Archived—Gazette Notice SMSE-008-07

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Department of Industry Act

Notice No. SMSE-008-07 - Telecommunications and Radio Apparatus Fee Order

Introduction

Established in 1993, the Telecommunications Apparatus Assessment and Testing Fees Order (ATF) sets fees for the assessment, certification and testing services for radio and telecommunications apparatus. These services are necessary to ensure that such apparatus being sold or offered for sale in Canada meets all applicable regulatory requirements.

Over the past decade there have been significant changes in both the technologies and business operations of the radiocommunication and telecommunications industries. Also, Canada has entered into several international mutual recognition agreements dealing with the recognition of foreign, private conformity assessment bodies that perform duties similar to those performed by Industry Canada.

The ATF has been revoked and replaced by the Telecommunications and Radio Apparatus Fee Order (TRAF) in order to deal with this emerging environment. This proposed structure was presented to the Terminal Attachment Program Advisory Committee (TAPAC) and the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC), which are government/industry consultative committees on telecommunications and radiocommunication matters. All feedback from the committees on the proposal was positive. Members of the committees indicated that the new fees should be established as early as possible, as industry is eagerly awaiting the implementation of this new fee structure.

An official consultation on a new fee structure for telecommunications and radio apparatus-related services was launched on March 5, 2004 (Gazette Notice SMSE-006-04) and closed on May 20, 2004. The Gazette notice invited the public, including interested parties, to provide comments on the new fee structure. No negative comments were received.

In accordance with the User Fees Act, the registration and listing fees were presented to both Houses of Parliament and approved in fall 2006.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to sections 18 and 20 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective September 10, 2007. The fees are applicable to the assessment, registration, listing and the provision of technical expertise services provided by the Minister pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act and the Telecommunications Act to regulate radio and telecommunications apparatus for compliance with technical standards established by the Minister under these Acts.

Interpretation

For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"apparatus" means telecommunications or radio apparatus

"Bureau" refers to the Certification and Engineering Bureau of the Department of Industry;

"certification" refers to a procedure whereby the Department of Industry or a third party gives written assurance that a product, process or service conforms to specified requirements;

"Conformity Assessment Body " means a body engaged in any activity concerned with determining directly or indirectly that the relevant requirements are fulfilled;

"Department" means the Department of Industry;

"engineering brief" means a written submission, signed by a responsible person, containing significant technical information or design data and description of the tests that have been conducted, including the results of such tests, for the purpose of confirming that apparatus complies with the applicable technical requirements, specifications, or standards;

"Minister" means the Minister of Industry;

"technical requirements, specifications or standards" means, in respect of each application for the assessment of apparatus, only such technical requirements, specifications or standards as apply to that apparatus;

Assessment Fee

Where a person applies to the Minister for the assessment of apparatus for the purpose of determining compliance with technical requirements, specifications and standards, and for issuing a Technical Acceptance Certificate as applicable, that person shall pay an assessment fee of $1,200.

Technical Expertise Fee

Where a person applies to the Minister for technical support or the testing of apparatus by the Bureau for the purpose of determining compliance with technical requirements, specifications or standards, as well as for reassessment and assistance in the evaluation of the technical competence of conformity assessment bodies, that person shall pay a technical expertise fee calculated at the rate of $150 per hour or part thereof. In the case of a reassessment, the total charges shall not exceed the assessment fee of $1 200.

Registration Fee

Where a person applies to the Minister for the registration of apparatus in a list maintained and published by the Minister for the purpose of informing the public of telecommunications apparatus that complies with technical requirements, specifications and standards established by the Minister, that person shall pay $750 per submission in addition to any other applicable fee.

Listing Fee

Where a person applies to the Minister to list apparatus subject to certification in a list maintained and published by the Minister for the purpose of informing the public of radio apparatus that complies with technical requirements, specifications and standards established by the Minister, that person shall pay $50 per product listed in addition to any other applicable fee.

Payment of fees

The fees outlined in this order are payable at the time of making the application except for the technical expertise fee which will be payable before services are rendered.



_________________
Maxime Bernier
Minister of Industry

August 13, 2007


Related Documents

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette SMSE-008-07

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie

Avis no SMSE-008-07 - Décret sur les droits applicables aux appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication

Introduction

Depuis 1993, l'Arrêté sur les prix à payer pour l'évaluation et l'essai des appareils de télécommunication (APT) établit les droits relatifs aux services d'évaluation, de certification et d'essai des appareils de radio et de télécommunication. Ces services sont nécessaires pour s'assurer que les appareils vendus ou offerts en vente au Canada satisfont à toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, il y a eu toutefois des changements importants au niveau de la technologie et du fonctionnement des industries de la radiocommunication et des télécommunications. De plus, le Canada a conclu des accords de reconnaissance mutuelle avec plusieurs autres pays portant sur la reconnaissance des organismes d'évaluation de la conformité du secteur privé qui s'acquittent de fonctions similaires à celles qui sont exécutées par Industrie Canada.

L'APT a été révoqué et remplacé par le Décret sur les droits applicables aux appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication (DATR), mieux adapté à l'environnement émergent. Le régime de droits proposé a été présenté au comité consultatif du Programme de raccordement du matériel terminal (CCPRT) et au Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR)), comités consultatifs gouvernement-industrie chargés des questions de télécommunication et de radiocommunication. Les commentaires relatifs à la proposition faits par ces comités sont tous positifs. Les membres des comités ont indiqué que le nouveau barème devrait entrer en vigueur le plus tôt possible, puisque l'industrie l'attend impatiemment.

Une consultation officielle au sujet du nouveau régime de droits applicables aux services liés aux appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication, amorcé le 5 mars 2004 (Avis de la Gazette SMSE-006-04), a pris fin le 20 mai 2004. Cet avis invitait le public, y compris les parties intéressées, à commenter le nouveau régime de droits. Aucun commentaire négatif n'a été reçu.

Conformément à la Loi sur les frais d'utilisation, le régime de droits d'enregistrement et d'inscription a été présenté aux deux chambres du Parlement et approuvé au cours de l'automne 2006.

Barème de droits

Le ministre de l'Industrie, en vertu des articles 18 et 20 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, fixe par la présente les droits ci-après, qui entrent en vigueur le 10 septembre 2007. Ces droits s'appliquent à l'évaluation, à l'enregistrement, à l'inscription et aux services d'expertise technique fournis par le Ministre conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et à la Loi sur les télécommunications pour réglementer les appareils de radiocommunication et de télécommunication et s'assurer qu'ils sont conformes aux normes techniques établies par le Ministre aux termes de ces lois.

Interprétation

Aux fins du barème de droits,

« appareil » s'entend des appareils de télécommunication ou de radiocommunication;

« Bureau » désigne le Bureau d'homologation et des services techniques du ministère de l'Industrie;

« certification » désigne la procédure suivant laquelle le ministère de l'Industrie ou un tiers assure par écrit qu'un produit, procédé ou service est conforme aux exigences;

« organisme d'évaluation de la conformité » désigne une entité dont le travail consiste à déterminer directement ou indirectement que les exigences pertinentes sont respectées;

« Ministère » désigne le ministère de l'Industrie;

« mémoire technique » s'entend d'une présentation écrite signée de la main d'une personne responsable, contenant de l'information technique importante ou des données importantes de conception et la description des tests effectués, notamment les résultats de ces tests, qui confirme la conformité de l'appareil aux exigences, spécifications ou normes techniques applicables;

« Ministre » s'entend du ministre de l'Industrie;

« exigences, spécifications ou normes techniques » désigne, pour chaque demande d'évaluation d'un appareil, uniquement les exigences, spécifications ou normes techniques qui s'appliquent à cet appareil.

Droits d'évaluation

La personne qui présente une demande d'évaluation d'appareil au Ministre pour déterminer sa conformité aux exigences, spécifications et normes techniques, et pour obtenir un certificat d'approbation technique, le cas échéant, versera la somme de 1 200 $.

Droits d'expertise technique

La personne qui demande au Ministre un soutien technique ou la vérification d'un appareil par le Bureau pour déterminer sa conformité aux exigences, spécifications ou normes techniques, une réévaluation et de l'aide pour procéder à l'évaluation de la compétence technique des organismes d'évaluation de la conformité, versera des droits d'expertise technique calculés à raison de 150 $ l'heure ou portion d'heure. Dans le cas d'une réévaluation, la totalité des droits facturés ne dépassera pas les droits d'évaluation de 1 200 $.

Droits d'enregistrement

La personne qui présente au Ministre une demande d'enregistrement d'appareil sur une liste tenue à jour et publiée par le Ministre pour renseigner le public sur les appareils de télécommunication conformes aux exigences, spécifications et normes techniques établies par le Ministre, versera 750 $ par demande, en plus de tous les autres droits applicables.

Droits d'inscription

La personne qui présente au Ministre une demande d'inscription d'appareil assujetti à la certification sur une liste tenue à jour et publiée par le Ministre pour renseigner le public sur les appareils de radiocommunication conformes aux exigences, spécifications et normes techniques établies par le Ministre, pour un appareil assujetti à la certification, paiera 50 $ par produit inscrit, en plus de tous les autres droits applicables.

Paiement

Les droits établis dans ce décret sont payables au moment de la demande sauf les droits d'expertise techniques qui sont cependant payables avant que les services soient fournis.

_________________
Maxime Bernier
Ministre de l'Industrie

Le 13 août 2007


Documents connexes

Date de modification :