Call for Interest in the Licence for 17 GHz Broadcasting-Satellite Service (BSS) Spectrum at the 95°W Orbital Position

September 2011

Introduction

This document, in conjunction with the announcement in the Canada Gazette on September 10, 2011, (Notice No. SMSE-016-11), initiates the process for assigning a satellite licence for the 17 GHz BSS spectrum at the 95°W orbital position.


Background

In June 2007, the results of Industry Canada’s 2006 Satellite Licensing Initiative Footnote 1 (the 2006 Call) were announced, with the selection of satellite operators for 12 of the 29 licences included in the initiative. The announcement also stated that unassigned licences would be available for assignment using essentially the same process as the one identified in the 2006 Call, and that interested parties should submit an application to Industry Canada using the same information requirements outlined in the 2006 Call. The announcement advised that Industry Canada would provide 30 days for other interested parties to notify the Department of their interest and that an additional 60 days would be provided, for all interested parties who expressed an interest, to submit full applications. Decisions to award licences would be based on the same evaluation and selection criteria established in the 2006 Call.

Industry Canada has received an application from 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc. for a licence to use the 17 GHz BSS spectrum (17.3-17.8 GHz downlink and 24.75-25.25 GHz uplink) at the 95°W orbital position. Accordingly, this Call for Interest provides an opportunity for Canadian satellite operators to submit notifications of their interest in this licence.

Industry Canada considers that this resource is potentially valuable for meeting the needs of Canadian satellite users, in particular for providing direct-to-home satellite television capacity capable of delivering services to small dish receivers. Given the status of Canada’s filings to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) for this orbital position, realization of these benefits would be dependent on the satellite operator securing the position for Canadian use. As a result, Industry Canada may require that new satellite facilities be brought into use by November 25, 2015.


Assignment Process

The overall process for the assignment of this licence will involve the submission of notifications of interest, submission of applications where additional interest is demonstrated, evaluation of the applications by the Department, selection of an applicant, and follow-up procedures leading to the issuance of a radio authorization.

As a first step in the process, interested parties must notify Industry Canada of their interest. If additional interested parties express interest in this orbital position, Industry Canada will provide an additional 60 days for parties to submit their applications.

If additional applications are received, Industry Canada will evaluate the applications on a comparative basis in accordance with the criteria set out in the 2006 Call.

If additional interest is not received in response to this Call, Industry Canada will proceed to analyze and assess the application from 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc. on the basis of the criteria set out in the 2006 Call.

Note that the Minister of Industry ultimately decides whether a licence will be issued, to whom and on what conditions, based on the advice and recommendations of the Department and on other factors considered relevant, including events that are unforeseeable at the time that the licensing process is initiated.


Submitting Notifications of Interest

All notifications of interest must:

  • refer to Canada Gazette Notice No. SMSE-016-11;
  • clearly identify the interested party;
  • include the name of the contact person with respect to the notification of interest (provide mailing address, e-mail address, as well as telephone and facsimile numbers);
  • describe the primary business activities of the applicant;
  • indicate whether the proposed operator is an existing Canadian telecommunications common carrier or broadcaster;
  • provide an overview of the proposed satellite network capabilities, including the intended capacity for and coverage of Canada;
  • if interested parties have unused 17/25 GHz BSS positions, explain why this additional orbital position is required;
  • identify the intended users of the capacity;
  • specify the anticipated in-service date; and
  • state the life expectancy of the satellite.

Notifications of interest must be received by the departmental contact noted below by October 11, 2011.

All costs associated with the preparation of notifications of interest or subsequent applications are and will remain the responsibility of the submitting parties. The Minister accepts no responsibility for any or all costs and expenses incurred in responding to this Call for Interest, or in connection with any meetings, interviews or consultations. Parties who respond to this Call for Interest shall prepare and submit the required material and otherwise engage in the process at their own expense and with the express understanding that they shall not make any claim for reimbursement from the Government of Canada.

Direct contact with Industry Canada officials concerning the merits of any notification of interest or subsequent applications will not be entertained during this process. This does not limit contact with departmental officials concerning the process in general or for other unrelated issues.


Format of Notifications

Parties submitting notifications of interest are required to provide one electronic copy and one paper copy of their notification. The Department requires that electronic copies be provided in one of the following formats: XHTML, WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF.

Industry Canada recognizes that parties may consider certain portions of their notifications to be confidential. If this is the case, a complete notification comprises one electronic copy and one paper copy of the confidential version, and one electronic copy and one paper copy of a non-confidential version. A summary listing of all parties submitting a notification of interest will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

Parties responding to the Call for Interest should be aware that all information submitted, including information that they have identified as being confidential, is subject to the Access to Information Act. Parties concerned about the confidentiality of the information provided are advised to refer to this Act.


Obtaining Copies

Copies of this paper and other information related to the 2006 Satellite Licensing Initiative are available electronically on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.


Departmental Contact/Address

Richard Hiebert
Manager, Satellite Authorization Policy
Space Services Directorate
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch
Industry Canada
Room 1570C
Jean Edmonds Tower North
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8
E-mail: ic.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.ic@canada.ca

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

space to insert signature
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

Appel de déclarations d'intérêt — licence pour la bande de 17 GHz du service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) à la position orbitale 95°O

Septembre 2011

Introduction

Le présent document et l'annonce publiée dans la Gazette du Canada le 10 septembre 2011 (Avis No SMSE-016-11), viennent amorcer le processus d'attribution d'une licence pour satellite pour l'utilisation de la bande de 17 GHz du service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) à la position orbitale 95°O.


Contexte

En juin 2007, les résultats de l'Initiative des délivrances de licences pour satellites 2006 d'Industrie Canada Note de bas de page 1 (l'appel de 2006) ont été annoncés ainsi que la sélection des exploitants de satellite pour 12 des 29 licences incluses dans l'initiative. L'annonce indiquait également que les licences non octroyées pouvaient être attribuées essentiellement selon le processus indiqué dans l'appel de 2006 et que les parties intéressées devaient soumettre une demande à Industrie Canada en répondant aux mêmes exigences que celles énoncées dans l'appel de 2006. L'annonce indiquait qu'Industrie Canada accordait un délai de 30 jours pour que les autres parties intéressées lui fassent part de leur intérêt et qu'il accordait un délai supplémentaire de 60 jours pour que toutes les parties intéressées ayant fait part de leur intérêt soumettent leurs demandes détaillées. Les décisions d'octroyer les licences seraient alors fondées sur les mêmes critères d'évaluation et de sélection que ceux de l'appel de 2006.

Industrie Canada a reçu une demande de la part de 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc. pour une licence qui lui permettrait d'utiliser la bande de 17 GHz du SRS (liaison descendante 17,3-17,8 GHz et liaison montante 24,75-25,25 GHz) à la position orbitale 95°O. Par conséquent, cet appel donne aux exploitants de satellites canadiens la possibilité de manifester leur intérêt pour cette licence.

Industrie Canada estime que cette ressource pourrait s'avérer précieuse pour répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs de satellites canadiens, surtout en ce qui concerne la capacité de radiodiffusion directe par satellite à de petits récepteurs paraboliques. Compte tenu de l'état des demandes présentées par le Canada à l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) concernant la position orbitale, l'obtention de ces avantages dépendrait de l'obtention, par l'exploitant de satellite, de la position orbitale pour utilisation par le Canada. Il se pourrait, par conséquent, qu'Industrie Canada exige que de nouvelles installations de satellite soient mises en service avant le 25 novembre 2015.


Processus d'attribution de licences

Le processus global d'attribution de cette licence comprendra les étapes suivantes : la soumission de déclarations d'intérêt, la soumission de demandes lorsqu'un intérêt supplémentaire est démontré, l'examen des demandes par le Ministère, la sélection d'un requérant et la procédure de suivi menant à l’émission d’une autorisation de radiocommunication.

À la première étape du processus, les parties intéressées doivent d'abord faire part à Industrie Canada de leur intérêt. Si d'autres parties intéressées font part de leur intérêt envers cette position orbitale, Industrie Canada accordera alors un délai supplémentaire de 60 jours aux parties pour soumettre leurs demandes.

Si d'autres demandes sont reçues, Industrie Canada les évaluera en les comparant entre elles, conformément aux critères établis dans l'appel de 2006.

Si aucune autre partie ne manifeste son intérêt à la suite de cet appel, Industrie Canada procédera à l'analyse et à l'évaluation de la demande présentée par 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc. en se fondant sur les critères énoncés dans l'appel de 2006.

Il importe de signaler que le ministre de l'Industrie est, en dernier ressort, responsable de décider si une licence sera attribuée, à qui et sous réserve du respect de quelles conditions, en se fondant sur les conseils et les recommandations du Ministère, ainsi que sur d'autres facteurs considérés comme étant pertinents, y compris des événements imprévus au moment du lancement du processus d’attribution d’une licence.


Soumission de déclarations d'intérêt

Toutes les déclarations d'intérêt doivent :

  • faire référence à l'avis No SMSE-006-11 de la Gazette du Canada;
  • désigner clairement la partie intéressée;
  • indiquer le nom de la personne-ressource en ce qui a trait à la déclaration d'intérêt (adresse postale, courriel et numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur);
  • décrire les principales activités du requérant;
  • indiquer si l'exploitant proposé est une entreprise de télécommunications ou un radiodiffuseur canadien;
  • fournir un aperçu des capacités des réseaux de satellites proposés, y compris la capacité prévue pour le Canada et la couverture du Canada;
  • dans le cas où la partie intéressée dispose de positions de la bande 17/25 GHz du SRS non utilisées, expliquer pourquoi cette position orbitale additionnelle est requise;
  • identifier les utilisateurs prévus de la capacité;
  • préciser la date de mise en service prévue;
  • préciser la durée de la vie utile prévue du satellite.

Les déclarations d'intérêt doivent être reçues avant le 11 octobre 2011 par la personne ressource du Ministère dont le nom apparaît plus bas.

Les frais engendrés par la préparation des déclarations d'intérêt ou des demandes ultérieures sont et resteront à la charge des parties intéressées. Le Ministre rejette toute responsabilité à l'égard des dépenses occasionnées en réponse au présent appel de déclarations d'intérêt ou de toute rencontre, discussion ou entrevue. Les parties qui répondront à l'appel de déclarations d'intérêt doivent préparer et présenter le matériel requis et entamer le processus de déclaration, à leurs frais, à la condition expresse de ne pas présenter de demande de remboursement au gouvernement du Canada.

Au cours du processus de déclaration, il n'y aura pas de communication directe avec des représentants d'Industrie Canada pour discuter du bien-fondé des déclarations d'intérêt ou des demandes ultérieures. Il sera toutefois permis de communiquer avec les représentants ministériels pour discuter du processus en général et de points ne s'y rapportant pas.


Processus de déclaration

Les parties qui présentent des déclarations d'intérêt doivent fournir une copie papier et une copie électronique de leur déclaration. Le Ministère accepte les formats suivants : XHTML, WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe Acrobat (format PDF).

Industrie Canada reconnaît que les parties intéressées voudront peut-être que certaines parties de leurs déclarations restent confidentielles. En pareil cas, une déclaration complète comprendra une copie papier et une copie électronique de la version confidentielle et une copie papier et une copie électronique de la version non confidentielle. Une liste sommaire indiquant le nom de toutes les parties soumettant une déclaration d'intérêt sera affichée sur le site Web de Gestion du Spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada.

Les parties répondant à l'appel de déclarations sont priées de noter que toute l'information soumise, y compris l'information désignée comme étant confidentielle, est assujettie à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les parties qui ont des préoccupations quant à la protection de l'information fournie peuvent consulter la Loi.


Pour obtenir des copies

Les versions électroniques du présent document et d'autres documents sur l'Initiative des délivrances de licences pour satellites de 2006 sont disponibles sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.


Adresse/personne-ressource au Ministère :

Richard Hiebert
Gestionnaire, Politique d'autorisation des satellites
Direction des services spatiaux
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes
Industrie Canada
Bureau 1570C
Tour Jean-Edmonds Nord
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8
Courriel : ic.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.ic@canada.ca

Publication autorisée en vertu
de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
Marc Dupuis

Date de modification :