The Effects of Narrowband and Wideband Public Safety Mobile Systems Operation (in television channels 63/68) on DTV and NTSC Broadcasting in Television Channels 60‑69 (746 MHz‑806 MHz)

Final Report

CRC Report Number CRC-RP-2003-001

Douglas W. Prendergast, P.Eng,
Benoit Ledoux, ing., Sébastien Laflèche,
Dr. Yiyan Wu, Dr. Xianbin Wang,
Bernard Caron, P.Eng.

Ottawa, 30 April 2003


Table of Contents


Points of view or opinions expressed in this document are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of Industry Canada. This information is provided with the express understanding that proprietary and patent rights will be protected

Executive Summary

Scope

As part of the development of spectrum policy proposals to designate a modest portion of spectrum for mobile services such as Public Safety (PS) in television broadcasting channels 63 and 68, Industry Canada required an assessment of the interference potential between Broadcasting and Mobile services. The goal of this study is to assess the impact of PS communications on the performance of both analog and digital television broadcasting in TV channels adjacent to 63/68 specifically in order to allow the co-existence of broadcasting and public safety services. While Industry Canada has indicated that only television channels 63/68 will be designated for public safety use in the near term, we have also provided the co-channel results of our assessment that may be relevant in the longer term i.e. when the transition from analog to digital television broadcasting has been completed.

Background

The results of the assessment would allow Industry Canada to establish the appropriate interference protection criteria in order to enable the two services to share adjacent spectrum and co-exist on an interference-free basis. This assessment could also assist the Department in determining the means and conditions under which public safety services could use a modest amount of spectrum in these channels without negatively impacting the roll out of digital television in Canada.

To study the impact of PS interference into analog National Television Standards Committee (NTSC) and Digital Television (DTV) channels adjacent to channels 63/68, Industry Canada's contracted the Communications Research Center (CRC). Also, CRC carried out testing on sharing the spectrum between the two services on a co-channel basis.

Methodology

The technical parameters used by the CRC study relating to transmitter power, emission limits, spectrum efficiency, channel bandwidth and the number of required PS channels, were obtained from Canadian Sources and from FCC documentation.

From the parameters obtained, a test plan was developed to evaluate the effects of interference from single and multi-channel PS channel transmitters on the performance of NTSC and DTV broadcasting.

The single channel tests were done to determine the effects of the interference created by a single channel (narrowband and wideband) PS transmitter in channels 63/68 into adjacent channel DTV or NTSC transmission. The Multi channel tests were done to determine the effects of a typical combination of some narrowband and wideband PS transmissions in channel 63/68 into adjacent DTV or NTSC channels. The multi channel tests were also done to determine the need for a guard band between the PS and the TV channels.

As no PS equipment was available, CRC used an Arbitrary Function Generator (AFG) to create the test signals. These PS test signals were used to determine the Desired to Undesired (D/U) ratios for the DTV and NTSC TV signals against PS interference at the Threshold Of Visibility (TOV) for DTV and at a level defined by the ITU-R3 (grade 3 — video or audio slightly annoying) for NTSC.

Findings

PS Single Channel Test Results

The purpose of the single channel tests is to determine the effect of the interference created by a single narrowband or wideband PS channel transmitting into DTV or NTSC services on a co-channel or adjacent channel basis. The single channel test results show the following:

Co-channel PS single channel Interference into DTV

  1. Under co-channel conditions, a D/U of at least 15 dB is required in general for DTV threshold performance over most of the channel bandwidth. However, placing PS channels in the vicinity of the DTV pilot and modulation carrier frequency (around PS channel 480) will require about 5 dB more protection.
  2. About 6 to 10 dB less protection is required if the PS channels are placed within the DTV receiver's notch filter bandwidth1.

Adjacent channel PS single channel Interference into DTV

For Adjacent Channel Interference, the results show that a modest amount of upper and lower guard2 band would provide enough protection at the grade B equivalent contour of a DTV station if the transmitters were co located3.

  • For the upper adjacent PS channel about 200 kHz of guard band taken inside PS channels 63/68 would provide a D/U better than -20 dB in the DTV.
  • For the lower adjacent channel, about twice as much guard band may be required.

Co-channel PS single channel Interference into NTSC

Single channel results for NTSC show the requirement for a D/U of about 50 dB for good NTSC performance. A few dB of additional protection will be needed around the NTSC visual, chroma and audio carriers.

Adjacent channel PS single channel Interference into NTSC

For Adjacent Channel Interference, the results show that around 200 kHz of upper and lower guard band would allow for a D/U better than 0 dB into the NTSC channel. This would provide enough protection at the grade B equivalent contour of a NTSC station if the transmitters were co-located3.

PS Multi Channel Test Results

The purpose of the multi channel test is to determine the effects of a typical combination of narrowband and wideband PS channels transmitting into DTV or NTSC services on a co-channel or adjacent channel basis into DTV and NTSC.

Co-channel PS multi channel Interference into DTV and Adjacent channel PS multi channel Interference into DTV.

  • The D/U requirement is similar to a DTV co-channel interferer when 22 to 244 PS channels are used i.e. PS can be treated as an equivalent DTV signal.

Co-channel PS multi channel Interference into NTSC

  • The D/U requirement is similar to a DTV co-channel interferer when 22 to 24 PS channels are used i.e. PS can be treated as an equivalent DTV signal.

Adjacent channel PS multi channel Interference into NTSC

  1. For lower adjacent channel, the D/U requirement is similar to a DTV co-channel interferer when 22 to 24 PS channels are used i.e. PS can be treated as an equivalent DTV signal.
  2. For the upper adjacent channel, in some cases, PS was up to 5 dB worse than an equivalent DTV signal. This is because, in this case, the PS signal is close to the NTSC video carrier, and the NTSC signal sensitivity to the interference is frequency dependent.

In the case of interference to NTSC, it should be mentioned that the NTSC threshold is rather softly defined. The threshold was defined as an ITU Grade 3 picture (slightly annoying). Even a value of 5 dB below the adjacent channel threshold will not cause a signal drop out, but only a loss of around 0.5 ITU grade. Therefore, in the case of multi channel systems, for planning purposes, the PS multi carrier system may be treated as a DTV system since, within the margin of experimental error, the DTV Canadian planning parameters are either met or exceeded by the multi channel PS results.

1 It is noteworthy that not all DTV receivers have notch filters implemented, as this is not mandatory in the specifications. Also, it is expected that this filter will not be implemented anymore once the NTSC system is turned down.

2 This guard band is assumed to be removed from the PS channel bandwidth (inside channels 63 and 68), so that adjacent TV channels are not affected.

3 Co located means a PS transmitter at the same location of the TV transmitter or with in a radius of up to 8 km from the TV transmitter.

4 These are the maximum numbers of narrowband and wideband channels combinations allowed under practical implementation scenario for any one combiner. For a lessor number of channels, a correction factor will have to be applied to the current results.

Date modified:

Effets de l'exploitation des systèmes mobiles de sécurité publique à bande étroite et à large bande (dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68) sur la radiodiffusion TVN et NTSC dans les canaux de télévision 60 à 69 (746 MHz à 806 MHz)

Rapport Final

Rapport du CRCCRC-RP-2003-001

Douglas W. Prendergast, ing.
Benoit Ledoux, ingénieur, Sébastien Laflèche,
Dr Yiyan Wu, Dr Xianbin Wang,
Bernard Caron, ingénieur.

Ottawa, 30 Avril 2003


Table des matiéres


Les points de vue et opinions exprimés dans le présent document sont ceux des auteurs et ne représentent pas nécessairement ceux d'Industrie Canada. Ces renseignements sont fournis sous réserve expresse que les droits de propriété et les droits de brevet soient protégés.

Sommaire

Champ d'application

Aux fins de l'élaboration de propositions de politique du spectre visant à désigner une petite partie du spectre dans les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 à l'usage de services mobiles tels que les services de sécurité publique (SP), Industrie Canada a demandé une évaluation des risques de brouillage entre les services de radiodiffusion et les services mobiles. Cette étude vise à évaluer les effets du brouillage causé par les communications de sécurité publique (brouillage SP) sur la performance de la télévision analogique et numérique dans les canaux de télévision adjacents aux canaux 63 et 68 dans le but de permettre la coexistence des services de radiodiffusion et de sécurité publique. Bien qu'Industrie Canada ait indiqué que seuls les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 seraient désignés à l'usage des services de sécurité publique à court terme, nous avons aussi fourni les résultats de notre évaluation en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement dans le même canal qui peuvent être pertinents à long terme, c.-à-d. lorsque la transition de la télévision analogique à la télévision numérique sera terminée.

Contexte

Les résultats de l'évaluation devraient permettre à Industrie Canada d'établir des critères de protection contre le brouillage pour que les deux services puissent partager des fréquences adjacentes et coexister sur une base de non-brouillage. L'évaluation pourrait aussi aider le Ministère à déterminer les moyens et les conditions nécessaires pour que les services de sécurité publique puissent utiliser une petite partie des fréquences de ces canaux sans nuire à la mise en oeuvre de la télévision numérique au Canada. Industrie Canada a chargé à contrat le Centre de recherches sur les communications (CRC) d'étudier les effets du brouillage SP dans les canaux de télévision analogique (NTSC-National Television System Committee) et de télévision numérique (TVN) adjacents aux canaux 63 et 68.

Méthode

Les paramètres techniques de l'étude du CRC en ce qui concerne la puissance de l'émetteur, les limites d'émission, le rendement spectral, la largeur de bande des canaux et le nombre de canaux SP nécessaires se fondent sur des sources canadiennes et des documents de la FCC.

À partir de ces paramètres, un plan d'essai a été établi pour évaluer les effets du brouillage causé par des émetteurs SP monocanaux et multicanaux sur la performance de la radiodiffusion NTSC et TVN.

Les essais monocanaux visaient à déterminer les effets du brouillage causé par un émetteur SP monocanal (bande étroite et large bande) fonctionnant dans les canaux 63/68 sur les émissions TVN ou NTSC dans les canaux adjacents. Les essais multicanaux visaient à déterminer les effets d'une combinaison typique d'émissions SP à bande étroite et à large bande dans les canaux 63/68 sur les canaux TVN ou NTSC adjacents, ainsi qu'à établir si une bande de garde entre les canaux SP et TV était nécessaire.

Ne disposant d'aucun matériel SP, le CRC a utilisé un générateur de fonctions arbitraires pour produire les signaux d'essai. Ces signaux d'essai SP ont servi à déterminer les rapports signal utile/signal brouilleur (U/B) pour les signaux de télévision TVN et NTSC en présence de brouillage SP au seuil de visibilité (TOV) pour la TVN et à un niveau défini par l'UIT-R3 (note 3 — signal vidéo ou audio légèrement agaçant) pour la NTSC.

Conclusions

Résultats des essais SP monocanaux

Les essais monocanaux visaient à déterminer les effets de brouillage dans le même canal ou du brouillage par les canaux adjacents qu'un seul canal SP à bande étroite ou à large bande peut avoir sur les services TVN ou NTSC. Les résultats ont été les suivants :

Effets du brouillage SP monocanal dans le même canal sur la TVN

  1. Dans le cas de l'exploitation dans le même canal, un rapport U/B d'au moins 15 dB est nécessaire en général pour le seuil de performance TVN dans la plus grande partie de la largeur de bande du canal. Toutefois, si les canaux SPSP sont voisins de la porteuse pilote et modulée (près du canal SPSP 480), il faudra augmenter la protection d'environ 5 dB.
  2. La protection nécessaire est inférieure d'environ 6 à 10 dB si les canaux SP sont à l'intérieur de la largeur de bande du filtre coupe-bande du récepteur TVN1.

Effets du brouillage SP monocanal par les canaux adjacents sur la TVN

Dans le cas du brouillage par les canaux adjacents, les résultats montrent qu'une petite bande de garde supérieure2 et inférieure assurerait une protection suffisante au contour équivalent de classe B d'une station TVN si les émetteurs étaient coimplantés3.

  • Dans le cas du canal SP adjacent supérieur, une bande de garde d'environ 200 kHz extraite des canaux SP 63 et 68 assurerait un rapport U/B meilleur que — 20 dB dans le canal TVN.
  • Dans le cas du canal adjacent inférieur, une bande de garde environ deux fois plus large pourrait être nécessaire.

Effets du brouillage SP monocanal dans le même canal sur la radiodiffusion NTSC

Les résultats des essais monocanaux pour la radiodiffusion NTSC montrent qu'un rapport U/B d'environ 50 dB serait nécessaire pour une bonne performance NTSC. Quelques dB de protection supplémentaire seront nécessaires autour des porteuses NTSC image, couleur et audio.

Effets du brouillage SP monocanal par les canaux adjacents sur la radiodiffusion NTSC

Dans le cas du brouillage par les canaux adjacents, les résultats montrent qu'une bande de garde supérieure et inférieure d'environ 200 kHz permettrait un rapport U/B meilleur que 0 dB dans le canal NTSC. Cela assurerait une protection suffisante au contour équivalent de classe B d'une station NTSC si les émetteurs étaient coimplantés3.

Résultats des essais SP multicanaux

Les essais multicanaux visaient à déterminer les effets de brouillage dans le même canal ou du brouillage par les canaux adjacents qu'une combinaison typique de canaux SP à bande étroite et à large bande peut avoir sur les services TVN ou NTSC.

Effets sur la TVN du brouillage SP multicanal dans le même canal, et du brouillage SP multicanal par les canaux adjacents

  • Le rapport U/B nécessaire est semblable à celui qui est nécessaire pour un signal brouilleur TVN dans le même canal lorsque de 22 à 24 canaux SP4 sont utilisés, un SP pouvant être traité comme un signal TVN équivalent.

Effets du brouillage SP multicanal dans le même canal sur la radiodiffusion NTSC

  • Le rapport U/B nécessaire est semblable à celui qui est nécessaire pour un signal brouilleur TVN dans le même canal lorsque de 22 à 24 canaux SP sont utilisés, un SP pouvant être traité comme un signal TVN équivalent.

Effets du brouillage SP multicanal par les canaux adjacents sur la radiodiffusion NTSC

  1. Pour le canal adjacent inférieur, le rapport U/B nécessaire est semblable à celui qui est nécessaire pour un signal brouilleur TVN dans le même canal lorsque de 22 à 24 canaux SP sont utilisés, un SP pouvant être traité comme un signal TVN équivalent.
  2. Pour le canal adjacent supérieur, dans certains cas, le signal SP était de jusqu'à 5 dB plus mauvais qu'un signal TVN équivalent. Cela s'explique par le fait que, dans ce cas, le signal SP est près de la porteuse vidéo NTSC, et la sensibilité du signal NTSC au brouillage dépend de la fréquence.

Dans le cas du brouillage des services NTSC, il faudrait mentionner que le seuil NTSC est défini de manière assez souple. Il correspond à la note 3 de l'UIT pour le signal vidéo (légèrement agaçant). Même une valeur de 5 dB sous le seuil du canal adjacent ne produira pas un évanouissement du signal, mais seulement un affaiblissement d'environ 0,5 de la note de l'UIT. Par conséquent, dans le cas des systèmes multicanaux, aux fins de la planification, le système multiporteuse SP peut être traité comme un système TVN car, dans la marge d'erreur expérimentale, les paramètres canadiens de planification de la TVN sont soit respectés, soit dépassés par les résultats des essais SP multicanaux.

1 Signalons que les récepteurs TVN n'ont pas tous de filtre coupe-bande, car les spécifications applicables ne l'exigent pas. En outre, on s'attend à ce que ce filtre cesse d'être intégré au matériel lorsque le système NTSC sera délaissé.

2 Cette bande de garde est censée être extraite de la largeur de bande du canal SP (à l'intérieur des canaux 63 et 68), de sorte que les canaux de télévision adjacents ne soient pas touchés.

3 Lorsqu'un émetteur SP et un émetteur TV occupent le même emplacement ou sont situés à moins de 8 km l'un de l'autre, on dit qu'ils sont « coimplantés ».

4 Ces chiffres correspondent aux nombres maximaux de combinaisons de canaux à bande étroite et à large bande suivant un scénario de mise en oeuvre pratique par n'importe quel méélangeur. Pour un nombre de canaux inférieur, un facteur de correction devra être appliqué aux présents résultats.

Date de modification :