Statement of Intent of the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and the Department of Industry of Canada Related to the Cross-Border Operation of Portable Radios by Public Safety Agencies along the United States-Canada Border

Posted on Industry Canada website: October 21, 2014

Considering that discussions have taken place between the Federal Communications Commission and the Department of Industry of Canada (Industry Canada) (hereafter the "Agencies") on improving cross-border public safety communications in areas along the United States-Canada border;

Considering that Article II of the 1952 Convention between Canada and the United States of America relating to the Operation by Citizens of either country of certain Radio Equipment or Stations in the Other Country (the Convention) permits certain cross-border communications by mobile radio stations installed in public safety vehicles;

Considering that public safety mobile communications have evolved since the Convention was drafted and now include the operation of portable radio unitsFootnote 1 (not limited to operation within public safety vehicles) that were not envisioned at the time the Convention was ratified;

Considering that public safety licensees are those that protect safety of life, health or property (e.g. police, fire and emergency medical services) as described by the Agencies in their relevant rules;

Taking the above into account, the Agencies intend to allow the use of portable radio units by public safety licensees of either country.

Furthermore, the Agencies recognize that in the April 15, 1991 Exchange of Letters between the Department of Communications (now Industry Canada) and the Federal Communications Commission, the Agencies concurred to suspend the requirement under the 1952 Convention for the registration and the issuance of a permit to terrestrial mobile radio units operating in the other country, provided such mobiles are under the control of a properly licensed terrestrial station in the country in which they are operating. Similarly, the agencies do not intend to require registration or the issuance of a permit for the operation of mobile or portable radio units by public safety licensees of either country, regardless of whether or not these radio units are under the control of a terrestrial station in the country in which they are operating, provided such radio units are properly licensed in their country of origin.



FOR THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

space to insert signature
Tom Wheeler
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission
October 8, 2014


FOR INDUSTRY CANADA

space to insert signature
Kelly Gillis
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications
Industry Canada
October 1, 2014


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Portable radio units are radios designed to be carried by a person and capable of transmitting and/or receiving while in motion or during brief halts at unspecified locations (i.e. handhelds).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Déclaration d'intention de la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d’Amérique et d'Industrie Canada concernant les opérations transfrontalières des radios portatives par les organismes responsables de la sécurité publique le long de la frontière canado-américaine

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : Le 21 octobre 2014

[Traduction]

Attendu que des discussions ont eu lieu entre la Federal Communications Commission et le ministère de l’Industrie du Canada (Industrie Canada) (les « organismes ») concernant l’amélioration des communications transfrontalières liées à la sécurité publique dans les régions qui longent la frontière canado-américaine;

Attendu que l’article II de la Convention de 1952 entre les États-Unis et le Canada ayant trait à l’exploitation par les citoyens de l’un ou l’autre pays de certains appareils ou stations radioélectriques dans l’autre pays (la Convention) autorise certaines communications transfrontalières par des stations radio mobiles installées dans les véhicules de sécurité publique;

Attendu que les communications mobiles de sécurité publique ont évolué depuis que la Convention a été élaborée, et qu’elles comprennent maintenant l’utilisation d’appareils radio portatifsNote 1 (utilisation non restreinte aux véhicules de sécurité publique), qui n’était pas envisagée au moment où la Convention a été ratifiée;

Attendu que les licences de sécurité publique sont celles qui assurent la sécurité de la vie, de la santé et des biens (p. ex., services de police, d’incendie et d’urgence médicale), comme il est décrit par les organismes dans leurs règles qui s’y rapportent;

En tenant compte de ce qui précède, les organismes ont l’intention d’autoriser l’utilisation d’appareils radio portatifs par les titulaires de licence de sécurité publique de l’un ou l’autre pays.

De plus, les organismes reconnaissent que dans l’échange de lettres du 15 avril 1991 entre le ministère des Communications (maintenant Industrie Canada) et la Federal Communications Commission, les organismes ont accepté de suspendre l’obligation, en vertu de la Convention de 1952, liée à l’enregistrement d’un permis et à la délivrance de ce dernier aux appareils radio mobiles terrestres utilisés dans l’autre pays, à la condition que ces appareils relèvent d’une station terrestre détentrice des permis exigibles dans le pays où elle est exploitée. Dans le même ordre d’idées, les organismes n’ont pas l’intention d’exiger l’enregistrement ou la délivrance d’un permis aux fins d’utilisation d’appareils radios mobiles ou portatifs par les titulaires de licence de sécurité publique de l’un ou l’autre pays, peu importe si ces appareils radios sont sous le contrôle d’une station terrestre dans le pays où ils opèrent, à la condition que ces appareils radio possèdent une licence appropriée dans leur pays d’origine.



POUR LA FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

space to insert signature
Tom Wheeler
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission
Le 8 octobre 2014


POUR INDUSTRIE CANADA

space to insert signature
Kelly Gillis
Sous-ministre adjointe principale
Spectre, Technologies de l'information et télécommunications
Industrie Canada
Le 1er octobre 2014


Notes de bas de page

Note 1

Les appareils radio portatifs sont des radios conçues pour être portées par une personne et capables de transmettre et/ou de recevoir des communications alors que la personne est en mouvement ou durant de courtes haltes dans des endroits indéterminés (p. ex., appareils portatifs).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :