SP-746 — Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz

4.5 Technical and Licensing Considerations

In addition to the technical criteria that needs to be considered to permit public safety to use spectrum in sub-bands 764-770 MHz and 794-800 MHz, there are licensing criteria that must be developed, for example, to encourage public safety users to roll out effective spectrum sharing plans among similar users and to promote interoperability. The following issues are raised to assist the Department in developing the licensing, technical and operational requirements to oversee the orderly release of this spectrum:

  1. What common/open standard could be encouraged, that would foster interoperable mobile systems for public safety operations? Should this be an APCO 13 sanctioned standard? And if so, should this standard, with all its suites of technical criteria be applied in the bands 764-770 MHz and 794-600 MHz to only interoperability channels or to all public safety channels and if not, why and which technical criteria should be applied?
  2. Should interoperability on a domestic and Canada/US basis be a prerequisite to licensing and if so, what criteria should be applied?
  3. What planning and authorization mechanism should be used to ensure that public safety users are successfully accommodated? 14
  4. Should public safety users have to submit a spectrum and system plan that accommodates public safety users in defined areas in order to justify an authorization? What information and commitments should be required in an overall plan?
  5. In order to foster a common communications system to accommodate public safety, should the Department insist on common service plans on a regional or national basis in various regions of Canada before licences are granted anywhere else in Canada to any public safety user?
  6. What level of harmonization with the U.S. band plan is appropriate i.e. should the Department define the same specific service applications such as low power, interoperability, wide-area systems etc.?
  7. Does the current description of public safety services as previously referenced in footnote 2 cover all critical safety and services for public safety spectrum?

The Department welcomes comments from interested parties on these questions and any other related matters.

4.6 Next Steps

The Department anticipates that the use of sub-bands 764-770 MHz and 794-800 MHz for public safety will be based on the availability of mobile radio equipment and equipment interoperability standards. This would be supported through clearly defined licensing criteria and conditions. The technical and operational standards will be developed to ensure that the broadcasting and public safety uses can co-existence in adjacent spectrum.

Canada/U.S. Sharing Arrangement for Public Safety

Industry Canada, as part of its ongoing dialogue with the FCC, will negotiate a bilateral frequency sharing arrangement to guide the future implementation of mobile service applications as spectrum becomes available while meeting the objectives of DTV Transition Allotment Plan. At this time, only television channels 63 and 68 are being designated for public safety use in Canada. As such, these frequency sharing discussions will be conducted in a manner which anticipates that more spectrum will eventually be released in Canada for mobile applications, after the DTV transition and subject to further public consultation. Until that time, spectrum sharing discussions will fully adhere to the principles established in the DTV Transition Allotment Plan and the Letter of Understanding Between the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and Industry Canada Related to the Use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz, 470-806 MHz Bands for the Digital Television Broadcasting Service Along the Common Border.

5. Further Consideration: Facilitating Advanced Communications in Remote Rural and Northern Communities

It has been the long standing approach of the Department to facilitate advanced communications services in high cost serving areas such as remote rural and northern communities. Often, flexible approaches have been adopted for the use of spectrum, including spectrum policy allocation, designation, and technical standards perspectives. Mobile spectrum has been used in non-congested areas for fixed telephone services. Broadcasting spectrum has been used for distance trunking of over-the-air broadcasting and for the use of television channels to provide wireless cable television-like services in small isolated communities where cable does not exist. Flexible use has also been made of fixed Multipoint Communication System (MCS) spectrum to extend Multipoint Distribution Service (MDS) broadcasting operations. MDS broadcasting spectrum has also been used to extend fixed broadband Internet applications.

The Department has also enabled broadcasting spectrum to be used to accommodate ancillary non-broadcasting services such as data casting. The Department has permitted some mixed fixed and mobile service applications recognizing that while the predominant service may be either fixed or mobile in nature, from a practical radio system perspective, each service can use some portion of the other to effectively delivery its primary service. To this end, the Department has also relaxed technical standards, antenna requirements, channelling plans, etc. in what is known as a geographical differences policy.

The Department anticipates that in certain remote rural and northern communities, significant spectrum allocated to television broadcasting in channels 2 to 59 will remain unused/unallotted. Due to a demographic reality, this spectrum will likely remain unused for the delivery of terrestrial analogue and digital television in these areas. As has been noted, the Department has previously afforded greater flexibility to use spectrum to facilitate advanced communications services in remote rural and northern communities. Consequently, there may be an opportunity in this instance, for broadcasters and other interested parties to make use of this unused spectrum to facilitate advanced communications services.

The Department is pre-disposed to study and consider the potential use of unused/unallotted television broadcasting spectrum in channels 2 to 59, in sparsely populated areas to extend access to advanced broadcasting and telecommunications services, including broadband Internet access and wireless broadcast distribution. However, regardless of any such study, it is still the intent of the Department to pursue the longer term goals and subsequent policy consultations to align the remaining portions of television channels 60 to 69 with those of the United States, for public safety and commercial mobile applications.

The Department seeks comments on the types of advanced broadcasting and telecommunications services, that could be extended to Canadians in rural and remote communities, which find opportunity in unused spectrum on either an experimental, temporary or permanent basis. Specifically, given the significant amount of television broadcasting spectrum that it neither used, nor allotted, in rural and remote communities in channels 2 to 59, the Department seeks comments on:

  1. the potential uses of this spectrum to provide advanced communications including broadband Internet access and wireless broadcast distribution; and
  2. whether temporary or permanent authorization should be granted and if so, in either case under what conditions.

6. Implementation

Based on the results of the public consultation initiated in this document and further internal evaluation, Industry Canada will encourage the development of an open technical equipment standard. It will also encourage licensing conditions that would, in the public interest, lead to the effective deployment of the proposed spectrum designations and promote both Canada/US and domestic interoperability among public safety users.

The Department will continue to study and conduct further consultations towards the longer term implementation of spectrum use by radio services for public safety and commercial mobile applications in the band 746-806 MHz (television channels 60 to 69). The Department will use the preliminary comments on the facilitation of advanced communications services in unused television broadcasting spectrum (channels 2 to 59) in remote rural and northern communities to make future proposals that develop this spectrum resource to meet Canadian needs.

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Robert W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch


Annex 1 — Television Channel Allotment Replacements for Regular Power NTSC and DTV Stations

Television Channel Allotment Replacements for Regular Power NTSC and DTV Stations
NTSC
Channel
DTV Channel City Call Class NTSC Class DTV NTSC
Replacement
Channel
DTV
Replacement
Channel

Coverage Areas By Class of Station:
A (25 km); B (45 km); C (70 km); VU (82 km); VL (89 km)

* -10 dB effective radiated power reduction toward Saginaw, Michigan
** Outside the Canada/US coordination zone

68 67 Sarnia-Oil Springs, ON CBLFT-17 B B 17  
3 63 Halifax, NS CBHT VL VL    54
48 63 Chatham, ON CBLFT-10 B B   12
32 63 Kingston, ON CBLFT-14 C C   22
19 63 Toronto, ON CICA-TV C C   51
36 63 Gatineau (Secteur Hull), QC CFGS-TV C C   49
9 63 Sherbrooke, QC CKSH-TV VU VU   55
8 63 Inverness, NS ** CBIT-19 C C   53
6 68 Victoria, BC CHEK-TV VL VL   43
43 68 Ottawa, ON CHRO-TV-43 C C   17
9 68 Sudbury, ON CKNC-TV VU VU   35
47 68 Toronto, ON CFMT-TV C C   64
32 68 Windsor, ON CICO-TV-32 C C   25*
24 68 Sherbrooke, QC CIVS-TV C C   65
4 68 Sydney, NS** CJCB-TV VL VL   55

Footnotes

13 Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO).

14 A number of licensing mechanisms are available to the Minister of Industry to assign frequencies. The "First-Come, First-Served" (FCFS) approach is used in instances where there is sufficient spectrum to meet the anticipated demand in a given frequency band and where there is no additional measure required to advance particular telecommunications policy objectives. More information can be found on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at:
A Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada and at:
Client Procedures Circular 2-0-16, Licensing Procedure for the Spectrum Licence.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS-746 — Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz

4.5 Considérations techniques et d'autorisation

En plus des critères techniques qui doivent être examinés pour permettre aux services de sécurité publique d'utiliser les fréquences des sous-bandes 764-770 MHz et 794-800 MHz, il y a aussi les critères d'autorisation à établir. Ces critères doivent encourager les utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique, dont l'utilisation des fréquences est similaires, à mettre en oeuvre des plans efficaces de partage des fréquences et favoriser l'interopérabilité. Les questions ci-dessous sont soulevées afin d'aider le Ministère à établir les exigences techniques, opérationnelles et d'autorisation en vue de la libération ordonnée de ces fréquences : 

  1. Quelle norme commune/ouverte pourrait être encouragée, qui favoriserait l'interopérabilité des systèmes du service mobile pour les activités des services de sécurité publique? La norme devrait-elle être sanctionnée par l'APCO?13 Si oui, cette norme, ainsi que tous les critères techniques qui s'y rattachent, doit-elle être appliquée dans les bandes 764-770 MHz et 794-600 MHz seulement aux canaux d'interopérabilité ou à tous les canaux de la sécurité publique; si non, quels critères techniques devraient être appliqués et pourquoi?
  2. L'interopérabilité au niveau national et entre le Canada et les États-Unis doit-elle être un préalable à l'autorisation; si oui, quels en seraient les critères?
  3. Quel plan et quel mécanisme d'autorisation doivent être utilisés pour s'assurer que les utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique sont bien servis?14
  4. Afin d'obtenir une autorisation, les utilisateurs de services de sécurité publique devraient-ils soumettre un plan de système et de fréquences qui serviront à assurer la compatibilité avec les autres utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique dans une région définie? Quelles sont les informations nécessaires et quels engagements doivent-ils indiquer dans un plan global?
  5. Afin de favoriser un système commun de radiocommunications pour servir la sécurité publique, le Ministère doit-il insister sur des plans de service communs régionaux ou nationaux, dans différentes régions du Canada, avant la délivrance de licences à des utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique au Canada?
  6. Quel est le niveau approprié d'harmonisation avec le plan de bande américain? Le Ministère doit-il définir les mêmes applications spécifiques des services comme l'exploitation à faible puissance, l'interopérabilité, les systèmes grande étendue, etc.?
  7. La description actuelle des services de sécurité publique dans le renvoi 2 couvre-t-elle tous les besoins des services et de sécurité essentiels pour les fréquences utilisées par la sécurité publique?

Le Ministère aimerait recevoir des commentaires des parties intéressées sur ces points ou sur tout autre sujet connexe.

4.6 Prochaines étapes

Le Ministère s'attend à ce que l'utilisation des sous-bandes 764-770 MHz et 794-800 MHz pour la sécurité publique dépendra de la disponibilité des équipements de radiocommunications mobiles et des normes d'interopérabilité des équipements. Des conditions et des critères d'autorisation clairement définis aideront à ces fins. Des normes opérationnelles et techniques seront établies afin de s'assurer que les utilisateurs des services de radiodiffusion et de sécurité publique puissent co-exister dans des fréquences adjacentes.

Arrangement de partage entre le Canada et les États-Unis pour la sécurité publique

Industrie Canada, dans le cadre de ses discussions suivies avec la FCC, négociera un arrangement bilatéral de partage des fréquences afin de guider la mise en oeuvre à venir des applications du service mobile, tout en respectant les objectifs du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), lorsque les fréquences seront disponibles. Actuellement, seuls les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 seront désignés pour la sécurité publique au Canada. Les discussions sur le partage des fréquences seront donc menées en ayant à l'esprit, qu'au Canada, des fréquences supplémentaires seront libérées pour des applications du service mobile à un moment donné, après la transition à la télévision numérique, et qu'elles feront l'objet d'autres consultations publiques. D'ici là, les discussions sur le partage de fréquences respecteront fidèlement les principes établis dans le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique et dans la Lettre d'entente entre la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d'Amérique et Industrie Canada concernant l'exploitation des bandes de fréquences 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz par le service de radiodiffusion télévisuelle numérique le long de la frontière américano-canadienne.

5. Autres considérations : Faciliter les radiocommunications évoluées dans les communautés rurales et du Nord

Depuis longtemps le Ministère cherche à faciliter les services de radiocommunications évolués dans les zones de desserte à coût élevé comme les communautés rurales et du Nord. Le Ministère a souvent fait preuve de souplesse pour l'utilisation des fréquences, tant du point de vue de la politique d'attribution des fréquences, et de la désignation de fréquences que des normes techniques. Des fréquences du service mobile ont été exploitées dans des zones sans encombrement par les services téléphoniques fixes. Des fréquences de radiodiffusion ont été exploitées pour les liaisons à distance de radiodiffusion en direct et pour l'utilisation de canaux de télévision afin d'offrir des services de type télédistribution sans fil dans de petites communautés isolées où les services de câblodistribution ne sont pas offerts. Des fréquences du service de télécommunications multipoint fixe (STM) ont également servi à étendre les activités de radiodiffusion du service de distribution multipoint (SDM). Des fréquences de radiodiffusion du SDM ont aussi été exploitées afin d'étendre les applications de liaisons Internet fixes à large bande.

Le Ministère a également permis l'utilisation de fréquences de radiodiffusion aux fins des services auxiliaires autres que de radiodiffusion comme la diffusion de données. Le Ministère a autorisé certaines applications mixtes des services fixe et mobile, reconnaissant que même si le service est avant tout fixe ou mobile, du point de vue pratique, chaque service radio peut utiliser une certaine partie de l'autre service afin de pouvoir offrir le service primaire de façon efficace. À cette fin, le Ministère a également assoupli les normes techniques, les exigences relatives aux antennes, les plans de répartition, etc. dans la politique sur les différences géographiques.

Le Ministère prévoit que dans certaines communautés rurales et du Nord, bon nombre de fréquences atribuées à la télédiffusion dans les canaux 2 à 59 resteront inutilisées ou non alloties. Étant donné la réalité démographique, ces fréquences ne seront probablement pas utilisées pour la télédiffusion de Terre analogique et numérique dans ces régions. Tel que mentionné précédemment, le Ministère a permis une plus grande souplesse dans l'exploitation des fréquences afin de faciliter les services de radiocommunications évolués dans les communautés rurales et du Nord. Il pourrait donc être possible dans ce cas, pour les radiodiffuseurs et les autres parties intéressées, d'exploiter ces fréquences inutilisées dans le but de faciliter les services de radiocommunications évoluées.

Le Ministère est disposé à étudier et à envisager les différentes utilisations potentielles des fréquences de télédiffusion inutilisées ou non alloties dans les canaux 2 à 59, et ce dans les régions à population clairsemée, afin d'étendre l'accès aux services évolués de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications, dont les services d'accès Internet à large bande et de distribution de radiodiffusion sans fil. Toutefois, peu importe les études, le Ministère a toujours l'intention de poursuivre les objectifs à long terme et les consultations subséquentes à la politique afin d'harmoniser l'utilisation des fréquences restantes des canaux de télévision 60 à 69 avec celle des États-Unis aux fins des applications des services de sécurité publique et des services mobiles commerciaux.

Le Ministère sollicite des commentaires sur les types de services évolués de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications qui pourraient être offerts aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes dans les communautés rurales et éloignées du pays, qui exploiteraient les fréquences inutilisées sur une base expérimentale, temporaire ou permanente. Étant donné l'importante quantité de fréquences de télédiffusion inutilisées ou non alloties dans les canaux 2 à 59 dans les communautés rurales et éloignées, le Ministère sollicite des commentaires sur les points suivants : 

  1. les utilisations potentielles de ces fréquences afin d'offrir l'accès aux services évolués de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications, dont les services d'accès Internet à large bande et de distribution de radiodiffusion sans fil; et
  2. la question à savoir si une autorisation temporaire ou permanente doit être octroyée, et dans les deux cas, à quelles conditions.

6. Mise en oeuvre

D'après les résultats de la consultation publique lancée dans le présent document et des évaluations internes supplémentaires, Industrie Canada favorisera l'établissement d'une norme technique ouverte sur le matériel. Le Ministère favorisera également des conditions d'autorisation qui, dans l'intérêt du public, mèneront à la mise en oeuvre efficace des désignations de fréquences proposées et favorisera à la fois l'interopérabilité nationale et l'interopérabilité entre le Canada et les États-Unis pour les utilisateurs des services de sécurité publique.

Le Ministère continuera à mener des études et des consultations sur la mise en oeuvre à plus long terme de l'utilisation de fréquences de la bande 746-806 MHz (canaux de télévision 60 à 69) par les services radio pour les applications des services de sécurité publique et des services mobiles commerciaux. Le Ministère se servira des commentaires préliminaires sur la facilitation de services évolués de radiocommunications dans les fréquences de télédiffusion inutilisées des canaux 2 à 59 dans les communautés rurales éloignées et du Nord pour faire des propositions futures sur le développement de cette ressource spectrale pour répondre aux besoins des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

Publication autorisée en vertu
de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications
Larry Shaw
Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre
Robert W. McCaughern


Annexe 1 — Remplacement des allotissements des canaux de télévision pour les stations NTSC et TVN de puissance normale

Remplacement des allotissements des canaux de télévision pour les stations NTSC et TVN de puissance normale
Canal NTSC Canal TVN Ville Indicatif d'appel Classe de NTSC Classe de TVN NTSC
Canal de remplacement
TVN
Canal de remplacement

Zones de couverture par classe de station :
A (25 km); B (45 km); C (70 km); VU (82 km); VL (89 km)
* réduction de - 10 dB de la puissance apparente rayonnée en direction de Saginaw, Michigan
** Hors de la zone de coordination Canada/États-Unis

68 67 Sarnia-Oil Springs ON CBLFT-17 B B 17  
3 63 Halifax NS CBHT VL VL   54
48 63 Chatham ON CBLFT-10 B B   12
32 63 Kingston ON CBLFT-14 C C    22
19 63 Toronto ON CICA-TV C C   51
36 63 Gatineau (Secteur Hull) QC CFGS-TV C C   49
9 63 Sherbrooke QC CKSH-TV VU VU   55
8 63 Inverness NS ** CBIT-19 C C   53
6 68 Victoria BC CHEK-TV VL VL   43
43 68 Ottawa ON CHRO-TV-43 C C   17
9 68 Sudbury ON CKNC-TV VU VU   35
47 68 Toronto ON CFMT-TV C C   64
32 68 Windsor ON CICO-TV-32 C C   25*
24 68 Sherbrooke QC CIVS-TV C C   65
4 68 Sydney NS** CJCB-TV VL VL   55

 


Renvois

13 Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO).

14 Un certain nombre de procédures d'autorisation sont offertes au ministre d'Industrie Canada pour l'assignation de fréquences. La méthode premier arrivé, premier servi (PAPS) est utilisée lorsqu'il y a suffisamment de fréquences dans une bande donnée pour répondre à la demande prévue et lorsque aucune mesure supplémentaire n'est nécessaire pour favoriser l'atteinte des objectifs d'une politique. Pour plus d'informations, voir le site Web à l'adresse : Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre) et à l'adresse : Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-16, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre).

Date de modification :