Gazette Notice SMSE-005-11

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Posted on Industry Canada website: February 10, 2011
Publication Date in Canada Gazette: February 12, 2011

Notice No. SMSE–005–11 — Decisions on a Band Plan for Broadband Radio Service (BRS) and Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework to License Spectrum in the Band 2500–2690 MHz

This notice announces decisions from the consultation process undertaken in Canada Gazette notice DGSO–001–10 — Decisions on the Transition to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) in the Band 2500–2690 MHz and Consultation on Changes Related to the Band Plan. This notice also initiates the consultation on the policy and technical framework to license spectrum in the band 2500–2690 MHz (the 2500 MHz band).

Through a separate consultation initiated by Canada Gazette notice SMSE–018–10 in November 2010, Industry Canada launched its Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework for the 700 MHz Band and Aspects Related to Commercial Mobile Spectrum 1 (hereinafter referred to as the "700 MHz consultation").

Developments in the 2500 MHz band and the 700 MHz band have shown that both bands are suitable for the deployment of advanced mobile/broadband networks/services to meet growing user demands. The Department notes that a number of policy–related issues could benefit from concurrent consideration of the development of these two bands, as well as the development of the wireless services market as a whole. Industry Canada is therefore seeking views in the 700 MHz consultation on issues related to spectrum demand and on the possible need for government intervention to promote competition in the wireless services market in the upcoming licensing processes. Interested parties are therefore encouraged to submit their comments with regard to questions on spectrum demand 2 and competition 3 through the 700 MHz consultation process. Comments for the 700 MHz consultation are due on February 28,  2011, and reply comments are due on March 30, 2011. The possible requirement and mechanisms to promote competition specifically applicable to the 2500 MHz band will be addressed within the 2500 MHz consultation paper.

Submitting comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format to the following e-mail address: Spectrum.planning@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Manager, Mobile Spectrum Planning, Engineering Planning and Standards Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (SMSE–005–11). To ensure consideration, parties should submit their comments no later than April 9, 2011. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until May 9, 2011.

Following the initial comment period, the Department may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. In such a case, the reply comment deadline would be extended.

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada' Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

Original signed on February 4, 2011

space to insert signature
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

space to insert signature
FIONA GILFILLAN
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch


Footnotes

  1. 1 700 MHz consultation: SMSE–018–10 — Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework for the 700 MHz Band and Aspects Related to Commercial Mobile Spectrum (www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf09947.html)
  2. 2 See Section 4 of the 700 MHz consultation.
  3. 3 See Section 7 of the 700 MHz consultation.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-005-11

Documents connexes

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 10 février 2011
Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 12 février 2011

Avis no SMSE–005–11 — Décisions sur un plan de répartition des fréquences attribuées au service radio large bande (SRLB) et consultation sur un cadre politique et technique de délivrance des licences de spectre dans la bande de 2 500–2 690 MHz

Par le présent avis, Industrie Canada annonce les décisions prises au terme du processus de consultation amorcé dans l'avis DGSO–001–10 de la Gazette du Canada, intitulé Décisions sur la transition à un service radio à large bande (SRLB) dans la bande 2 500–2 690 MHz et consultation sur les modifications connexes au plan de répartition de la bande. Par la même occasion, le Ministère lance une consultation sur le cadre politique et technique de délivrance des licences de spectre dans la bande de 2 500–2 690 MHz (la bande de 2 500 MHz).

Dans un processus distinct entamé dans l'avis de la Gazette du Canada SMSE–018–10 en novembre 2010, Industrie Canada entreprenait la Consultation sur un cadre politique et technique visant la bande de 700 MHz et les aspects liés au spectre mobile commercial 1 (ci–après la « consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz »).

Les développements dans les bandes de 700 MHz et de 2 500 MHz démontrent que les deux bandes conviennent au déploiement de réseaux et de services mobiles/large bande évolués pour répondre aux exigences croissantes des consommateurs. Le Ministère fait remarquer qu'un certain nombre de questions liées aux politiques pourraient être traitées avantageusement si l'on considérait simultanément le développement de ces deux bandes de même que le développement du marché des services sans fil dans son ensemble. Conséquemment, Industrie Canada sollicite les points de vue, dans le cadre de la consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz, à propos des questions liées à la demande de spectre et sur la nécessité que le gouvernement intervienne pour promouvoir la concurrence sur le marché des services sans fil au cours des processus prochains d'attribution des licences. Les intervenants sont invités à soumettre leurs commentaires en qui a trait aux questions de la demande de spectre 2 et de la concurrence 3 dans le cadre de la consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz. Les commentaires relatifs à la consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz doivent être reçus au plus tard le 28 février 2011 et les réponses à ces commentaires, au plus tard le 30 mars 2011. La question de la nécessité ou non de promouvoir la concurrence et les mécanismes à prévoir s'appliquant particulièrement à la bande de 2 500 MHz seront abordés dans le document de consultation sur la bande de 2 500 MHz.

Présentation des commentaires

Les répondants sont priés d'envoyer leurs commentaires en format électronique à l'adresse courriel suivante : ic.spectrumplanning-planificationduspectre.ic@canada.ca, accompagnés d'une note indiquant le logiciel, le numéro de version et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les documents présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au Gestionnaire, Planification du spectre mobile, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les documents doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE–005–11). Pour garantir la prise en compte de leurs commentaires, les intéressés doivent les soumettre au plus tard le 9 avril 2011. Peu après la clôture de la période de présentation des commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère donnera aussi aux intéressés l'occasion de répondre aux observations d'autres parties. Ces réponses aux commentaires seront acceptées jusqu'au 9 mai 2011.

Après la période de commentaires initiale, le Ministère se réserve le droit de demander d'autres renseignements, au besoin, pour éclaircir certaines positions importantes ou de nouvelles propositions. Dans ce cas, la date d'échéance des réponses serait repoussée.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis publiés dans la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. Il est aussi possible de commander des copies papier des avis en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613 941 5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Original signé le 4 février 2011

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes,

Champ de saisie de la signature
MARC DUPUIS

La directrice générale,
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre,

Champ de saisie de la signature
FIONA GILFILLAN


Renvois

  1. 1 Consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz : SMSE–018–10 – Consultation sur un cadre politique et technique visant la bande de 700 MHz et les aspects liés au spectre mobile commercial (www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf09789.html)
  2. 2 Voir la section 4 de la consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz.
  3. 3 Voir la section 7 de la consultation sur la bande de 700 MHz.
Date de modification :