SP 30-896 MHz, Part II — Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Mobile, Broadcasting and Amateur Services in the Frequency Range 30–896 MHz

3.2.2 Observations

The Department of Industry has noted the above concerns and the favourable response to the need for a re-deployment approach and the detailed comments are under consideration. In particular, The Department of Industry will continue dialogue with industry, primarily through the forum established by the RABC for this purpose. In addition, the Department of Industry will continue discussions with both the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and National Telecommunication and Information Agency (NTIA) to ensure the greatest possible harmonization with the parallel refarming activities in the United States.

The mobile service frequency bands which are to be considered for re-deployment planning are:

Mobile service frequency bands which are to be considered for re-deployment planning
MHz Canadian Frequency Allocations
138-144 Fixed, Land Mobile
Space Research (space-to-earth)
148-149.9 Fixed, Land Mobile
Mobile-Satellite (Earth-to-space)
150.05-156.7625 Mobile, Fixed
156.8375-174 Mobile, Fixed
406.1-410 Radio Astronomy,
Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Fixed
410-414 Mobile except aeronautical mobile, Fixed7
Space Research (space-to-space)
415-419 Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Fixed
Space Research (space-to-space)
420-430 Mobile except aeronautical mobile8
Fixed
450-470 Mobile, Fixed

The specific comments on a common migration approach for both the VHF and UHF mobile bands will be considered in the re-deployment planning, as will the need to take into account local requirements, while developing a national approach. The need to provide for the maximum flexibility in technology and to allow the marketplace to choose the most effective new technologies is noted.

The Department of Industry will review and reissue where required, spectrum utilization policies (SP), radio standards specifications (RSS) and standard radio systems plans (SRSP) dealing with the mobile service bands based on further public consultation. The input from all interested parties including the RABC and the results of discussions with the FCC and NTIA will be factored into the redeployment plan.

3.3 Spectrum Utilization Re-Deployment Principles

In the 150 MHz and 450 MHz mobile service bands, as previously defined in Section 3.2.2 , mobile spectrum usage in the major urban centres is reaching or has already reached critical levels of congestion. This situation, combined with the reality that there is no new spectrum available for existing and emerging mobile radio services below 1 GHz, requires the development of a re-deployment plan to redress this situation. For many new mobile radio services, the utilization of spectrum above 1 GHz is alternatively too expensive. Consequently, the most economically-sound way to meet the growing traffic capacity demands of emerging and existing users of spectrum below 1 GHz , may be to free-up core spectrum through the introduction of significant spectrum efficient radio technologies.

The Department of Industry is committed to the re-deployment of radio frequencies in the 150 MHz and 450 MHz ranges, as a long term solution to meeting spectrum user needs. The Department of Industry also recognizes that the implementation of a coherent re-deployment plan will require continuous consultation with industry over a number of years. In this regard, a re-deployment plan will be developed with industry based on comments already received and ongoing consultation over the next year or so. Such an approach will enable the creation of a comprehensive plan that is sensitive to user needs while at the same time recognizing that such a plan must carefully balance the introduction of any new spectrum utilizations with similar ones that are emerging in a North American context. The following principles result from public consultation on the 30-960 MHz Review and should guide the development of a re-deployment plan for mobile service bands in the 150 MHz and 450 MHz ranges.

Some Guiding Principles for the Development of a Re-deployment Plan

  1. Plan a gradual transition to new technologies with a minimum of disruption to existing users.
  2. Adopt transition periods that reflect the future spectrum needs of a majority of users and include appropriate periods for equipment amortization.
  3. Adopt transition periods that will free-up sufficient frequencies for the ever-increasing demand for new mobile systems in various service areas (e.g. urban, rural and remote areas).
  4. Provide an access priority in the usage of newly freed-up spectrum to users who aggressively deploy technologies that significantly increase traffic capacity.
  5. Encourage technologies offering improved spectrum efficiency with minimal disruption to existing services and give such applications preference in access to frequencies over conventional systems.
  6. Remove technical, policy or regulatory constraints that inhibit the utilization of new spectrum efficient technologies.
  7. Provide appropriate policy measures for safety, security, rail and maritime mobile services.
  8. Provide equitable treatment of all spectrum users in pursuing more spectrum efficient technologies.
  9. Recognize regional differences in spectrum density or congestion in policy directions.
  10. Recognize backward compatibility with existing mobile systems to support a smooth and graceful transition to new technologies.
  11. Recognize areas of high spectrum congestion and give priority to dealing with these areas.
  12. Consolidate users with common needs and systems with similar operating requirements to realize common solutions to advance spectrum utilization efficiency.
  13. Provide for a seamless and economical transition, where practicable, to new technologies with existing systems on the same channel(s) with the same requirements.
  14. Provide consideration of rural and remote users (areas of low spectrum use) who may not need to convert to narrow band operation as spectrum is plentiful.

4. Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

Most of the proposed new allocations in the 30-960 MHz Review were based on decisions taken at WARC-92. They included those allocations supporting nongeostationary mobile satellite systems below 1 GHz, (137-138, 148-149.9, 149.9- 150.05 and 400.15-401 MHz), space research allocations (400.15-401 and 410-420 MHz) and allocations modifications to accommodate the mobile service (849-851, 894-896 and 942-960 MHz). Gazette Notice DGTP-005-94 released the document entitled, Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (1994) which adopted new allocations to the Canadian Table. In the utilization policies section (Section 5) which follows, a summary of the Canadian allocations will be presented for each frequency band. The reader should refer to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations for a full description of the relationship between bands and services.

5. Utilization Policies

Based upon the results of public consultation, the following is a series of spectrum utilization policy statements for certain services and frequency bands dealt with in Part II of the 30-960 MHz Review. A summary of the specific frequency allocations currently in force in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations will be stated as additional information to that provided in the utilization policies.

5.1 Mobile Service Bands

A full description of the relationship between bands and services as contained in related international and domestic footnotes can be found in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

5.1.1 Overview: 30-50 MHz

The 30-50 MHz band is used by licensed radio users for a number of mobile service applications. These licensed systems tend to be concentrated in the upper portion of the band where radio propagation characteristics are more favourable. This upper band portion includes experimental radio systems operating in spectrum vacated by GLMRS (General Land Mobile Radio Service), radio paging, private radio systems and radio common carrier systems. Furthermore, there is extensive mobile usage (both private and government including the National Defence Department) across the entire 30-50 MHz range of frequencies. It is recognized that government and non-government entities use frequencies across the entire 30- 50 MHz range for licensed mobile service and such primary operation will continue on a homogeneous and coordinated basis.

The overall utilization policy direction is to continue to support new radio technology applications that can be easily deployed within the full range of frequencies with minimum impact on existing users. Hence, it is understood that the term "new technologies" is to be construed in its broadest sense. Currently, The Department of Industry is permitting large capacity land mobile systems in vacated GLMRS frequencies as well as spread spectrum technology and other experimental spectrum efficient systems in the band. These ongoing uses are in accordance with Radio Systems Policy RP-013 released in October, 1988, which permits large capacity land mobile systems and experimental testing of spectrum efficient systems in the vacated spectrum formerly utilized by GLMRS.

The deployment of licence-exempt low power applications in this range will be permitted as a secondary service that is, on a non-interference basis without protection from interference from licensed users. The terms for licence-exempt applications for low power and very low power systems are set out in Radio Standards Specification - RSS 210. Very low power devices, with a spurious emission field strength of no greater than 100 uV/m at 3 metres, are permitted in the 30-50 MHz range of frequencies. Therefore, such devices should not interfere with licensed stations and will operate on a non-protection and non-interference basis. Such devices are deemed to be technically suitable for licence-exemption in accordance with radio standards emission requirements.

The following subsections set-out the utilization policy provisions for the band 30- 50 MHz.

5.1.2 30.005-37.5 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Space Research
Fixed

Utilization Policy

The band 30.005-30.01 MHz is amalgamated with the band 30.01-37.5 MHz for licensed mobile systems. This amalgamated band, 30.005-37.5 MHz, will continue to accommodate existing uses such as mobile radio systems at 20 kHz channel spacing, radio paging, automatic repeaters and remaining GLMRS users, experimental uses and large capacity land mobile systems (in the ten vacated frequency pairs at 35.260-35.660 MHz and 43.260-43.660 MHz). These uses will continue to be permitted in accordance with Radio Systems Policy RP- 013 released in October, 1988. The 36.0-37.5 MHz portion of the newly amalgamated band is also designated to the development and testing of new long range transmission techniques over and above current licensed use.

5.1.3 37.5-38.25 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Fixed
Radio Astronomy

Utilization Policy

The band 37.5-38.25 MHz will be used by various licensed mobile systems on a primary basis. On a secondary basis, fixed systems will be accommodated where practical. New mobile and fixed applications may be assigned to this portion of spectrum.

5.1.4 38.25-39.986 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Fixed

Utilization Policy

The band 38.25-39.986 MHz, will continue to accommodate the licensing of various mobile systems on a primary basis. On a secondary basis, Emergency Traffic Control and Remote Fire Alarm systems and other licence-exempt systems are currently permitted. Furthermore, the use of long-range transmission applications, with a view to meeting requirements for point-topoint, point-to-multipoint and radio paging communications is permitted. Frequency designations are intended to reflect the utilization policy set out in Radio Systems Policy RP-004 of October 1, 1983, entitled, Policy for the Licensing of Very Low Capacity Point-to-Point Links in the Band 30-890 MHz.

5.1.5 39.986-41.015 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Fixed
Space Research

Utilization Policy

The band 39.986-40.02 MHz is amalgamated with the bands 40.02-40.98 MHz and 40.98-41.015 MHz. In the amalgamated band 39.986-41.015 MHz, Emergency Traffic Control and Remote Fire Alarm systems and ISM operations is permitted. The band portion 40.02-40.98 is also designated to analogue and digital low-power systems on a licence-exempt basis.

5.1.6 41.015-47 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Fixed

Utilization Policy

In the band 41.015-47.0 MHz, mobile usage is accommodated on a primary basis and low-power systems on a secondary basis. For certain types of low-power systems, particularly those intended for industrial applications where safety is concerned there must be an adequate level of protection against interference. In the band portion 43.260-43.660 MHz such uses are permitted inaccordance with Radio Systems Policy RP-013 released in October, 1988. This radio system policy is maintained in order to satisfy the requirements of users of the land mobile service in non-urban regions.

Analogue cordless telephones currently are permitted to utilize 10 frequency pairs in the 46 MHz band (base transmit only: 46.610-46.970 MHz - see following Section, 5.1.7) in accordance with Radio Systems Standard - Low Power Cordless Telephones Operating in the 46 MHz and 49 MHz bands (RSS- 209).

5.1.7 47-50 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Mobile
Fixed

Utilization Policy

The band 47.0-50.0 MHz is heavily used by the land mobile service particularly along the corridor extending 120 km north along the Canada/U.S. border. Current mobile designation therefore is to be maintained.

Analogue cordless telephones, assigned on a secondary allocation basis without protection from interference, currently are permitted to utilize 10 frequency pairs in the 49 MHz band (handset transmit only: 49.670 – 49.970 - see previous section, 5.1.6) in accordance with Radio Systems Standard - Low Power Cordless Telephones Operating in the 46 MHz and 49 MHz bands ( RSS-209). At the moment no other cordless telephone frequencies are permitted for use in this frequency range. However, there is interest in a North American context to increase the number of channels available for new cordless telephone technology in this frequency range. It is the intention of the Department of Industry, following the finalization of these developments, to implement to the maximum extent possible a similar channelling plan in Canada (i.e. to the extent that they can be accommodated across Canada in the various regions, with minimal disruption of usage to existing users).

Additional frequency pairs in adjacent subbands, that could raise the total number of frequency pairs from 10 to 25, are being considered. This should accommodate the needs of second generation cordless telephone users.

5.1.8 72-73 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Fixed
Mobile

Utilization Policy

In the band 72-73 MHz, mobile systems are permitted on a shared primary basis with fixed systems. This band also accommodates low power industrial safety applications which are permitted with due regard for making assignments that do not cause interference to television channels 4 and 5 or to neighbouring aeronautical radionavigation facilities in the band 74.5-75.2 MHz.

5.1.9 138-174 MHz

Domestic Allocations
138 -144 MHz
Fixed
Land Mobile
Space Research (space-to-Earth)
148 -149.9 MHz
Fixed
Land Mobile
Mobile-Satellite (Earth-to-space)
150.05 – 156.7625 MHz
Mobile
Fixed
156.7625 – 156.8375 MHz
Maritime Mobile (distress and calling)
156.8375 – 174 MHz
Mobile
Fixed
Utilization Policy

These bands represent the VHF spectrum usage for a wide range of licensed mobile systems and mobile applications.

These mobile service bands will continue to provide the core spectrum for the wide range of mobile services below 1 GHz. Development of a re-deployment plan will require further public consultation. This spectrum will need to accomodate an ever-increasing growth of mobile service. Spectrum congestion is already being experienced in large metropolitan centres.

A re-deployment plan for the mobile service bands will be developed through further dialogue with industry. The principles set out in section 3.3 will guide the development of a re-deployment plan for further public consultation.

7 This band is paired with the band 415-419 MHz.

8 In the band portion 420-421 MHz, base transmit frequencies are used in conjunction with mobile transmit frequencies in the band 409-410 MHz.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS 30-896 MHz, Partie II — Politique d'utilisation du spectre aux services mobile, de radiodiffusion et d'amateur dans la gamme 30–896 MHz

3.2.2 Observations

Le Ministère de l'Industrie a pris note des questions soulevées ci-dessus et de la réponse favorable en ce qui a trait à la nécessité d'un réaménagement et il étudie les observations détaillées qui lui ont été présentées. Le Ministère poursuivra notamment le dialogue avec l'industrie, principalement par l'intermédiaire de la tribune établie à cette fin par le CCCR. En outre, le Ministère poursuivra ses discussions avec la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) et la National Telecommunications and Information Agency (NTIA) pour assurer autant que possible l'harmonisation des activités parallèles canadiennes et américaines dans ce domaine.

Les bandes de fréquences visées par un éventuel plan de réaménagement sont les suivantes:

Les bandes de fréquences visées par un éventuel plan de réaménagement
MHz Attribution canadienne
138-144 Fixe, Mobile Terrestre
Recherche spatiale (espace vers Terre)
148-149,9
Fixe, Mobile Terrestre
Mobile par Satellite (Terre vers espace)
150,05-156,7625 Mobile, Fixe
156,8375-174 Mobile, Fixe
406,1-410
Radioastronomie, Mobile sauf Mobile Aéronautique, Fixe
410-414 Mobile Sauf Mobile Aéronautique, Fixe7 Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
415-419 Mobile sauf mobile aéronautiques, Fixe Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
420-430
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique8
Fixe
450-470 Mobile
Fixe

On tiendra compte des observations concernant une approche commune à la migration des bandes VHF et UHF du service lors de la planification du réaménagement. On tiendra également compte des besoins locaux au moment de l'élaboration d'une approche nationale. Le besoin de fournir la plus grande marge de manoeuvre possible en ce qui a trait à la technologie et de laisser au marché le soin de choisir les nouvelles technologies les plus efficaces est noté.

Le Ministère de l'Industrie examinera et publiera, au besoin, les Politiques d'utilisation du spectre (PS), les Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et les Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH) qui traitent des bandes du service mobile, en fonction de consultations publiques supplémentaires. Le plan de réaménagement tiendra compte de la contribution de tous les intéressés, y compris le CCCR, et du résultat des discussions avec la FCC et la NTIA.

3.3 Principes de réaménagement de l'utilisation du spectre

Dans les bandes 150 MHz et 450 MHz du service mobile, telles que définies à la section 3.2.2, l'utilisation des fréquences du service mobile a déjà atteint, ou atteindra bientôt, un niveau critique d'encombrement. Cette situation et le fait qu'il n'y a pas de nouvelles fréquences disponible au-dessous de 1 GHz pour les services radio mobile existants et en émergence rendent nécessaire l'élaboration d'un plan de réaménagement. Pour certains des services nouveaux, l'utilisation des fréquences audessus de 1 GHz est trop coûteuse. En conséquence, la meilleure façon, du point de vue économique, de répondre à la demande croissante de la capacité d'acheminement du trafic par les utilisateurs existants et futurs des fréquences au-dessus de 1 GHz, est peut-être de libérer des fréquences pour l'introduction de technologies radio qui permettent une économie appréciable du spectre.

Le Ministère de l'industrie s'engage à réaménager les fréquences radioélectriques des gammes 150 MHz et 450 MHz pour offrir une solution à long terme aux besoins des utilisateurs du spectre. Le Ministère reconnaît que la mise en oeuvre d'un plan de réaménagement cohérent demande une consultation suivie, pendant plusieurs années, avec l'industrie. Ainsi, un plan de réaménagement sera élaboré en collaboration avec l'industrie, conformément aux observations déjà présentées et aux résultats des consultations qui se tiendront au cours de la prochaine année. Cette approche permettra l'élaboration d'un plan détaillé qui tient compte des besoins des utilisateurs. Il faut cependant que le plan établisse un juste équilibre entre les nouvelles utilisations du spectre qui pourraient être proposées et les politiques d'utilisation du spectre qui sont élaborées à l'échelle de l'Amérique du Nord. Les principes ci-dessous ont été dégagés suite aux consultations publiques tenues dans le cadre de l'Examen de la bande 30-960 MHz et ils devraient orienter l'élaboration d'un plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile dans les gammes 150 MHz et 450 MHz.

Certains principes directeurs en vue de l'élaboration d'un plan de réaménagement :

  1. Planifier une transition graduelle vers les nouvelles technologies, qui perturbe le moins possible les utilisateurs existants.
  2. Adopter des périodes de transition qui tiennent compte des besoins futurs de la plupart des utilisateurs du spectre et prévoir des périodes appropriées d'amortissement du coût du matériel.
  3. Adopter des périodes de transition qui permettent de libérer des fréquences pour répondre à la demande sans cesse croissante de nouveaux systèmes mobiles dans différentes zones de service (p.ex., régions urbaines, rurales et éloignées).
  4. Accorder la priorité d'accès aux fréquences nouvellement libérées aux utilisateurs qui mettent en oeuvre de façon dynamique les technologies qui permettent d'accroître considérablement la capacité d'acheminement du trafic.
  5. Favoriser les technologies qui améliorent le rendement spectral tout en perturbant le moins possible les services existants et accorder à ces applications un accès préférentiel au spectre par rapport aux systèmes conventionnels.
  6. Éliminer les contraintes techniques, politiques et réglementaires qui empêchent l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies offrant un bon rendement spectral.
  7. Prévoir des mesures de politique appropriées à l'égard des services mobiles de sûreté et de sécurité, des services mobiles ferroviaire et des services mobiles maritimes.
  8. Traiter équitablement tous les utilisateurs du spectre en ce qui a trait à la recherche de technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral.
  9. Tenir compte des différences régionales en matière d'encombrement du spectre dans les directives d'orientation.
  10. Tenir compte de la compatibilité avec les systèmes mobiles existants pour assurer une transition sans heurts vers les nouvelles technologies.
  11. Définir les régions à fort encombrement du spectre et s'occuper en priorité de ces régions.
  12. Regrouper les utilisateurs ayant des besoins communs et les systèmes ayant des exigences opérationnelles similaires pour trouver des solutions communes qui favorisent l'utilisation efficiente du spectre.
  13. Prévoir, dans la mesure du possible, une transition transparente et économique vers les nouvelles technologies, qui tient compte des système existants exploités dans les mêmes voies et aux mêmes conditions.
  14. Tenir compte des utilisateurs des régions rurales et éloignées (régions à utilisation faible du spectre), qui n'ont peut-être pas besoin d'adopter une exploitation à bande étroite étant donné qu'il n'y a pas de pénurie du spectre.

4. Modifications apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

La plupart des modifications d'attribution proposées lors de l'Examen de la bande 30-960 MHz étaient fondées sur les décisions prises à CAMR-92. Il s'agit notamment des fréquences attribuées aux systèmes mobiles à satellites non-géostationnaires fonctionnant au-dessous de 1 GHz (137-138, 148-149,9, 149,9-150,05 et 400,15-401 MHz), à la recherche spatiale (400,15-401 et 410-420 MHz) et de modifications d'attribution aux fins du service mobile (849-851, 894-896 et 942-960 MHz. L'avis DGTP-005-94 dans la Gazette du Canada annonçait la publication du document intitulé Modifications apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (1994), où sont annoncées les nouvelles attributions intégrées au Tableau Canadien. La section ci-dessous, consacrée aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre (section 5), donne un résumé des attributions canadiennes dans chaque bande de fréquences. Le lecteur est prié de se rapporter au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences pour obtenir une description détaillée des liens entre les bandes et les services.

5. Politiques d'utilisation

Les énoncés de politique d'utilisation du spectre ci-dessous, fondés sur les résultats de consultations publiques, traitent de certains services et bandes de fréquences abordés dans le cadre de la partie II de l'Examen de la bande 30-960 MHz. Les attributions précises, actuellement en vigueur, sont présentées pour compléter les renseignements fournis dans les politiques d'utilisation.

5.1 Bandes du service mobile

Une description détaillée du lien entre les bandes et les services, contenue dans les renvois internationaux et canadiens, est présentée dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

5.1.1 Aperçu : 30-50 MHz

La bande 30-50 MHz est utilisée par des titulaires de licence radio aux fins de différentes applications du service mobile. Les systèmes autorisés se trouvent principalement dans la partie supérieure de la bande, dont les caractéristiques de propagation sont plus favorables. La partie supérieure de la bande accueille des systèmes radio expérimentaux fonctionnant sur les fréquences libérées par le SMTPG (service mobile terrestre public général), des systèmes de radiomessagerie, des système radio privés et des systèmes d'entreprises de radiocommunications. En outre, l'ensemble de la bande est largement utilisée par des systèmes mobiles (privés et gouvernementaux, y compris le ministère de la Défense national). Il est reconnu que des entités gouvernementales et non-gouvernementales utilisent des fréquences de l'ensemble de la bande 30- 50 MHz aux fins d'applications autorisées du service mobile et cette exploitation à titre primaire sera maintenue de façon homogène et coordonnée.

L'orientation générale de la politique d'utilisation du spectre est de maintenir le soutien de nouvelles technologies radio qui peuvent facilement être mises en oeuvre dans l'ensemble de la bande avec une incidence minimale sur les utilisateurs existants. Il faut interpréter l'expression «nouvelles technologies» dans son sens le plus large. Actuellement, le Ministère de l'Industrie autorise l'exploitation de systèmes mobiles terrestres à grande capacité sur les fréquences libérées par le SMTPG. Il permet également l'exploitation de systèmes à étalement du spectre et d'autres systèmes expérimentaux à bon rendement spectral dans la bande. Cette utilisation est conforme à la Politiques des systèmes radio PR-013, publiée en octobre 1988, qui autorise l'exploitation de systèmes mobiles terrestres à grande capacité et l'essai expérimental de systèmes offrant un bon rendement spectral sur les fréquences anciennement utilisées par le SMTPG.

La mise en oeuvre d'applications de faible puissance exemptes de licence dans cette bande sera autorisée à titre secondaire, en régime de non-brouillage et non-protection contre le brouillage produit par autres usagers. Les conditions applicables aux applications exemptes de licence du systèmes de faible puissance et de très faible puissance sont énoncées dans le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-210. Les dispositifs de très faible puissance, dont le champ produit par leur rayonnements non essentiels est inférieur à 100 uV/m à 3 mètres, sont permis dans la bande 30-50 MHz. Ces dispositifs ne brouilleront pas les stations autorisées et peuvent être exploités en régime de non-brouillage et de non- protection. Ces dispositifs sont jugés techniquement admissible à l'exemption de licence conformément aux exigences en matière d'émissions des normes radio.

Les sous-sections ci-dessous énoncent les politiques d'utilisation des bandes dans la gamme 30-50 MHz.

5.1.2 30,005-37,5 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Recherche Spatiale
Fixe

Politique s'utilisation

La bande 30,005-30,01 MHz est fusionnée à la bande 30,01-37,5 MHz et attribuée aux systèmes mobiles autorisés. La nouvelle bande 30,005-37,5 MHz, continuera d'accueillir les usages existants, dont les systèmes radio mobile avec espacement de 20 kHz entre les canaux, la radiomessagerie, les répéteurs automatiques, les utilisateurs SMTPG restants, les systèmes expérimentaux et les systèmes mobiles terrestres à grande capacité (dans les dix paires de fréquences libérées dans les bandes 35,260-35,660 MHz et 43,260-43,660 MHz). Cette utilisation sera maintenue conformément à la Politique des systèmes radio PR-013, publiée en octobre 1988. La sous-bande 36,0-37,5 MHz de la nouvelle bande fusionnée est également attribuée au développement et à l'essai de nouvelles techniques de transmission à longue distance, en plus de son attribution actuelle.

5.1.3 37,5-38,25 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe
Radioastronomie

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 37,5-38,25 MHz sera utilisée à titre primaire par différents systèmes mobiles autorisés. Les systèmes fixes seront accueillis à titre secondaire quand cela est possible. Cette sous-bande pourrait être assignée aux nouvelles applications mobiles et fixes.

5.1.4 38,25-39,986 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 38,25-39,986 MHz continuera de servir à l'autorisation à titre primaire de divers systèmes mobiles. Le contrôle du trafic d'urgence, la téléalarme d'incendie et d'autres systèmes exempts de licence sont actuellement permis à titre secondaire. En outre, l'exploitation d'applications de transmission à longue portée, pour répondre aux besoins de communications point-à-point et point multipoints et de radiomessagerie, est permise. Les désignations de fréquences sont conçues pour refléter la politique d'utilisation énoncée dans la Politiques des systèmes radio PR-004, mise en vigueur le 1er octobre 1983 et intitulée Politique de délivrance de licences relatives aux liaisons de très faible capacité entre points fixes fonctionnant à des fréquences comprises entre 30 et 890 MHz.

5.1.5 39,986-41,015 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe
Recherche spatiale

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 39,986-40,02 MHz est fusionnée aux bandes 40,02-40,98 MHz et 40,98-41,015 MHz. L'exploitation de systèmes de contrôles du trafic d'urgence et de téléalarme d'incendie et de systèmes ISM est permis dans cette nouvelle bande. La sous-bande 40,02-40,98 MHz peut également être utilisée par les systèmes analogiques et numériques de faible puissance exempts de licence.

5.1.6 41,015-47 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

Dans la bande 41,015-47,0 MHz, le service mobile est autorisé à titre primaire. Cette sous-bande peut également être utilisée par les systèmes de faible puissance à titre secondaire. Dans le cas de certains types de systèmes de faible puissance, en particulier de ceux destinés à des applications industrielles qui touchent à la sécurité, il faut assurer une protection suffisante contre le brouillage. Dans la sous-bande 43,260-43,660 MHz ce type d'utilisation est permis conformément à la Politique des systèmes radio PR-013, publié en octobre 1988. Cette politique est maintenue pour répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs du service mobile terrestre dans les régions non-urbaines.

Les téléphones analogiques sans cordon peuvent actuellement utiliser 10 paires de fréquences de la bande 46 MHz (fréquences d'émission de la station de base uniquement : 46,610-46,970 MHz - voir section 5.1.7) conformément au Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-209, intitulé Téléphones sans cordon dans les bandes de 46 MHz et de 49 MHz.

5.1.7 47-50 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 47-50 MHz est fortement utilisée par le service mobile terrestre, en particulier dans le corridor large de 120 km au nord de la frontière américanocanadienne. L'utilisation actuelle est donc maintenue.

Les téléphones analogiques sans cordon, alloués sur un base d'attribution secondaire sans protection contre le brouillage, peuvent actuellement utiliser 10 paires de fréquences de la bande 49 MHz ( fréquence d'émission des combinés uniquement : 49,670-49,970 MHz - voir section 5.1.6) conformément au Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-209, intitulé Téléphones sans cordon dans les bandes de 46 MHz et de 49 MHz. Actuellement, aucune autre fréquence de cette gamme ne peut être utilisée par les téléphones sans cordon. Toutefois, en Amérique du Nord, on manifeste de l'intérêt pour l'augmentation du nombre de voies mises à la disposition de nouvelles technologies de téléphones sans cordon dans cette gamme. Le Ministère de l'Industrie compte, suite à l'aboutissement de ces développements, mettre en oeuvre dans toute la mesure du possible un plan de répartition des voies similaires au Canada (c.-à-d. dans la mesure où cela peut se faire dans les différentes régions du Canada, avec perturbation minimale aux utilisateurs existants).

On examine également l'utilisation de paires de fréquences supplémentaires de sous-bandes adjacentes, ce qui pourrait porter de 10 à 25 le nombre total de paires de fréquences. Cela devrait permettre de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs de la seconde génération de téléphones sans cordon.

5.1.8 72-73 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Mobile
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 72-73 MHz est attribué conjointement à titre primaire aux services mobile et fixe. La bande sert également aux applications industrielles de sécurité de faible puissance, sous réserve que les assignations soient faites de façon à ne pas brouiller les canaux de télévision 4 et 5 ni les installations avoisinantes de radionavigation aéronautique exploitées dans la bande 74,5-74,2 MHz.

5.1.9 138-174 MHz

Attribution canadiennes
138 -144 MHz
Fixe
Mobile Terrestre
Recherche spatiale (espace vers Terre)
148 -149,9 MHz
Fixe
Mobile Terrestre
Mobile par Satellite (Terre vers espace)
150,05 – 156,7625 MHz
Mobile
Fixe
156,7625 – 156,8375 MHz
Mobile Maritime (détresse et appels)
156,8375 – 174 MHz
Mobile
Fixe
Politique d'utilisation

Il s'agit des bandes de la gamme VIF utilisées par un large éventail de systèmes mobiles autorisés et d'applications mobiles.

Ces bandes du service mobile continueront de fournir l'essentiel des fréquences au-dessous de 1 GHz utilisées par une vaste gamme de services mobiles. La mise en oeuvre d'un plan de réaménagement devra faire l'objet de nouvelles consultations publiques. Cette gamme de fréquences devra accueillir un nombre sans cesse croissant de nouveaux services mobiles. Il y a déjà encombrement du spectre dans les grands centres urbains.

Un plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile sera élaboré suite à de nouvelles consultations auprès de l'industrie. Les principes énoncés à la section 3.3 orienteront l'élaboration de ce plan, qui fera l'objet de nouvelles consultations publiques.

7 Dans la partie 420-421 MHz de la bande, les fréquences d'émission de la station de base sont utilisées conjointement avec les fréquences d'émission des stations mobile de la bande 409-410 MHz.

8 Dans la partie 420-421 MHz de la bande, les fréquences d'émission de la station de base sont utilisées conjointement avec les fréquences d'émission des stations mobile de la bande 409-410 MHz.


Date de modification :