Approval in principle — Telesat Canada (COMMSTELLATION)

235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Our File: 3150-1 (557203 AT)

Mr. John Forsey
Director, Corporate Development
Telesat Canada
1601 Telesat Court
Ottawa, Ontario K1B 5P4

Dear Mr. Forsey:

This is in reference to Telesat Canada’s (Telesat) application of February 2, 2015, for the use of radio spectrum by the LEOVantage constellation in a non-geostationary satellite orbit (NGSO) in the fixed-satellite service. The application is associated with the COMMSTELLATION filing (CR/C 3313 as published by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) on April 30, 2013, and CR/C 3313 MOD-2 as received by the ITU on March 6, 2015).

Telesat’s application has met all of the requirements outlined in Client Procedures Circular (CPC) 2-6-02 - Licensing of Space Stations. We are therefore pleased to grant Telesat an approval in principle to develop and operate its LEOVantage satellite constellation, using the radio spectrum as outlined in the table below.

Frequency Bands
Earth-to-space space-to-Earth
27.5 – 28.35 GHz 17.8 – 18.3 GHz
28.35 – 28.6 GHz 18.3 – 18.8 GHz
28.6 – 29.1 GHz 18.8 – 19.3 GHz
29.5 – 30 GHz 19.7 – 20.2 GHz

Industry Canada has also approved Telesat’s application of January 30, 2015, associated with the CANPOL-2 ITU filing (CR/C 3474 MOD-1 as received by the ITU on January 6, 2015). Telesat has acknowledged that it will deploy a single LEOVantage system. Consequently, Telesat will not be permitted to notify both the COMMSTELLATION filing and the CANPOL-2 MOD-1filing to the ITU, and must surrender one of the approvals for LEOVantage no later than May 31, 2018.

This approval and any licence issued pursuant to it are subject to the conditions outlined in Annex A. Telesat must comply, on an ongoing basis, with all conditions of licence set out in Annex A, including implementation milestones. Failure to do so may result in the withdrawal of an approval in principle and any licence(s) issued pursuant to it. As Telesat is aware, the public benefit condition of licence (condition 14) may be amended to better define how and when it must be met, following a consultation with operators.

In keeping with our commitment to open, fair and transparent licensing processes, this letter will be posted on Industry Canada’s spectrum and telecommunications website. If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact me at (343) 291-1969 or Shari Scott at (613) 986-0017.

Yours sincerely,

Suzanne Lambert
Director, Space Services Operations


Annex A

Conditions of Licence for Telesat Canada to operate a non-geostationary satellite constellation in the fixed-satellite service (LEOVantage – COMMSTELLATION)

Eligibility

1.   Telesat Canada (Telesat) must comply with the eligibility criteria as set out in the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Licence Transferability

2.   This licence may not be transferred or assigned without a full review of the application by the Department and authorization of the Minister.  For clarification, and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, “transfer” includes any leasing, sub-leasing or other disposition of the rights and obligations of the licence, and also includes any change that would have a material effect on the ownership or control in fact of the licensee.

Laws, Regulations and Other Obligations

3.   Telesat and its use of the spectrum assigned in this authorization are subject to and must comply with the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Radio Regulations, the Canadian Radiocommunication Act, the Canadian Radiocommunication Regulations, and Canada’s spectrum utilization policies pertaining to the licensed radio frequency bands.

Canadian Direction and Control of Spacecraft

4.   Telesat must ensure the satellites are under the direction or control of a Canadian entity as set out in section 3(3)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act and Section 3.2.2 Client Procedure Circular (CPC) 2-6-02 - Licensing of Space Stations.

Service in Canada and Canadian Coverage

5.    This authorization does not include the use of the frequencies to provide service within the Canadian territory.

Milestones

6.  Telesat must ensure that all implementation milestones and related requirements, as set out in the table below, are met.  Industry Canada does not anticipate granting milestone extensions in the absence of extraordinary circumstances. With respect to Milestone 7, if at least one-third of the constellation has been launched by July 1, 2021, Industry Canada may consider, at its discretion, extending the milestone if requested due to unforeseen delays in satellite delivery and/or satellite launch scheduling.

Milestones
Milestone Requirement Date
1 Submit ITU Coordination Package January 1, 2016
2a Interim Satellite(s):
Submit a copy of the contract for the construction of the interim satellite(s) that is consistent with:
- the satellite design as approved by the Department;
- the COMMSTELLATION ITU filing
(CR/C 3313);
- placing the satellite(s) into an authorized orbit; and,
- bringing the spectrum into use by the date established for Milestone 2b.
September 1, 2016
2b Interim Satellite(s):
Submit documentation certifying that the interim satellite(s) have been launched and placed in an authorized orbit.
May 6, 2018
3 Submit a copy of the contract for the construction of the new satellite(s) that is consistent with:
- the satellite design as approved in Telesat’s application;
- the COMMSTELLATION ITU filing
(CR/C 3313 MOD-2); and,
- placing the satellite(s) into an authorized orbit by the dates established for Milestones 6 and 7.
July 1, 2017
4 Submit evidence, such as invoices or payments demonstrating the purchase of long-lead items, to demonstrate that physical construction of the satellite(s) has commenced. January 1, 2018
5 Submit a copy of the contract to place the satellite(s) into an authorized orbit, consistent with bringing the spectrum into use by the date established for Milestone 6. July 1, 2019
6 Submit documentation certifying that:
- the first satellite(s) have been launched and placed in authorized orbit; and
- in-orbit operation has been tested and found to be consistent with the terms of the authorization.
July 1, 2020
7 Submit documentation certifying that:
- the remaining satellite(s) have been launched and placed in its authorized orbit; and
- in-orbit operation has been tested and found to be consistent with the terms of the authorization.
July 1, 2021

International Coordination

7.   It is the responsibility of Telesat to participate, on an ongoing basis, in coordination activities with a view to protecting its network and fulfilling ITU obligations.  To this end, Telesat must undertake the following: participate, at its own expense, in the coordination of the satellite network with the satellite and terrestrial networks of other countries; provide Industry Canada, in a manner acceptable to the ITU, with the satellite coordination, notification and administrative due diligence information required by the ITU; pay the applicable ITU cost recovery charges for satellite network filings; and ensure that the operation of the satellite complies with any arrangements and agreements undertaken by Canada with respect to the coordination of the satellite.

Domestic Coordination

8.    In order to avoid harmful interference, Telesat will be required to coordinate its satellite system with other potentially affected Canadian satellite and terrestrial services, and the satellite system must be operated in a manner consistent with any arrangements made to facilitate domestic satellite coordination.

9.    In the event that coordination cannot be completed between licensees, the Department may impose the implementation of mitigation techniques, taking into account all relevant factors including, without limitation, the order of domestic authorization.  Telesat must ensure that the operation of its satellite system complies with all measures imposed by the Department.

Information Requirements

10.  At the Department’s request, Telesat must provide all necessary information to a licence applicant to facilitate the coexistence analysis for the Department’s consideration, as part of the applicant’s licence application.  Such information must be provided within a reasonable timeframe.

Earth Station Licensing

11. Any earth stations in Canada communicating with the satellites, except those exempted from the licensing requirement pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act and Radiocommunication Regulations, shall be licensed prior to operation pursuant to Client Procedure Circular, CPC-2-6-01, Procedure for the Submission of Applications to License Fixed Earth Stations and to Approve the Use of Foreign Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS) Satellites in Canada.

Satellite Licensing Information

12. Telesat must submit the administrative licensing information, set out in Annex C of  CPC-2-6-02, at least 60 days in advance of the anticipated launch date of the satellites.

Public Benefit

13. Telesat must direct a minimum of 0.5 percent of adjusted gross annual revenues resulting from the operation of the new satellite(s) toward special initiatives aimed at improving connectivity in underserved areas of Canada. These special initiatives will be developed in partnership with Industry Canada.

Orbital Debris Mitigation

14. Telesat, at the end-of-life of the LEOVantage satellites, must implement space debris mitigation measures in accordance with best industry practices so as to minimize adverse effects on the orbital environment.

Reporting Requirements

15. Telesat must immediately report changes to its contact information or to information concerning its satellite operations and/or control facilities to Industry Canada.

16. Telesat must submit an annual report for each year of operation, indicating continued compliance with these conditions.

17.  Telesat must submit a final report of the space debris mitigation measures taken at the end-of-life of the satellites.  This report is to be submitted to the Director, Space Services - Operations, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch within 60 days of the end-of-life of the satellites.

Payment of Fees

18. Licence fees are paid on an annual basis in advance, and are due by March 31 of each year.

Date modified:

Approbation de principe — Telesat Canada (COMMSTELLATION)

235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

[Traduction]

Notre dossier : 3150-1 (557203 AT)

M. John Forsey
Directeur, Expansion de l’entreprise
Telesat Canada
1601 Telesat Court
Ottawa (Ontario) K1B 5P4

Monsieur Forsey,

La présente fait suite à la demande du 2 février 2015 présentée par Telesat Canada (Telesat) en vue de l’utilisation du spectre radioélectrique par la constellation de satellites LEOVantage en orbite non géostationnaire dans le service fixe par satellite. La demande est associée à la fiche de notification COMMSTELLATION (CR/C 3313 telle que publiée par l’Union internationale des télécommunications [UIT] le 30 avril 2013 et CR/C 3313 MOD-2 telle que reçue par l’UIT le 6 mars 2015).

La demande de Télésat satisfait à toutes les exigences énoncées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-6-02, Délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales. C’est avec plaisir que nous accordons à Télésat une approbation de principe pour mettre en place et exploiter sa constellation de satellites LEOVantage, en utilisant le spectre radioélectrique indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous :

Bandes de Fréquences
Terre vers espace Espace vers Terre
27,5 – 28,35 GHz 17,8 – 18,3 GHz
28,35 – 28,6 GHz 18,3 – 18,8 GHz
28,6 – 29,1 GHz 18,8 – 19,3 GHz
29,5 – 30 GHz 19,7 – 20,2 GHz

Industrie Canada a aussi approuvé la demande du 30 janvier 2015 de Telesat relative à la fiche de notification CANPOL-2 de l’UIT (CR/C 3474 MOD-1 reçue par l’UIT le 6 janvier 2015). Telesat a confirmé qu’elle déploiera qu’un seul système LEOVantage. Par conséquent, elle ne pourra pas informer l’UIT de l’acceptation à la fois de la fiche de notification COMMSTELLATION et de la fiche de notification CANPOL-2 MOD-1, et elle devra abandonner l’une des approbations pour la constellation LEOVantage au plus tard le 31 mai 2018.

La présente approbation et toute licence octroyée y afférant sont assujetties aux conditions énoncées à l’annexe A. Télésat doit se conformer, de façon continue, à toutes les conditions de licence énoncées à l’annexe A, y compris aux jalons de mise en œuvre. Le non-respect de ces conditions pourrait entraîner le retrait de l’approbation de principe et de toute licence. Comme les représentants de Télésat en sont conscients, la condition de licence relative à l’intérêt public (condition no 14) peut être modifiée pour mieux définir quand et comment elle doit être remplie, et ce, après consultation auprès des exploitants.

Conformément à son souci d’équité et de transparence dans le processus de délivrance de licences, Industrie Canada publiera la présente approbation de principe sur son site Web, Gestion du spectre et des Télécommunications. Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi au 343-291-1969 ou avec Shari Scott au 613-986-0017.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Directrice, Opérations des services spatiaux

Suzanne Lambert


Pièce jointe [annexe A]

Conditions de licence pour Telesat Canada en vue d’exploiter une constellation de satellites non géostationnaires dans le service fixe par satellite (LEOVantage – COMMSTELLATION)

Admissibilité

1.    Telesat Canada (Telesat) doit respecter en tout temps les critères d’admissibilité prescrits au Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

Transférabilité de la licence

2.    La présente licence ne peut être ni transférée, ni cédée sans un examen complet de la demande par Industrie Canada et l’autorisation du ministre. Aux fins de clarification et sans limiter la portée générale de ce qui précède, on entend par transfert toute location, sous-location ou toute autre disposition des droits et des obligations de la licence, y compris tout changement susceptible d’avoir un effet important sur la propriété ou le contrôle de fait de la licence.

Lois et règlements et autres obligations

3.    Telesat et l’utilisation qu’elle fait des fréquences assignées par cette autorisation sont assujetties et doivent être conformes au Règlement des radiocommunications de l’UIT, à la Loi sur la radiocommunication du Canada, au Règlement sur la radiocommunication du Canada et aux politiques d’utilisation du spectre du Canada qui s’appliquent aux bandes de fréquences radioélectriques visées par cette licence.

Direction et contrôle de l’engin spatial par le Canada

4.    Télésat doit garantir que les satellites seront sous la direction ou le contrôle d’une entité canadienne conformément à l’alinéa 3(3)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et la section 3.2.2 de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-6-02 – Délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales.

Service au Canada et couverture canadienne

5.    L’autorisation n’inclut pas l’utilisation des fréquences pour offrir des services à l’intérieur du territoire canadien.

Jalons de mise en œuvre

6.  Telesat doit s’assurer de respecter tous les jalons de mise en œuvre qui suivent et les exigences connexes. Industrie Canada ne prévoit pas accorder de prolongation des jalons en l’absence de circonstances extraordinaires. Relativement au 7e jalon, si au moins le tiers des satellites de la constellation ont été lancés au 1er juillet 2021, Industrie Canada peut décider, à sa discrétion, d’accorder plus de temps au jalon, sur demande, en raison de retards imprévus dans la livraison des satellites et/ou le calendrier de lancement des satellites.

No du jalon
No du jalon Exigence Date
1 Soumission des documents de coordination pour l’UIT 1er janvier 2016
2a Satellite(s) provisoire(s) :
Présentation d’un exemplaire du contrat de construction du ou des satellites provisoires, conformèment à ce qui suit :
- la conception des satellites, approuvée par Industrie Canada;
- la fiche de notification COMMSTELLATION
(CR/C 3313) de l’UIT;
- la mise en place du ou des satellites sur une orbite autorisée;
- l’entrée en service des fréquences d’ici la date établie pour le jalon 2b.
1er septembre 2016
2b Satellite(s) provisoire(s) :
Présentation des documents certifiant que le ou les satellites provisoires ont été lancés et placés sur une orbite autorisée.
6 mai 2018
3 Présentation d’un exemplaire du contrat de construction du ou des nouveaux satellites conformément à ce qui suit :
- la conception du ou des satellites telle qu’approuvée dans la demande de Telesat;
- la fiche de notification COMMSTELLATION de l’UIT
(CR/C 3313 MOD-2);
- la mise en place du ou des satellites sur une orbite autorisée aux dates prévues aux 6e et 7e jalons de mise en œuvre.
1er juillet 2017
4 Présentation de preuves, comme des factures ou des paiements, qui prouvent l’achat d’articles à long délai de livraison, pour démontrer que la construction matérielle du ou des satellites a commencé. 1er janvier 2018
5 Présentation d’un exemplaire du contrat de lancement qui vise la mise en place du ou des satellites sur une orbite autorisée, conformément à la mise en service du spectre à la date prévue au 6e jalon de mise en œuvre. 1er juillet 2019
6 Présentation des documents qui certifient que :
- le ou les premiers satellites ont été lancés et mis en place sur une orbite autorisée;
- l’exploitation en orbite a été testée et jugée conforme aux modalités de l’autorisation.
1er juillet 2020
7 Présentation des documents certifiant que :
- le ou les satellites restants ont été lancés et placés sur leur orbite autorisée;
- l’exploitation en orbite a été testée et jugée conforme aux modalités de l’autorisation.
1er juillet 2021

Coordination internationale

7.    Il appartient à Telesat de participer continûment aux activités de coordination en vue de protéger son réseau et d’assumer les obligations relatives à l’UIT. À cette fin, Telesat doit participer, à ses frais, à la coordination du réseau à satellite avec les réseaux à satellite et de Terre d’autres pays; fournir auprès d’Industrie Canada, sous une forme jugée acceptable par l’UIT, les données requises par l’UIT en ce qui a trait à la coordination, à la notification du satellite, et à toute information administrative de diligence raisonnable requise par l’UIT; payer les frais de recouvrement des coûts exigés par l’UIT pour le processus de notification d’un réseau à satellite; et veiller à ce que l’exploitation du satellite soit conforme aux arrangements et aux ententes auxquels le Canada a souscrit en matière de coordination du satellite.

Coordination nationale

8.    En vue d’éviter le brouillage préjudiciable, Telesat doit coordonner le réseau à satellite avec les autres réseaux à satellite et services de Terre canadiens qui pourraient être touchés, et le système à satellites doit être exploité conformément aux ententes conclues pour faciliter la coordination des satellites au pays.

9.    Si les titulaires de licence ne parviennent pas à conclure une entente de coordination, Industrie Canada peut imposer la mise en place de techniques d’atténuation, en tenant compte de tous les facteurs pertinents, y compris, sans s’y limiter l’ordre des autorisations nationales. Telesat doit s’assurer que l’exploitation de son système à satellites répond à toutes les mesures imposées par Industrie Canada.

Exigences relatives aux renseignements

10.  À la demande d’Industrie Canada, Telesat doit fournir les renseignements nécessaires à un requérant de licence pour faciliter l’analyse de coexistence dont le Ministère doit tenir compte dans le cadre d’une demande de licence. Ces renseignements doivent être fournis dans un délai raisonnable.

Délivrance de licence aux stations terriennes

11. Toutes les stations terriennes situées au Canada et communiquant avec les satellites, à l’exception de celles qui sont exemptées de l’exigence d’obtenir une licence conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, doivent obtenir une licence avant le début de leur exploitation en vertu de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-6-01, Procédure de présentation de demandes de licences de stations terriennes fixes et de présentation d’information en vue de l’approbation de l’exploitation de satellites étrangers au Canada.

Renseignements sur la délivrance de licences pour un satellite

12. Telesat doit présenter les renseignements administratifs en matière de délivrance de licence précisés à l’annexe C de la CPC-2-6-02, au moins 60 jours avant la date prévue de lancement des satellites.

Intérêt public

13. Telesat doit investir au moins 0,5 p. 100 de ses revenus annuels bruts rajustés découlant de l’exploitation du ou des nouveaux satellites à des initiatives particulières qui visent à rehausser la connectivité des régions mal desservies du Canada. Ces initiatives particulières seront élaborées en collaboration avec Industrie Canada.

Réduction des débris spatiaux

14.  Telesat, à la fin de la vie utile des satellites de LEOVantage, doit mettre en œuvre des mesures de réduction des débris spatiaux conformes aux pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie afin de restreindre le plus possible les effets négatifs sur l’environnement orbital.

Obligations de déclaration

15. Telesat doit immédiatement signaler auprès d’Industrie Canada toute modification à ses coordonnées ou aux renseignements liés à l’exploitation de ses satellites et aux postes de commande.

16. Telesat doit soumettre un rapport annuel correspondant à chaque année d’exploitation et indiquant la conformité continue aux conditions de licence.

17. Telesat doit présenter un rapport final sur les mesures de réduction des débris spatiaux prises à la fin de la vie utile des satellites. Ce rapport doit être présenté au directeur, Opérations des services spatiaux, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes dans les 60 jours avant la fin de la durée de vie utile des satellites.

Paiement de droits

18.  Les droits de licence doivent être payés annuellement, et à l’avance; et sont exigibles avant le 31 mars de chaque année.

Date de modification :