Final Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of the 24 and 38 GHz Frequency Bands

3. Definition of Licences

3.1 Spectrum Licences

The authorizations that will be available for assignment will be spectrum licences which are defined in subparagraph 5(1)(a)(i.1) of the Radiocommunication Act as authorizations "in respect of the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area."

The attributes of these spectrum licences and the conditions attached to them are described below. The elements of the "common framework" for spectrum auctions laid out in the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in CanadaFootnote 11 document have been adopted for the licensing of 24 and 38 GHz spectrum.

3.2 Service Areas

In the consultation document the department proposed that Tier 3 service areas be used for the licensing of the 24 and 38 GHz bands. These areas are based on groupings of Statistics Canada's Census Divisions and Subdivisions. Maps of the Tier 3 service areas are provided in Appendix 1. (For full details on these service areas tiers, refer to the document Service Areas for Competitive Licensing.)Footnote 12

The majority of respondents concurred that the Tier 3 service areas would be appropriate for licensing of the 24 and 38 GHz bands. They noted that this option could satisfy a variety of business plans of both large and small players. Furthermore, the number of licences would not be so large as to make the auction unduly complex.

As such, the department has decided that Tier 3 service areas will be used for the licensing of the 24 and 38 GHz bands in this auction.

3.3 Spectrum Licence Packages

As discussed in section 2.2, the department will offer the 24 GHz spectrum as a single 400 MHz licence (Licence A) in each service area. The 800 MHz available in the 38 GHz band will be packaged as one 400 MHz licence (Licence B) and four 100 MHz spectrum licences (Licences C, D, E and F) in each service area.

3.4 Ministerial Authority

The spectrum licences that are issued pursuant to this auction will continue to be subject to relevant provisions in the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations. For example, the Minister continues to have the power to amend the terms and conditions of the spectrum licences (paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act). Such powers would be exercised on an exceptional basis and only after full consultation. As well, as noted in section 6.1 of the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada document, section 40 of the Radiocommunication Regulations continues to apply. However, it is important to note that the department would reallocate spectrum assigned through auction only under extraordinary circumstances—taking into consideration that the licensee complied with the conditions of licence, has made large investments in infrastructure, and is serving an established client base. If a reallocation were contemplated, it would take place only after full consultation.

3.5 Licence Term and Renewal

The department will offer licences with a ten-year term and a high expectation of renewal at the end of the term. That is to say, the department intends to generally renew licences for subsequent ten-year terms unless a breach of licence condition occurs, a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required (e.g., a reallocation by the International Telecommunication Union), or an overriding policy need arises (e.g., a spectrum reallocation to address a national security issue). To provide a more stable investment climate for licensees, a consultation process will commence no later than two years prior to the end of the licence term if the department foresees the possibility that it will not renew a licence or if renewal fees and/or changes to conditions of licence are contemplated.

In case of bankruptcy or insolvency of a licence holder, all applicable conditions of licence set out in this policy will continue to apply, subject to the general laws of bankruptcy and insolvency.

3.6 Transfer and Division of Licences

3.6.1 Transferability of Licences

The department proposed that auctioned licences would be transferable subject to the following stipulations. Respondents generally supported this notion of licence transferability.

  • All eligibility criteria and other conditions that apply to a licence, including those related to interference management, will continue, as applicable, should the licence be transferred. (The conditions on the licence may change if the transfer is from a radiocommunication carrier to a non-carrier, or vice versa. See sections 5.1 and 5.2.)
  • Should an auction winner transfer its licence to another party, for example, four years into a ten-year licence term, the second party will only receive a licence term equal to the remaining six years, but will be eligible for the same licence renewal provisions as the original licensee.
  • All proposed licence transfers must comply with any spectrum aggregation limits or other measures intended to preclude anti-competitive behaviour that may be in place. (It should be noted that any licence transfer may also be subject to the provisions of the Competition Act.)
  • Written notification will be required of all proposed licence transfers. The department will also request attestations or other documentation to ensure that the points above (e.g., compliance with the eligibility criteria and other conditions of licence) have been satisfactorily addressed. Once a licence transfer has been registered, the department will revoke the original licence and issue a new licence(s) in its place.
  • The department will maintain a publicly accessible database listing all auctioned licences and the respective licensee and will update the database upon a licence transfer.

Further details on the exact administrative procedures for transferring a spectrum licence will be provided in a forthcoming Client Procedures Circular.Footnote 13

3.6.2 Divisibility of Licences

The department proposed that licences be divisible, that is to say, that licensees be allowed to transfer their licences not only in whole, but also in part, in both the bandwidth and geographic dimensions, with minimal restrictions.

Respondents generally supported this notion of licence divisibility and therefore the department will implement the proposals made in the consultation document. The conditions applicable to transferred licences (discussed above) apply equally to licences which are divided.

To maintain compatibility with the department's database, licences will be divisible in the geographic dimension only in terms of spectrum grid cells.Footnote 14 Thus when an auctioned licence is divided, the minimum geographic size that any one of the new divisions may take is one Spectrum Grid cell. The individual spectrum grid cells are sufficiently small that even with this restriction, an extremely high degree of flexibility will be available to the parties involved in determining the size and shape of sub-divided portions of a licence.

As for the bandwidth dimension, the department will require compliance with the spectrum assignment plan as defined in this document and the appropriate Standard Radio System Plan (SRSP) (see section 4.2.2). Therefore, the spectrum offered in the 24 GHz band can be divided into, at most, five frequency block pairs of 40+40 MHz. The spectrum being offered at 38 GHz can be divided into, at most, eight frequency block pairs of 50+50 MHz each.

It should be noted that the division of a licence may increase the number of parties with whom other neighbouring licensees (domestic and international) must communicate when attempting to minimize the potential for interference at the boundary between service areas and/or at the band edge between spectrum blocks.

3.6.3 Transfer/Divisibility Moratorium

The department solicited views on whether the transferability and divisibility of licences should be delayed for a specific time, for example, three years following this licensing process. Such a moratorium may discourage bidding for speculative purposes and will ensure that bidders participating in the auction have a genuine desire to use the spectrum in the markets they wished to acquire.

Disadvantages to this approach also exist. Some post-auction secondary market transactions may be required to "fine-tune" the distribution of the spectrum. A moratorium on transferability and divisibility would obviously not allow such transactions to occur. As well, given that the services and technologies associated with 24 and 38 GHz spectrum are new and developing, bidders may face some uncertainty in determining the exact amount of spectrum they may require in various service areas. As more information about market opportunities and technology becomes available post-auction, secondary market transactions may lead to a more efficient allocation of the resource.

There was almost unanimous opposition in the comments received to any moratorium on transferability and divisibility. Respondents argued that a moratorium would inhibit the migration of licences to users who have a more valuable new use for the spectrum and would consequently be detrimental to licensees and consumers alike.

Furthermore, respondents contended that there are other means available to deter speculation. If a competitive environment is ensured through eligibility restrictions and/or spectrum aggregation limits and if bid payment is required as soon as possible after the close of the auction, there will be little incentive for speculative bidding.

The department has reached the conclusion that the spectrum aggregation limits outlined in sections 2.3.4 and 2.3.5 and the decision to require the entire bid payment shortly after the close of the auction (see section 7.3) render moratoria on transferability and divisibility unnecessary. Licences will be immediately transferable and divisible after assignment, subject to the conditions set out herein.

3.7 Flexibility of Use

To ensure that licensees can continue to quickly and efficiently adapt their service offerings to changing consumer demands, the department will provide licensees with the maximum possible flexibility in determining the services they will offer and the technologies they will employ. Beyond the need to conform to the applicable Canadian spectrum allocation, only those limitations required for interference management purposes (discussed in section 4 of this document) will be imposed.

3.8 Implementation of Spectrum Usage

The department solicited comments as to whether there should be a condition of licence that requires licensees to implement usage of their spectrum within a specified period in order to deter possible anti-competitive spectrum "warehousing".

Many of those respondents who addressed this issue were opposed to such roll-out requirements. However, the department continues to be of the view that the spectrum is a public resource which should be used in ways which serve the public interest. As such, licensees will be required, as a condition of licence, to demonstrate that their spectrum is being put to use within three years of the auction's close.

The department recognizes that a variety of different business plans and technologies may be employed in these bands across markets of various sizes. In order to be technology-neutral and service-neutral, the department is reluctant to specify roll-out requirements in terms of specific technical measures. In fact, there may be a number of measures that will demonstrate an acceptable level of spectrum usage. One example of what would be considered an acceptable level of spectrum usage in a large urban area would be the establishment of eight links per one million population (rounded up to a whole number) within a service area within three years.

In the event that spectrum obtained in this auction has not been put to use within three years after the close of the auction, the department may begin a process to afford the licensee the opportunity to demonstrate why its licence should not be revoked.


Footnotes

  1. back to footnote reference 11 Available on the department's Strategis Web site (http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectrum).
  2. back to footnote reference 12 Available on the department's Strategis Web site (http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectrum).
  3. back to footnote reference 13 This document will be made available on the department's Strategis Web site (http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectrum).
  4. back to footnote reference 14 Spectrum grid cells are defined in the Industry Canada (Spectrum Management) Client Procedures Circular 2–1–16 (CPC-2-1-16), Licensing Procedure for Local Multipoint Communications Systems (LMCS), (February 1, 1997), available on the Strategis Web site at http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectrum. Spectrum grid cells are six-sided figures with an area of 25 km2 that fit together in an interlocking pattern over the geography of Canada.
Date modified:

Politique et procédures finales pour la délivrance de licences par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 24 et de 38 GHz

3. Définition des licences

3.1 Licences de spectre

Les autorisations disponibles prendront la forme de licences de spectre, définies au sous-alinéa 5(1)a)(i.1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication « à l'égard de l'utilisation de fréquences de radiocommunication définies dans une zone géographique déterminée ».

Les attributs de ces licences et les conditions afférentes proposées sont décrits ci-après. Les éléments du « cadre commun » pour les enchères du spectre énoncés dans le document intitulé Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au CanadaNote 11 ont été adoptés pour la délivrance de licences relatives aux bandes de 24 et 38 GHz.

3.2 Zones de service

Dans le document de consultation, le Ministère proposait que les zones de service du 3e niveau soient utilisées en vue de la délivrance de licences pour les bandes de 24 et 38 GHz. Les niveaux de zones de service reposent sur des groupements de divisions et de subdivisions du Recensement de Statistique Canada. L'Annexe 1 renferme des cartes des zones de service du 3e niveau. (De plus amples détails sur les niveaux de zones de service se trouvent dans le document Zones de service visant l'autorisation concurrentielleNote 12.)

La plupart des répondants ont été d'avis que les zones de service du 3e niveau conviendraient à la délivrance de licences dans les bandes de 24 et 38 GHz. Ils ont souligné que cette option s'adapterait aux exigences de tout un éventail de plans d'activité, quelle que soit la taille des parties intervenantes. Par ailleurs, le nombre des licences ne serait pas élevé au point de rendre la mise aux enchères indûment complexe.

Le Ministère a donc décidé que les zones de service du 3e niveau seront utilisées au cours des enchères en vue de délivrer des licences dans les bandes de 24 et 38 GHz.

3.3 Agencement des fréquences

Comme l'indique le paragraphe 2.2, le Ministère agencera la bande de 24 GHz en fonction d'une seule licence de 400 MHz (licence A) dans chaque zone de service. La portion de 800 MHz disponible dans la bande de 38 GHz sera agencée comme suit : une licence de 400 MHz (licence B) et quatre licences de 100 MHz (licences C, D, E et F) dans chaque zone de service.

3.4 Pouvoirs du Ministère

Les licences délivrées dans le cadre de ces enchères continueront d'être soumises aux dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Par exemple, le Ministère détiendra toujours le pouvoir de modifier les conditions des licences de spectre (alinéa 5(1)(b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication). Il ne devra toutefois exercer ses pouvoirs qu'à titre exceptionnel, et seulement après une consultation complète. Par ailleurs, comme l'indique le paragraphe 6.1 du document Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada, l'article 40 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication continuera de s'appliquer. Il importe toutefois de souligner que seules des circonstances extraordinaires pourraient amener le Ministère à modifier les attributions de fréquences effectuées par mise aux enchères et qu'il ne procéderait à de telles modifications qu'après avoir considéré le fait que les titulaires ont satisfait aux conditions de leurs licences, qu'ils ont investi des sommes importantes pour leurs infrastructures et qu'ils servent une clientèle établie. Les réattributions n'auraient lieu qu'après une consultation complète.

3.5 Durée et renouvellement des licences

Le Ministère offrira des licences d'une durée de dix ans, à taux de renouvellement probablement élevé à la fin de cette période. C'est dire que le Ministère a l'intention de renouveler en général les licences pour des périodes subséquentes de dix ans, à moins qu'il ne se soit produit une dérogation aux conditions de la licence, une réattribution fondamentale de fréquences à un nouveau service (p. ex. une réattribution de bandes de fréquences par l'Union internationale des télécommunications), ou la mise en oeuvre d'une politique prioritaire (p. ex. une réattribution de fréquences afin d'aborder une question de sécurité nationale). Pour créer un climat d'investissement plus stable à l'intention des titulaires de licence, un processus de consultation débutera au plus tard deux ans avant la fin de la période de la licence si le Ministère entrevoit la possibilité de ne pas renouveler la licence ou de modifier les droits de renouvellement et/ou les conditions de licence.

En cas de faillite ou d'insolvabilité d'un titulaire de licence, toutes les conditions de licence pertinentes énoncées dans la présente politique continueront de s'appliquer, conformément aux lois générales régissant la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

3.6 Transfert et division des licences

3.6.1 Transférabilité des licences

Le Ministère a proposé que les licences mises aux enchères soient transférables selon les stipulations ci-dessous. Les répondants ont généralement appuyé cette proposition de transférabilité des licences.

  • Tous les critères d'admissibilité et les autres conditions applicables à une licence, notamment en ce qui a trait à la gestion du brouillage, continueront de s'appliquer une fois que la licence sera transférée. (Les conditions de licence pourraient varier si le transfert s'effectue d'un transporteur de radiocommunications à un non-transporteur, ou vice versa. Voir les paragraphes 5.1 et 5.2.)
  • Si le soumissionnaire retenu transfère sa licence à une autre partie, par exemple après quatre ans sur une durée de dix ans, la seconde partie n'obtiendra qu'une durée de licence égale aux six années restantes, mais elle sera admissible aux mêmes dispositions de renouvellement que le premier titulaire.
  • Tous les transferts de licence proposés doivent être conformes aux limites de regroupement de fréquences ou aux autres mesures ayant pour but d'éviter les comportements anticoncurrentiels. (À noter que tous les transferts de licence peuvent également être soumis aux dispositions de la Loi sur la concurrence.)
  • Un avis écrit sera nécessaire pour tous les transferts de licence proposés. Le Ministère demandera également des attestations ou d'autres documents afin de s'assurer que les exigences ci-dessus (p. ex. la conformité à des critères d'admissibilité et aux autres conditions applicables à une licence) ont été satisfaites. Une fois que le transfert d'une licence a été enregistré, le Ministère révoquera la licence originale et délivrera une nouvelle licence en remplacement.
  • Le Ministère maintiendra dans une base de données accessible au public la liste de toutes les licences mises aux enchères, ainsi que les noms de leurs titulaires respectifs. La base de données sera mise à jour lors du transfert d'une licence.

Une prochaine Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients fournira de plus amples détails sur les procédures administratives exactes de transfert des licences.Note 13

3.6.2 Divisibilité des licences

Le Ministère a proposé que les licences soient divisibles, c'est-à-dire que les titulaires soient autorisés à transférer leurs licences non seulement en tout, mais aussi en partie, selon la largeur de bande et selon la région géographique, et ce avec le minimum de restrictions.

En général, les répondants ont appuyé cette proposition de divisibilité des licences, et le Ministère mettra donc en oeuvre les propositions indiquées dans le document de consultation. Les conditions applicables aux licences transférées (dont il est question plus haut) s'appliquent également aux licences divisées.

Afin de maintenir la compatibilité avec la base de données du Ministère, les licences seront divisibles en cellules de grille spectraleNote 14, selon la région géographique seulement. Ainsi, lorsqu'une licence mise aux enchères est divisée, la taille géographique minimale de l'une quelconque des nouvelles divisions est représentée par une cellule de grille spectrale. Les différentes cellules de grille spectrale sont assez petites pour que, même avec cette restriction, un très haut degré de souplesse soit offert aux parties en cause pour déterminer la taille et la forme des parties subdivisées d'une licence.

Pour ce qui est de la largeur de bande, le Ministère exigera l'application du plan d'assignation de fréquences défini dans le présent document et dans le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens (PNRH) pertinent (voir alinéa 4.2.2). Par conséquent, les fréquences offertes dans la bande de 24 GHz peuvent se diviser en un maximum de cinq paires de fréquences de 40+40 MHz. Les fréquences offertes dans la bande de 38 GHz peuvent se diviser en un maximum de huit paires de fréquences de 50+50 MHz.

À noter que la division d'une licence peut augmenter le nombre de parties avec lesquelles d'autres titulaires de licence voisins (nationaux ou internationaux) doivent communiquer lorsqu'ils tentent de ramener au minimum la possibilité de brouillage à la limite des zones de service et/ou à la bordure des bandes entre les blocs de fréquences.

3.6.3 Moratoire sur le transfert et la divisibilité

Le Ministère a indiqué qu'il souhaitait recevoir les opinions des intéressés quant au fait que la transférabilité et la divisibilité des licences soient retardées pour une période déterminée, par exemple trois ans suivant la délivrance des licences. Un moratoire à ce sujet pourrait limiter les soumissions à buts spéculatifs et attirer les soumissionnaires qui désirent réellement utiliser les fréquences sur les marchés en question.

Cette méthode présente aussi des inconvénients. Certaines transactions sur le marché secondaire pourraient s'imposer après les enchères afin d'assurer une meilleure répartition des fréquences. Un moratoire sur la transférabilité et la divisibilité ne permettrait évidement pas de telles transactions. En outre, comme les services et les technologies associés aux bandes de 24 et 38 GHz sont nouveaux et en évolution, les soumissionnaires pourraient connaître une certaine incertitude au moment de déterminer la portion exacte du spectre dont ils ont besoin dans diverses zones de service. À mesure que l'information sur les débouchés et les technologies deviendra disponible après les enchères, les transactions sur le marché secondaire pourraient permettre une attribution plus efficace des ressources.

Les répondants se sont presque unanimement opposés à tout moratoire sur la transférabilité et la divisibilité. Ils ont affirmé qu'un tel moratoire empêcherait la transmission des licences à ceux qui pourraient utiliser les fréquences de façon novatrice et plus avantageuse, occasionnant ainsi des conséquences néfastes pour les titulaires autant que pour les consommateurs.

De plus, les répondants ont soutenu qu'il existait d'autres moyens de freiner la spéculation. Les soumissions spéculatives ne présentent que peu d'intérêt dans un contexte concurrentiel à restrictions d'admissibilité et à limites de regroupement de fréquences, particulièrement si les offres doivent être acquittées dès que possible après la clôture des enchères.

Le Ministère en est arrivé à la conclusion que les limites de regroupement de fréquences indiquées aux alinéas 2.3.4 et 2.3.5 ainsi que la décision d'exiger l'acquittement des offres peu après la clôture des enchères (voir paragraphe 7.3) rendent inutiles les moratoires sur la transférabilité et la divisibilité. Les licences seront transférables et divisibles immédiatement après l'attribution, sous réserve des conditions énoncées dans le présent document.

3.7 Souplesse d'utilisation

Afin que les titulaires de licence puissent continuer d'adapter rapidement et efficacement leurs offres de services à la demande des consommateurs, le Ministère procurera aux titulaires le maximum possible de souplesse dans la détermination des services qu'ils assureront et des technologies qu'ils emploieront. Outre la nécessité de respecter les attributions canadiennes pertinentes des bandes de fréquences, les seules limites imposées seront celles qu'exige la protection contre le brouillage (dont il est question dans la section 4 du présent document).

3.8 Début d'utilisation du spectre

Le Ministère a invité les intéressés à lui faire part de leurs commentaires sur l'opportunité de recourir à une condition de licence exigeant des titulaires qu'ils commencent à utiliser leur portion du spectre dans un délai spécifié, de manière à éviter les éventuels problèmes « d'entreposage » anticoncurrentiel de fréquences.

Bon nombre des répondants qui ont abordé la question se sont opposés à de telles exigences de mise en oeuvre. Cependant, le Ministère soutient toujours que le spectre des fréquences constitue une ressource publique qui doit être utilisée dans l'intérêt public. Pour cette raison, les titulaires de licence devront démontrer, comme condition de la délivrance de la licence, qu'ils ont commencé à utiliser leur portion du spectre dans les trois ans qui suivent la clôture des enchères.

Le Ministère reconnaît que différents plans d'activité et technologies peuvent s'appliquer à ces bandes pour les marchés de différentes grandeurs. Afin de maintenir sa neutralité du point de vue technologique et prestation de service, le Ministère est peu disposé à spécifier les exigences de mise en oeuvre prenant la forme de mesures techniques spécifiques. En fait, il peut y avoir des mesures qui démontreront un niveau acceptable d'utilisation du spectre. Un exemple de ce qui serait une utilisation acceptable du spectre des fréquences dans une grande zone urbaine consisterait à établir, dans un délai de trois ans, huit liaisons par million de personnes (nombre arrondi) dans une zone de service.

Si la portion du spectre adjugée n'est pas utilisée dans les trois ans qui suivent la clôture des enchères, le Ministère pourra lancer un processus afin que le titulaire puisse démontrer pourquoi sa licence ne doit pas être révoquée.


Notes en bas de page

  1. retour à la référence de note en bas 11 Disponible sur le site Web Strategis du Ministère (http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectre).
  2. retour à la référence de note en bas 12 Ibid.
  3. retour à la référence de note en bas 13 Ce document sera disponible au site Web Strategis du Ministère (http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectre).
  4. retour à la référence de note en bas 14 Les cellules de grille spectrale sont définies dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients d'Industrie Canada (Gestion du spectre) CPC-2-1-16, Procédure de délivrance de licence aux systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML), (1er février 1997), disponible sur le site Web Strategis, à l'adresse http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/spectre. Les cellules de grille spectale représentent des figures à six côtés, avec une superficie de 25 km2, qui s'insèrent les unes dans les autres pour couvrir le Canada.
Date de modification :