RP-006 — Policy for the Use of 700 MHz Systems for Public Safety Applications and Other Limited Use of Broadcasting Spectrum

5. Policy for the use of 700 MHz Spectrum for Public Safety Applications

The Department reiterates the importance of this limited spectrum being released to significantly advance public safety communications in Canada. A suitable level of interoperability among public safety organizations is critical. This will ensure that the spectrum is used efficiently and is deployed in an orderly manner, as set out in Section 3.

The Department considers it would be advantageous for public safety agencies, large or small, to use this spectrum with a degree of flexibility. A flexible policy would enable interoperability as required, and take into account shared public safety needs in a given geographic area.

Radio interoperability is considered an essential feature for public safety applications. Together with this radio systems policy, the Department is also undertaking a consultation to establish the entire range of possible radio interoperability levels that could be required for any spectrum designated for public safety applications.

For the above reasons, the Department is establishing this policy to oversee the development of public safety radio systems and will assess applications based on the criteria outlined in Section 5.1.

5.1 Policy Criteria

In general, to promote the orderly and efficient development of public safety radio systems in the bands 764–770 MHz and 794–800 MHz, a public safety agency or its service provider seeking authorization to establish a mobile communication system for the protection of life and property, will have to:

  • justify the spectrum requirement in terms of radio traffic and forecasted use;
  • report on the discussions with other public safety agencies on the potential for developing and sharing a common radio system to meet their communications needs;
  • report on discussions with other public safety agencies regarding the potential for some interoperability among their safety services;
  • commit to having radio equipment with standards and frequency selectivity, in order to be able to use the mutual aid channels in accordance with Standard Radio System Plan 511 (SRSP-511), during regular operation and in times of emergency; and
  • be capable of meeting a minimum level of radio interoperability by using mutual aid channels with a shared standard for the band.

6. Policy for the use of Television Channels 2 to 59 for Advanced Communications Services in Remote Rural Communities

In SP-746 MHz, the Department stated that it would consider licence applications for advanced communications services for unserved and underserved remote rural [and northern] communities in unused/unallotted broadcasting spectrum in television channels 2 to 59 (54–72 MHz, 76–88 MHz, 174–216 MHz, 470–608 MHz and 614–746 MHz). Since that time, the Department has received several applications for broadband Internet access and other services.

6.1 Policy Criteria

The Department establishes herein, a further refinement to the policy established in accordance with SP-746 MHz.

In the bands 54–72 MHz, 76–88 MHz, 174–216 MHz, 470–608 MHz and 614–746 MHz (television channels 2 to 59), licence applications will be considered, on a case-by-case basis, for advanced communications in remote rural communities. Licence applications will be authorized to providers in television channels that are unallotted and unassigned to broadcasting services;

  • at sufficient distance from major population centres, broadcasting facilities and their service contours so as not to cause them interference; and
  • on the condition that they do not constrain the provision of existing and new broadcasting services.

Note: The words and northern have been removed from the phrase rural remote and northern communities, as stated in SP-746 MHz, as there are certain unserved and underserved communities that are rural remote but not northern, but are at a sufficient distance from major population centres and broadcasting undertakings to be served by this policy.

These policy criteria will be applied to applications for licence, until such time as any further allocation changes are considered in these frequency bands.

7. Implementation

Available spectrum will be prudently managed by each regional office in a manner that seeks to accommodate all national, provincial and municipal public safety entities involved in the protection of life and property.

Parties interested in the implementation of this radio systems policy should contact a spectrum manager at their local Industry Canada office.

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act

_________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


Date modified:

PR-006 — Politique sur l'utilisation des fréquences de la bande de 700 MHz pour des applications de sécurité publique et d'autres utilisations limitées des fréquences de radiodiffusion

5. Politique d'utilisation des fréquences de la bande de 700 MHz pour des applications de sécurité publique

Le Ministère réitère l'importance des fréquences limitées libérées en vue de promouvoir significativement les communications de sécurité publique au Canada. Il est d'une importance cruciale d'assurer un niveau approprié d'interopérabilité entre les organismes de sécurité publique. On garantira ainsi l'utilisation efficace des fréquences et leur exploitation ordonnée, conformément à la section 3.

Le Ministère considère que les organismes de sécurité publique, peut importe leur taille, auraient avantage à utiliser ces fréquences avec une certaine souplesse. Une politique souple permettrait d'assurer l'interopérabilité, au besoin, et de tenir compte des exigences de sécurité publique communs dans une région donnée.

L'interopérabilité des systèmes radio est considérée comme une caractéristique essentielle des applications de sécurité publique. En conjonction avec la présente politique des systèmes radio, le Ministère entreprend une consultation dans le but d'établir la gamme complète des niveaux possibles d'interopérabilité radio requis à l'égard des fréquences désignées pour des applications de sécurité publique.

5.1 Critères

  • Dans l'ensemble, afin de promouvoir l'essor ordonné et efficace des systèmes radio de sécurité publique dans les bandes de fréquences 764–770 MHz et 794–800 MHz, les organismes de sécurité publique ou leurs fournisseurs de services qui demandent l'autorisation d'établir un système mobile de communications pour assurer la protection de la vie humaine et des biens devront :
  • justifier les fréquences dont ils ont besoin en termes de trafic radio et d'utilisation prévue;
  • rendre compte des discussions menées avec d'autres organismes de sécurité publique sur les possibilités de mise au point et de partage d'un système radio commun pour satisfaire aux besoins en communications, et signaler le résultat des discussions;
  • rendre compte des discussions menées avec d'autres organismes de sécurité publique concernant une certaine interopérabilité dans la prestation de leurs services de sécurité;
  • s'engager à se doter de matériel radio permettant la sélection de normes et de fréquences en vue de l'utilisation des canaux d'assistance mutuelle conformément au Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens 511 (PNRH-511), au besoin, en mode de fonctionnement normal et en cas d'urgence;
  • pouvoir assurer un niveau minimal d'interopérabilité radio en utilisant les canaux d'assistance mutuelle selon une norme commune pour la bande.

Pour les raisons précitées, le Ministère établit la présente politique afin de superviser le développement des systèmes radio de sécurité publique et évaluera les demandes selon les critères présentés à la section 5.1.

6. Politique d'utilisation des canaux de télévision 2 à 59 pour la prestation de services évolués de communications dans les communautés rurales éloignées

Dans la PS-746 MHz, le Ministère a indiqué qu'il était disposé à étudier des demandes de licence en vue de la prestation de services évolués de communications destinées à des communautés rurales [et du Nord] non desservies ou mal desservies aux fréquences de radiodiffusion inutilisées ou non alloties dans les canaux de télévision 2 à 59 (bandes 54–72 MHz, 76–88 MHz, 174–216 MHz, 470–608 MHz et 614–746 MHz). Depuis lors, le Ministère a reçu plusieurs demandes visant l'accès à Internet large bande et d'autres services.

6.1 Critères

Par les présentes, le Ministère précise davantage la politique établie, conformément à la PS-746 MHz.

Dans les bandes 54–72 MHz, 76–88 MHz, 174–216 MHz, 470–608 MHz et 614–746 MHz (canaux de télévision 2 à 59), les demandes de licence seront étudiées, au cas par cas, en vue de la prestation de services de communications évolués dans les communauté rurales éloignées. Les demandes de licence des fournisseurs seront autorisées dans les canaux de télévision qui ne sont ni attribués ni assignés à des services de radiodiffusion;

  • à une distance suffisante des grands centres de population, d'installations de radiodiffusion et de leurs contours de service de manière à ne pas leur causer de brouillage;
  • à la condition qu'elles ne restreignent pas la prestation de services de radiodiffusion nouveaux et existants.

Nota : Les mots « et du Nord » ont été supprimés de l'expression « communautés rurales éloignées et du Nord », du fait qu'il y a des communautés non desservies ou mal desservies qui sont des communautés rurales éloignées, sans être des communautés du Nord, mais qui se trouvent à une distance suffisante de grands centres de population et d'entreprises de radiodiffusion pour être desservies en vertu de la présente politique.

Ces critères de principe seront appliqués aux demandes de licence jusqu'à ce que d'autres modifications aux attributions soient ultérieurement envisagées dans les bandes de fréquences en question.

7. Mise en oeuvre

Chaque bureau régional gérera les fréquences disponibles avec prudence de façon à chercher à tenir compte de tous les organismes de sécurité publique nationaux, provinciaux et municipaux qui assurent la protection de la vie humaine et des biens.

Les parties intéressées par la mise en oeuvre de la présente politique des systèmes radio sont priées de communiquer avec un responsable de la gestion du spectre de leur bureau local d'Industrie Canada.

Publication autorisée en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

___________________________
Larry Shaw


Date de modification :