Licensing Framework for Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band

Posted on Industry Canada website: March 7, 2013

Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Background
  3. General
  4. Auction Format and Rules
  5. Bidder Participation —— Affiliated and Associated Entities
  6. Conditions of Licence for Spectrum in the 700 MHz Band
  7. Auction Process
  8. Post‑auction Process
  9. Bidder Training and Support
  10. Post‑auction Licensing Process for Unassigned Licences
  11. Licence Renewal Process
  12. Clarification Process — Amendments and Supplements
  13. Obtaining Copies


1. Intent

1. Through the release of this paper, Industry Canada hereby announces the decisions resulting from the consultation process undertaken in Canada Gazette notice DGSO-002-12, Consultation on a Licensing Framework for Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band.Footnote1 This document serves as a companion document to the Policy and Technical Framework: Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band, Broadband Radio Service (BRS) — 2500 MHz Band,Footnote2 announced in Canada Gazette notice SMSE-002-12.

2. All comments and reply comments received in response to this consultation are available on Industry Canada’s departmental website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum. Comments and/or reply comments were received from Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell), Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), the British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA), the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA), Cogeco Cable Inc. (Cogeco), Data & Audio-Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc. (Mobilicity), the Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN), the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), Globalive Wireless Management Corp. (WIND), Dr. Helen Hambly Odame (of the University of Guelph), Ice Wireless, Dr. Michel Lincourt, MTS Allstream, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA), Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), Public Mobile Inc., Quebecor Media Inc. and Videotron G.P. (Quebecor), Rogers Communications Partnership (Rogers), SaskTel, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), Sogetel Mobilité (Sogetel), SSi Group of Companies (SSi), Dr. Gregory Taylor and Dr. Catherine Middleton (of Ryerson University), Tbaytel, TELUS Communications Company (TELUS), and Xplornet Communications Inc. and Xplornet Broadband Inc. (Xplornet).

3. The following document (hereinafter referred to as the Framework) sets out the rules and procedures for participation in the competitive licensing process for spectrum in the 700 MHz band. The Framework includes: details related to the auction format and rules; the application process and timelines; and the conditions of licence that will apply.


2. Background

4. The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Canadian telecommunications policy set out in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies for spectrum utilization and ensuring effective management of the radio frequency spectrum resource.

5. In developing a licensing framework for MBS in the 700 MHz band, Industry Canada has been guided by the objectives stated in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act, the policy objective stated in the Spectrum Policy Framework for CanadaFootnote3 (SPFC) to maximize the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of the radio frequency spectrum, and the policy objectives outlined in SMSE-002-12,Footnote4 as follows:

  • sustained competition in the wireless telecommunications services market so that consumers and businesses benefit from competitive pricing and choice in service offerings;
  • robust investment and innovation by wireless telecommunications carriers so that Canadians benefit from world-class networks and the latest technologies; and
  • availability of these benefits to Canadians across the country, including those in rural areas, in a timely fashion.

6. Industry Canada was also guided by the general approaches and processes outlined in the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada (FSAC),Footnote5 which was revised in March 2011.

7. Industry Canada makes no representation or warranties about the use of this spectrum for particular services. Applicants should be aware that this auction represents an opportunity to become a licensee, subject to certain conditions and regulations. An Industry Canada auction does not constitute an endorsement by the Department of any particular service, technology or product, nor does a spectrum licence constitute a guarantee of business success. Applicants should perform their individual due diligence before proceeding as they would with any new business venture.


3. General

8. In SMSE-002-12, Policy and Technical Framework: Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band, Broadband Radio Service (BRS) — 2500 MHz, Industry Canada announced specific policy decisions related to the licensing process for spectrum in the 700 MHz band. Consistent with those decisions, the following provides an overview of the licences to be auctioned:

  • licences will be "spectrum licences in respect of the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area," as defined in subparagraph 5(1)(a)(i.1) of the Radiocommunication Act;
  • licences will be auctioned using Tier 2 service areas (14 service areas) for all frequency blocks;
  • a total of five blocks of paired spectrum and two blocks of unpaired spectrum will be available in each service area (seven licence blocks);
  • a total of 98 licences will be offered;
  • a spectrum cap of two paired frequency blocks will apply to all licensees; the unpaired blocks will not be subject to a spectrum cap;
  • a spectrum cap of one paired spectrum block from within blocks B, C, C1 and C2 will apply to all large wireless service providers.Footnote6

9. For a complete list of policy decisions related to the 700 MHz band, refer to Section B of SMSE-002-12.Footnote7

10. The following frequency blocks will be available in all 14 service areas for the 700 MHz auction.


Table 1 — Block size for spectrum in the 700 MHz band
Block Frequency Pairing MHz
A 698-704 MHz/728-734 MHz paired 6+6 MHz
B 704-710 MHz/734-740 MHz paired 6+6 MHz
C 710-716 MHz/740-746 MHz paired 6+6 MHz
D 716-722 MHz unpaired 6 MHz
E 722-728 MHz unpaired 6 MHz
C1 777-782 MHz/746-751 MHz paired 5+5 MHz
C2 782-787 MHz/751-756 MHz paired 5+5 MHz

3.1 Service Area for Lloydminster (Alberta/Saskatchewan)

11. The issue surrounding Lloydminster was raised by SaskTel in response to SMSE-005-11, Decisions on a Band Plan for Broadband Radio Service (BRS) and Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework to License Spectrum in the Band 2500-2690 MHz, where it proposed that tier area boundaries around Lloydminster are worthy of further consideration by Industry Canada.

12. In its consultation, Industry Canada sought comments on whether the service area boundary for licences in the 700 MHz band should deviate from the provincial boundary around the City of Lloydminster (Alberta/Saskatchewan).

Summary of Comments

13. Three respondents commented on this issue. Rogers and TELUS both indicated that the status quo should prevail. TELUS noted that as 65% of the Lloydminster population lives on the Alberta side of the border, having two operators serving the border area could result in additional roaming charges for customers. It added that significant coordination would be required and that although radio frequency (RF) optimization can mitigate some interference, wireless users in the centre of the city would bounce back and forth between networks, resulting in a high number of dropped calls and customer dissatisfaction.

14. SaskTel supports changing the boundary for service areas covering Lloydminster so that it aligns with the provincial boundary. It indicated that any entity currently seeking a Saskatchewan-wide licence would be required to obtain a licence that includes Edmonton, Alberta, and that would not be cost-effective. As for interference concerns, SaskTel indicated that new technologies can be and are being used to mitigate potential interference. SaskTel also added that the current spectrum map has caused divisions between the two primary providers in the area and that it has been contrary to the interests of the residents of Lloydminster.

Discussion

15. Industry Canada uses service areas, called tiers, for all competitive licensing processes. These areas are based on Statistics Canada’s Census Divisions and Subdivisions. Four tier sizes, as outlined in the document Service Areas for Competitive Licensing,Footnote8 have been established to accommodate various wireless services, applications and frequency bands.

16. The tier service areas were introduced in 1998 following a public consultation that stemmed from the amendments to the Radiocommunication Act, which introduced a new approach to spectrum licensing in 1996. At the time of consultation, there was general agreement among stakeholders and, to reduce possible interference issues and keep economic areas intact, deviations were made around provincial borders.

17. The deviations occur in five areas of the country where the use of provincial borders would divide a contiguous economic zone in two. These are comprised of one large population area (Gatineau/Ottawa) and four smaller areas, including the City of Lloydminster, which lies on the border of Saskatchewan (35% of the population) and Alberta (65% of the population). Based on population distribution, the decision was made in 1998 to draw the tier boundary such that the City was in the Alberta tier areas, as that is where the majority of the population resides.

18. Maintaining the current tier area structure would be consistent with all other spectrum auction processes undertaken since 1999 and would allow existing licensees serving the tier area to make use of their existing infrastructure to overlay the additional spectrum.

19. Given the current tier structure, an entity wanting licences to cover all of Saskatchewan would also have to acquire a licence in the Alberta tier area.

20. Redrawing the tier area boundary to follow the provincial border could result in increased interference challenges; however, new technologies may be effective in mitigating interference.

Decision

21. Based on the above, Industry Canada considers that for the 700 MHz auctioned licences, the tier boundary will align with the Alberta/Saskatchewan provincial border in Lloydminster.

Cadre de délivrance de licences pour les services mobiles à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 7 mars 2013


1. Objet

1. En diffusant le présent document, Industrie Canada annonce la décision résultant du processus de consultation entrepris tel qu’annoncé dans l’avis DGSO-002-12 de la Gazette du Canada, Consultation sur un cadre de délivrance des licences pour services mobiles à large bande (SMLB)  — bande de 700 MHzNote de bas de page 1. Ce document sert de complément au Cadre politique et technique : Service mobile à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHzNote de bas de page 2, annoncé dans l’avis SMSE-002-12 de la Gazette du Canada.

2. Tous les commentaires et les réponses aux commentaires reçus suite à cette consultation sont disponibles sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre. Des commentaires ou des réponses aux commentaires, ont été émis par l’Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS), Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell), Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), la British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA), Cogeco Cable Inc. (Cogeco), Data & Audio-Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc. (Mobilicity), la Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN), la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM), Globalive Wireless Management Corp. (WIND), Mme Helen Hambly Odame (de University of Guelph), Ice Wireless, M. Michel Lincourt , MTS Allstream, le Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario (MAAARO), le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC), Public Mobile Inc., Québecor Média Inc. et Vidéotron s.e.n.c. (Québecor), Rogers Communications Partnership (Rogers), SaskTel, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), Sogetel Mobilité (Sogetel), SSi Group of Companies (SSi), M. Gregory Taylor et Mme Catherine Middleton (de Ryerson University), Tbaytel, TELUS Communications Company (TELUS), ainsi que Xplornet Communications Inc. et Xplornet Broadband Inc. (Xplornet).

3. Dans le document qui suit (ci-après appelé le Cadre) sont énoncées les règles et les procédures de participation au processus concurrentiel de délivrance de licences du spectre dans la bande de 700 MHz. Le Cadre inclut des détails relatifs à la structure et aux règles des enchères; au processus de demande et aux échéances, et aux conditions de licence applicables.


2. Contexte

4. Le ministre de l’Industrie, par l’entremise de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Industrie, la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, en tenant dûment compte des objectifs de la politique canadienne en matière de télécommunications énoncés à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À ce titre, le Ministre est chargé d’élaborer les politiques nationales relativement à l’utilisation du spectre et d’assurer une gestion efficace des ressources du spectre des radiofréquences.

5. Dans l’élaboration du cadre de délivrance des licences pour les SMLB dans la bande de 700 MHz, Industrie Canada s’est inspiré des objectifs énoncés à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, de l’objectif stratégique énoncé dans le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectreNote de bas de page 3 visant à maximiser les retombées économiques et sociales que les Canadiens retirent de l’utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences, et des objectifs stratégiques énoncés dans l’avis SMSE-002-12Note de bas de page 4, comme suit :

  • une concurrence soutenue sur le marché des services de télécommunications sans fil pour que les consommateurs et les entreprises bénéficient de choix et de prix concurrentiels quant aux services offerts;
  • des investissements solides et des innovations de la part des entreprises de télécommunications sans fil pour que les Canadiens bénéficient de technologies de pointe et de réseaux de calibre mondial;
  • avantages disponibles rapidement aux Canadiens de toutes les régions du pays, y compris les régions rurales.

6. Industrie Canada s’est également inspiré des approches et processus généraux énoncés dans la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au CanadaNote de bas de page 5, révisée en mars 2011.

7. Industrie Canada ne fait aucune assertion ni ne donne aucune garantie en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des fréquences visées aux fins de services particuliers. Les requérants doivent savoir que ces enchères constituent une occasion de devenir titulaire de licence, sous réserve de certains règlements et conditions. L'attribution de fréquences par enchères par Industrie Canada ne signifie pas que le Ministère appuie un service, une technologie ou un produit particulier quelconque, et une licence de spectre n'est pas une garantie de succès commercial. Les requérants devraient faire preuve de diligence raisonnable, c'est-à-dire effectuer leur propre contrôle préalable, comme dans le cas de toute nouvelle entreprise commerciale.


3. Généralités

8. Dans le document SMSE-002-12, Cadre politique et technique : Service mobile à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHz, Industrie Canada a annoncé des décisions de principe concernant le processus de délivrance de licences de spectre dans la bande de 700 MHz. Conformément à ces décisions, voici un aperçu des licences qui seront mises aux enchères :

  • les licences seront « les licences de spectre à l’égard de l’utilisation de fréquences de radiocommunication définies dans une zone géographique déterminée », comme le définit le sous-alinéa 5(1)(a)(i.1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication;
  • les licences seront mises aux enchères au moyen des zones de niveau 2  (14 zones de service) pour tous les blocs de fréquences;
  • au total, cinq blocs de fréquences appariées et deux blocs de fréquences non appariées seront disponibles dans chaque zone de service (sept blocs de licences);
  • 98 licences au total seront offertes;
  • un plafond de fréquences de deux blocs de fréquences appariées sera appliqué à tous les titulaires de licence; les blocs non appariés n’y seront toutefois pas soumis;
  • un plafond de fréquences d’un bloc de fréquences appariées à l’intérieur des blocs B, C, C1 et C2 s’appliquera aux grands fournisseurs de services sans filNote de bas de page 6.

9. Pour consulter la liste complète des décisions de principe associées à la bande de 700 MHz, voir la section B du document SMSE-002-12Note de bas de page 7.

10. Pour la mise aux enchères de la bande de 700 MHz, les blocs de fréquences énumérés ci dessous seront disponibles dans les 14 zones de service.

Tableau 1 — Taille des blocs pour les fréquences dans la bande de 700 MHz
Bloc Fréquence Appariement MHz
A 698-704 MHz/728-734 MHz apparié 6+6 MHz
B 704-710 MHz/734-740 MHz apparié 6+6 MHz
C 710-716 MHz/740-746 MHz apparié 6+6 MHz
D 716-722 MHz non apparié 6 MHz
E 722-728 MHz non apparié 6 MHz
C1 777-782 MHz/746-751 MHz apparié 5+5 MHz
C2 782-787 MHz/751-756 MHz apparié 5+5 MHz

3.1 Zone de service concernant Lloydminster (Alberta/Saskatchewan)

11. La question entourant Lloydminster a été soulevée par SaskTel en réponse à l’avis SMSE-005-11, Décisions sur un plan de répartition des fréquences attribuées au service radio large bande (SRLB) et consultation sur un cadre politique et technique de délivrance des licences de spectre dans la bande de 2 500‑2 690 MHz. SaskTel a proposé que les frontières de la zone de service entourant Lloydminster méritent d’être examinées de plus près par Industrie Canada.

12. Dans ses consultations, Industrie Canada a sollicité des commentaires à savoir si la limite de la zone de service pour les licences dans la bande de 700 MHz devrait dévier de la limite provinciale ceinturant la ville de Lloydminster, (Alberta/Saskatchewan).

Sommaire des commentaires

13. Trois répondants ont offerts des commentaires sur la question. Rogers et TELUS ont tous deux indiqué que le statu quo doit prévaloir. TELUS a mentionné que 65 % de la population de Lloydminster vit du côté de la frontière qui se trouve en Alberta, et le fait d’avoir deux fournisseurs desservant la région frontalière pourrait entraîner des frais d’itinérance additionnels pour les clients. TELUS a ajouté qu’il faudrait une coordination importante et que bien que l’optimisation des radiofréquences (RF) peut atténuer une partie du brouillage, les utilisateurs de services sans fil au centre de la ville alterneraient entre les réseaux, ce qui entraînerait un nombre élevé d’appels abandonnés et de l’insatisfaction chez la clientèle.

14. SaskTel appuie la modification de la limite des zones de service couvrant Lloydminster pour qu’elle concorde avec la frontière provinciale. Elle a souligné que toute entité faisant présentement une demande de licence pour l’ensemble de la Saskatchewan serait tenue d’obtenir une licence qui inclurait Edmonton, Alberta, et que cela ne serait pas rentable. Pour ce qui est des préoccupations concernant le brouillage, SaskTel a indiqué que les nouvelles technologies peuvent être et sont utilisées pour atténuer le brouillage éventuel. SaskTel a également ajouté que la carte actuelle du spectre a causé des désaccords entre les deux principaux fournisseurs dans la région et que cela est allé à l’encontre des intérêts des résidents de Lloydminster.

Discussion

15. Industrie Canada a recours à des zones de service, appelées niveaux, pour tous les processus concurrentiels d’octroi de licences. Ces zones de service se fondent sur les divisions et les subdivisions de recensement de Statistique Canada. Quatre dimensions de niveau, énoncées dans le document Zones de service visant l’autorisation concurrentielleNote de bas de page 8, ont été établies pour répondre à divers services sans fil, applications et bandes de fréquences.

16. En 1996, des amendements à la Loi sur la radiocommunication créaient une nouvelle approche à l’octroi des licences du spectre et suscitaient des consultations publiques. Les zones de service par niveau furent introduites en 1998 à l’issue de ces consultations durant lesquelles le déplacement des limites entre certaines frontières provinciales fit consensus parmi les intervenants. En déviant ces limites, on voulait régler les questions concernant le brouillage tout en gardant les zones économiques intactes.

17. Les déviations se retrouvent dans cinq zones du pays où l’utilisation des frontières provinciales diviserait en deux une zone économique contiguë. Ces zones comportent une grande étendue de population (Gatineau/Ottawa) et quatre zones plus petites, y compris la ville de Lloydminster, située à la frontière de la Saskatchewan (35 % de la population) et de l’Alberta (65 % de la population). En fonction de la répartition de la population, il a été décidé, en 1998, de déterminer la limite du niveau de façon à ce que Lloydminster fasse partie des zones de niveau de l’Alberta, car c’est dans cette province que réside la majorité de la population.

18. Le maintien de la structure actuelle des zones de service serait conforme à tous les autres processus d'enchères du spectre entrepris depuis 1999 et permettrait aux titulaires de licence desservant la zone de service d'utiliser leur infrastructure actuelle pour y ajouter du spectre additionnel.

19. En raison de la structure actuelle des zones de service, une entité qui veut des licences pour couvrir l’ensemble de la Saskatchewan doit également obtenir une licence dans la zone de service de l’Alberta.

20. Le fait de redéfinir la limite de la zone de service pour qu'elle suive la frontière provinciale pourrait entraîner de plus grandes difficultés de brouillage; cependant, de nouvelles technologies pourraient être efficaces pour atténuer le brouillage.

Décision

21. En se fondant sur ce qui précède, Industrie Canada considère que pour les licences mises aux enchères dans la bande de 700 MHz, la limite entourant la zone de service suivra la frontière provinciale de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan dans la ville de Lloydminster.

Date de modification :