Archived—Order Requiring the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission to report to the Governor in Council on Consumer Complaints

Note: This document is made available for information only, the official version will be published in an upcoming issue of the Canada Gazette (see www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html). In the event that there is a discrepancy between the version published on this site and the version published in the Canada Gazette, the version published in the Canada Gazette is the official version.


Order Requiring the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission to report to the Governor in Council on Consumer Complaints

Whereas the Governor in Council considers that an independent agency with a mandate to resolve complaints from individual and small business retail customers ("Consumer Agency") should be an integral component of a deregulated telecommunications market;

Whereas section 14 of the Telecommunications Act provides that the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission ("the Commission") shall, on the request of the Governor in Council, make a report on any matter within the jurisdiction of the Commission;

Whereas, in its report of March 2006, the Telecommunications Policy Review Panel recommended the creation of a telecommunications consumer agency that would be mandated to resolve complaints from individual and small business retail customers of any telecommunications service provider, which agency would be self-funding, independent, industry established, and whose structure and functions would be determined by the Commission;

Whereas, in Telecom Decision 2006-15, Forbearance from the regulation of retail local exchange services, the Commission invited the industry to propose for its approval an industry self-regulatory system, and noted that an appropriate system would be one designed in consultation with groups representing customers, that set out clear rules and standards and that provided a reliable mechanism for expeditiously resolving customer complaints;

Whereas the Governor in Council, by Order in Council P.C. 2007-0532 of April 4 2007, has varied CRTC Telecom Decision 2006-15 to provide a more appropriate and timely framework for the deregulation of local exchange services provided by incumbent local exchange carriers;

Whereas the Commission currently receives complaints and inquiries regarding services provided by telecommunications service providers;

Whereas the Governor in Council considers that the mandate of an effective Consumer Agency should include (in addition to resolving complaints) the development or approval of related industry codes of conduct and standards; publishing an annual report on the nature, number and resolution of complaints received for each telecommunications service provider; and, as appropriate, identifying issues or trends that may warrant further attention by the Commission or the government;

Whereas the Governor in Council considers that the governance structure of an effective Consumer Agency should be designed to ensure its independence from the telecommunications industry by incorporating elements such as: a governing body composed of a majority of members who are not affiliated with any telecommunications service provider; a chief executive officer appointed by the governing body and also not affiliated with any telecommunications service provider; and a budget set by its governing body and provided by the industry at a level sufficient to effectively execute its mandate;

And whereas the Governor in Council also considers that all telecommunications service providers should participate in and contribute to the financing of an effective Consumer Agency and that its structure and mandate would be approved by the Commission;

Therefore, Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 14 of the Telecommunications Act, hereby requires the Commission to make a report to the Governor in Council at least once per year, the first of which shall be submitted no later than April 6, 2008, regarding services provided by telecommunications service providers as outlined below:

  1. each report shall outline complaints received from individuals and small business retail customers regarding services provided by telecommunications service providers and shall include:
    1. statistical information, for each telecommunications service provider and in total, on the nature and number of complaints received and the standing of these complaints when the report was compiled,
    2. an identification of issues or trends that may warrant further attention by the Commission or by the government, such as the availability of consumer choice, the impact of marketing strategies and practices, consumer billing and contracts, and
    3. a report on progress made toward the establishment of a Consumer Agency; and
  2. the Commission shall continue to make reports until such time as a Consumer Agency has been established by industry and approved by the Commission.
Date modified:

Archivé — Décret demandant au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes de faire rapport au gouverneur en conseil concernant les plaintes de consommateurs

Note : Ce document est disponibles à titre d'information seulement; la version officielle sera publiée prochainement dans un numéro de la Gazette du Canada (voir www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html). S'il y a des divergences entre la version publiée sur le site et la version publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, cette dernière est la version officielle.


Décret demandant au conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes de faire rapport au gouverneur en conseil concernant les plaintes de consommateurs

Attendu que la gouverneure en conseil est d'avis qu'une agence indépendante ayant pour mandat de régler les plaintes faites par les particuliers et les petites entreprises de détail (« agence de protection des usagers ») devrait faire partie intégrante d'un marché de télécommunication déréglementé;

Attendu que l'article 14 de la Loi sur les télécommunications prévoit que le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (« le Conseil »), sur demande du gouverneur en conseil, fait rapport sur toute question relevant de sa compétence;

Attendu que, dans son rapport publié en mars 2006, le Groupe d'étude sur le cadre réglementaire des télécommunications a recommandé la création d'une agence de protection des usagers des services de télécommunication qui aurait pour mandat de régler les plaintes faites par les particuliers et les petites entreprises de détail contre tout fournisseur de services de télécommunication, laquelle agence serait autofinancée, indépendante, créée par l'industrie et dont la structure et les fonctions seraient établies par le Conseil;

Attendu que, dans la Décision télécom 2006-15, Abstention de la réglementation des services locaux de détail, le Conseil a invité l'industrie à soumettre à son approbation des propositions sur un système d'autoréglementation et a souligné qu'un système adéquat devrait être élaboré en collaboration avec des groupes qui représentent les consommateurs, qu'il devrait établir des règles et des normes en termes clairs, ainsi qu'un mécanisme fiable qui permette de régler rapidement les plaintes des clients;

Attendu que la gouverneure en conseil, par le décret C.P. 2007-0532 du 5 Avril 2007, a modifié la Décision télécom 2006-15 afin de fournir un cadre plus approprié et opportun pour la déréglementation des services locaux de détail fournis par les entreprises de services locaux titulaires;

Attendu que le Conseil reçoit à l'heure actuelle des plaintes et des demandes touchant les services qui sont offerts par les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication;

Attendu que la gouverneure en conseil est d'avis que, afin qu'une telle agence soit efficiente, son mandat devrait comprendre, en plus du règlement des plaintes, l'élaboration ou l'approbation, à l'intention de l'industrie, de codes de conduite et de normes connexes; la publication d'un rapport annuel concernant la nature, le nombre et le règlement des plaintes, pour chacun des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication; et la détermination, au besoin, des tendances ou des enjeux qui pourraient nécessiter une analyse plus poussée de la part du Conseil ou du gouvernement;

Attendu que la gouverneure en conseil est d'avis que l'agence de protection des usagers devrait être constituée de manière à demeurer indépendante par rapport aux fournisseurs de services de télécommunication; à cette fin, ses instances dirigeantes sont composées en majorité de membres non affiliés aux fournisseurs, dont le président-directeur général, également non affilié à ces fournisseurs, est nommé par ces instances et son budget, lequel est alloué par l'industrie, est établi par les instances à un niveau suffisant pour lui permettre de s'acquitter efficacement de son mandat;

Attendu que la gouverneure en conseil est d'avis qu'il serait souhaitable que tous les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication participent aux activités d'une agence de protection des usagers et contribuent à son financement,

À ces causes, sur recommandation du ministre de l'Industrie et en vertu de l'article 14 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, Son Excellence la Gouverneure générale en conseil demande au Conseil de lui faire rapport sur les services offerts par les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication au moins une fois par année et de lui présenter le premier rapport au plus tard le 6 avril 2008, selon les modalités suivantes :

  1. chaque rapport doit donner un aperçu des plaintes faites par les particuliers et les petites entreprises de détail touchant les services offerts par les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication et doit comprendre :

    1. des statistiques concernant la nature et le nombre des plaintes reçues et l'état d'avancement de leur règlement au moment de l'établissement du rapport, pour chaque fournisseur de services de télécommunication et pour l'industrie dans son ensemble,
    2. la détermination des tendances ou des enjeux qui pourraient nécessiter une analyse plus poussée de la part du Conseil ou du gouvernement, notamment les choix offerts aux usagers, l'incidence des stratégies et de pratiques de commercialisation, la facturation des usagers et les contrats,
    3. un compte rendu des progrès réalisés quant à la création d'une agence de protection des usagers;
  2. le Conseil continue de faire rapport jusqu'au moment où une agence de protection des usagers est créée par l'industrie et où sa création est approuvée par le Conseil.
Date de modification :