Final Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of the 24 and 38 GHz Frequency Bands

1. Introduction

In the Speech from the Throne on September 23, 1997, the Canadian Government reiterated its determination to place Canada at the forefront of the information revolution by making Canada the most connected nation in the world by the year 2000. To further this objective, the Minister of Industry announced on June 1, 1998 that Industry Canada was launching a spectrum licensing process for the 24 and 38 GHz microwave bands.

A public consultation paper on the licensing of the 24 and 38 GHz bands was published in August 1998. Comments and reply comments were received in December 1998 and January 1999, respectively. The department wishes to express its sincere thanks to all those who took the time to participate in the consultation process.

The department also wishes to thank the Law and Economics Consulting Group, Charles River Associates, and Market Design Incorporated for their assistance and expert advice. Furthermore, thanks are due to spectrum auction managers with other administrations, including Australia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States, who shared their insights on auctioning "best practices".

After reviewing and analysing the input received, the department is now in a position to define the final policy framework for these bands and to lay out the rules and procedures of the licensing process for them. Through the publication of this document, Industry Canada initiates the process leading to Canada's first spectrum auction.

Details on the policies and licensing procedure for the 24 and 38 GHz bands are laid out in the remainder of this document.

All enquiries should be addressed to:

Earl Hoeg
Manager, Wireless Networks
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street, 1522A
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8
Telephone: 613–990–7176
Fax: 613–991–3514
email: 24ghz.38ghz@ic.gc.ca

Date modified:

Politique et procédures finales pour la délivrance de licences par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 24 et de 38 GHz

1. Introduction

Dans le Discours du Trône du 23 septembre 1997, le gouvernement canadien a réitéré sa détermination de placer le Canada à l'avant-garde de la révolution de l'information en faisant du Canada le pays le plus branché au monde d'ici l'an 2000. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, le Ministre de l'Industrie a annoncé, le 1er juin 1998, qu'Industrie Canada allait lancer un processus de délivrance de licences pour les bandes d'hyperfréquences de 24 et 38 GHz.

Un document de consultation publique sur la délivrance de licences dans les bandes de 24 et 38 GHz a été publié en août 1998. Les commentaires et les commentaires en réponse ont respectivement été reçus en décembre 1998 et en janvier 1999. Le Ministère désire exprimer ses sincères remerciements à tous ceux qui ont pris le temps de participer au processus de consultation.

Le Ministère veut aussi remercier le Law and Economics Consulting Group, Charles River Associates et Market Design Incorporated, qui ont fourni leur aide et leurs services d'expert-conseil. Enfin, le Ministère tient à souligner la contribution des gestionnaires d'enchères de fréquences oeuvrant auprès d'autres administrations, soit l'Australie, les Pays-Bas, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis, qui nous ont fait part de leurs observations sur les « meilleures méthodes » de mise aux enchères.

Ayant consulté et analysé l'information reçue, le Ministère est maintenant prêt à établir un cadre politique final pour ces bandes et à élaborer les règles et procédures pertinentes en matière de délivrance de licences. En publiant le présent document, Industrie Canada lance le processus qui mènera aux premières enchères de fréquences au Canada.

Le présent document expose les détails de la politique et des procédures de délivrance de licences dans les bandes de 24 et 38 GHz.

Toutes les demandes de renseignements doivent être adressées à :

Earl Hoeg
Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil
Direction générale de la réglementation

des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater, pièce 1522A
Ottawa (Ont.) K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 613-990-7176
Télécopieur : 613-952-9871
Courrier électronique : 24ghz.38ghz@ic.gc.ca

Date de modification :