Language selection

Search

Letters of Exchange for Arrangement O

July 18, 2011

Mr. Julius Genachowski
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, SW
Washington, D.C. 20554
USA

Dear Mr. Genachowski:

Thank you for your letter of July 13, 2011, and the attached draft Arrangement O, regarding the coordination of fixed and mobile (excluding aeronautical mobile) services operating in the bands 698-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz along our common border. In response, I can confirm that Industry Canada concurs with the proposals set forth in your letter, and agree that the content of those proposals is effective on the date of this letter.

Yours sincerely,

[signature]

Helen McDonald
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies
and Telecommunications


FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
JULIUS GENACHOWSKI CHAIRMAN

July 13, 2011

Ms. Helen McDonald
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications
Industry Canada
Jean Edmonds Tower North
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON KIA OC8 Canada

Dear Ms. McDonald:

As you know, during the past several meetings of the U.S.-Canada Radio Technical Liaison Committee (RTLC), the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and Industry Canada (IC) have discussed and exchanged information regarding the coordination of fixed and mobile (except aeronautical mobile) services operating in the 698-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz bands along the common border.

During the most recent meeting, the FCC and IC finalized a draft text for a new arrangement in these bands, entitled Arrangement O. This draft Arrangement O, which is attached to this letter, is in the process of being reviewed by our respective governments with a view to taking the steps necessary to making it a legally binding Arrangement O under the Agreement between the United States of America and Canada on the Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies Above 30 Megacycles per Second, effected by exchange of notes at Ottawa on October 24, 1962.

It is our understanding that IC shares the FCC's view that the draft Arrangement O reflects a mutually beneficial arrangement that would benefit fixed and mobile (except aeronautical mobile) services in both countries if implemented by IC and the FCC at the earliest possible date.

Therefore, the FCC proposes that both the FCC and the IC should apply the coordination terms set forth in the draft Arrangement O, as modified below, even to the extent of any inconsistency between the provisions of draft Arrangement O and the Agreement concerning the allotment and assignment of television broadcasting channels in areas adjacent to the border of the United States and Canada, with working Arrangement, effected by exchange of notes at Washington, November 3, 1993 and January 5, 1994, until the Government of the United States and the Government of Canada bring into force a new, legally binding Arrangement O governing these portions of the frequency spectrum for use by the fixed and mobile (except aeronautical mobile) services.

The draft Arrangement O focuses on coordination of fixed and mobile (except aeronautical mobile) service operations in the border area. To cover any relationship with television broadcasting operations (analog or digital), provisions are included in the draft arrangement that otherwise complement other current bilateral provisions. 1

The FCC proposes that the stations located in areas described in Attachment B be brought into operation in accordance with the provisions of the draft Arrangement except that the pfd value in Section 3.3 (-106 dBW/m2) is replaced by -96 dBW/m2. The FCC also proposes that the stations in these locations comply with all other provisions of the draft Arrangement, including Sections 3.3.1, 3.3.2 and 3.3.3.

If IC concurs with the above, I further propose that the content of the above proposals become effective on the date of your affirmative letter in reply.

[signature]

Julius Genachowski
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission

Attachments

Arrangement O: Sharing Arrangement Between the Department of Industry of Canada and the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America Concerning Use of the Frequency Bands 698-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz for the Fixed and Land Mobile Services Along the Canada-United States Border

Attachment B: U.S. Counties where Stations Are Permitted to Operate with a Higher PFD at the Border

1 The other relevant documents are: (a) the Letter of Understanding between the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and Industry Canada related to use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470-806 MHz bands for the Digital Television Broadcasting Service along the Common Border, dated September 12 and 22, 2000, as amended on September 28 and October 7, 2004; and (b) the exchange of letters between the Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada, dated August 5, 2008 and December 15, 2008, concerning assignments and allotments for use of the television broadcasting spectrum within 360 km of the common border.


Attachment B

U.S. COUNTIES WHERE STATIONS ARE PERMITTED TO OPERATE WITH A HIGHER PFD AT THE BORDER

Michigan counties: Macomb, Monroe, St. Clair and Wayne for stations within 10 km of the border.

New York counties: Erie, Niagara for stations within 20 km of the border.

Date modified:

Lettres d'échange pour l'arrangement O

[Traduction]

Le 18 juillet 2011

Monsieur Julius Genachowski
Président
Federal Communications Commission
445 12e Rue, SO
Washington D.C. 20554
ÉTATS-UNIS

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait parvenir votre lettre du 13 juillet 2011 ainsi que la pièce jointe, une ébauche de l'Arrangement O, concernant la coordination des services fixes et mobiles (à l'exception des services mobiles aéronautiques) fonctionnant dans les bandes 698-758 et 776-788 MHz le long de la frontière américano-canadienne. Je peux vous confirmer qu'Industrie Canada est d'accord avec les propositions énoncées dans votre lettre, lesquelles entrent en vigueur à partir de la date de la présente lettre.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Monsieur, l'assurance de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

La sous-ministre adjointe principale,
Spectre, technologies de l'information et télécommunications,

Helen McDonald


FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
JULIUS GENACHOWSKI CHAIRMAN

[Traduction]

Le 13 juillet 2011

Madame Helen McDonald
Sous-ministre adjointe
Spectre, Technologies de l’information et télécommunications
Industrie Canada
Tour Jean-Edmonds Nord
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada K1A 0C8

Madame,

Comme vous le savez, au cours des dernières rencontres du Comité de liaison technique radio (RTLC) formé de représentants des États-Unis et du Canada, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) et Industrie Canada (IC) ont discuté et échangé des renseignements portant sur la coordination des services fixes et mobiles (à l’exception des services aéronautiques mobiles) exploités dans les bandes de fréquences 698-758 et 776-788 MHz le long de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique.

Au cours de la plus récente réunion, la FCC et IC ont finalisé une ébauche de texte relativement à un nouvel arrangement intitulé Arrangement O dans ces bandes de fréquences. Cette ébauche de l’Arrangement O, jointe à la présente lettre, est en cours d’examen par nos gouvernements respectifs en vue de la prise des mesures nécessaires pour en faire un Arrangement O juridiquement contraignant en vertu de l’Accord entre les États-Unis d’Amérique et le Canada concernant la coordination et l’utilisation des radiofréquences de plus de 30 Mc/s mis en vigueur par un échange de notes à Ottawa, le 24 octobre 1962.

Nous sommes d’avis qu’IC partage le point de vue de la FCC à l’effet que l’ébauche de l’Arrangement O reflète un arrangement mutuellement bénéfique qui profiterait aux services fixes et mobiles (à l’exception des services aéronautiques mobiles) dans les deux pays s’il était mis en œuvre le plus tôt possible par IC et par la FCC.

La FCC propose donc qu’elle-même et IC appliquent les dispositions en matière de coordination établies dans l’ébauche de l’Arrangement O, telles que modifiées ci-dessous, même en cas d’incompatibilité entre les dispositions de l’ébauche de l’Arrangement O et celles de l’Accord relatif à l'allotissement et à l'assignation des canaux de radiodiffusion télévisuelle dans les régions contiguës à la frontière des États-Unis et du Canada, avec un arrangement administratif mis en vigueur par un échange de notes à Washington, le 3 novembre 1993 et le 5 janvier 1994, jusqu’à ce que le gouvernement des États-Unis et le gouvernement du Canada mettent en œuvre un nouvel Arrangement O juridiquement contraignant régissant ces parties du spectre de fréquences en vue de leur utilisation par les services fixes et mobiles (à l’exception des services aéronautiques mobiles).

L’ébauche de l’Arrangement O est axée sur les opérations de coordination des services fixes et mobiles (à l’exception des services aéronautiques mobiles) dans la région frontalière. Pour traiter de tout lien avec les opérations (analogiques ou numériques) de télédiffusion, l’ébauche de l’arrangement renferme des dispositions qui complètent d’une autre façon d’autres dispositions bilatérales en vigueur 1.

La FCC propose que les stations situées dans les régions décrites à la pièce jointe B soient mises en œuvre conformément aux dispositions de l’ébauche de l’arrangement, sauf que la valeur de la pfd précisée à la section 3.3 (-106 dBW/m2) est remplacée par -96 dBW/m2. La FCC propose également que les stations situées dans ces régions soient conformes à toutes les autres dispositions de l’ébauche de l’arrangement, notamment à celles des sections 3.3.1, 3.3.2 et 3.3.3.

Si IC est d’accord avec le texte susmentionné, je propose de plus que le contenu des propositions faites ci-dessus entre en vigueur à la date figurant dans votre lettre d’agrément envoyée à titre de réponse.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, mes salutations distinguées.

Le président de la Federal Communications Commission

Julius Genachowski

Pièces jointes

Arrangement 0 : Arrangement de partage entre le ministère de l'Industrie du Canada et la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d'Amérique visant l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 698-758 et 776-788 MHz pour les services fixes et mobiles terrestres le long de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique

Pièce jointe B : Comtés des États-Unis dans lesquels les stations ont droit de fonctionner avec une pfd supérieure à la frontière


1 Les autres documents pertinents sont les suivants : a) Lettre d’entente entre la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d’Amérique et Industrie Canada concernant l’exploitation des bandes de fréquences 54-72, 76-88, 174-216 et 470-806 MHz par le service de radiodiffusion télévisuelle numérique le long de la frontière américano-canadienne, en date du 12 septembre et du 22 septembre 2000, et modifiée en date du 28 septembre et du 7 octobre 2004; b) l’échange de lettres entre la Federal Communications Commission et Industrie Canada, en date du 5 août 2008 et du 15 décembre 2008, concernant l’assignation et l’allotissement relativement à l’utilisation du spectre de télédiffusion à au plus 360 km de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique.


Pièce jointe B

Comtés des États-Unis dans lesquels les stations ont droit de fonctionner avec une pfd supérieure à la frontière

Comtés du Michigan : Macomb, Monroe, St. Clair et Wayne dans le cas de stations se trouvant à au plus 10 km de la frontière.

Comtés de l’État de New York : Erie et Niagara dans le cas de stations se trouvant à au plus 20 km de la frontière.

Date de modification :