BPR-1 — General Rules

Annex A – Addresses and Regional Boundaries

Address of the Departmental Headquarters

Director
Broadcast, Coordination, and Planning
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

email: IC.broadcasting-radiodiffusion.IC@canada.ca

Addresses of Regional Offices

Refer to Radiocommunication Information Circular 66 (RIC-66) for the addresses of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s regional and district offices. This document is available on the Department’s website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html.

Description of Regional Boundaries

  • Western Region: Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, British Columbia, and the Yukon
  • Quebec Region: Quebec
  • Atlantic and Ontario Region: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Ontario


Annex B – Method to Evaluate Compliance with the Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy for AM Broadcasting Undertakings

This Annex provides a two-step methodology to evaluate Safety Code 6 compliance distances for AM broadcasting undertakings.

Since compliance distance will likely be in the near-field region of AM transmitting antennas, both the electric field (E-Field) and the magnetic field (H-Field) need to be considered. The evaluation of compliance distance is performed in two steps, as follows.

Step 1: Determining the applicable field-strength limits

The first step consists of determining nerve stimulation-based (NS) and specific absorption rate-based (SAR) reference levels for both the electric field and the magnetic field for the AM site of interest. These limits are provided in the Safety Code 6 document – Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range from 3 kHz to 300 GHz. When evaluating the 50% of Safety Code 6 limits, the Safety Code 6 NS-based limit shall be multiplied by a factor of 0.5, while the Safety Code 6 SAR-based limit shall be multiplied by a factor of 0.71.

The most stringent field strength limit (the lower field strength limit) between the nerve stimulation (NS) limit and the specific absorption rate (SAR) limit shall be used.

Step 2: Calculating the theoretical compliance distances

Tables B1-B9 provide the electric and magnetic field-strength levels at various distances from the base of AM broadcasting towers for a number of frequency and tower electrical lengths. Since the tables are normalized to a radiated power of 1 kW for an AM single tower, the field-strength limits evaluated in Step 1 need to be adjusted for the actual nominal station power. In the case of tower arrays, the radiated power of each tower can be used to adjust the field limits if they are known. Otherwise, a conservative prediction is to be made by assuming all transmitted power is radiated from each antenna. In such a case, the appropriate value from the tables could be used to define the zone of minimum compliance distance around the array, consisting of circles with appropriate radii, each of which are centered around a tower in the array.

In the case of a shared AM transmission tower broadcasting on multiple frequencies, a minimum compliance distance should be calculated for each frequency using the method described in this Annex, and assuming that the radiated power is the sum of the powers of all stations transmitted by the tower. The largest calculated minimum compliance distance should be selected as the overall minimum compliance distance for the tower.

The following formulas shall be used to adjust field strength levels based on applicable limits determined in Step 1:


\[ E_{adjusted} = \frac {E_{lim\left(50\%\right)\_step 1}} {\sqrt {P_{nominal} \times 1.78}} \]

(eq. B.1)
\[ H_{adjusted} = \frac {H_{lim\left(50\%\right)\_step 1}} {\sqrt {P_{nominal} \times 1.78}} \]

(eq. B.2)
where:
Elim(50%)_step1
is 50% of Safety Code 6 limits (E-field) determined in Step 1 (V/m rms)
 
Hlim(50%)_step1
is 50% of the Safety Code 6 limits (H-field) determined in Step 1 (A/m rms)
 
Pnominal
is the unmodulated radiated power from the tower (carrier only) in kW if known. Otherwise, the station’s nominal (authorized) radiated power in kW shall be used.


Once the adjusted field limits are calculated, the Tables B1-B9 provide the theoretical compliance distances for various frequencies and electrical antenna heights in degrees (360° = 1 wavelength). For electrical or magnetic field values that fall in between the data points in the tables provided, the first data point with an electrical or magnetic field value below the target value for compliance should be selected.

Note 1: Electrical antenna height (in degrees) is calculated using the following formula:


Electrical _ Antenna _ Height(°) = Antenna _ Height(m) × 1.2 × frequency(MHz)
(eq. B.3)


Tables B1-B9 can be used directly to evaluate the electric and magnetic fields for facilities that use:

  • electrical height within 1% wavelength (i.e., within 3.6 electrical degrees) of the electrical height for the given table, and
  • carrier frequency at the frequency or the adjacent channel frequency for the given Table.

For antennas that do not correspond to the above conditions, the electrical and magnetic fields will be evaluated as follows:

  • For electrical field, available Tables using the next higher and lower frequency, and next higher and lower electrical length, shall be consulted (4 readings). The largest distance reading shall be retained as the compliant distance for electrical field.
  • Separately for the magnetic field, the available tables using the next higher and lower frequency, and next higher and lower electrical length, shall be consulted (4 readings). The largest distance reading shall be retained as the compliant distance for magnetic field.

The Safety Code 6 compliance distance shall be determined as the largest distance among the two distances retained for the electrical and magnetic fields. The compliance distance as determined using this method is referenced to the surface of the tower, and cannot be less than 2 metres.

Tables of Distance from Tower vs. Adjusted Electric and Magnetic Field Strength

Tables B1 to B9: Predicted Distances for Compliance with SC-6 limits

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

RPR-1 — Règles générales

Annexe A – Adresses et description des limites des régions

Adresse de l’administration centrale du Ministère

Directeur
Radiodiffusion, coordination et planification, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5

Courriel : IC.broadcasting-radiodiffusion.IC@canada.ca

Adresses des bureaux régionaux

Prière de se référer à la Circulaire d’information sur les radiocommunications 66 (CIR-66) pour obtenir les adresses des bureaux régionaux et de districts d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE). Ce document est disponible sur le site Web du Ministère à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01742.html.

Description des limites des régions

Annexe B – Méthode d’évaluation de la conformité aux limites d’exposition humaine aux champs de radiofréquences électromagnétiques pour les entreprises de radiodiffusion AM

La présente annexe décrit une méthode en deux étapes pour évaluer les distances minimales précisées dans le Code de sécurité 6 pour les entreprises de radiodiffusion AM.

Étant donné que la distance minimale sera sans doute dans la zone du champ proche des antennes d’émission AM, il faut tenir compte à la fois du champ électrique (E) et du champ magnétique (H). L’évaluation de la distance minimale comporte deux étapes, soit :

Étape 1 : détermination des limites d’intensité de champ applicable

La première étape consiste à déterminer les degrés de référence selon la neurostimulation (NS) et le débit d’absorption spécifique (DAS), à la fois pour le champ électrique et le champ magnétique, pour l’emplacement AM d’intérêt. Ces limites sont fournies dans le Code de sécurité 6, Limites d’exposition humaine à l’énergie électromagnétique radioélectrique dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz. Pour évaluer le degré correspondant à 50 % de la valeur des limites énoncées dans le Code de sécurité 6, il faut multiplier par 0,5 la limite fondée sur la NS du Code, et par 0,71 la limite fondée sur le DAS du Code. Il faut utiliser la limite d’intensité du champ la plus stricte (la limite d’intensité du champ la plus basse) entre la limite de la neurostimulation (NS) et la limite du débit d’absorption spécifique (DAS).

Étape 2 : calcul des distances minimales théoriques

Les tableaux B1 à B9 présentent les degrés d’intensité des champs électrique et magnétique à diverses distances de la base des pylônes de radiodiffusion AM pour différentes fréquences et longueurs électriques des pylônes. Étant donné que les tableaux sont normalisés pour une puissance rayonnée de 1 kW pour un seul pylône de radiodiffusion AM, les limites d’intensité de champ évaluées à l’étape 1 doivent être ajustées en fonction de la puissance nominale réelle de la station. S’il s’agit de réseaux de pylônes, on peut utiliser la puissance rayonnée de chaque pylône pour modifier les limites d’intensité du champ, si elles sont connues. À défaut, on doit faire une prévision prudente en supposant que toute la puissance émise provient de chaque antenne. Dans un tel cas, on pourrait utiliser la valeur appropriée tirée des tableaux pour définir la zone de la distance minimale de conformité autour du réseau, comprenant des cercles avec des rayons appropriés, dont le centre de chacun correspond à un pylône du réseau.

S’il s’agit d’un pylône partagé de radiodiffusion AM qui transmet sur de nombreuses fréquences, une distance minimale de conformité doit être calculée pour chaque fréquence en utilisant la méthode décrite dans la présente annexe et en supposant que la puissance rayonnée est la somme des puissances de toutes les stations transmises par le pylône. La plus grande distance minimale de conformité calculée doit être sélectionnée comme la distance minimale à respecter pour l’ensemble du pylône.

Les formules suivantes devront être utilisées pour ajuster les degrés d’intensité du champ en fonction des limites applicables déterminées à l’étape 1 :

\[ E_{ajusté} = \frac {E_{lim\left(50 \%\right)\_étape 1}} {\sqrt {P_{nominale} \times 1.78}} \]


(équation B.1)
\[ H_{ajusté} = \frac {H_{lim\left(50 \%\right)\_étape 1}} {\sqrt {P_{nominale} \times 1.78}} \]


(équation B.2)
où :
Elim(50 %)_étape 1
correspond à 50 % de la valeur des limites (champ E) énoncées dans le Code de sécurité 6 et déterminées à l’étape 1 (V/m eff.);
 
Hlim(50 %)_étape 1
correspond à 50 % de la valeur des limites (champ H) énoncées dans le Code de sécurité 6 et déterminées à l’étape 1 (A/m ff.);
 
Pnominale
correspond à la puissance rayonnée non modulée émise par le pylône (porteuse seulement) en kW, si elle est connue; sinon, la puissance rayonnée (autorisée) nominale de la station, en kW, devra être utilisée.


Lorsque les limites de champ ajustées ont été calculées, les tableaux B1 à B9 donnent les distances de conformité théoriques pour diverses fréquences et hauteurs électriques de l’antenne en degrés (360° = 1 longueur d’onde). Pour les valeurs de champs électriques ou magnétiques qui se situent entre les points de données dans les tableaux fournis, le premier point de données avec une valeur de champ électrique ou magnétique au-dessous de la valeur cible doit être sélectionné.

Remarque 1 : la hauteur électrique de l’antenne (en degrés) est calculée à l’aide de la formule suivante :

Hauteur_électrique_antenne(°) = Hauteur_antenne(m) × 1,2 × frequency(MHz)
(équation B.3)


Les tableaux B1 à B9 peuvent être utilisés directement pour évaluer les champs électrique et magnétique pour les installations qui utilisent :

Pour les antennes qui ne correspondent pas aux conditions susmentionnées, les champs électrique et magnétique seront évalués comme suit.

La distance de conformité selon le Code de sécurité 6 devra être déterminée comme étant la plus grande distance entre les deux distances retenues pour le champ électrique et le champ magnétique. Cette distance de conformité théorique est calculée à partir de la surface du pylône et ne peut pas être inférieure à 2 mètres.

Tableaux de distance de la tour en fonction de l'intensité ajustée du champ électrique et magnétique

Tableau B1 à B9: Distances requises pour se conformer aux limites du Code de sécurité 6

Date de modification :