SP 23/38 GHz — Spectrum Policy and Licensing Considerations, Fixed Radio Systems in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz Frequency Bands

6.4 Licence Fees

Industry Canada is of the view that licence fees should reflect the economic value of the radio frequency spectrum being used. However, in the absence of a market based mechanism by which this economic value can be revealed, the Department recognizes that such determinations are difficult.

Industry Canada proposes to apply a fee proportional to the geographic area being licensed. An annual fee of $20 per square kilometer per paired block would be applied to each of the 8 pairs of frequency blocks in the 23 GHz band and to each of the 14 pairs of frequency blocks in the 38 GHz band, and an annual fee of $10 per square kilometer per block would be applied to the 4 single blocks in the 38 GHz band. This fee was derived from the LMCS fee of $.50 per household per 500 MHz frequency block, as the total fee for the 66 service areas, divided by the total area served, and pro-rated for 50 MHz blocks. A list of the fees associated to each of the 66 proposed geographic areas is given in Annex B.

The Department seeks comments on the appropriateness of applying a fee based on the area served, especially with respect to the question of whether the Department should prescribe the geographic areas to be authorized. If a fee based on the area served is not appropriate, the Department seeks comments on the methodology that should be used to set fees for each of pre-defined and user defined service areas.

Future competitive bidding processes for licences will generate market data which the Department may use to calibrate fees for licences assigned previously on a first-come first-served basis. As an example, in situations where a licence assigned by auction is practically identical to an existing licence, the licence fee for the latter may be adjusted to match the auction determined fee that will be paid for the former.

6.5 Provisional Licensing Procedure

The Department wishes to complete its consultation on the issues discussed in this document before it releases its area licensing procedure for the 23 GHz and 38 GHz bands. The Department also realizes that some parties may be ready to start providing service before the end of the consultation period. Consequently the Department is prepared to issue radio authorizations in the interim. Interested parties who meet both the policy requirements as described herein and the eligibility requirements as defined in section 6.2 above may apply for an authorization to use frequency block(s) in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz bands. A block, or block pair, will be assigned once in a geographic area and applicants will be eligible for one block, or block pair, during the provisional licensing period. Applicants are not required to provide site specific information with their application, and there will be no fee attached to these authorizations. Once the area licensing procedure comes into effect every effort will be made by the Department to accommodate holders of radio authorizations as well as maintain the block(s) they have been assigned.

These radio authorizations will only be valid until such a time as the final area licensing procedure is released and comes into effect.

6.6 Conditions of Licensing

When installing radio stations, applicants must comply with the procedures for non-site specific stations as outlined in Client Procedures Circular (CPC) 2-0-03 - Environmental Process, Radio frequency Fields and Land-use Consultation. Radio apparatus will need to conform with the appropriate Industry Canada regulations and technical standards.

6.7 Spectrum Availability

At such time as the assignment of single blocks or paired blocks reaches a level of 75% of the spectrum available for authorization in a geographic area, (with the current allocation, 6 of the 8 paired frequency blocks available in the 23 GHz band, 10 of the 14 paired blocks in the 38 GHz band, or 3 or the 4 single blocks in the 38 GHz band) the Department will cease licensing on a first come, first served basis.

At that time, the Department will decide whether or not to undertake a process the objective of which would be to make additional spectrum available. Should additional spectrum ultimately be made available, first come first served licensing would resume. On the other hand should additional spectrum not be made available the Department may initiate a competitive bidding process for the remaining frequency blocks. The first stage of this process would consist of a request for expressions of interest for the remaining blocks. If the results of the request for expressions of interest demonstrate that the number of remaining blocks is sufficient to accommodate the expressed demand, the Department will continue to issue licences on a first come, first served basis. If, on the other hand, the results show that the spectrum availability does not meet the demand, the Department will proceed with a competitive bidding process for the remaining blocks in the service area defined.

6.8 Public Comments

Interested parties are invited to comment on a number of issues related to area licensing in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz bands, as described in section 6 of this document. Interested parties should submit their comments on or before October 22, 1996 to the office of:

Director General
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada
Journal Tower North
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

7. Technical Considerations

Channel blocks will be assigned where there is a requirement for multiple service points or transmission paths within a geographic area, as per the spectrum policy provisions outlined in Sections 4 and 5. Assigned frequency channel blocks may be subdivided and used anywhere within the authorized service area, subject to the rules which will be developed in consultation with industry, in order to reduce the possibility of co-channel and adjacent channel interference.

7.1 Co-existence With Other Systems

There are two aspects to the potential for interference between systems:

  1. power levels into adjacent areas (co-channel)
  2. power levels into adjacent channels (same area)

Operators within the same general area are encouraged to enter into mutually beneficial arrangements to foster efficient spectrum use near their common boundaries. One of the attractive aspects of the block/area assignment is the freedom to use the given spectrum in a particular area with the minimum number of restrictions. Operators will be expected to take full advantage of interference mitigation techniques such as antenna discrimination, polarization, frequency offset, shielding, site selection, power control, etc. to facilitate coexistence with systems of other service providers.

To minimize the occurrence of adjacent channel interference an emission mask that is fixed at the channel edge i.e. independent of frequency tolerance, would be the preferred solution.

These aspects, as well as minimum bit efficiency, antenna standards etc. will be developed in consultation with the Radio Advisory Board of Canada subsequent to the release of this policy. Further, type approval of equipment will be used to facilitate the application of the block/area licensing concept, and the conditions for such should also be considered at the same time.

8. Implementation

It is suggested that applicants contact the nearest office of Industry Canada regarding radio licensing in the bands covered in this policy document. General inquiries about the policy provisions may be addressed to the Spectrum and Radio Services Directorate, Telecommunication Policy Branch, 300 Slater St., Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 (Phone: 613-998-4470/3974) (Fax: 613-952-0567)

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act

Larry Shaw
Acting Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Annex A

Transmission Capacity (SP 1-20 GHz)
RF Channel Capacity Traffic Load (Mbit/s)(c)

Notes:
(a) Smaller system capacities are also permitted in LC bands on a case-by-case basis.
(b) Capacities of less than 1.544 Mbit/s are not permitted in channels identified for MC or HC, unless specifically identified in the spectrum policy for the band.
(c) System capacities do not include radio system overhead bits.

Low Capacity (LC) (a)(b) ≥ 1.544 ≤ 24.704
Medium Capacity (MC) > 24.704 ≤ 51.840
High Capacity (HC) > 51.840  

Digital Signal (DS) levels and their relation in the digital transmission hierarchy are shown in the following table:

Digital Signal (DS) levels and their relation in the digital transmission hierarchy
DS-0
64kbit/s
1 voice ch. + signalling
DS-1
1.544 Mbit/s
1 T1
24 DS-0
DS-2
6.312 Mbit/s
1 T2
96 DS-0
DS-3
44.736 Mbit/s
1 T3
672 DS-0
STS-1
51.84 Mbit/s
1 OC-1
672 DS-0
STM-1
155.52 Mbit/s
OC-32
2,016 DS-0
16 STM-1
2.48832 Gbit/s
OC-48
32,256 DS-0
32 STM-1
4.97664 Gbit/s
OC-96
64,512 DS-0

Notes: SONET is the North American technology used for STM-1

T1
24 circuits
T2
96 circuits
T3
672 circuits
OC-1
1 T3
OC-3
3 T3

Annex B

Proposed Service Areas and Associated Licence Fees
Service Area Fee ($)
per paired
block
Barrie 4195
Belleville 2138
Brandon 744
Brantford 1717
Brockville 4285
Calgary 11,669
Charlottetown 1421
Chatham 2209
Chicoutimi-Jonquière-Alma 17,775
Cobourg 3013
Cornwall 1486
Courtenay 9277
Drummondville 2860
Edmonton 59,882
Fort McMurray 1327
Fredericton 9622
Granby 3516
Grande Prairie 3690
Guelph/Kitchener 11,675
Halifax 17,281
Joliette 1478
Kamloops 10,215
Kelowna 17,633
Kingston 3661
Lethbridge 3859
London/Woodstock/St Thomas 10,400
Medicine Hat 2090
Moncton 2895
Montréal 58,756
Moose Jaw 920
Nanaimo 25,802
Niagara/St Catharines/Welland 5892
North Bay 2071
Orillia 1882
Ottawa/Hull 40,788
Pembroke 5564
Penticton 1422
Peterborough 3441
Prince George 5577
Québec 17,741
Red Deer 1241
Regina 4521
Rimouski 2720
Rouyn-Noranda 1439
Saint John 7132
Sarnia 3395
Saskatoon 4366
Sault Ste Marie 6259
Sherbrooke 10,146
Sidney 12,998
Sorel 2047
St-Hyacinthe 763
St. John's 6126
Stratford 1128
Sudbury 15,129
Thunder Bay 8064
Timmins 20,118
Toronto 80,279
Trois-Rivières 9805
Val-D'Or 8975
Vancouver 52,900
Victoria 12,440
Victoriaville 1260
Windsor/Leamington 12,441
Winnipeg 12,737

Annex C

Geographic representation of proposed service areas

(The maps contained in Annex C are not available on the Internet. Please request a printed copy of this document for this information.)


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

PS 23/38 GHz — Considérations en matière de politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et 38 GHz

6.4 Droits de licence

Industrie Canada estime que les droits de licence devraient refléter la valeur économique des fréquences radio utilisées. Toutefois, en l'absence d'un mécanisme axé sur les forces du marché qui permettrait de connaître cette valeur économique, le Ministère reconnaît qu'il est difficile de procéder à de telles déterminations.

Industrie Canada propose d'appliquer un droit proportionnel à la région géographique qui fait l'objet de la licence. Un droit annuel de 20 $ par kilomètre carré pour chaque bloc de fréquences appairé serait appliqué à chacune des 8 paires de blocs de fréquence de la bande de 23 GHz et à chacune des 14 paires de blocs de fréquence dans la bande de 38 GHz, et un droit annuel de 10 $ par kilomètre pour chaque bloc serait appliqué aux 4 blocs distincts de la bande de 38 GHz. Ce droit est dérivé des droits de STML de 0,50 $ par ménage pour chaque bloc de fréquence de 500 MHz, ce qui représente les droits totaux pour les 66 zones de service divisés par la surface totale visée par le service et calculés au pro rata pour les blocs de 50 MHz. La liste des droits associés à chacune des 66 régions géographiques proposées figure à l'annexe B.

Le Ministère invite les intéressés à faire part de leurs observations quant à la pertinence d'appliquer un droit basé sur la superficie couverte par le service, surtout en ce qui a trait à la question de savoir si le Ministère devrait prescrire les régions géographiques devant faire l'objet d'autorisations. Si un droit basé sur la région servie n'est pas pertinent, le Ministère voudrait connaître les observations des intéressés quant à la méthode à employer pour fixer le montant des droits pour chaque zone de service définie au préalable et définie par les utilisateurs.

Les processus futurs d'appel d'offres en vue l'attribution de licences généreront des données sur le marché dont le Ministère pourrait se servir pour étalonner les droits des licences attribuées précédemment suivant la règle du * premier arrivé, premier servi +. Par exemple, dans des situations où une licence attribuée au plus offrant est pratiquement identique à une licence existante, les droits de cette dernière licence pourraient être réajustés en fonction des droits déterminés par enchère qui seront payés pour la première licence.

6.5 Procédure provisoire d'attribution des licences

Le Ministère désire terminer sa consultation sur les questions traitées dans le présent document avant de publier sa procédure d'attribution des licences par zone de service pour les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et de 38 GHz. Le Ministère constate aussi que certaines parties intéressées seraient peut-être prêtes à commencer à offrir le service avant la fin de la période de consultation. Par conséquent, le Ministère est disposé à délivrer dans l'intervalle des autorisations de radiocommunication. Les parties intéressées qui satisfont à la fois aux exigences de la politique décrite dans la présente et aux critères d'admissibilité définis à la section 6.2 qui précède peuvent remplir une demande d'obtention d'une autorisation pour utiliser les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et de 38 GHz. Un bloc ou un bloc de fréquences pairées sera assigné une seule fois dans une zone géographique et les requérants seront éligibles pour un bloc ou un bloc de fréquences pairées, pendant la période provisoire d'attribution de licences. Il n'est pas nécessaire que la demande des requérants soit accompagnée de renseignements spécifiques concernant leur site. De plus, aucun droit ne sera attaché à ces autorisations. Dès que la procédure de délivrance de licences par zone sera en vigueur, le Ministère fera tous les efforts voulus pour répondre aux besoins de titulaires d'autorisations de radiocommunications et pour conserver les blocs qui leur ont été assignés.

Ces autorisations de radiocommunication seront valides jusqu'à ce que la procédure définitive de délivrance de licences par zone soit publiée et qu'elle entre en vigueur.

6.6 Conditions d'attribution des licences

Lorsqu'ils installent des stations radio, les requérants doivent se conformer aux procédures relatives aux stations n'occupant pas d'emplacement particulier, énoncées dans la circulaire concernant les clients (CPC) 2-0-03, intitulée Environmental Process, Radio frequency Fields and Land-use Consultation. Les appareils radio devront être conformes aux normes techniques et règlements pertinents d'Industrie Canada.

6.7 Disponibilité du spectre

Dès que le nombre d'assignations de blocs seuls ou de blocs appairés atteindra 75 p. 100 des fréquences disponibles pour autorisation dans une région géographique donnée, (avec l'allotissement actuel, 6 des 8 blocs appairés disponibles dans la bande de 23 GHz, 10 des 14 blocs appairés dans la bande de 38 GHz, ou 3 des 4 blocs seuls dans la bande de 38 GHz), le Ministère cessera d'attribuer les licences suivant la règle du « premier arrivé, premier servi ».

Le Ministère décidera alors s'il convient ou non d'entreprendre un processus visant à rendre disponibles des fréquences additionnelles. Si l'on devait décider de rendre disponibles des fréquences additionnelles, on recommencerait à attribuer les licences suivant la règle du * premier arrivé, premier servi +. D'autre part, si l'on décidait de ne pas rendre disponibles des fréquences additionnelles, le Ministère pourrait mettre en branle un processus d'appel d'offres pour l'attribution des blocs de fréquences encore disponibles. La première étape de ce processus consisterait à s'enquérir de l'intérêt éventuel au sujet des blocs restants. Si l'intérêt exprimé démontre que le nombre de blocs restants est suffisant pour répondre à la demande exprimée, le Ministère continuera de délivrer les licences suivant la règle du * premier arrivé, premier servi +. Si, par contre, les résultats montrent que les fréquences disponibles ne satisfont pas à la demande, le Ministère procédera à un appel d'offres en vue de l'attribution des blocs restants dans la zone de service définie.

6.8 Observations du public

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs observations sur certaines questions relatives à la délivrance de licences de zone dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et de 38 GHz, décrites à la section 6 du présent document. Les parties intéressées devraient présenter leurs observations au plus tard le 22 octobre 1996, et les adresser au bureau de :

Directeur général
Direction générale de la réglementation de la radiocommunication et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada
Immeuble Journal Nord
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ont.)
K1A 0C8

7. Considérations techniques

Des blocs de fréquences seront assignés là où il existe un besoin d'établir des points de service multiples ou des trajets de transmission à l'intérieur d'une zone de service, comme on le précise dans les provisions de la politique du spectre à la section 4 et 5. Des blocs de fréquences et de voies peuvent être subdivisés, puis utilisés n'importe où à l'intérieur d'une zone de service autorisée, sous réserve des règles qui seront élaborées en consultation avec Industrie en vue de réduire le risque de brouillage dans une même voie et entre voies adjacentes.

7.1 Coexistence avec d'autres systèmes

Les risques de brouillage entre les systèmes des exploitants comportent deux aspects :

  1. niveaux de puissance transmise à des zones adjacentes (même voie)
  2. niveaux de puissance transmise à des voies adjacentes (même zone)

On invite les exploitants qui partagent la même zone générale à conclure des arrangements mutuellement avantageux pour favoriser une utilisation du spectre efficace au voisinage de leurs frontières communes. Un des attraits de l'assignation par bloc ou par région, c'est la liberté d'utiliser les bandes assignées dans une région particulière en subissant le moins de restrictions possibles. On s'attendra à ce que les exploitants tirent pleinement profit des techniques d'évitement du brouillage comme la discrimination d'antenne, la polarisation, le décalage des fréquences, le blindage, le choix des emplacements, le contrôle de la puissance etc. pour faciliter la coordination avec d'autres fournisseurs de services.

Pour réduire le plus possible le brouillage de voie adjacente, on optera de préférence pour un masque d'émissions fixé à l'extrémité de la voie, pour qu'il ne soit pas influencé par la tolérance de fréquences.

Ces aspects, comme l'efficacité binaire minimale, les normes sur les antennes, etc., seront examinés de concert avec le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio après la publication de la présente politique. En outre, l'homologation du matériel servira à faciliter l'application du concept d'assignation par bloc et par région, et il conviendra d'examiner en même temps les conditions qui s'y rapportent.

8. Mise en oeuvre

On conseille aux requérants de s'adresser au bureau le plus près d'Industrie Canada au sujet de la délivrance de licences de radiocommunication dans les bandes dont le présent document traite. Les demandes de renseignements de nature générale au sujet des dispositions relatives à la politique peuvent être adressées à la Direction des services du spectre et de la radio, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ont.) K1A 0C8 (téléphone : 613-998-4470/3974) (Fax : 613-952-0567)

Publié en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Larry Shaw
Directeur général intérimaire
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications

Annexe A

Capacité de transmission (PS 1-20 GHz)
Capacité en voies RF Charge du trafic (Mbit/s)(c)

Notes:
(a) Des débits plus faibles sont également autorisés dans les bandes de faible capacité, après étude de chaque cas.
(b) Des débits inférieurs à 1,544 Mbit/s ne sont pas autorisés dans les voies destinées aux systèmes MC ou GC, sauf indication contraire dans la politique d'utilisation de la bande concernée.
(c) Les débits indiqués ne comprennent pas les bits de servitude des systèmes radio.

Faible capacité (FC) (a)(b) ≥ 1 544 ≤ 24 704
Moyenne capacité (MC) > 24 704 ≤ 51 840
Grande capacité (GC) > 51.840  

Le tableau qui suit montre la relation entre les niveaux numériques des signaux (DS) et la hiérarchie de la transmission numérique :

La relation entre les niveaux numériques des signaux DS et la hiérarchie de la transmission numérique
DS-0
64kbit/s
1 voie tél. + signalisation
DS-1
1,544 Mbit/s
1 T1
24 DS-0
DS-2
6,312 Mbit/s
1 T2
96 DS-0
DS-3
44,736 Mbit/s
1 T3
672 DS-0
STS-1
51,84 Mbit/s
1 OC-1
672 DS-0
STM-1
155,52 Mbit/s
OC-32
2 016 DS-0
16 STM-1
2,48 832 Gbit/s
OC-48
32 256 DS-0
32 STM-1
4,97 664 Gbit/s
OC-96
64 512 DS-0

Notes : La technologie nord-américaine STM-1 consiste dans de l'équipement SONET

T1
24 circuits
T2
96 circuits
T3
672 circuits
OC-1
1 T3
OC-3
3 T3

Annexe B

Aires de service proposées et droits de licence associés
Aires de Service Droits ($)
par bloc
apparié
Barrie 4195
Belleville 2138
Brandon 744
Brantford 1717
Brockville 4285
Calgary 11 669
Charlottetown 1421
Chatham 2209
Chicoutimi-Jonquière-Alma 17 775
Cobourg 3013
Cornwall 1486
Courtenay 9277
Drummondville 2860
Edmonton 59 882
Fort McMurray 1327
Fredericton 9622
Granby 3516
Grande Prairie 3690
Guelph/Kitchener 11 675
Halifax 17 281
Joliette 1478
Kamloops 10 215
Kelowna 17 633
Kingston 3661
Lethbridge 3859
London/Woodstock/St Thomas 10 400
Medicine Hat 2090
Moncton 2895
Montréal 58 756
Moose Jaw 920
Nanaimo 25 802
Niagara/St Catharines/Welland 5892
North Bay 2071
Orillia 1882
Ottawa/Hull 40 788
Pembroke 5564
Penticton 1422
Peterborough 3441
Prince George 5577
Québec 17 741
Red Deer 1241
Regina 4521
Rimouski 2720
Rouyn-Noranda 1439
Saint John 7132
Sarnia 3395
Saskatoon 4366
Sault Ste Marie 6259
Sherbrooke 10 146
Sidney 12 998
Sorel 2047
St-Hyacinthe 763
St. John's 6126
Stratford 1128
Sudbury 15 129
Thunder Bay 8064
Timmins 20 118
Toronto 80 279
Trois-Rivières 9805
Val-D'Or 8975
Vancouver 52 900
Victoria 12 440
Victoriaville 1260
Windsor/Leamington 12 441
Winnipeg 12 737

Annexe C

Représentations géographiques des aires de service proposées

(Les cartes géographiques contenues à l'annexe C ne sont pas disponibles sur Internet. Veuillez vous procurer un exemplaire au sein du Ministère.)


Date de modification :