Decision on the Use of the Frequency Band 25.05-25.25 GHz


1. Intent

Through the release of this document, Industry Canada hereby announces the decisions resulting from the consultation process undertaken in SMSE-007-13 — Consultation on Use of the Frequency Band 25.05-25.25 GHz.

All comments received in response to the consultation are available on Industry Canada's Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf10736.html.


2. Mandate

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing goals and national policies for radio frequency spectrum resource use and for ensuring effective management of the spectrum resource.

This decision will facilitate the shared use of the band by systems in the fixed service and the fixed-satellite service. This goal satisfies a key objective of the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada to maximize the potential economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of the radio frequency spectrum.


3. Background

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (CTFA) allocates the band 25.05-25.25 GHz to the fixed service on a primary basis. Canadian footnote C44 provides further direction with regard to interference management in the band.

In September 2013, Industry Canada published SMSE-007-13 — Consultation on Use of the Frequency Band 25.05-25.25 GHz (hereinafter referred to as "the consultation"), which sought comments on proposed options for the clarification of technical sharing provisions between satellite and terrestrial licensees in the 25 GHz band.

Comments were received from five respondents, namely the Canadian Satellite and Space Industry Forum (CSSIF), EchoStar Satellite Operating Company, MTS Allstream, the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) and Rogers Communications.

3.1 Use of the Band by Fixed Systems

In 1999, Industry Canada conducted its first spectrum auction for fixed point-to-point and point-to-multipoint systems in the 24 and 38 GHz bands, which included the 25.05-25.25 GHz ("25 GHz") sub-band that is the subject of the present document.

In March 2009, Industry Canada published DGRB-004-09 – Decision on the Renewal of 24 and 38 GHz Spectrum Licences and Consultation on Spectrum Licence Fees for 24, 28 and 38 GHz Bands. Given the shortage of equipment and lack of technological development at that time, Industry Canada decided to extend the licence term for auctioned licences in the 24 and 38 GHz bands by five years without applicable fees, and to extend the deadline for system deployment until the end of the extended licence term. Regarding the unassigned or returned spectrum for the 24, 28 and 38 GHz bands, Industry Canada decided to issue spectrum licences on a first-come, first-served (FCFS) basis and reserved the right to review the FCFS principle should demand exceed supply.

3.2 Use of the Band by Fixed-Satellite Systems

The International Telecommunication Union's (ITU) Radio Regulations allocate the use of the band 24.75-25.05 GHz in ITU Region 2 countries, including Canada, to the fixed-satellite service (FSS) in the Earth-to-space direction. The use of this frequency band for feeder links to the broadcasting-satellite service (BSS) has priority over other FSS uses in this band. In Canada, the feeder links to future BSS space stations that will operate in the band 17.3-17.8 GHz were required by footnote C44 to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations to be implemented in the band 24.75-25.25 GHz.

In June 2002Footnote 1 and July 2003,Footnote 2 Industry Canada took its first step toward the use of the 17 GHz BSS band when it issued calls for interest in BSS orbital positions. In July 2006, Industry Canada released an announcement — Industry Canada Announces Assignment Process for Canadian Orbital Satellite Positions —  followed by a Call for Applications to License Satellite Orbital Positions, which was an invitation to submit applications to use the various FSS and BSS frequency bands at a number of orbital positions. This initiative was completed in 2008 and resulted in several approvals in principle for the 17 GHz BSS band for two companies, Telesat and Ciel Satellite LP. Two subsequent licensing processes were initiated in 2009 (Satellite Call 2009) and 2011 (Satellite Call 2011). Based on the outcome of the 2009 call for applications, Telesat and Ciel Satellite each obtained an approval in principle for several orbital positions in the 17 GHz BSS band. Then, following the 2011 call for applications, 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc., obtained an approval in principle for an orbital position in this band. When in operation, these satellites will use the 25 GHz FSS band for their feeder links (uplinks).

Although the deployment of these satellites is not anticipated before 2015, the companies that have obtained approvals in principle are already investing in the design and development of satellites for use in these bands.


4. Considerations Regarding Footnote C44

The fixed service (FS) and the fixed-satellite service (FSS) are both primary services in the band 25.05- 25.25 GHz. However, footnote C44 of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations has given priority to the FS over the FSS by specifying that the FSS must not cause interference to FS systems deployed in authorized service areas. As the level of interference is not specified in the footnote, restrictions were indirectly imposed on the FSS, thereby limiting the viability of implementing the FSS in the band.

In the consultation, Industry Canada proposed to clarify the relationship between the FS and FSS in the 25 GHz band to ensure that both primary services can make effective use of the band through changes to the wording of Canadian footnote C44 as follows:

MOD
C44
begin proposed deletionFeeder links to broadcasting-satellite space stations operating in the band 17.3 -17.8 GHz shall be implemented in the band 24.75-25.25 GHz. In areas where fixed systems have been licensed using a competitive process, future earth stations (Earth-to-space) in the band 25.05-25.25 GHz will be permitted provided that such installations will not cause interference to any fixed service to be deployed in the authorized service area.end proposed deletion begin proposed additionFixed-satellite service implementation in the band 25.05-25.25 GHz will be limited to applications which will impose minimal constraints upon the deployment of fixed service systems, such as those using a small number of large antennas for feeder links.end proposed addition

Summary of Comments

All commenters agreed that the existing wording is unclear and that the proposed changes to the current rules and the establishment of a coordination process would improve certainty for satellite and terrestrial licensees in the band.

All commenters agreed with the proposed deletion of the first sentence, where an explicit link between the 17 and 25 GHz bands is made, as this would provide flexibility for satellite operators to select uplink and downlink pairing that best meets the needs of users and, most appropriately, solves potential technical problems.

The CSSIF and EchoStar supported the proposed wording for footnote C44 from the consultation. MTS Allstream did not object to the proposed changes.

RABC members (other than the CSSIF) expressed concerns over some of the specific proposed wording in the consultation. In particular, they were concerned about the potential constraint on future FS deployment that could be imposed by the presence of an FSS Earth station in an area where there were no existing FS stations, and hence no need for the FSS licensee to coordinate, at the time that the FSS Earth station was established. In addition, there were some areas where they felt that the clarity of the footnote could be improved. For these reasons, they suggested alternative text proposing that the footnote clarify that the FS has priority in this band over the FSS, that Industry Canada may impose further limitations, beyond the use of a small number of large antenna stations, in order to implement this priority and explicitly stating that new stations must coordinate with existing licensees.

Rogers, which participated in development of the RABC comments, indicated its support for the RABC proposal, but also suggested some modifications of its own.

Discussion

Industry Canada agrees with the commenters that there is no longer a need for an explicit link between the 17 and 25 GHz bands to be included in footnote C44 and that the elimination of this text will provide some additional flexibility to satellite operators.

As stated in the consultation, the principal use of the 25 GHz band will be for FS backhaul deployments. However, the band also needs to support limited deployments of FSS Earth stations. Industry Canada therefore agrees with commenters on the benefits of modifying the wording of footnote C44 to reflect the explicit priority of FS, while limiting FSS Earth station deployments in support of direct-to-home broadcasting services.

Industry Canada does not agree with the provision proposed by some commenters that "Industry Canada may (after consultation with stakeholders) impose further limitations on the design and/or locations of proposed new earth stations". It is not clear how the "consultation with stakeholders" would take place. The addition of such a process to license applications for FSS Earth stations would also likely result in significant delay and additional administrative burden. In the case where there is no existing FS licensee in a particular area, it is unclear who would be considered as a stakeholder to be consulted with or what would be a reasonable basis for an objection. Consequently, Industry Canada believes that the proposed limitation of FSS Earth Stations to small numbers of large antennas for feeder links and/or gateway stations is an adequate measure to ensure that the potential constraint on future FS deployment will be minimized.

Similarly, it is not necessary for footnote C44 to specify, as proposed by some commenters, that "Any proposed systems in the FS or FSS will have to be coordinated with existing licensees." Coordination is normal practice whenever a band is allocated on a co-primary basis and, as discussed in Section 5 below, a coordination process will be addressed in the technical rules for the 25 GHz band rather than through this footnote.

Decision

Footnote C44 to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is updated as follows:

MOD
C44
begin proposed deletionFeeder links to broadcasting-satellite space stations operating in the band 17.3 -17.8 GHz shall be implemented in the band 24.75-25.25 GHz. In areas where fixed systems have been licensed using a competitive process, future earth stations (Earth-to-space) in the band 25.05-25.25 GHz will be permitted provided that such installations will not cause interference to any fixed service to be deployed in the authorized service area.end proposed deletion begin proposed additionThe use of spectrum for the fixed service has priority over the use of the fixed-satellite service in the band 25.05 – 25.25 GHz. Fixed-satellite service implementation in the band 25.05 – 25.25 GHz will be limited to applications which will impose minimal constraints upon the deployment of fixed service systems, such as those using a small number of large antennas for feeder links to the broadcasting-satellite service and/or for gateway applications in the fixed-satellite service.end proposed addition

5. Coordination Process

In the consultation, Industry Canada proposed to establish a coordination process between the FSS and the FS. In addition, the consultation sought comments on whether this process should be aligned with the existing coordination process between FS systems outlined in SRSP-324.25Technical Requirements for Fixed Radio Systems Operating in the Bands 24.25-24.45 GHz and 25.05-25.25 GHz, or if another approach should be considered.

Summary of Comments

All commenters agreed with the need to clarify the process for coordination between the FS and FSS in this band. In particular, although the use of the 25 GHz band is intended primarily for the FS, commenters agreed that new FS stations should be coordinated with existing FSS Earth stations, unlike the current situation. There seemed to be general agreement that the coordination process and technical limits already used between FS stations would form a good starting point for the development of a new or revised Standard Radio System Plan (SRSP). SRSP 324.5 provides a familiar coordination process which has been used on numerous occasions to achieve the successful coexistence of FS and FSS in a number of frequency bands.

Discussion

The orderly deployment of both satellite and terrestrial systems in a manner that minimizes interference benefits all licensees equally. Industry Canada notes that satellite and terrestrial licensees have been able to successfully coordinate their respective deployments using a process that is commonly used in a number of frequency bands. Industry Canada therefore agrees with commenters on the value of implementing this coordination process in the 25 GHz band as well. Industry Canada notes that this coordination process is part of technical rules that are developed in consultation with the Radio Advisory Board of Canada.

Decision

In consultation with stakeholders, Industry Canada will update its technical rules for the band 25.05-25.25 GHz to include provisions for coordination between FS and FSS stations.

May 2014

space to insert full name

MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

Décision sur l’utilisation de la bande de fréquences 25,05-25,25 GHz


1. But

Par la publication du présent document, Industrie Canada annonce les décisions découlant du processus de consultation entrepris dans le cadre de l'avis SMSE-007-13Consultation sur l'utilisation de la bande de fréquences 25,05-25,25 GHz.

Tous les commentaires reçus en réponse à la consultation sont disponibles sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra.sf10736.html.


2. Mandat

En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ainsi que des objectifs contenus dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est chargé de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À ce titre, il est responsable de l'élaboration d'objectifs et de politiques nationales visant l'utilisation des ressources du spectre des radiofréquences, et de la gestion efficace des ressources du spectre.

La présente décision facilitera l'utilisation partagée de la bande par les systèmes du service fixe et du service fixe par satellite. Ce but satisfait à un objectif clé du Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre qui vise à maximiser, pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, les avantages économiques et sociaux découlant de l'utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences.


3. Contexte

Le tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences assigne la bande 25,05-25,25 GHz au service fixe (SF), à titre primaire. Le renvoi canadien C44 apporte des directives complémentaires concernant la gestion du brouillage dans la bande.

En septembre 2013, Industrie Canada a publié l'avis de la Gazette SMSE-007-13Consultation sur l'utilisation de la bande de fréquences 25,05-25,25 GHz (ci- après appelé « la consultation »), en vue de solliciter des observations sur les options proposées relatives à la clarification des dispositions techniques de partage entre les titulaires de licence du service par satellite et du service terrestre dans la bande de 25 GHz.

Nous avons reçu les commentaires de cinq répondants, soit du Forum de l'industrie spatiale et satellitaire canadienne (FISSC), d'EchoStar Satellite Operating Company, de MTS Allstream, du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) et de Rogers Communications.

3.1 Utilisation de la bande par les systèmes du service fixe

En 1999, Industrie Canada a tenu ses premières enchères du spectre visant les systèmes fixes point à point et point-multipoint fixes dans les bandes de 24 et de 38 GHz, qui incluaient la sous-bande 25,05-25,25 GHz (la bande de 25 GHz) visée dans le présent document.

En mars 2009, Industrie Canada a publié l'avis DGRB-004-09 – Décision concernant le renouvellement des licences de spectre dans les bandes de fréquences de 24 et 38 GHz et consultation sur les droits de licences de spectre dans les bandes de fréquences de 24, 28 et 38 GHz. Étant donné la carence de matériel et l'absence de développement technologique à l'époque, le Ministère a décidé de prolonger de 5 ans la période de validité des licences mises aux enchères dans les bandes de fréquences de 24 et de 38 GHz, sans exiger les droits applicables, puis de prolonger le délai de déploiement des systèmes jusqu'à la fin de la période prorogée de validité des licences. Pour ce qui est des fréquences non attribuées ou retournées des bandes de fréquences de 24, de 28 et de 38 GHz, Industrie Canada a décidé de délivrer des licences selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi (PAPS), et il s'est réservé le droit de revoir le principe du PAPS si la demande dépasse la quantité de fréquences disponibles.

3.2 Utilisation de la bande par les systèmes du service fixe par satellite

Dans les pays de la Région 2 de l'UIT, qui comprend le Canada, le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) attribue la bande 24,75-25,05 GHz au service fixe par satellite (SFS), direction Terre vers espace. L'exploitation de cette bande de fréquences pour les liaisons de connexion du service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) a priorité sur les autres usages du SFS dans cette bande. Au Canada, les liaisons de connexion avec les futures stations spatiales du SRS qui seront exploitées dans la bande 17,3-17,8 GHz doivent être mises en application dans la bande 24,75-25,25 GHz conformément au renvoi C44 du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

En juin 2002Note de bas de page 1 et en juillet 2003Note de bas de page 2, Industrie Canada a franchi les premières étapes vers l'utilisation de la bande de 17 GHz du SRS lorsqu'il a lancé des appels de déclarations d'intérêt à l'égard de positions orbitales du SRS. En juillet 2006, il a publié une annonce — Industrie Canada annonce un processus d'attribution de positions orbitales pour des satellites canadiens — suivie d'un Appel de demandes de licences relatives à des positions orbitales de satellite, qui était une invitation à présenter des demandes en vue de l'utilisation de différentes bandes de fréquences du SFS et du SRS à plusieurs positions orbitales. Cette initiative, complétée en 2008, a eu pour résultat l'obtention de plusieurs approbations de principe à l'égard de la bande de 17 GHz du SRS par deux entreprises, Télésat et Ciel Satellite LP. Deux appels de demandes ont été lancés par la suite, en 2009 (Présentation de demandes pour l'exploitation de satellites, 2009) et en 2011 (Présentation de demandes pour l'exploitation de satellites, 2011). Sur la base des résultats de l'appel de demandes de 2009, Télésat et Ciel Satellite LP ont chacune reçu une approbation de principe pour plusieurs positions orbitales dans la bande de 17 GHz du SRS. Puis, à la suite de l'appel de demandes de 2011, 95W Canadian Satellite Communications Inc. a reçu une approbation de principe à l'égard d'une position orbitale dans cette bande. Lorsqu'ils entreront en exploitation, ces satellites utiliseront la bande de 25 GHz du SFS pour leurs liaisons de connexions (liaisons montantes).

Bien que le déploiement de ces satellites ne soit pas prévu avant 2015, les entreprises qui ont obtenu des approbations de principe investissent déjà dans la conception et le développement de satellites en vue de l'utilisation de ces bandes.


4. Facteurs à considérer au sujet du renvoi C44

Le service fixe (SF) et le service fixe par satellite (SFS) sont deux services autorisés à titre primaire dans la bande 25,05- 25,25 GHz. Toutefois, le renvoi C44 du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences donne la priorité au SF sur le SFS, en précisant que le SFS ne doit causer aucun brouillage aux systèmes du SF déployés dans les zones de service autorisées. Comme le niveau de brouillage n'est pas précisé dans le renvoi, des restrictions sont indirectement imposées au SFS, ce qui limite la viabilité de la mise en œuvre du SFS dans cette bande.

Dans le document de consultation, Industrie Canada propose de clarifier la relation entre le SF et le SFS dans la bande de 25 GHz pour que les deux services primaires puissent exploiter efficacement la bande en modifiant la formulation du renvoi C44 du Tableau canadien comme suit :

MOD
C44
begin proposed deletionLes liaisons de connexion avec les stations spatiales du service de radiodiffusion par satellite exploitées dans la bande 17,3-17,8 GHz doivent être mise en œuvre dans la bande de 24,75-25,25 GHz. Dans les zones où des systèmes fixes ont été autorisés selon un processus concurrentiel, les futures stations terriennes (Terre espace) pourront être exploitées dans la bande de 25,05 à 25,25 GHz pourvu que l’installation ne cause pas de brouillage aux systèmes fixes qui seront déployés dans les zones de service autorisées.end proposed deletion begin proposed additionLa mise en œuvre du service fixe par satellite dans la bande 20,05-25,25 GHz sera limitée aux applications qui n’imposent que des restrictions minimes au déploiement de systèmes du service fixe, comme celles qui utilisent un petit nombre de grandes antennes pour les liaisons de connexion.end proposed addition

Résumé des commentaires

Tous les commentateurs conviennent que le maintien du statu quo n'est pas clair et que les modifications proposées aux règles actuelles, ainsi que l'établissement d'un processus de coordination augmenteraient la certitude donnée aux titulaires de licence du service par satellite et du service terrestres dans la bande.

Tous les commentateurs approuvent la suppression proposée de la première phrase, ou l'on fait un lien explicite entre les bandes 17 et 25 GHz, car les exploitants de satellites auraient ainsi la souplesse nécessaire pour sélectionner un appariement de fréquences pour la liaison montante et la liaison descendante qui répond le mieux aux besoins des utilisateurs et fournit la solution la plus appropriée aux problèmes techniques possibles.

Le FISSC et EchoStar appuient la formulation proposée dans le document de consultation pour le renvoi C44. MTS Allstream ne s'oppose pas aux changements proposés.

Les membres du CCCR (autres que le FISSC) ont fait part de leurs préoccupations au sujet de certains éléments de la formulation proposée dans le document de consultation. Notamment, ils sont préoccupés par les contraintes possibles sur le déploiement futur du SF que la présence d'une station terrienne du SFS pourrait imposer dans une région libre de toute station du SF, et donc où le titulaire de licence du SFS n'aurait alors pas à effectuer la coordination au moment d'établir une station terrienne du SFS. De plus, ils font valoir que la clarté de certains éléments du renvoi pourrait être améliorée. Pour ces raisons, ces membres suggèrent un autre texte dans lequel ils proposent que le renvoi précise les points suivants : le SF aurait la priorité sur le SFS dans cette bande; Industrie Canada pourrait imposer d'autres limites, au-delà de l'utilisation d'un petit nombre de stations à grande antenne, afin de mettre cette priorité en place et d'indiquer clairement que les nouvelles stations doivent coordonner avec les titulaires de licence actuels.

Rogers, qui a participé à la rédaction des commentaires du CCCR, indique qu'il appuie la proposition de ce dernier, mais il suggère certaines modifications à la nouvelle formulation proposée du renvoi qui lui sont propres.

Discussion

Industrie Canada est d'accord avec les commentateurs qu'un lien entre les bandes de 17 et de 25 GHz n'est plus nécessaire dans le renvoi C44 et que la suppression de ce texte donnera une souplesse accrue aux exploitants de satellites.

Tel que mentionné dans le document de consultation, la bande de 25 GHz est utilisée principalement pour le déploiement des liaisons du service terrestre fixe.  Cependant, cette bande doit aussi supporter le déploiement limité des stations terriennes du SFS.  Industrie Canada est donc d'accord avec les commentateurs sur les avantages de modifier le texte du renvoi C44 pour refléter précisément la priorité du SF tout en limitant le déploiement de stations terriennes du SFS supportant les services de radiodiffusion directe.

Industrie Canada n'est pas en accord avec la disposition proposée par certains commentateurs et selon laquelle Industrie Canada (après consultation auprès des intervenants) peut imposer d'autres limites relatives à la conception et/ou à l'emplacement des nouvelles stations terriennes proposées. La façon d'effectuer la « consultation auprès des intervenants » n'est pas claire. L'ajout d'un tel processus aux demandes de licence concernant les stations terriennes du SFS entraînerait aussi sans doute un retard considérable et un fardeau administratif accru. En l'absence d'un titulaire de licence SF dans une région donnée, on voit mal qui pourrait être considéré comme intervenant que l'on devrait consulter ou ce qui constituerait une base raisonnable d'objection. En conséquence, Industrie Canada croit que la proposition de limiter les stations terriennes du SFS à un petit nombre de grandes antennes pour les liaisons de connexion et/ou les stations passerelles est une mesure suffisante qui permettra de réduire au minimum les contraintes possibles sur le déploiement ultérieur du SF.

De même, le renvoi C44 n'a pas à préciser, comme le proposent certains commentateurs, que les systèmes proposés dans le SF ou le SFS devront être coordonnés avec les titulaires de licences actuels. La coordination est pratique courante lorsqu'une bande est attribuée à titre primaire conjoint et, comme l'indique la section 5 ci-dessous, un processus de coordination sera examiné au chapitre des règles techniques pour la bande de 25 GHz plutôt que dans le renvoi en question.

Décision

Le renvoi C44 du Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences est modifié comme suit :

MOD
C44
begin proposed deletionLes liaisons de connexion avec les stations spatiales du service de radiodiffusion par satellite exploitées dans la bande 17,3-17,8 GHz doivent être mise en œuvre dans la bande de 24,75-25,25 GHz. Dans les zones où des systèmes fixes ont été autorisés selon un processus concurrentiel, les futures stations terriennes (Terre espace) pourront être exploitées de 25,05 à 25,25 GHz pourvu que l’installation ne cause pas de brouillage aux systèmes fixes qui seront déployés dans les zones de service autorisées.end proposed deletion begin proposed additionL’utilisation du spectre pour le service fixe a priorité sur l’utilisation du service fixe par satellite dans la bande 25,05-25,25 GHz. La mise en œuvre du service fixe par satellite dans la bande 25,05-25,25 GHz sera limitée aux applications qui n’imposent que des restrictions minimes au déploiement de systèmes du service fixe, comme celles qui utilisent un petit nombre de grandes antennes pour les liaisons de connexion au service de radiodiffusion par satellite et/ou les applications passerelles du service fixe par satellite.end proposed addition

5. Processus de coordination

Dans le document de consultation, Industrie Canada propose d'établir un processus de coordination entre le SFS et le SF. De plus, la consultation sollicite des observations sur la possibilité d'harmoniser ce processus de coordination avec le processus de coordination actuel entre les systèmes SF décrits dans le PNRH-324.25Prescriptions techniques relatives aux systèmes radio fixes fonctionnant dans les bandes 24,25-24,45 GHz et 25,05-25,25 GHz, ou sur la possibilité d'examiner une autre approche.

Résumé des commentaires

Tous les commentateurs conviennent que le processus de coordination entre le SF et le SFS dans cette bande doit être clarifié. En particulier, bien que cette bande soit surtout réservée au SF, ils sont d'avis que les stations terriennes du SFS actuelles devraient être coordonnées avec les nouvelles stations du SF, contrairement au maintien du statu quo. De façon générale, ils conviennent que le processus de coordination et les limites techniques déjà utilisés entre les stations du SF constituent un bon point de départ pour élaborer un PNRH nouveau  ou révisé. Le PNRH 324.5 donne un exemple d'un processus de coordination connu qui a été utilisé à plusieurs occasions avec succès dans plusieurs bandes pour établir la coexistence des stations du SF et du SFS.

Discussion

Le déploiement ordonné des systèmes satellitaires et terrestres de façon à minimiser le brouillage bénéficie également à tous les titulaires de licence. Industrie Canada note que les titulaires de licence du service par satellite et du service terrestre ont pu coordonner avec succès leurs déploiements en utilisant un processus communément utilisé dans de nombreuses bandes de fréquences.  Industrie Canada est donc d'accord avec les commentateurs sur les avantages de mettre aussi en œuvre ce processus de coordination dans la bande de 25 GHz.Industrie Canada note que ce processus de coordination fait partie intégrale des règles techniques développées en consultation avec le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio.

Décision

En collaboration avec les intervenants, Industrie Canada mettra à jour ses règles techniques pour la bande 25,05-25,25 GHz afin d'y inclure des dispositions relatives à la coordination entre les stations du SF et du SFS.

Mai 2014

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille

MARC DUPUIS

Date de modification :