SP 30-896 MHz, Part II — Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Mobile, Broadcasting and Amateur Services in the Frequency Range 30–896 MHz

5.1.10 216–220 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Fixed
Maritime Mobile
Land Mobile (reserved)

Utilization Policy

The recent policy document entitled Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (1994) allocated the band 216–220 MHz for land mobile service which is being held in reserve for future mobile applications. Current maritime mobile use of this band is light and will continue to be permitted. Fixed radio applications are permitted in the band with appropriate separation between maritime mobile assignments 170 km away from navigable waterways and TV channel 13 to prevent interference to television reception.

In addition to the uses previously-stated, there are radio technology and service applications developments being implemented in the United States for Interactive Video Data Services (IVDS) at 218–219 MHz. Although no interest exists to provide such a service in Canada, accommodating this type of service in the band 216–220 MHz may be given further consideration subject to public interest.

5.1.11 402–403 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Meteorological Aids
Earth Exploration Satellite (Earth-to-space)
Fixed
Mobile except aeronautical mobile

Utilization Policy

Utilization of the band 402–403 MHz includes a few meteorological aids assignments for use by weather balloons and a number of fixed assignments concentrated mostly in the central region of Canada. Such assignments are permitted with meteorological applications taking precedence in the band. Mobile assignments will be permitted in the band on a non-protection, noninterference basis similar to fixed assignments and to the extent that they can be accommodated without causing interference to meteorological aids which have a primary status in the band.

5.1.12 403–406 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Meteorological Aids
Fixed
Mobile except aeronautical mobile

Utilization Policy

Utilization of the frequency band 403–406 MHz is available for meteorological aids. Mobile assignments will be permitted in the band on a non-protection, noninterference basis similar to fixed assignments and to the extent that they can be accommodated without causing interference to meteorological aids which have a primary status in the band. Use of the band for fixed systems in the gathering of non-telemetry data and in-hospital telemetry is permitted in this band on a non-protection, non-interference basis.

5.1.13 406.1–410 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Radio Astronomy
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Fixed

Utilization Policy

In the band 406.1–410 MHz land mobile systems, including GLMRS like the AURORA public mobile system in Alberta that uses mobile station channels in the band portion 409–410 MHz paired (1+1 MHz) with base station frequencies at 420–421 MHz, are permitted. In addition, a significant portion of the band 406.1–410 MHz is used by municipal safety services in simplex and duplex modes. Utilization of the band for the mobile service is permitted subject to the radio astronomy protection zones established in Spectrum Utilization Policy - SP 450 MHz (Figure b-1), for the Algonquin Radioastronomy Observatory. Radio Systems Policy RP-004 of October 1, 1983, entitled, Policy for the Licensing of Very Low Capacity Point-to-Point Links in the Band 30–890 MHz, applies to radio systems in this band. For the band portion 409–410 MHz, Spectrum Utilization Policy SP 450 MHz of May 1986 applies.

A re-deployment plan for the mobile service bands will be developed through wide consultation with industry. The principles set-out in section 3.3 will guide the development of a re-deployment plan for further public consultation.

5.1.14 410–414 MHz and 415–419 MHz

Domestic Allocations

410–414 MHz
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Fixed
Space Research (space-to-space)

415–419 MHz
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Fixed
Space Research (space-to-space)

Utilization Policy

The bands 410–414 MHz and 415–419 MHz are paired based on a 5 MHz duplex spacing and are available for mobile services. These bands are assigned on a 25 kHz channel spacing and include users of provincial and municipal mobile and fixed radio systems.

A re-deployment plan for the mobile service bands will be developed through wide consultation with industry. The principles set-out in Section 3.3 will guide the development of a re-deployment plan for further public consultation.

5.1.15 414–415 MHz and 419–420 MHz

Domestic Allocations

414–415 MHz
Fixed
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Space Research (space-to-space)

419–420 MHz
Fixed
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Space Research (space-to-space)

Utilization Policy

The bands 414–415 MHz and 419–420 MHz are paired based on a 5 MHz duplex spacing and available for fixed services. These bands are assigned on 25 kHz channel spacing. The need to protect the primary use of these bands for fixed service precludes extensive mobile use. However, assignments may be made in accordance with Radio Systems Policy RP-004 of October 1, 1983, entitled, Policy for the Licensing of Very Low Capacity Point-to-Point Links in the Band 30–890 MHz.

5.1.16 420–430 MHz and 450–470 MHz

Domestic Allocations

420–430 MHz
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
Fixed

450–470 MHz
Mobile
Fixed

Utilization Policy

In the bands 420–430 MHz and 450–470 MHz mobile systems, including GLMRS like the AURORA public mobile system in Alberta that uses base station frequencies in the band portion 420–421 MHz paired (1+1 MHz) with mobile station channels at 409–410 MHz, are permitted.

A re-deployment plan for the mobile service bands will be developed through wide consultation with industry. The principles set-out in Section 3.3 will guide the development of a re-deployment plan for further public consultation.

5.2 Broadcasting Service Bands

FM broadcasting band 88–108 MHz was reviewed in the Spectrum Utilization Policy 30–896 MHz, Part I. The introduction of digital radio broadcasting in the band 1452–1492 MHz is expected to replace AM and FM broadcasting stations in the long term. This could reduce the need for the 88–108 MHz band for broadcasting.

A full description of the relationship between bands and services, as contained in related international and domestic footnotes, can be found in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

5.2.1 Television Broadcasting in the VHF and UHF Bands

Domestic Allocations

VHFBands
54–72 MHz
76–88 MHz
174–216 MHz

UHF Bands
470–608 MHz
614–806 MHz

Utilization Policy

In the short to medium term, the UHF broadcasting bands will be utilized for NTSC television broadcasting and future Advanced Television broadcasting (ATV). Initially, NTSC and ATV services will be simulcast. However, as discussed in Section 3.1, under the theme question on "Television Broadcasting in the Digital Era", there is indication that deployment of an ATV channel may take less than a 6 MHz channel and there is mounting interest to use broadcasting spectrum for non-programming radio services. The Department of Industry is of the view that, given these opportunities in these broadcasting bands and others, there is a need to initiate public consultation soon on the use of exclusive broadcasting frequency allocation for non-broadcasting types of services.

5.3 Amateur Service Bands

A full description of the relationship between bands and services as contained in related international and domestic footnotes can be found in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

5.3.1 50–54 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Amateur

Utilization Policy

Utilization of the band 50–54 MHz is available for the amateur service.

5.3.2 144–148 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Amateur
Amateur-Satellite (144–146 MHz)

Utilization Policy

The band 144–148 MHz is available for the amateur service. The 144–146 MHz portion is also available for the amateur-satellite service.

5.3.3 220–225 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Amateur

Utilization Policy

The level of interest demonstrated by the mobile community was not sufficient at the time of consultation to initiate further consultation on the allocation of 220–222 MHz to the land mobile service. Consequently, the current utilization of the band 220–225 MHz by the amateur service will continue. The Department of Industry encourages the usage for the amateur service to be concentrated in the upper portion of the band until a formal agreement is reached with the U.S. on the designation of frequencies along the Canada/U.S. border. The amateur community has expressed some concerns over the potential for future change to the current amateur service allocation in this band. The Department of Industry will continue to monitor the evolution of uses in this band in other countries and may review the current allocation at an appropriate time in the future.

5.3.4 430–450 MHz

Domestic Allocations

Radiolocation - Amateur

Utilization Policy

The band 430–450 MHz is available for the radiolocation service on a primary basis. Should the need arise in Canada, the Department of Industry may accommodate wind-shear radar/wind-profiler operation in the upper portion of the band 430–450 MHz as a radiolocation type of service.

The amateur-satellite service is permitted in the band portion 435–438 MHz on a secondary, non-protection, non-interference basis. In addition, and on the same secondary basis, the amateur and space operation services and the space research service are permitted in the band portions 440–450 MHz and 449.75- 450.25 MHz, respectively.

6. Supplementary Information

7. Implementation

It is suggested that applicants contact the nearest office of the Department of Industry regarding radio licensing in the bands covered in this policy document. General inquiries about the policy provisions contained in this document may be addressed to the Spectrum and Radio Service Directorate, Telecommunications Policy Branch, 300 Slater St., Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 (Phone: 613-998- 4470/4010) (Fax: 613-952-0567).

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


Annex 1

Frequency Bands Included in this Document
MHz Domestic frequency Allocations
30.0005-37.5 Mobile, Space Research, Fixed
37.5-38.25 Mobile, Fixed, Radio Astronomy
38.25-39.986 Mobile, Fixed
39.986-41.015 Mobile, Fixed, Space Research
41.015-47 Mobile, Fixed
47-50 Mobile, Fixed
50-54 Amateur
54-72 Broadcasting (VHF)
72-73 Fixed, Mobile
76-88 Broadcasting (VHF)
138-144 Fixed, Land Mobile
Space Research (space-to-Earth)
144-148 Amateur,
Amateur-Satellite
(144–146 MHz)
148-149.9 Fixed, Land Mobile
Mobile-Satellite (Earth-to-space)
150.05-156.7625 Mobile, Fixed
156.7625-156.8375 Maritime Mobile (distress and calling)
156.8375-174 Mobile, Fixed
174-216 Broadcasting (VHF)
216-220 Fixed, Maritime Mobile, Land Mobile
220-225 Amateur
402-403 Meteorological Aids, Earth Exploration
Satellite (Earth-to space), Fixed,
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
403-406 Meteorological Aids, Fixed,
Mobile except aeronautical mobile
406.1-140 Radio Astronomy,
Mobile except aeronautical mobile, Fixed
410-414 Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Fixed, Space Research (space-to-space)
414-415 Fixed, Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Space Research (space-to-space)
415-419 Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Fixed, Space Research (space-to-space)
419-420 Fixed, Mobile except aeronautical mobile,
Space Research (space-to-space)
420-430 Mobile except aeronautical mobile, Fixed
430-450 Radiolocation, Amateur
450-470 Mobile, Fixed
470-608 Broadcasting (UHF)
614-806 Broadcasting (UHF)

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS 30-896 MHz, Partie II — Politique d'utilisation du spectre aux services mobile, de radiodiffusion et d'amateur dans la gamme 30–896 MHz

5.1.10 216–220 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Fixe
Mobile Maritime
Mobile Terrestre (sous réserve)

Politique d'utilisation

Le document de politique publié récemment, intitulé Modifications apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (1994), attribue la bande 216–220 MHz au service mobile terrestre qui est mis en réserve pour fins de futures applications mobiles. L'utilisation actuelle de la bande par le service mobile maritime est faible et demeurera permise. Les applications radio fixes sont permises, sous réserve d'une séparation suffisante avec les assignations mobiles maritimes à une distance de 170 km des voies navigables et le canal de télévision 13, pour ne pas brouiller la réception des signaux de télévision.

Outre les utilisations ci-dessus, des technologies et des applications radio de services interactifs de vidéo et de données (IVDS) sont mis en oeuvre aux États-Unis dans la bande 218–219 MHz. Il n'y a aucun intérêt au Canada pour la prestation de ce type de services, mais on pourrait envisager de la permettre dans la bande 216–220 MHz si la population en manifeste l'intérêt.

5.1.11 402–403 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Auxiliaires de la Météorologie
Satellite d'exploration de la Terre (Terre vers espace)
Fixe
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 402–403 MHz est notamment assignée à un petit nombre d'auxiliaires de la météorologie (ballons-sondes météorologiques) et à certaines stations fixes, concentrées principalement dans le centre du Canada. Ces assignations sont permises dans la bande et les auxiliaires de la météorologie sont autorisés à titre primaire. Les assignations mobiles seront permises en régime de nonbrouillage et de non-protection comme les assignations fixes, sous réserve qu'elles ne causent pas de brouillage aux auxiliaires de la météorologie, qui sont autorisés à titre primaire.

5.1.12 403–406 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Auxiliaires de la Météorologie
Fixe
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 403–406 MHz est attribuée aux auxiliaires de la météorologie. Les assignations mobiles seront permises en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection comme les assignations fixes, sous réserve qu'elles ne causent pas de brouillage aux auxiliaires de la météo, qui sont autorisés à titre primaire. La bande peut être utilisée, en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection, par les systèmes fixes aux fins de la collecte de données autres que de télémesure et par les applications de télémesure à l'intérieur des hôpitaux.

5.1.13 406,1–410 MHz

Attribution canadiennes

Radioastronomie
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

Dans la bande 406,1–410 MHz les systèmes mobile terrestre qui incluent SMTPG, comme le système mobile public albertain AURORA, qui utilisent des voies de stations mobiles de la sous-bande 409–410 MHz appariées (1+ 1 MHz) avec des voies de stations de base à 420–421 MHz, sont permis. De plus, un nombre important des autres fréquences de la sous-bande 406,1–410 MHz sont utilisées par les services municipaux de sécurité, en mode simplex ou duplex. L'utilisation de la bande aux fins du service mobile est permise et des zones de protection de la radioastronomie sont définies dans la Politique d'utilisation du spectre PS 450 MHz (figure b-1) relativement à l'Observatoire Algonquin de radioastronomie. La Politique des systèmes radio PR-004, mise en vigueur le 1 octobre 1983 et intitulée Politique de délivrance de licences relatives aux liaisons de très faible capacité entre points fixes fonctionnant à des fréquences comprises entre 30 et 890 MHz, s'applique aux systèmes radio exploitées dans cette bande. La Politique d'utilisation du spectre PS 450 MHz (mai 1986) s'applique à la sous-bande 409–410 MHz.

Un plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile sera élaboré suite à de vaste consultations auprès de l'industrie. Les principes énoncés à la section 3.3 orienteront l'élaboration de ce plan, qui fera l'objet de nouvelles consultations publiques.

5.1.14 410–414 MHz et 415–419 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

410–414 MHz
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Fixe
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)

415–419 MHz
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Fixe
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)

Politique d'utilisation

Les bandes 410–414 MHz et 415–419 MHz sont appariées suivant un espacement duplex de 5 MHz et elles peuvent être utilisées par les services mobiles. Les fréquences de cette bande sont attribuées suivant un plan d'espacement de 25 kHz entre les voies et elles peuvent être utilisées par les systèmes radio fixes et les systèmes mobiles provinciaux et municipaux.

Un plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile sera élaboré suite à de vastes consultations auprès de l'industrie. Les principes énoncés à la section 3.3 orienteront l'élaboration de ce plan, qui fera l'objet de nouvelles consultations publiques.

5.1.15 414–415 MHz et 419–420 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

414–415 MHz
Fixe
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Recherche spatiale (espace vers espace)

419–420 MHz
Fixe
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Recherche spatiale (espace vers espace)

Politique d'utilisation

Les bandes 414–415 MHz et 419–420 MHz sont appariées suivant l'espacement en duplex de 5 MHz peuvent être utilisées par les services fixes. Les fréquences sont attribuées suivant un plan d'espacement de 25 kHz entre les voies et selon un plan d'appariement des assignations. La nécessité de protéger l'utilisation à titre primaire de ces bandes par le service fixe empêche leur utilisation considérable par le service mobile. Cependant, des assignations peuvent être faites conformément à la Politique des systèmes radio PR-004, mise en vigueur le 1er octobre 1983 et intitulée Politique de délivrance de licences relatives aux liaisons de très faible capacité entre points fixes fonctionnant à des fréquences comprises entre 30 et 890 MHz.

5.1.16 420–430 MHz et 450–470 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

420–430 MHz
Mobile sauf mobile aéronautique
Fixe

450–470 MHz
Mobile
Fixe

Politique d'utilisation

Dans la bande 420–430 MHz et 450–470 MHz les systèmes mobiles terrestres, qui incluent SMTPG comme le système mobile public albertain AURORA qui utilisent des voies de stations de base de la sous-bande 420–421 MHz appariées (1+1 MHz) avec des voies de stations mobiles à 409–410 MHz, sont permis.

Un plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile sera élaboré suite à de vastes consultations auprès de l'industrie. Les principes énoncés à la section 3.3 orienteront l'élaboration de ce plan, qui fera l'objet de nouvelles consultations publiques.

5.2 Bandes du service de radiodiffusion

La bande 88–108 MHz, attribuée à la radiodiffusion FM, est traitée dans le document intitulé Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 30–896 MHz, partie 1. La mise en oeuvre de la radiodiffusion audionumérique dans la bande 1452–1492 MHz devrait entraîner l'élimination des stations de radiodiffusion AM et FM à long terme. Cela pourrait réduire le besoin des fréquences de la bande 88–108 MHz aux fins de la radiodiffusion.

Une description détaillée du lien entre les bandes et les services, contenue dans les renvois internationaux et canadiens, est présentée dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

5.2.1 Télédiffusion dans les bandes VHF et UHF

Attributions canadiennes

Bandes VHF
54–72 MHz
76–88 MHz
174–216 MHz

Bandes UHF
470–608 MHz
614–806 MHz

Politique d'utilisation

À court et à moyen terme, les bandes de radiodiffusion UHF serviront à la télédiffusion NTSC et à la future diffusion de la télévision de pointe (TVP). Au début, les services NTSC et TVP seront diffusés en simultané. Cependant, comme on en a discuté à la section 3.1 dans le cadre de la question-thème «La radiodiffusion télévisuelle à l'ère du numérique», des indices laissent croire que l'implantation d'un canal de télévision de pointe peut demander une bande inférieure à 6 MHz et on est de plus en plus intéressé à utiliser des fréquences de la radiodiffusion pour assurer des services autres que de programmation. Le Ministère de l'Industrie est d'avis que, compte tenu de ces occasions dans ces bandes de radiodiffusion et dans d'autres bandes, il est nécessaire d'amorcer incessamment des consultations publiques sur l'utilisation d'attributions de fréquences qui sont exclusives aux services de radiodiffusion exclusives pour la fourniture de services autres que de radiodiffusion.

5.3 Bandes du service d'amateur

Une description détaillée du lien entre les bandes et les services, contenue dans les renvois internationaux et canadiens, est présentée dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

5.3.1 50–54 MHz

Attribution canadienne

Amateur

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 50–54 MHz est disponible au service d'amateur.

5.3.2 144–148 MHz

Attributions canadiennes

Amateur

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 144–148 MHz est disponible au service d'amateur. La sous-bande 144–146 MHz peut également être utilisée par le service d'amateur par satellite.

5.3.3 220–225 MHz

Attribution canadienne

Amateur

Politique d'utilisation

Le niveau d'intérêt manifesté, lors de la consultation, par le milieu des services mobiles à l'égard de la tenue de consultations concernant l'attribution de la sous-bande 220–222 MHz au service mobile terrestre, était insuffisant. En conséquence, l'utilisation actuelle de la bande 220–225 MHz par le service d'amateur sera maintenue. Le Ministère de l'Industrie favorise la concentration de l'utilisation par le service d'amateur dans la partie supérieure de la bande jusqu'à ce qu'une entente officielle soit conclue avec les É.-U. relativement à l'attribution des fréquences le long de la frontière américano-canadienne. Les radioamateurs ont fait part d'une certaine inquiétude face à la possibilité que l'attribution actuelle de la bande au service d'amateur soit éventuellement modifiée. Le Ministère continuera de suivre l'évolution de l'utilisation de cette bande à l'étranger et pourra revoir l'attribution actuelle au moment opportun.

5.3.4 430–450 MHz

Attribution canadienne

Radiolocalisation
Amateur

Politique d'utilisation

La bande 430–450 est utilisée à titre primaire par le service de radiolocalisation. Si le besoin s'en fait sentir au Canada, le Ministère de l'Industrie peut permettre, à titre de service de radiolocalisation, l'exploitation de radars détecteurs de cisaillement de vent et de profileurs de vent dans la partie supérieure de la bande 430–450 MHz.

Le service d'amateur par satellite est permis dans la sous-bande 435–450 MHz à titre secondaire, en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection. En outre, toujours à titre secondaire, les services d'amateur, d'exploitation spatiale et de recherche spatiale sont permis dans les sous-bandes 440–450 MHz et 449,75–450,25 MHz, respectivement.

6. Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Mise en oeuvre

Il est suggéré que les requérants communiquent avec le bureau le plus rapproché du Ministère de l'Industrie pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l'autorisation des systèmes dans les bandes de fréquences élaborées dans ce document de politique du spectre. Des renseignements sur les dispositions des politiques contenues dans ce document peuvent être obtenus en s'adressant au bureau du Spectre et services de la radiocommunication, Direction de la politique des télécommunications, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8 (Téléphone : 613-998-4470/4010) (Facsimile : 613-952-0567).

Publié selon l'autorisation de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Michael Helm
Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications


L'annexe 1

Bandes de fréquences visées par le présente document
MHz Allocations de
fréquences domestiques
30,005-37,5 Mobile, Recherche Spatiale, Fixe
37,5-38,25 Mobile, Fixe, Radioastronomie
38,25-39,986 Mobile, Fixe
39,986-41,015 Mobile, Fixe, Recherche Spatiale
41,015-47 Mobile, Fixe
47-50 Mobile, Fixe
50-54 Amateur
54-72 Radiodiffusion (VHF)
72-73 Fixe, Mobile
76-88 Radiodiffusion (VHF)
138-144 Fixe, Mobile Terrestre
Recherche spatiale (espace-vers-Terre)
144-148 Amateur,
Amateur par Satellite (144–146 MHz)
148-149.9 Fixe, Mobile
Mobile par Satellite (Terre-vers-espace)
150.05-156.7625 Mobile, Fixe
156.7625-156.8375 Mobile Maritime (détresse et appel)
156.8375-174 Mobile, Fixe
174-216 Radiodiffusion (VHF)
216-220 Fixe, Mobile Maritime
220-225 Amateur
402-403 Auxiliaires de la Météorologie,
Exploitation de la terre par Satellite
(Terre-vers-espace)
Fixe,
Mobile (sauf que mobile aéronautique)
403-406 Auxiliaires de la Météorologie, Fixe,
Mobile, (sauf que mobile aéronautique)
406.1-140 Radioastronomie,
Mobile (sauf que mobile aéronautique),
Fixe
410-414 Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique), Fixe,
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
414-415 Fixe, Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
415-419 Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique), Fixe,
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
419-420 Fixe, Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Recherche Spatiale (espace vers espace)
420-430 Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique) fixe
430-450 Radiolocalisation, Amateur
450-470 Mobile, Fixe
470-608 Radiodiffusion (UHF)
614-806 Radiodiffusion (UHF)

Date de modification :