Interference Assessment and Development of Interference Protection Criteria to Protect Public Safety Operations and Enable Spectrum Sharing with NTSC and DTV Broadcasting in TV Channels 60‑69 (746‑806 MHz)

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Submitted to:
Industry Canada
Jean Edmonds Tower N, 19th Floor
300 Slater Street, Room 1912A
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C8

Lapp-Hancock Associates Limited
280 Albert Street, Suite 900
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5G8
Telephone: 613-238-2483
Facsimile: 613-238-1734
E-mail: inquiries@lapp-hancock.ca

Points of view or opinions expressed in this document are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the views of Industry Canada.

Executive Summary

The objective of the study is to assess the potential for interference from television transmissions to mobile public safety radio systems operating in spectrum reallocated from TV.

Background

In Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-004-01, Industry Canada proposed the introduction of the mobile service on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service in the frequency band 746–806 MHz. This proposal also indicated that although the Transition Allotment Plan required use of allotments for DTV in channels 60–69, a modest amount of spectrum may still be made available to meet the pressing needs of public safety.

Subsequently, an engineering assessment on which portions of television channels 63–64 and 68–69 could be used for public safety has been completed, and channels 63 and 68 have been selected as the channels least impacted by the Transition Allotment Plan. Assessment of how such use could be effectively implemented is now required to enable mobile public safety services to share spectrum with broadcasting services without receiving harmful interference from NTSC (analogue) and DTV broadcasting facilities.

Interference Scenarios

With the determination by Industry Canada that channels 63 and 68 would be selected for reallocation to land mobile, a number of scenarios require investigation:

  • Co-channel interference
    • Analogue NTSC to narrowband public safety
    • Analogue NTSC to wideband public safety
    • DTV to narrowband public safety
    • DTV to wideband public safety
  • Adjacent channel interference
    • Analogue NTSC to mobile reception
    • Analogue NTSC to base reception
    • DTV to mobile reception
    • DTV to base reception

Land Mobile and Television Parameters

Land mobile system parameters were derived from those of the closest bands (800 MHz) in Canada/United States border sharing arrangements and from Industry Canada Standard Radio System Plans, along with Telecommunications Executive Summary (Report. 001/03): Industry Canada: Interference Assessment Lapp-Hancock Associates Limited Industry Association standards. Similarly, television parameters were derived from Canada/U.S. border arrangements, Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, and documentation from the Advanced Television Systems Committee. Three specific television classes were selected for the study:

  • NTSC Class C, ERP 1 Megawatt
  • DTV Class VL, ERP 250 kW
  • DTV Class C, ERP 15 kW.

Co-frequency Sharing

It may be concluded that co-channel operation of television and public safety land mobile would require significant distance separations between TV and land mobile. These distances would be of the order of 200–260 km for NTSC base stations, however, assignment of land mobile frequencies near the vision and sound carriers should be avoided. For DTV, comparable base station separations would be of the order of 300 km for class VL and 230 km for class C. Since it is intended to clear channel 63 and 68 allotments from the TV Transition Allotment Plan, it would appear unnecessary to provide for co-channel protection, other than in the border area.

It is recommended that no provision be made for co-channel protection in the domestic rules.

Adjacent Channel

For adjacent channel operation sufficient protection to mobile stations would be available through base station co-location for either NTSC or DTV. Further, mobile operation anywhere within the television service area would not be a problem for base station reception within the TV service area. Base station transmissions could, however, potentially create interference to reception of adjacent channel television within a radius of the base station site.

It is recommended that co-location of base stations with TV transmitters be considered in cities having channel 62 or 64 allotments, in order to minimize the potential of interference to either land mobile (mobile stations) or TV reception.

Should co-location not be possible, public safety operation would still be possible within the TV station's grade B service contour. Protection distance would be approximately 56 km with respect to an NTSC TV station, and 71 km and 47 km for DTV class VL and C. Use of the FCC tight mask would rapidly reduce the separation distance with increase in frequency separation. Again, base station transmissions could create interference to reception of adjacent channel television.

The mandatory use of the FCC tight mask is recommended.

Date modified:

Évaluation du brouillage et établissement de critères de protection contre le brouillage pour protéger les services de sécurité publique et leur permettre de partager des fréquences avec les services de radiodiffusion NTSC et TVN dans les canaux 60 à 69 (746 à 806 MHz)

Table des matiéres

Sommaire

Présenté à :

Industrie Canada

Tour Jean-Edmonds Nord, 19e étage
300, rue Slater, pièce 1912A
Ottawa (Ont.)
K1A 0C8

Lapp-Hancock Associates Limited
280, rue Albert, bureau 900
Ottawa (Ontario) Canada K1P 5G8
Téléphone: 613-238-2483
Télécopieur: 613-238-1734
E-mail: inquiries@lapp-hancock.ca

Les points de vue et opinions exprimés dans le présent document sont ceux des auteurs et ne représentent pas nécessairement ceux d'Industrie Canada.

Sommaire

La présente étude vise à évaluer les risques de brouillage que présentent les émissions de télévision pour les systèmes radio de sécurité publique exploités dans des fréquences réattribuées provenant du spectre de la télévision.

Contexte

Dans l'avis DGTP-004-01 de la Gazette du Canada, Industrie Canada a proposé l'introduction du service mobile à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion dans la bande de fréquences 746 à 806 MHz. Cette proposition indiquait en outre que, bien que le Plan d'allotissement transitoire exige l'utilisation d'allotissements pour la TVN dans les canaux 60 à 69, une petite partie de ce spectre peut quand même être libérée pour répondre aux besoins pressants de fréquences de services mobiles de sécurité publique.

Par la suite, une évaluation technique a porté sur les parties des canaux de télévision 63 – 64 et 68 – 69 qui pourraient être exploitées par les services de sécurité publique, et les canaux 63 et 68 ont été sélectionnés, étant les moins touchés par le Plan d'allotissement transitoire. Il faut maintenant évaluer comment ces mesures pourraient être mises en oeuvre efficacement afin de permettre aux services de sécurité publique de partager le spectre avec les services de radiodiffusion sans recevoir de brouillage préjudiciable des installations de radiodiffusion NTSC (analogiques) et TVN.

Scénarios de brouillage

Industrie Canada ayant déterminé que les canaux 63 et 68 seraient sélectionnés pour être réattribués au service mobile terrestre, un certain nombre de scénarios sont à étudier :

  • Brouillage dans le même canal
    • Brouillage par le service analogique NTSC du service de sécurité publique à bande étroite
    • Brouillage par le service analogique NTSC du service de sécurité publique à large bande
    • Brouillage par la TVN du service de sécurité publique à bande étroite
    • Brouillage par la TVN du service de sécurité publique à large bande
  • Brouillage par les canaux adjacents
    • Brouillage par le service analogique NTSC de la réception par les stations mobiles
    • Brouillage par le service analogique NTSC de la réception par les stations de base
    • Brouillage par la TVN de la réception par les stations mobiles
    • Brouillage par la TVN de la réception par les stations de base

Paramètres relatifs au service mobile terrestre et au service de télévision

Les paramètres relatifs aux systèmes mobiles terrestres ont été établis à partir des paramètres applicables aux bandes les plus proches (800 MHz) dans les arrangements de partage frontalier entre le Canada et les États-Unis, ainsi qu'à partir des plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens d'Industrie Canada et des normes de la Telecommunications Industry Association. De même, les paramètres relatifs à la télévision se fondent sur les arrangements de partage frontalier entre le Canada et les États-Unis, les règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion et des documents du Comité de systèmes de télévision évolués. Trois classes particulières de services de télévision ont été sélectionnées pour l'étude :

  • NTSC classe C, p.a.r. 1 mégawatt
  • TVN classe VL, p.a.r. 250 kW
  • TVN classe C, p.a.r. 15 kW.

Partage de fréquences dans le même canal

On peut conclure que l'exploitation de services de télévision et de sécurité publique dans le même canal exigerait d'importantes distances entre le service de télévision et le service mobile terrestre. Ces distances seraient de l'ordre de 200 à 260 km pour les stations de base NTSC, mais il faudrait éviter l'assignation de fréquences du service mobile terrestre à proximité des porteuses image et son. Dans le cas de la TVN, les espacements comparables pour les stations de base seraient de l'ordre de 300 km pour la classe VL, et de 230 km pour la classe C. Comme on prévoit de libérer les allotissements des canaux 63 et 68 du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision, il semblerait inutile d'assurer une protection dans le même canal, sauf à la frontière.

Il est recommandé de ne pas établir de règles nationales pour la protection dans le même canal.

Canaux adjacents

En ce qui concerne l'exploitation dans les canaux adjacents, la coimplantation des stations de base avec les émetteurs NTSC ou TVN assurerait une protection suffisante aux stations mobiles. En outre, l'exploitation de systèmes mobiles à l'intérieur de la zone de service TV ne poserait pas de problème de réception pour les stations de base à l'intérieur de la zone de service TV. Les émissions des stations de base risqueraient toutefois de brouiller la réception TV dans le canal adjacent dans un certain rayon autour de l'emplacement des stations de base.

Il est recommandé que la coimplantation des stations de base avec les émetteurs TV soit envisagée dans les grandes villes où le canal 62 ou 64 est alloti, afin de réduire au minimum les risques de brouillage pour le service mobile terrestre (stations mobiles) ou pour la réception TV.

Si la coimplantation n'est pas possible, l'exploitation de services de sécurité publique demeurerait possible à l'intérieur du contour de service de classe B de la station de télévision. La distance de protection serait d'environ 56 km en ce qui concerne une station de télévision NTSC, et de 71 km et 47 km pour les classes TVN VL et C. L'utilisation du masque strict de la FCC réduirait rapidement la distance de séparation avec l'accroissement de l'espacement de fréquences. Dans ce cas également, les émissions des stations de base risqueraient de brouiller la réception TV dans le canal adjacent.

L'utilisation obligatoire du masque strict de la FCC est recommandée.

Date de modification :