTC concernant la mise en oeuvre de la télévision numérique (TVN) aux termes du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique.

7 NTSC signifie National Television System Committee, comité qui a établi les normes des systèmes de télédiffusion NTSC en 1953.

8 On peut voir une lettre adressée au CRTC concernant la mise à jour des études visant à déterminer le spectre pour la sécurité publique sur les canaux de télévision 60-69.

9 Un sommaire présenté par les consultants sur les effets de l'exploitation des systèmes mobiles de sécurité publique.

10 Consulter le résumé de l'étude du Centre de recherche sur les communications (CRC), Effets de l'exploitation des systèmes mobiles de sécurité publique à bande étroite et à large bande (dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68) sur la radiodiffusion TVN et NTSC dans les canaux de télévision 60 à 69 (746 MHz à 806 MHz).

11 Consulter le résumé de l'étude de Lapp-Hancock and Associates, Évaluation du brouillage et établissement de critères de protection contre le brouillage pour protéger les services de sécurité publique et leur permettre de partager des fréquences avec les services de radiodiffusion ntsc et tvn dans les canaux 60 à 69 (746 à 806 MHz).

12 Voir le Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) américain, Title 47 - Telecommunication, partie 90- Private Land Mobile Radio Services, paragraphe 90.531 (intitulé Band Plan).

Date de modification :